Home arrow The Blogs arrow Letters/Surat arrow Statement from Mr.P Waythamoorthy

Statement from Mr.P Waythamoorthy PDF Print
Monday, 12 January 2009 09:18

I forward this statement as a spokesperson for Mr.Waythamoorthy in response to the statement by Syed Hamid Albar, the Home Affairs Minister in the Star of the 11th of  Jan, entitled – “Leave others out“. 

Is it not enough what you have done to the leaders of the Indian community who have done no wrong but to ask for what is rightfully theirs – something which you and UMNO have systematically denied them. Is it not enough that you have attempted to immobilize me by withdrawing my Malaysian travel documents. What I am doing is only a consequence of all that.

If you really are intent in having us stop calling for interventions to resolve the Indian issue in the country, please repeal the draconian ISA, release all the detainees including our Leaders, grant us the 18 demands we have put to UMNO, bring back a modicum of fairness and equality and we will not need any intervention at all. Instead of making more threats please look at doing something positive like this to solve the problem once and for all. 

We will not stop trying to reach our objectives until we reach our objectives. We are a peaceful movement and we will use all peaceful means at our disposal to constantly push our agenda. If you find that unacceptable, you have a choice, continue to threaten us in this futile manner or as we say accept our requests for a change to the state of affairs of the marginalized Indians and change the status quo immediately. 

Naragan N. on behalf of Mr. Waythamoorthy

written by Newkidonblog, January 12, 2009 09:41:29
Who dare says UMNO, theleading component party in current Malaysia government is not practicing APARTHEID! They silenced their critics and put these poor fellows under detention without trial.
Umno!? they can only get worse.
written by DreamLady, January 12, 2009 09:53:08
My dearest fighter, the Hindraf leader, Waytha, most of the Rakyat of Malaysia are on your side. We understand the trumma stirred up unnecessarily by the UMNO goons. We are fighting the same battle against the tyranical regime. Thus our goal and yours are the same..So please feel free to tell the rest of the Indian folks at home to give undivided trust to Pakatan Rakyat as it shall and will champion the cause of all rakyat, regardless race or religion..

Please carry on your fight against the demons in sheep's clothings, crush those who suppress the ordinary folks like us, and banish the practice of injustice by the devils..

Good luck to you, and may God bless you and constantly bathe you in His Divine Light!!!!
written by SCM, January 12, 2009 10:13:49
Mr. Waythamoorthy, if this letter is for the attention of Syed Hamid Albar, then you have to rewrite it, i.e. in kindergarten style English. Remember that you are writing to Malaysia's Bozo the clown. He thinks that locking a person up under ISA is for that person's own security.

Maybe Hindraf should threaten him. Then, being the moron that he is, he may lock himself up under ISA for his own safety. Food for thought.
written by Motherchell, January 12, 2009 10:26:22
Stealing from the poor , raping and murdering its own citizens is ok according to the UMNO Laws. So Albar will sent to heaven to take over GOD! Lets see!
written by InEffective, January 12, 2009 10:56:31
Nobody with basic intellect listens to the infantile views of the HomeMinister.
Do what you have to do to seek legitimate redress to your legitimate grievances and oppressions.
We all understand that there are unjust rules, law, policies just as there are unjust men - the Palestinian experience is just but one clear example.
By definition, Oppressors never ever voluntarily give up their power and illicit coercions, sanctions and penalties are absolutely needed.
(those who don't believe, think about the Israeli behavior)
written by rocky, January 12, 2009 11:04:10
Yes demand for the rights bro. But do not go to the queen or ask for sanctions against fellow Malaysians. Do not bring harm or do stupid things which will make you loose support. Use your brains and strategise well.Only with Malaysian support you will win and achieve your objectives.

Remember loyalty is to King and Country.
disagree 16
written by InEffective, January 12, 2009 12:06:32
If you are being oppressed, your primary obligation is to the safety and security of yourself and your family.If fellow malaysians citizens are accountable (directly or indirectly) for the overt and/or tacit support to the oppressors, you are absolutely entitled and justified in defending yourself by whatever means possible.Do you believe that Palestinians have legitimate rights to defend themselves ?
written by captmarco ramius, January 12, 2009 12:20:34
yeah...right Rocky and Carribeanking7

so now we are talking about oneness is it ?. talking about Malaysians' support is it ?. I wonder where the heck was all this Malaysian oneness and support when the be-end umno talibans were ''killing'' the Indians, where were all this so called support ?. Where was the the ''friends'' and ''foes''. No one cared !!!. And that's the fact... like it or not. HINDRAF is the only lifeline that the Indians have now. And the fight will continue in all frontiers, in whatever way until justice is served and the Indians be elevated to their rightful status. To that cause...any means justifies the end.

