Home arrow The Blogs arrow Letters/Surat arrow The Rationalization of War

The Rationalization of War PDF Print
Saturday, 10 January 2009 08:12

If we were to remove both parties concerned of their identities and completely disregard their race and religion, will our conclusion of the Israel-Palestine episode be the same? Will we still look upon it as a technological advanced country behaving as thugs waging war on another country?

Since the Israeli war machine crossed the border into the Gaza Strip, the international community has screamed Hell about it as the number of collateral damage piles up. We are able to witness snapshots of the innocents being displaced and killed in Technicolor on our newspapers and this have caused an outrage after the US vetoed a UN proposal to intervene in this war. Even Malaysia has joined this affray by sending an ultimatum to the UN Security Council to come up with a resolution to condemn Israel on its brutal aggression against Palestine.

Let us now ignore the names of Israel, Palestine, Hamas, Hezbollah, West Bank, Gaza, Iran and Syria and call the warring parties “A” and “B” and look at it from another angle. War is an undeniably cruel fact of life and there are no eventual winners in an armed conflict. There is also no such categorization as brutal aggression as Malaysia terms it. In a war, everything is not merely brutal aggression but overwhelming firepower. Why jeopardize a 1,000-pound bomb on a structure and risk it not going down when a 10,000-pound bomb can guarantee the fact that it will definitely be leveled? Additionally, if the 10,000-pound bomb causes the surrounding structures to fall, so be it. It is definitely better for it to come down in B’s location than in A’s location. The loss of lives and limbs are an inescapable fact of war. It is hypocrisy to pretend otherwise.

Let us herewith examine the cause. This episode can be traced back when B started a terror campaign of bombing A from within its borders, utilizing C as the delivery vehicle. Why would B do such a thing? In the first place, B was a terrorist organization before with over 40 years of terrorism acts including the 1972 Munich Olympic massacre. After being legitimized, B can no longer overtly participate in such events, henceforth the need to create other seemingly independent organizations to continue its streak of terror. Well, C was formed by B with the sole intention of discouraging A’s people from setting up permanent residence in “the holy land”. Since it was impossible to do so diplomatically, the other option was to drive these “foreign” settlers out by force of arms. A, on the other hand could not sit still and take it on the chin when C was murdering her populace, and not when A is so much more technological advanced (in terms of military hardware) as compared to B or C. A could of course ignore B and C and go after their sponsors (G or H) but we are talking about countries with their own standing armies. G is also battle-hardened after more than a decade of border war with one of its neighbors, but A could easily obliterate H as A nearly did so last April (2008) except for the fact that H could thence utilize D to inflict further damage on A like they successfully did before (during the 2006 Lebanon War). Henceforth, the “safest” option is B or C. The results are all for all to witness.

It is therefore difficult to fault A for risking combat with a “weaker” opponent. And especially when this opponent is tossing bombs at it. It must be known that there will be innocent casualties in an armed conflict (collateral damage) and A have good reasons to care more about their own people than C’s people. Let us assume for a moment that Singapore is supporting an armed organization within the island nation to bombard Johor with rockets. Would Malaysia stand for it? Same concept applies here. A cannot tolerate B utilizing and sponsoring C to bombard her citizens. The first million-dollar-question is why the international community did not cry foul when this was happening. Why the lack of concern when C was firing rockets at A but the sudden interest when A retaliates against C? The second million-dollar-question compares A’s casualties against C’s casualties. Does A’s innocent deaths equates far less than C’s and henceforth less painful and therefore not requiring international intervention? Doesn’t make sense does it, or is this a case of “the friend of mine friend is a friend (regardless if they are terrorists) and the enemy of my friend is an enemy”?

So, what does A hopes to achieve? The rationalization of war here is to significantly degrade B and C’s military capability to hit A’s civilian targets, to disrupt C’s control of Gaza, to stop C from rearming itself in the near future and to eradicate the extremism within C’s organization. Not every neighbor within this area is appalled to see A attempting to take out C. Certain nations are believed to be relieved that this is happening owing to the fact that they are scared of G’s rise as a powerful military force here. Same reasoning applies here in Southeast Asia. Malaysia will not want to witness the birth of a powerful military force within its neighboring countries. One, the regional influence tilts in favor of such countries and two, they exude a silent threat that will eventually disrupt the balance of power within this close vicinity of nations.

