Raja Petra stumps for PAS PDF Print
Monday, 12 January 2009 08:56

Other bloggers join in to woo Chinese voters in Kuala Terengganu

By Carolyn Hong, The Straits Times

Raja Petra (in his trademark beret) after handing PAS president Abdul Hadi Awang a campaign T-shirt. The blogger says he is neutral but supports 'certain aspects' of the opposition.

Controversial blogger Raja Petra Kamarudin, recently released from detention, is such a famous figure, he gets curious stares everywhere he goes in Kuala Terengganu.

Some locals even ask to be photographed with the blogger, sporting his trademark beret and pipe.

Raja Petra is in town to campaign for Parti Islam SeMalaysia (PAS) candidate Abdul Wahid Endut, ahead of the Kuala Terengganu by-election on Saturday.

Mr Wahid is up against Umno's Wan Ahmad Farid Wan Salleh and an independent. The by-election was called after Umno MP Razali Ismail died in November last year.

'I am neutral, but I subscribe to certain aspects of the opposition such as bringing reforms to Malaysia,' said Raja Petra, 58, who does not belong to any political party.

He runs the Malaysia Today website, which publishes his hard-hitting columns that take on the most powerful politicians in Malaysia.

Three other political bloggers have joined him in campaigning for the opposition in Kuala Terengganu as well as in cyberspace.

Although Kuala Terengganu is too rural to be Internet-savvy, Raja Petra said he has met voters who are familiar with his writings. His postings are frequently distributed as leaflets in the villages.

The opposition's focus is the 8,000-plus Chinese voters said to hold the key to this election, as the Malay vote is split.

Raja Petra speaks at one or two rallies nearly every night, and also to smaller groups of voters, to whom he talks about PAS and the Islamic state.

'When the voters see that we are not Taleban and we support PAS, it gives us a chance to explain things to them,' he said.

His message blends well with the opposition campaign, which is focusing on recent controversies such as those raised by Umno Youth chief aspirant Mukhriz Mahathir's call to turn vernacular schools into national ones, and a Penang Umno leader's description of the Chinese as immigrants.

A PAS banner has gone up in the Chinese area labelling Umno as extreme. Leaflets have also gone out showing a picture of Penang Umno leaders tearing up a poster of Gerakan president Koh Tsu Koon after he protested against the description of the Chinese as immigrants.

Still, it is not certain to what extent this will mean more votes for the PAS candidate. In the March general election, 65 per cent of the Chinese votes went to Barisan Nasional (BN).

But this time, the Chinese are turning up at opposition rallies by the hundreds. At the rally last Saturday, many were seen stuffing RM50 (S$21) notes into the donation boxes.

They cheered for the PAS candidate in his robes and skull cap, and were wowed by the star speaker, Ms Nurul Izzah Anwar, the daughter of opposition leader Anwar Ibrahim.

There is some euphoria in the opposition camp, which believes there has been a swing in its favour. But it is also aware there is a week still to go.

written by Rainbowseahorse, January 12, 2009 09:13:12
Looks like our bro Pete is our very own version of "Sherlock Holms"! Well done bro! You are definately an asset to any political party! All the best!
written by ahmadneil, January 12, 2009 09:23:05
He bring hopes for all.This messenger of good tidings is always loved by all.As I have said earlier,we are going to lose him to KT.
written by DreamLady, January 12, 2009 09:39:26
Raja Petra, hats off to you!! You fight tirelessly for a good cause, and you still are!! Thank you millions for the admirable fighting spirit and the passion you have for mankind. We could not thank you enough but to pray constantly for your good health, happiness, and every success for whatever endeavour you undertake..

We love you and Marina!!!
written by lamakawan, January 12, 2009 09:42:59
Peter, once you've finish your mission in KT, don't hesitate to come to Sarawak to spearhead the opposition's organisation for the next state elections.
written by karyeowl, January 12, 2009 09:47:32
Like someone mentioned before. In England those days, they had their people's princess, Princess Di Now in Malaysia, we have our People's Prince, Raja Petra Kamarudin aka RPK or Pete. Long live RPK.
written by Newkidonblog, January 12, 2009 09:50:12
..........and the famous and skillful boat builders are busy building non-water proofed boats to send Umno packing into Laut Cina Selatan (South Cina Sea)!
written by KevinWu, January 12, 2009 10:02:58
"Although Kuala Terengganu is too rural to be Internet-savvy" - NST

How can this be??
I thought KT is supposed to be one of the richest states?
written by KevinWu, January 12, 2009 10:07:31
What a big difference between the 2 campaigns.
On one side, people are stuffing RM50 notes to the campaign, On the other side, many are being stuffed RM50 notes instead.

maybe they took the rm50 notes from one side and putting it into the other side?
written by batsman, January 12, 2009 11:15:12
I am also neutral whether you believe it or not, but I hate sin, corruption and racism. So I say - vote UMNO out!
written by SocratesI, January 12, 2009 12:15:49
As long as Pakatan Rakyat has its head screwed on right and supports all decent human rights, I am for Pakatan Rakyat. Barisan Najis has been one Hell of a Huge Disappointment and a never-ending Nightmare for the last 50 years!

