Home arrow The Blogs arrow No Holds Barred arrow A tale of two systems (with Mandarin Translation)

A tale of two systems (with Mandarin Translation) PDF Print
Monday, 12 January 2009 00:00

Malaysia is a country with two laws -- one for Barisan Nasional and another for the opposition. I suppose this is not surprising when we have two classes of citizens -- Bumiputeras and Pendatangs.

There is one rule for Barisan Nasional and another for Pakatan Rakyat. Pakatan Rakyat needs a police permit to organise ceramahs. However, when they do apply for one, the police reject the application on ‘technical’ grounds.

Many opposition ceramahs during the ongoing Kuala Terengganu by-election campaign are, therefore, classified as ‘illegal assemblies’. Nurul Izzah Anwar has been summoned to the police station for her ‘statement to be recorded’ because she spoke in a ceramah that did not have a police permit and, therefore, was regarded as an illegal assembly.

Umno does not suffer this same problem. Umno ceramahs are not only allowed but the police even provide outriders to escort the VIPs to these ceramahs. Opposition ceramahs too have a heavy police presence. But the police are there to instruct the opposition to end their ‘illegal assemblies’, or else……..

DAP and PKR have been told to take down their flags. DAP and PKR, according to the Elections Commission, are not contesting the election. Therefore their flags should not be put up. Only PAS flags are allowed.

Umno, MCA and MIC are also not contesting the election. Barisan Nasional is. But Umno, MCA and MIC flags can be put up, alongside the Barisan Nasional flags.

When JERIT organised the cycling expedition recently, the police took action and arrested the participants because, according to the police, it is against the law to use children for political purposes. But Umno and Barisan Nasional not only can use children for politics, but can use them for election campaigning as well.

Malaysia is a country with two laws -- one for Barisan Nasional and another for the opposition. I suppose this is not surprising when we have two classes of citizens -- Bumiputeras and Pendatangs.

Children are very much in the thick of the campaigning (Photo by Choo Choy May, The Malaysian Insider).

Umno flags at the Menteri Besar’s residence even though Umno is not contesting the by-election.

***********************************************************************************

《毫不留情》两个制度的故事

马来西亚是有双重法律的国家 -- 一个给国阵,另一个给反对党。我想那并不稀奇,因为我们的公民被分为二--土著和寄居者。

国 阵是一个规矩,而民联则是另一个。民联需要警察的准证来开演讲会。而当他们去申请的时候,警察就以技术上的问题拒绝了他们。

在瓜丁补选竞选期时,许多反对党的演讲会就因此被归类为非法聚会。烈火格格已被警察传召,说要记录她的口供,就因为她在一个没有警察准证的演讲会上演 讲,因此那就是一个非法聚会。

巫统就没有这类的麻烦了。他们的演讲会不只被批准,还有警察护送重要人物到场。反对党的演讲会也有很多警察到场,不过都是来叫反对党中止他们的非法聚会,不然的话就。。。

行动党和公正党已经被指令拆下他们的党旗。根据选举委员会,这是因为他们没有在选举中竞选。所以他们的党旗是不可以飘扬的。只有回教党的就可 以。

巫统,马华和国大党也没有参加选举。参选的是国阵。但是巫统,马华和国大党的旗帜可以飘扬在国阵旗帜旁边。

JERIT主办最近那脚车活动的时候,警察采取了行动,逮捕了参加者,因为根据警察的说法,利用小孩子达到政治目的是犯法的。而巫统和国阵不但利用小孩 子达到政治目的,还在选举竞选上利用他们。

马来西亚是有双重法律的国家 -- 一个给国阵,另一个就给反对党。我想那并不稀奇,因为我们的公民被分为二--土著和寄居者。

小孩子激烈参于竞选.