When a nation announces that they would pressure the UN Security Council to do something about this, they are in fact attempting to exert demands that A stops their military incursion that is causing unnecessary civilian deaths. To insist that A discontinue totally from military activities that possess an extreme probability of causing civilian casualties is hypocritical. If this was even remotely possible, there would have been no armed conflict in this world. Yes, no doubt that war is not something to celebrate about but why didn’t these leaders (that are voicing up now) do so when C was launching rockets at A’s civilian population for the past year?

How was this problem created in the first place? Why are there so many “refugees” inside this strip of land? The problem arose when the same group of world leaders collectively decided to defer the “Palestinian Problem” indefinitely. When a group of people having no future whatsoever living in close vicinity of one another are exposed to propaganda by another group of people (sponsored by another nation), they will be easily influence by the rhetoric of these people. Taking up arms against a militarily superior nation is not the way to get things done but one cannot fault them their reasoning because there are no diplomatic means otherwise. It doesn’t automatically makes it correct just because there lacks an alternative option though.

So who is at fault here? Everybody. The international community conveniently forgot about them and left the problem unsolved. C is merely a universal pawn in an intricate game of regional control manipulated by their neighbors and precipitated by the superpowers. Stopping A rampaging into Gaza will not solve the eternal problem. UN, as powerless as it seems, must take the initiative now to force the superpowers to sit down and make a decision regarding the one and a half million refugees in Gaza and West Bank. Until this is solved, there can be no peace there.

For those who are interested, A mobilized as many as five columns of armor, mechanized infantry, engineers and artillery into Gaza. This action effectively separated the two C’s brigades, each approximately 1,200 strong. A has also called up over 10,000 reservists to bring their Southern Command units (based at Beersheba) up to strength. These include the 366th Amud ha-Esh (Pillar of Fire) Reserve Armored Division, the 252nd Sinai Reserve Armored Division, the 80th Edom Territorial Infantry Division and the 96th Gaza (Southern Foxes) Territorial Infantry Division.

Seems like an overkill but war is about an overwhelming show of strength supported by superior firepower.

- Hakim Joe

Comments (62)Add Comment
written by Racheljansz, January 10, 2009 09:43:29
Religion is the opium of the masses.It is notorious how many people were killed in the name of religion.A drug that destroys if taken in large quantities.
written by jalong, January 10, 2009 09:53:42
Muslim Malaysia should rally the muslim countries headed by our beloved Dr M and lead a military force of 750,000 to fight alongside Hamas to defeat A. We have specially trained soldiers to fight wars such this, our Askar Melayu the best and most dedicated. They are homogenuos Muslims who are ready to fight the good fight who rescued the great satan in Somalia. We are a nation of great accomplishments with tall buildings and space explorer we should lead with 100,000 warriors. Khairy will help us airlift the Palestinians out of Gaza to Malaysia to show our humanitarian compassion to fellow Muslims. In the operations we will not use US currency and equipment made by the great satan. Dr M our worldly statesman will get committments for troops from Indonesia, Syria, Iran, Libya, Pakistan, Saudia Arabia, Iraq, Chechnya and other Allah loving countries and exterminate A once for all. It is time to take the battle to the enemy, all this demonstrating and jiber and jabbering are just words, let Malaysia take the lead and show the world the righteous Allah loving country we are. Dr M can take the credit for the ensuing peace and calm among nations. And Khairy will be appointed to the UN as the Great Ambassador of Compassion. And we shall all live happily as Muslims in peace.
written by OilMan, January 10, 2009 10:00:57
Hamas are just thugs fighting for their own selfish needs. Why not work out a peaceful solution instead of showering Israel with bombs? Hamas should work hand-in-hand with Fatah for the betterment of all Palestinians. Hamas forcefully took power from Fatah and declared war on Israel. I wonder if the Hamas fighters would care if similar situation happens in Malaysia. Doubt it.
written by k loon, January 10, 2009 10:42:23
Something really bother me.

Like Joe said when we ignore the names (israel, palestin etc). This is just like another war. Am I right? If i'm right, and this is a war. Why dont the strong side (I) just invade the weak side (P) once and for all? I think in a week (or less) the war will be over. And if UN or any other country who felt that they are P country ally can send their army to defend their ally. All this condemning and "boikoit-ing" wont help P country. We are making it worst. Giving P's people false hope.