Loyalty to King & Country, you may say. (But with due respect to the Agung),does that mean the Indians have to take this BS lying down for another 50 years ???. Like...takpe takpe, biaq ameno sepak terajang kita, biaq depa roboh kuil kita, kita kena setia kepada Agung thingy ?. Make sense kah ?. Lu orang pikiaq sendirilah woi !

written by Prem, January 12, 2009 13:03:08
Mr. Wathyamoorthy, we are very much humbled by your sacrifice.You have achieved in a few months what could'nt be done in 50 years-that is unity of Indians in asking for their rights.Indians have always been treated as"4th class" citizens. Hindraf has been able to make the Indians on par with others.GOD BLESS YOU AND HINDRAF!
written by captmarco ramius, January 12, 2009 13:33:41
Dear Brother Carribeanking7 / VKM,

With all due respect to you and your views, let's just agree to disagree on this. I still stand by my views that the end justifies the means. It need not have come to this if the ameno warlords responded positively to all the soft, legal and non violent approaches taken by HINDRAF. Right from the 18 Point Memorandum to pee-em to the last Hari Raya card Rally in PWTC. And what we got for that? Labelled terrorists with LTTE connection, ISA detention, water canon, teargas and everything in between.

They have never even treated the Indians as HUMAN BEINGs, let alone as THE RIGHTFUL CITIZEN of this beautiful nation. They still treat us as beggars, estate pheasants and drunkards. I don't know what else will wake them warlords up, if not this. Or if you have any other worthwhile ideas, let's hear it.

P/S : Please don't take this as a personal snide, Brother. I am aware that you write very well, but I am just putting points in my perspective.
written by Thiru, January 12, 2009 15:51:03
Blame the victim. A strategy which is not uncommon. What the BN says that they hate the jews but in practice they want to follow the jews and their practices. Blame the the victim(Hindraf).And use the media to discredit.ANd generally speak negatively of the victim.
written by Thiru, January 12, 2009 16:09:59
So far syed hamid is the best Bozo for the job. Well even if this Bozo is not there there will be another to do the scheming of BN - to delay, to postpone, to give less and generally marginalise the minority to put them away.
written by joeawk, January 12, 2009 17:21:13
Najib wants to help oveaseas Malays and so it is not wrong for Hindraf to seek help from India. At least, India did not openly offer to help overseas Indians. There is still the chinese and we are not seeking help from China and we hopethat the malays leaders are smarter than what Najib is, for having made the call to help overseas malays.

Najib must be living in his dreams and must wake uop fast because it is not as if Malaysia is a powerful nation yet. If that call of his is politically motivated, he had better pull back his tongue because India or China can eat Malaysia by swallowing, no need to chew up malaysia first.
written by Futurist, January 12, 2009 19:28:15
Well, if all the Indians from India were to pee on Malaysia, the country will be submerged.
written by bumiputeri, January 12, 2009 21:40:16
HINDRAF is the Indians HERO!!!

Carribeanking7 / Vijay Kumar Murugavell,

Since you are against Waytha's move getting support for Hindraf's struggle in India (very well knowing what diplomatic approaches they have tried only to end in vain), can you promise that in the given situation, YOU and ALL THE PEOPLE of your opinion, get Hindraf an appointment with the PM, DPM, AGONG, and the rest????

Please just don't talk, the Indians have seen enough. Where were you when Indians died in police custody, where were you when briliant Indians students with 10, 12 or 16 As were denied places at the local varsities, how many Indians without birth certificates have you helped, what have you done to curb the rising number of suicides among Indians due to all sorts of domestic problems leading to financial crisis????

Giving opinion is easy, but, leading by example is difficult. Waytha Moorthy and HINDRAF are leading by example!!!!
written by Loh, January 12, 2009 23:32:47
An ordinary citizen is not allowed to tell about the life they have along with their minority compatriots in the country to outsiders when a Deputy Prime Minister is proud to declare that he will help Malays (not with his personal funds of course) in countries where they are in the minority. The demonstration on how double standards are practised in the country is very clear.

When government funds could be squandered by the PM when he ascends the power to help Malays in other countries instead of providing them to the needy minorities in Malaysia, the intention of the DPM is guided by racist thought. It is only a racist who would use the resources of the country to finance people outside the countries when the beneficiaries could somehow, rightly or wrongly, be classified as though they belong to the same race as the DPM, though there were more deserving citizens whose welfare needed government assistance are overlooked. Assistance given to nationals would be out of patriotism, since the wellbeing of the nationals lays the foundation for the welfare of the nation, whereas helping people of the same-race outside the country might be to help his race, and so is an action of a racist.
written by carribeanking7, January 20, 2009 11:32:29
Dear Bumiputeri,

I can understand the communities anguish, I have done entrepreneur workshops for Indian youth organized by various bodies, I was anti MIC at the height og their popularity for abot 2 decades , when many of the commentatorts here were still wearing diapers, that includes protesting scholarship applications and a host of other concerns.

For GE12 i campaigned beside my Hindraf brothers side by side in ceramahs , private homes, wet markets, to convince many in the Indian older generation who were too afraid to vote against BN.

There is even a plea from several children without birthcerts that I emailed to Manickavasagam last year, he has yet to respond..

So I would appreciate it if you give the benefit of doubt before you make presumptions about individuals you have never known, the point is giving opinions to the topic not making hominem attacks.

I am not against the protests by Waythamoothy, I am just pointing out that the method may not work and how it may backfire against his cause, and have offered numerous suggestions , but in the end its his call.