Home arrow The Blogs arrow From Around The Blogs arrow Focus on Trengganu: Free Laptops -- yes!

Focus on Trengganu: Free Laptops -- yes! PDF Print
Saturday, 10 January 2009 19:32

Below is a very interesting news story on the promises of elections. If I were a kid in Trengganu, I'd be thrilled to be given a laptop.

I can play video games, chat, do Instant Messaging, get online and talk to strangers the world over, set up a blog, or access appropriate and inappropriate online materials. I can do a lot of things --- much more than the learning softwares my teachers can write or provide in school.

But in years to come, will my children and I be tied ideologically to the "giver" who will continue to give more and expensive gifts only when election comes? Instead of being given RM 1000-2000 cash as a child, I now have a laptop. That's cool. That's really cool. I'd vote for any party then that will give me ... (who knows later,) other techno goodies, or even large screen TVs with free 100 Astro Channels or even a Kawasaki Ninja so that I may roam the streets of Kuala Trengganu at night and skip school daily.

written by ahmadneil, January 10, 2009 19:37:39
Give the laptop to RPK becos his was stolen many times by men in blue.It's about time they compensated him.
written by ahmadneil, January 10, 2009 19:39:42
And so they can go on line and watch DR Chua Soi Lek's bedminton.
written by Dominic, January 10, 2009 19:43:38
Never mind, afterall how often one get free item esp laptop which is even beyong my means. I wish I got one free from them too. Do what they like, East Malaysian`s state of Sarawak is undergoing some drastic political changes. Soon, the deciding factor will come from here. Over to our brothers/sisters in Sabah now to add more weight to rid this nation of tyrants !
written by educationist, January 10, 2009 19:45:48
Though the motives behind the move are suspect, it must be acknowledged that the laptop will be an important educational tool to the children, provided it is used correctly.
I remembered PAS spiritual leader advising party faithful to accept goodies provided by the UMNOputras but to cross the right place in the polling booth!!
It is not just the supply of the laptops but the maintainence and resupply in the years to come that will grease some UMNOputras pockets.
written by amoker, January 10, 2009 20:14:37
Wait till they found out that the laptop does not function properly. A RM5000 laptop that will break down within a year. Then the kids will know that material things are temporal and so will their support for Ahmad Said.
written by Dualties, January 10, 2009 20:31:47
BN Cronies :

The giving away of goodies is an cover-up of their pretentious act of benefit one of their cronies' business associate/associates.
written by carribeanking7, January 10, 2009 21:09:18
The laptops cost RM1200/- each, Terengganu per capita average income is RM1114.
Soon there will be many laptops for sale in the 2nd hand market.VKM
written by nightcaller, January 10, 2009 21:41:48
The programme of 25000 laptops for standard 5 students in Terengganu was first mooted as a pilot project towards a paperless school. Funny thing is the project shall be fully finance by Terengganu state government to the tune of 5 million annually.
The burning question is will the laptops put into good use or will it be a channel for the innocent kids to access and download korean/japanese serials, engrossed in online games as well as online chatting?
The Terengganu state government shall follow up with independent reports on the effectiveness of the project, detailing the progress of the students. And how will the state cope with 25000 students who might not be computer literate?
Maybe, just maybe...Terengganu is not ready for laptop for students programme yet.
written by Bandit, January 10, 2009 21:47:23
The lap tops would probably cost peanuts and sold to the UMNO Govt for a handsome amount. Remember the screwdriver story? Guess who would probably land the contract and who will be the suckers. Happened many times before right?
written by doggone, January 10, 2009 21:49:55

Could it be that they're giving out the i-Dollah and the i-Jean so that anyone using it will go to sleep and won't be turning up during polling day? Here's where the phantom voter comes in. They use Sony Vaios by the way.
written by antiilluminati, January 11, 2009 00:16:27
Sounds feasible as the poor father of the children will sell of the Laptop at half the price for Bread & Butter to keep them alive. Whose idea is that ?. I wish to give him / her a tight slap.
I would say save the money but instead try build home for all the needy. Compassion knows no bounds.
written by mypanida, January 11, 2009 06:32:48
Ada udang di sebalik batu lah.....

mintak I/C dulu....
written by Angela Ooi, January 11, 2009 08:26:26
This project will probably backfire. We must get these kids interested in the numerous BN misdeeds, then direct them to our blogs to learn the truth.
written by KARMANNGHIA, January 11, 2009 11:17:38
Now everyone wishes their Bee eNd MPs will kaput soon so their kids might get a free laptop computers.

written by kensball, January 11, 2009 12:44:36
My kids need a laptop too, when can deliver..?? smilies/grin.gif smilies/grin.gif smilies/grin.gif