Just as an example: US invaded IRAQ. It's an illegal war (according to UN). But what can you do? talk and condemn? I'm not Israel or Palestin. To me, both country have terrorist in their blood. But if Israel/Palestin want to provoke war. Might as well declare war and finish with it once and for all.
written by OVERLORD, January 10, 2009 10:56:56
lets just say that this friction will never end as each country refuse to look past their history and move on. both parties still locked in conflict based on historical and religious claims that would not be solved. i see no light at the end of the tunnel for them. there can only be so many cease fires before war is inevitable. This vicious cycle would continue on in the future made complicated by other nations choosing sides in the war.
written by Malaysiaputra, January 10, 2009 11:03:39
Let's imagine that Israel is Palestine and Hamas is Israelis group . What would Mahathir be saying ? Nothing I suppose.

Why was Mahathir silent in the face of the atrocities against the non Muslims in Sudan ?, pepetrated by the Arab Islamist groups ?. In fact more of the blacks in Sudan were killed by the Islamist group than the Palestinians killed in Gaza by Israeli bombs. Why non protest by Mahathir and the Islamic NGOs. Hippocrites ?.
written by jonath66my, January 10, 2009 11:30:32
Nobel as the protesters' intentions are, but I would prefer the protest is to STOP THE VIOLENCE ON BOTH SIDES! Let's not let prejudice and stereotyping value the lives of civilians on one side over another!
And the call to boycott US goods and what have you in BolehLand, is asking a smoker to boycott or stop smoking!
So let's not be hypocritical to show we care and stick to our principles or rather to gregarious mentality. The next person who tells me to boycott this or that, i'd seriously remove any item on him or her from the country being so despised! If something is toxic to you, pehlease get rid of it! see 'UN(successful) resolution on Gaza www.jonathan66-my.********.com
written by Shiva, January 10, 2009 12:07:13
why did malaysia did not protest over tibet claim by china - why no boycott
why did malaysia did not protest over pakistan organized terror attack in india - why never boycoot pakistan
why did malaysia did not protest over srilankan army attack on tamilian
why did malaysia did not protest over iran or iraq over iran-iraq war -
why did malaysia did not protest over taliban attack on afgan population

it quite surprising the malaysian population do not mourn the loss of life but the loss of a religious member, and they call these "hadari"
written by Rainbowseahorse, January 10, 2009 12:15:22
Hakim Joe!...hehehe...Put like that, if I am the one having a bigger stick, I would bash the shit out of my opponent and/or eliminate my foes once and for all.

Much like a persistent ant nibbling at my toe and who comes back for more each time I gently pick it up and throw away, I eventually crushed that stupid ant to put an end to its irritating bite.
written by Rainbowseahorse, January 10, 2009 12:16:53
...and if more ants come to bit on my toe, out comes that can of "Sheltox" and hey 'presto' no more attacking ants!
written by cruzeiro, January 10, 2009 12:21:27
The hypocrisy of those who claim to be championing the cause of justice is nauseating at best.

Mahathir asks that we boycott US/Jewish products (Intel/Dell/McD/KFC,COKE etc), when people are having a hard time making ends meet. Who's going to compensate these employees who need to feed their children (Muslim or Kafir) while this goon holidays in Switzerland or the Pampas with his blood money from lopsided mega contracts (paid for by the taxpayers)?

This they do, simply for political mileage of their scions who have a grimy hand in the nation's cookie jar.
To make matters worse, there are people who think that this war has plenty to do with religion, and so hijack the religion to justify mindless killings.
Meanwhile, the mindless "faithful" in Malaysia get all so emotional about a perpetual war war that's been taking place a world away ...
written by Hakim Joe, January 10, 2009 12:36:25
Thank you krising1. I know very well that this topic is going to be very controversial but I am merely looking at the entire episode from another viewpoint. I know and understand that I am going to be hammered left, right and centre. Why stick to the official news as reported by our news agencies? Just like Pakatan's struggle to regain democracy here, we require other inputs, not just the ones propagated by BN. Same concept here. Just as other non-Malays citizens deserve the right to be treated as Malaysians in Malaysia, I sympathize with A's quest for a peaceful homeland. They might be wrong for starting a war against a lesser opponent but since nobody is doing nothing to alleviate this problem, it would be entirely up to them to "force" the international community to sit up and take notice. Hopefully something good and permanent will be achieved after this debacle.
written by Hakim Joe, January 10, 2009 12:49:09
Rainbowseahorse, I agree entirely with you but if you were to look closely at A's tactical maneuvers, you will find that they are moving out very slowly...in fact too slow for comfort. This "invasion" is merely a ploy to get US and UN to do something about the cross border bombing by C.

