Home arrow The Blogs arrow News/Commentaries arrow Catholic Church may sue over ministry ‘lie’

Catholic Church may sue over ministry ‘lie’ PDF Print
Sunday, 11 January 2009 21:02

By Debra Chong, The Malaysian Insider

The Catholic Church of Malaysia wants the government to retract its statement denying it banned its weekly from publishing in the national language.

The editor of The Herald, the Catholic weekly, told The Malaysian Insider the Church may take legal action against the Home Ministry.

The Star yesterday quoted a Home Ministry official as saying the ministry had never prohibited The Herald from using Bahasa Malaysia.

“The Ministry is only against the use of the word ‘Allah’ to refer to God. The correct and appropriate translation for God in Bahasa Malaysia or Melayu is ‘Tuhan’,” said the ministry’s Quran Publication Control and Text Division Secretary Che Din Yusoh in a statement on Friday.

“That is a blatant lie,” said editor, Rev Father Lawrence Andrew, adding that the Church had proof.

He said the Church has written a letter to the ministry demanding that it recall its order against the use of Bahasa Malaysia when it renewed the The Herald’s annual publishing permit.

The Church had given the ministry seven days to reply or it would sue the government for going against the Federal Constitution.

“The ministry replied on Jan 7 saying they were lifting the ban,” said Fr Lawrence, adding that the full letter from the ministry is published on the front cover of the Catholic newspaper today.

He told The Malaysian Insider that the Church needed to take pre-emptive action. It will send another letter of demand to the government to stop the ministry from making such statements further.

“They cannot say that. They are telling the world a lie. It makes us look like fools,” he said.

He said he regretted the fact that the federal government and the Church could not work together.

The Herald publishes in English, Mandarin, Tamil and Bahasa Malaysia to cater to its multi-ethnic faithful in Malaysia. It currently has a circulation of 14,000 copies.

The Bahasa Malaysia edition of the newspaper will return next Sunday in a special bumper issue containing the news it could not publish earlier.

written by ahmadneil, January 11, 2009 21:09:07
Hiyah,This Shit Hamid name is always associated with lies.We all know ages ago that he's a born liar.Throw Theresa Kok into prison but say the police wants to protect her.Throw RPK into Kamunting by saying that he offended Islam.Yemeni ,it's time you go home.
written by savemalaysia, January 11, 2009 21:13:16
The Home Ministry's outright lie on the Herald's publication issue is yet another proof that the UMNO-led NB will and dare to bluff the nation and the world without a wink of the eyes. KT folks better take wind of this and don't fall for BN's dishonest, indifferent, abusive and unjust governance. They say one thing and do another as typical of a double-faced govt
written by Kunta Kinte, January 11, 2009 21:17:22
Sue Him....everyone should sue him for all his lies. Liar!
written by ahmadneil, January 11, 2009 21:25:43
Fr Lawrence,ask all the catholics to pray that this liar will lose his tongue.
written by onnetline, January 11, 2009 21:32:31
Sue that Barisan Najis government ministry if there's a good case against them. Let the whole world or nation knows what liars or hypocrite leaders we have !
written by asguard, January 11, 2009 22:16:20
Barang Naik always assciate with lies... what else is new tell me?
written by SiHangChai, January 11, 2009 22:26:12
Yes, sue the govt. AT least the money that the Chruch will get in compensation will go to good use for the rakyat then going to the UMNO pockets. There is a need to teach govt a lesson not to lie and tell untruth facts.
written by PRman, January 11, 2009 22:57:08
Our MP enjoys lying. :-)
written by peter, January 11, 2009 23:05:44
This bolehland gomen run by the umNO is truly make me sick. I think it's the little napoleans that is taking / making all these stupid decisions. The sleepy PM is now a lame duck so the little napoleans are having a hell of a time creating all sorts of trouble.

I was reading wikipedia: "Allah is the standard Arabic word for 'God.' While the term is best known in the West for its use by Muslims as a reference to God, it is used by Arabic-speakers of all Abrahamic faiths, including Christians and Jews, in reference to "God". The term was also used by pagan Meccans as a reference to the creator-god, possibly the supreme deity in pre-Islamic Arabia." (http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Allah)
written by Thambidoorai, January 12, 2009 00:53:23
i am an atheist; this, i believe is the 3rd time i have stated this in this blog. as such, i have no love for the catholic church. what the supposedly secular government of the day have done is not only illegal but blatantly and obviously STUPID! This is the result of allowing a RETARDED BUFFOON to be our Home Minister.

HAMID ALBAR, RESIGN!