Pete is not an asset to any political Party he is a Patriot and an asset to Malaysia If Pakatan does wrong, it also gets a lambasting from Pete, so Pete is neutral! Barisan Najis has been lambasted constantly by Pete and MT because Barisan Najis has been constantly plundering the country and robbing the Rakyat, while intimidating them with ISA! We love you for the Man of Unwavering Principles that you are, Pete!
written by The dragonheart, January 12, 2009 14:01:14
If this is true:
1. Who made DAP won?
2. Majority of the Chinese must be supporting BN/UMNO... why?
3. During BERSIH rally, we notice that majority of the participants are from single race and the crowd control were done by PAS.

I believe BN weaken because UMNO do not get the support from the Malys except from its own members and supporters. UMNO are blind and not focus to its nationalism principles. UMNO failed to understand that almost 99% of the Malays are Muslim and more than 60% of the Muslims are God Fearing lot. UMNO humiliated and bad talked about Islam and relate Islam to Taliban, Terrorist, etc etc made many Muslims fedup and hate the party leadership. UMNO try to please the Chinese not because of unity but to please the Financier of their political funds. I dare to say that the top 20 Chinese Tycoon in Malaysia are the main financiers of UMNO political fund. UMNO try to scare the people that with HUDUD many hands will be chopped. But I wonder why majority of the Chinese scared of this?? Hudud is only for Muslim not for the non muslims. Are the Chinese thinking that they have been stealing/robbing all this while? UNMO talks a lot about Ketuanan Melayu and NEP, but in the implementation they only care for themselves, their families and their cronies. They make the Raja-Raja Melayu out of place. Even in the MSM, news about official duties of the Rulers can only be seen in page 10 in one small column. What ketuanan melayu are they talking about??? Ketuanan UMNO maybe!!

UMNO likes to use people like Mat Rempit to do their dirty ground work. They spend millions to send these mat rempit to skydive in north pole. UMNO do not see lots of things unused in the box. If UMNO can groom the multiracial Youths in PBSM, St John Ambulance, Boys Brigade and the Boy Scouts/Girl Guides which have a global acceptance over the past 100 years, we do not need rakan muda, Cadet bomba, KRS, Cadet police and even the National Service training. All the latter are purely personal projects for UMNO grassroots who wants to become quick millionare in supplying uniforms, equipment, catering and what not. Rakan Muda and National Service create more problems that solving existing youth problems. Thailand and Indonesia have better structured youth programs. Go to Thailand and Indonesia, almost every child is a scout in the school. The learn the same structured way non politically to become a good citizen. Our Minister of Women Affairand welfare, Minister of Education, Minister of Higher Learning, and Minister of Youth and Sports should study deeply about the Scouts, Red Cross and St John Ambulance before they start creating new things for the youths. All these NGOs starts at a very young age and goes on until they die.. in other words "from womb to tomb".

I see that UMNO refuse to change and will not change. If this happens... UMNO is infected with a chronic Cancerous disease. Those in BN will die together with UMNO.
written by ahmadneil, January 12, 2009 14:11:06
RPK,fight on,We all are fully behind you.this time if they throw you in Kamunting,we will tear it down.
written by hellosunshine, January 12, 2009 16:32:41
Dragontheart, Enough already! I am sick of idiots like you still harping on the hudud issue when it is a non issue now with the 3 party PR official stand. CASE CLOSED!
written by Milo, January 12, 2009 17:22:28
Yes, dragonheart, the hudud issue is settled with the agreement. Those supporters who have an issue no longer have any. So stop the noise!
written by carribeanking7, January 12, 2009 19:17:21
Quote - UMNO likes to use people like Mat Rempit to do their dirty ground work.

I have a solution to the mat rempit problem, they involve 4 wheel drives with supercharged engines fitted with kangaroo bars, and giving civilians licenses to carry glock combat pistols.
Hey , the police failed , heck even their own personnel got asaulted by the mat rempit.even in KT with high police density 2 cops were assulted, last week 1 was assaulted in KL.
The signs are already there -in langkawi, a group was doing wheelie stunts and one of them fell, no one helped the injured rempit, instead the cheered and clapped his misfortune with relish.
Its only a matter of time before vigilante's start acting if the police dont get their act together.
written by MalaysianFirst, January 13, 2009 01:11:10
KevinWu said, "...maybe they took the rm50 notes from one side and putting it into the other side?"

It's so funny!! But, hey, you may be right you know. Those bloody fugging UMNO morons think they are giving bribes to the KT folks, but all their money in fact is going to PAS as donations!!!! Vote PAS is vote Pakatan!!

On another note, RPK, thank you for speaking up for all Malaysians. SALUTE!