在州务大臣住家的巫统旗帜,即使巫统没有竞选席位。(参选的是国阵。)

Translation courtesy of http://cforum3.cari.com.my/viewthread.php?tid=1101596&page=48#pid54414091

(作品源自<http://cforum3.cari.com.my/viewthread.php?tid=1101596&page=48#pid54414091>)

Edited by Guan Sin aka Pratamad

Comments (42)Add Comment
written by Proud_2b_Malaysian, January 11, 2009 18:26:33
These are demonstrations of fair and free election so presented by BN. So what is so free and what is so fair? In Malaysian politics, only what BN does is free and fair. All others will be "free" and "fair".

RPK's analysis shows the truth of our country. What is the Election Commission doing about this? Nothing and it will continue blatantly until it comes to a stop one of these days.
agree 203
written by DamnPekcek, January 11, 2009 18:32:06
MCA keep asking DAP to state their stand on HUDUD..
We should ask MCA if they are agreeable to the way the BN use ISA ? Are they supporting UMNO?
agree 238
written by ahmadneil, January 11, 2009 18:33:26
Those son of a beach are openly flouting our laws.Not only these,they are eating the food that have been bought with our tax money while PAS,DAP,PKR are all eating food with their own money from their own pockets.And also umno is treating the other half of the population like shit.How can they hold their heads high and be part of the international communities when they openly discriminate the other half of the population.Not forgetting those dingos who also openly back crooks when in fact they should be arrested for corruption and stealing the rakyats's hard earned money.
Don't vote umno,oh,sorry,never vote umno but only vote PAS to rid umno.
agree 145
written by Angela Ooi, January 11, 2009 18:35:32
Opposition ceramahs too have police presence...

Ya, last nite's ceramah in Kg China had about 50 blues. I went around, watching them. A couple were 'taking notes', another was recording the speech and dont forget the ever ready photographer. They must have been darn bored cos most speeches were in Chinese/Mandarin. Still they soldiered on, sticking our like sore thumbs in their polis uniforms and even in their ordinary clothes. We could smell them out.

I wonder who is guarding the Western states cos the ubiquitious blues are everywhere in KT. Folks if you need police help and dont get it, you should know they are here in KT for their RULING masters and we rakyat are supposed to care for ourselves. Why the hell do we need to pay for their upkeep??You should have seen the large number of their vehicles from different states like Malacca, etc
agree 121
written by Rashid, January 11, 2009 18:36:50
Children can be used to protest against Isreal but PR MPs elected by the "adults" can't. They will be detained just Charles Sentiago, Abdullah Sani and others were detained for doing so but school children need to interrupt their classes to do so and nothing will be done. The immorality of the Umno people, their injutice and ungodliness in indeed mind boggling. But it strengthens the faith and the resolve of the forces of good who are committed to booting out this bastion of EVIL called Umno and its lackeys.
written by DamnPekcek, January 11, 2009 18:37:56
Later our home minister can claim the KT's crime rate over the 2 weeks are among the lowest in the world, as we hav a police to civillian ratio of 1:20..
Jokes!!
written by mypanida, January 11, 2009 18:39:25
„¸¨°º¤ø„¸¸„à ¸Â¤ÂºÂ°Â¨Â¸â€žÃ¸Â¤ÂºÂ°Â¨
¨°º¤ø„¸ UMNO ¸„ø¤º°¨
¸„ø¤º°¨ `°º¤ø„¸you are so
¸„ø¤º°¨¸„ø¤º °¨¨°º¤ø„¸¨°º¤ ø„ ILLEGAL
written by ahmadneil, January 11, 2009 18:45:13
How can we vote this umno/BN gov't again when you see all these dirty tactics use by them.They steal while we can't.They corrupt while we stave.They sing while we cry.They enjoy while we suffer.They screw while we watch.
Never again will we vote umno but anyway it won't last very long .Just around the coner,umno will be seeing defeat,a defeat they will never be able to recover.This is a true punishment from Allah.This election nightmare,which umno never ever predicted it will happen at this crucial time,came without warning.Najib thought that it will be a smooth ride on March to be PM.But what he plan,Allah destroys.His fate now lies in the hands of KT voters.One more week to go ,and he will know how bitter this pill is .This pill of defeat will haunt him for he rest of his life.
written by mikewang, January 11, 2009 18:46:33
UMNO/BN is actually a ruling minority party.
If they had been fair, they would have lost federal power on Mar 8.
written by DreamLady, January 11, 2009 18:49:53
Malaysia is the land and country of Double Standard. When you are in UMNO regime, you can do whatever you fancy even to use C4 to blow up your lover, on the other hand, you would be scrutinised to the last grain of your body cells for whatever trivial mistake you make if you happen to be in Pakatan rakyat's camp. That is the wretched situation the rakyat are placed in dilemma by the satanic regime..