It's your problem if you can't help being a piece of shit, but if you get sued as the Home Minister, you WILL lose! and soil the good office of the Home Ministry!
written by RumahPanjai, January 12, 2009 01:59:58
Malaysia's Home Minister has proved to be a prolific liar since he took office. Our PM breeds liars. Hadhari is a breeding ground for liars. More liars in the bag if BN wins in KT.
written by temanmu, January 12, 2009 03:00:26
When a mainstream church calls the BN govt a liar ... that is a real jolt!

The whole world will pay attention to the BN stupidity!
written by patlu, January 12, 2009 03:07:52
Please forward by SMS and email:

OVERNIGHT VIGIL on Sat, 17 Jan @ SFX Church, Jln Gasing PJ after 6.30pm Sunset Mass. We gather before the Blessed Sacrament to pray for favourable outcome to the Herald case. We pray the judge will uphold the freedom of worship enshrined in the Constitution. Fr. Simon Yong, SJ

RED MASS CELEBRATION
The Malaysian Catholics Lawyers Society is celebrating the annual Red Mass on Saturday, 17/01/2009 at Church of Assumption, Petaling Jaya (Beside Assunta Hospital). The procession starts at 9.30am followed by Mass at 10.00am and thereafter, brunch for everyone.

People of goodwill all welcomed to attend.
written by Tompios, January 12, 2009 07:10:49
Don't play-play with Catholic! Vatican will cut your balls Hamid!
written by DreamLady, January 12, 2009 08:27:19
Herald, and the church-goers, sue them, sue the home ministry till they are dead broke!!!

To all the church-goers, if you are looking for people to defend your rights and take good care of your children, vote for PAKATAN RAKYAT, its goals are humanity and fairness for all races, catered for all religions, and a peaceful, prosperous nation for all Malaysians to enjoy!!
written by amoker, January 12, 2009 10:27:41
I call it a lie too. And I question how an alim from QURANIC division can be caught lying. Read the official letter of ban and you will see that Che Din is not telling the truth. No wonder the Father is flabbergasted.

Isn't this comment subjudice to the ongoing trial? Double standard
written by ckone, January 12, 2009 13:41:50
Maybe muslims can confirm this but i'm not sure. Islam teaches that liars goes to hell... true? If not hell then maybe somewhere similar.... tat's where he should be going....
written by Fart Fart Wah, January 12, 2009 18:50:53
ask4u...YAMTUAN IS OUT!!!! WE HAVE YAMTUANS IN NEGERI SEMBILAN..SO WHODO CHRISTIANS WORSHIP??? ..

I AM TOLD The Master teaches the truth...when the TRUTH is told some dare not admit their lies..so they do the tai chi..just like the ZIONISTS...before. We have now UMNO ZIONISTS... when the MASTER SPOKE IN ARAMAIC the word was Allah long before the birth of Islam....NOW WE HAVE UMNO ZIONISTS...WHO REJECT THE WORD OF THEIR LEADING PROPHET JESUS....WHOM I UNDERSTAND IS GOING TO BE THEIR HAKIM AGONG TOO..
So Umno ZIONISTS.. why are you stopping his followers from using the word he taught them...He is not a GOD..you say??? So what?? but why do you stop them using the word he gave them???
I think the Christians should stand for the truth...as claimed. They cannot have liars steam-roll over them even if it is compassion for the enemy's ignorance and stupidity....I do not think you will let people walk into your house and stop you using the mother tongue you are used to...how else to speak...cut the Christians tongue for saying Allah??? another new HUDUD>>>or whodoit???
written by yellowkingdom, January 12, 2009 21:12:16
How could the clown/liar/ ministry’s Quran Publication Control and Text Division Secretary Che Din Yusoh in a statement on Friday, denied the truth when the ministry's letter was published in the Herald for all to see? Of all days, he chose Muslims' holy day to pray and then lie through his teeth. Sickening, when you think that such "little napoleon's" are entrusted to discharge their responsibilities accordingly. This clown ought to learn how to control his lying tongue and read his text carefully before shooting from his motor mouth.
Let Botak-head cleanup the pooh-pooh created by his underlings.
written by ASK4u, January 12, 2009 23:21:54
Okay Christians, since according to FartFartWah, Yamtuan has been taken up, therefore go ahead and use the word Allah instead.
written by Caesar, January 13, 2009 17:53:30
Don't waste Church funds on legal fees unless there is a change to a PKR-led government and an independent judiciary. You need a MIRACLE to win! Remember the Highlands landslide case and Altantuya Murder trial.