I beg all Malaysians, to call out to the KT voters, surge forward to defeat the demons of UMNO regime once for all in this coming election on the 17th Jan.

We need a clean and transparent government, we must all vote for PAS and Pakatan Rakyat!!!God bless all Malaysians!!!!
written by ahmadneil, January 11, 2009 19:01:36
You park your car on yellow line,you get a summon.VIPs park their cars, block the road , they never get summon and the police chase us away.
written by ahmadneil, January 11, 2009 19:10:04
And these wolf wear 2 sets of clothes,one set is brought with the money stolen from us and the other is a sheep skin.
written by ahmadneil, January 11, 2009 19:12:53
And also he have 3 wives , later he C4 one and he still got two.So in fact he like this number 2.So that why they have 2 set of rules.
written by ahmadneil, January 11, 2009 19:15:58
And also the color of their 2 balls are also different,one is black and the other is white.
written by mikefonz, January 11, 2009 19:44:23
The UMNO goverment ( other components parties are just running dogs okie for cosmetic purpose only ) have always been like that since after the 1st PM days.
Now we have more learned Rakyat who can think and decide for themselves. Now many are being wiser and understanding politics better especially the Malays themselves. For the other races, it's always marginalized and have always felt that way. Malaysia is a rich country with many natural resources unlike Singapore but we lack behind them is because of our corrupted leaders and only their cronies have benefited. This is because of the two system UMNO have created. Does MCA and MIC complaint ? Only those who speak against the Goverment is penalised. Therfore
we must show BN that they can't fool the Rakyat anymore. We have to vote them out.
Our next PM Najib should actually call for an early General election for the Rakyat to decide if they are in favour of him to lead the Goverment and the nation.
written by Zym Zym, January 11, 2009 19:44:58
I wonder how much BN paid the kids to carry the BN and UMNO flags?
written by Rozlan, January 11, 2009 20:05:50

Not Bumiputera and Pendatangs but UMNOPUTRA AND OTHERS..
written by ibabonma, January 11, 2009 20:26:50
These bias policemen, the running dogs of UMNO, must be taught some lessons, once PR rule this country. So always photograph their corrupted faces and paste them somewhere for remembrance and to be acted upon when time comes.
written by Tompios, January 11, 2009 20:31:28
You are almost wrong Pete,

UMNO Bin Barisan National has 51 rubber laws but Opposition parties only have ONE law (ISA). The 'Barua' Police negara has two set of Laws. One for Syphilis bin Iblis son and One for Bilis fish people.

Finish!!
written by HHKim, January 11, 2009 20:51:37
Never mind about this two systems by the BN donkeys because their days are numbered. Every dog has its days and their days are approaching soon. They will be damned.

Every raayat in the country is fully aware such blatant disregard to the gross injustice, public condemned arrogance and absolute liars. It is a mateer of time the CHANGE is adamant and is forthcoming in big way.

Tha raayat must rise to this biggest challenge of the century, by putting BN out of Malaysian politics for future prosperity, stability and continuous growth.

I am pretty sure now the whole raayt irrespective of race, religion and culture are absolutely wanting to put BN in oblivion.

Cheers to all Malaysians!! Let's do it. God bless Malaysia.
written by Eskay Lim, January 11, 2009 21:24:00
Umno leaders tell the rakyat not to believe the perception that Umno politicians practise money politics, a form of corruption involving money.

But in actual fact, our government practises gross corruption... by giving so many millions of ringgit for projects to all KT's class-F contractors. Everyone of the more than 500 contractors are given projects, worth from RM 30,000 to more RM 200,000. And these work-projects are given out during a bye-election and announced during a ceramah. Do you smell a "rat"?
written by Taiping60, January 11, 2009 21:26:42
Well...only Malaysians can change this. Make sure you use your vote wisely to force our government (regardless they are BN or Pakaran) to be clean, professional and truly love Malaysia. For those corrupted and racist, get rid of them as soon as possible
written by No nonsense, January 11, 2009 22:10:31
Ahmadneil if you can watch you are very very lucky already. The best part of it is we can only listen but cannot see. You are such a lucky fellow.
written by Motherchell, January 11, 2009 22:39:10
Dear Pete,The best part of the system in this Country is that, we know they are the rapists, we know they are the killers of society, killers of children s' minds, killers of literary excellence, killers of total existence here. I always used to think why there cannot be someone to get rid of MUGABE, not realizing my very own society breeds the same from the Royalty to the simple voter, they are not just not able to kill the DEMON! What does it breath and what does it eat
written by rocky, January 11, 2009 22:50:14
Double standards all the way.One for BN and one for the rest of us. and it is UMNOPutras and other Malaysians. connected BN people are above the laws.
written by peter, January 11, 2009 23:14:22
Only pariah countries like Zimbabwe, North Korea are practicing such a system.
written by malaysianohope, January 11, 2009 23:20:28
You may have notice in the news when najib went round campaigning, he just look away when he shakes the hands of KT Voters, so another reason not to vote for an arrogant party which only want your votes when they seek you out. C4 you are one insincere, arrogant & unfit to be the PM of Malaysia.
written by Sabahfan, January 11, 2009 23:34:20
This multiple standard bullshit will continue so long as BN and uMNO rules this country. If malaysians do love their country, YOU should have voted out UMNO and BN a long time ago. UMNO anti israel protest, causes traffic jams and blocks the road, all OK under the bloody police chief recieving instruction of UMNO and Najis. Yet someone brings a guitar and sing a song, they get arrested.
written by jeevy, January 11, 2009 23:47:39
UMNO can do whtever it wants to...Theres nobody to say wht it can do or cant do,right?...We, the people are at their mercy!!!...( They are privy to d postal votes and they used them to elect themselves to power - and they are saying the people voted them to power!!!...wht utter rubbish???..)...so they practice double standards!!!....one set of laws for themselves and another for people....the time has come for the people to check their arrogance by voting them out of power for good.... now ( KT by-elections ) and in d next elections come 2013....Amen...
written by temenggong, January 12, 2009 00:26:36
These bias policemen, the running dogs of UMNO, must be taught some lessons, once PR rule this country. So always photograph their corrupted faces and paste them somewhere for remembrance and to be acted upon when time comes.

It is not necessary. It is a given that heads will roll in the Police Force from Inspector upwards, when the new govt comes in. This cannot be compromised. They have all violated their oaths.

Whatever happened to Rahim Noor will be replicated again upon the various police heads. There will be a long drawn hearing which would be enough to tear their families asunder. Everyone knows the price for their chosen follies.
written by temanmu, January 12, 2009 00:58:40
UMNO Desperadooooo!

Desperado, why don't you come to your senses!

You've been out ridin' fences, (UMNO ...pro-anti Hudud?)
for so long - now. (way too long!)
Ohh you're a hard one. (kepala batu)
I know that you've got your reasons. ($$$$$$)
These things that are pleasin'you (corruption, abuse of power, cronyism)
Can hurt you somehow. (very soon!)
written by ASK4u, January 12, 2009 01:47:06
con't
... Retrograde Mercury can also represent dissatisfied, neglected students or youngsters. In this instance, young voters (
written by Sagaladoola, January 12, 2009 03:57:14
The double standards approach alone make me feel compelled to not vote for THE PARTY that advocates it.
written by Zeroed, January 12, 2009 06:18:39
Dear Uncle Pete,

I wish to point out a correction on "Malaysia is a country with two laws -- one for Barisan Nasional and another for the opposition"

it should be read....."Malaysia is a country with two laws -- one for Barisan Nasional and another for the rest of its 27mil population"
written by pinsysu, January 12, 2009 12:11:28
Msia has 2 laws - 1 law to nail da oppositions & no law for da BN corrupted goons ... & now they r toking abt getting rid of money politics. like asking tigers to bcome vegetarians ...
written by arnab76, January 12, 2009 13:01:19
Najib says he will do his best for the nation.....wow...talking on a court case and predicting it 101%.....then then...telling lies that he have not meet saifuuuulllll......

now he says he will do his best........i believed a dead stray dog better that that AH....
written by apa jadi, January 12, 2009 19:51:50
I think most people have their brains twisted reading the translation. Thanks anyway to give it a head start. I have translated it to make it more readable.

《毫不留情》
两个制度的故事

前言
é©¬æ¥è¥¿äºšæ˜¯æœ‰åŒé‡æ³ å¾‹çš„å›½å®¶ -- ä¸€ä¸ªå¯¹å›½é˜µï¼Œå¦ä¸€ä¸ ªå¯¹åå¯¹å…šã€‚我并不 „Ÿåˆ°æ„å¤–ï¼Œå› ä¸ºæˆ‘ä ¬çš„å…¬æ°‘è¢«åˆ†ä¸ºäºŒï¼ -土著和寄居者ã€

è­¦å¯Ÿå¯¹å›½é˜µæœ‰ä¸€ä¸ªè§ „åˆ™ï¼Œè€Œæ°‘è”åˆ™å¦ä¸ ä¸ªã€‚æ°‘è”éœ€è¦è­¦å¯Ÿ 准证开讲座会。当 »–ä»¬ç”³è¯·æ—¶ï¼Œè­¦å¯Ÿå ä»¥â€˜æŠ€æœ¯â€™é—®é¢˜æ‹ ç»ä»–ä»¬ã€‚

è®¸å¤šåå¯¹å…šçš„è®²åº§ä¼ å°±å› æ­¤åœ¨ç“œä¸è¡¥é€‰é €‰æœŸé—´è¢«åˆ—ä¸ºéžæ³•è šä¼šã€‚çƒˆç«æ ¼æ ¼åŠªé²ä Šæ²™è¢«è­¦å¯Ÿä¼ å¬ï¼Œä»¥â ˜å½•å–å£ä¾›â€™ã€‚åŽŸå › æ˜¯å¥¹åœ¨ä¸€ä¸ªæ²¡æœ‰è­¦ å¯Ÿå‡†è¯çš„è®²åº§ä¼šä¸Šæ¼ ”讲。那讲座会因没 å‡†è¯è€Œè¢«åˆ—ä¸ºéžæ³•è šä¼šã€‚

å·«ç»Ÿå°±æ²¡æœ‰è¿™ç§éº»çƒ ã€‚ä»–ä»¬çš„æ¼”è®²ä¼šä¸ ªè¢«æ‰¹å‡†ï¼Œè¿˜æœ‰è­¦å¯ ŸæŠ¤é©¾é‡è¦äººç‰©åˆ°åœºã ‚åå¯¹å…šçš„æ¼”è®²ä¼šä¹ æœ‰å¾ˆå¤šè­¦å¯Ÿåˆ°åœºã€‚ä è¿‡éƒ½æ˜¯æ¥è®­ä»¤åå¯¹å šä¸­æ­¢ä»–ä»¬çš„â€˜éžæ³ èšä¼š ’。不然的话就〠。。

è¡ŒåŠ¨å…šå’Œå…¬æ­£å…šè¢«è ­ä»¤æ‹†ä¸‹ä»–ä»¬çš„å…šæ —ã€‚æ ¹æ®é€‰ä¸¾å§”å‘˜ä šï¼Œä»–ä»¬æ²¡æœ‰ç«žé€‰,æ‰ €ä»¥ä»–ä»¬ä¸å¯ä»¥æ˜¾ç¤ºä –ä»¬çš„å…šæ——ã€‚åªæœ‰å ›žæ•™å…šæ——å¸œèŽ·å¾—æ‰¹ ‡†ã€‚

å·«ç»Ÿï¼Œé©¬åŽå’Œå›½å¤§å… šä¹Ÿæ²¡ç«žä¸¾ã€‚竞选的 æ˜¯å›½é˜µã€‚ä½†æ˜¯å·«ç»Ÿï Œé©¬åŽå’Œå›½å¤§å…šçš„æ— å¸œå¯ä»¥ä¼´ç€å›½é˜µæ—— ¸œæ‹›æ‘‡ã€‚(attach the flag photo here)

当JERITæœ€è¿‘ä¸»åŠžçš„è„šè ¦æ´»åŠ¨æ—¶ï¼Œè­¦å¯Ÿé‡‡å– 行动逮捕参与者。 æ ¹æ®è­¦å¯Ÿçš„è¯´æ³•ï¼Œåˆ ç”¨å°å­©ä½œä¸ºæ”¿æ²»é€”å ¾„æ˜¯è§¦çŠ¯æ³•å¾‹ã€‚çœ‹è ™å›¾ç‰‡ï¼Œå·«ç»Ÿå’Œå›½é˜ µä¸ä½†åˆ©ç”¨å°å­©è¾¾åˆ°æ ¿æ²»ç›®çš„ï¼Œè¿˜åˆ©ç”¨ä» ä»¬ç«žé€‰ã€‚(attach the children photo here)

é©¬æ¥è¥¿äºšæ˜¯æœ‰åŒé‡æ³ å¾‹çš„å›½å®¶ -- ä¸€ä¸ªå¯¹å›½é˜µï¼Œå¦ä¸€ä¸ ªå¯¹åå¯¹å…šã€‚我并不 „Ÿåˆ°æ„å¤–。因为我 »¬çš„å…¬æ°‘è¢«åˆ†ä¸ºäºŒï¼ ï¼åœŸè‘—和寄居者㠂
written by wartank, January 12, 2009 22:58:49
Well, that's Ketuanan UMNO to you.

We're not Chinese.. as they are from China!
We're not Indian.. as they are from India!
We're also not the 'Supreme Race' as they're the Nazis!!

We're all Malaysians and together we shall be strong!!!
written by Fart Fart Wah, January 13, 2009 01:21:35
Anak kampung orang Melayu membawa panji2 UMNO. Anak ORANG UMNO mendiam diEngland..meria mendakapi gadis mat salleh...
itu lah suatu untuk orang kampung melayu dan lagi suatu untuk orang kaya UMNO..

dinasti RAZAK, dinasti MAHATHIR, dinasti ONN, dan dinasti DOLAH berterusan dengan anak2 mereka...berkuasa dan dipimpin mereka....

ORANG MELAYU DI TAREK HIDUNG SAPERTI KERBAU2 DIKANDANG..

WAHAI!! ORANG MELAYU DULU DITIPU MAT SALLEH..KINI DITIPU DARAH DAGING SENDIRI!!!
BILAKAH KALIAN AKAN DIBEBAS DARI BELENGGU ORANG SENDIRI???
written by tianng, January 16, 2009 09:13:56
My call to KT voters:

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=ijkKuSHOHDo

http://www.merdekablog.com