k loon, whacking B will create more problems for A. B is afterall a legit country recognized by UN. It would be akin to Iraq's invasion of Kuwait and A will not want to lose US backing. No doubt that they can flatten B and C put together, but will they commit ground troops in B later on? If A were to invade B, the entire Middle East will join together and this is one scenario that A does not want nor need. Stationing troops in B is not a good thing as evidenced by US/UN troops in Iraq. And then there is the D people to take into account.

written by Arubin, January 10, 2009 12:53:56
Never mind faraway places. Fact is Malaysia has been grimly silent on massacres happening in our own backyard. What about East Timor and Myanmar? No doubt, some Malaysians did indeed protest but all of the activities were organized by NGOs. Officially, the stance is 'solidarity with our ASEAN neighbours'. Disgraceful! And now we want to poke our noses into Middle Eastern affairs. This is what I call 'jaga tepi kain orang'.
written by mypanida, January 10, 2009 13:10:00
You are absolutely right, Arubin.
Kuman kat seberang laut nampak, tapi gajah kat depan muka buat tak tahu aja.
written by Rainbowseahorse, January 10, 2009 13:35:42
If indeed “A” has the bigger stick, why don’t they just beat the shit out of “B” and get it over with? Is it because “A” is aware of and is afraid of laws governing such actions and the entailing consequences?

And if “B” do not have the means to defeat “A”, then what the fuk do “B” hopes to accomplish by taking on “A”? I think “B” is hoping to get sympathy from onlookers to help “B” defeat or at least to criticize “A” into submission for what would appear to be a big bad bully.

Yes, indeed, what the hell does either party hope to gain from such a conflict?

Without outright finishing off “B”, “A” is pinching and punching at “B” and drawing blood in the process. “A” hopes to beat “B” into submission and shouting loudly “This is to teach you to pick a fight with me!”, and hoping and wanting onlookers to support him. At the same time, “A” is fully aware of the laws & punishment if he inflict too much harm to “B” who is down, but not out, and still vainly kicking & punching back in return.

And what the hell is “B” motives for picking a fight with a bigger opponent? Perhaps “B”, long being ignored and shun by others, wants attention and popularity to show others of his bravery, though many might perceived as foolhardy, but yet in the end are impressed with a fight between “David & Goliath”. The relatives of “B”, seeing him bashed up by “A” rushed in to assist even though they know nothing or know how the fight began in the first place. As far as “B” relatives are concerned, “B” is of their kind and, no matter what, “A” has to be bashed up too.

Now “A”, knowing he has incurred the wrath & support of “B”’s relatives, fought on as he knows he has the support of some important law officials who, having been alerted of the fight, are on their way and is sure to back him.

Meantime, “A”, with his bigger stick is still beating & poking at “B” into submission, and took swipes at “B”’s relatives who have not really jumped into the fight but shouting abuses at “A” and encouraging “B” to fight back.

Is this much better narrative, Hakim Joe??
written by renoir, January 10, 2009 13:46:24
Some info on Gaza.

--------------------------------------------

New York Times

January 8, 2009

What You Don’t Know About Gaza
By RASHID KHALIDI

NEARLY everything you’ve been led to believe about Gaza is wrong. Below are a few essential points that seem to be missing from the conversation, much of which has taken place in the press, about Israel’s attack on the Gaza Strip.

THE GAZANS Most of the people living in Gaza are not there by choice. The majority of the 1.5 million people crammed into the roughly 140 square miles of the Gaza Strip belong to families that came from towns and villages outside Gaza like Ashkelon and Beersheba. They were driven to Gaza by the Israeli Army in 1948.

THE OCCUPATION The Gazans have lived under Israeli occupation since the Six-Day War in 1967. Israel is still widely considered to be an occupying power, even though it removed its troops and settlers from the strip in 2005. Israel still controls access to the area, imports and exports, and the movement of people in and out. Israel has control over Gaza’s air space and sea coast, and its forces enter the area at will. As the occupying power, Israel has the responsibility under the Fourth Geneva Convention to see to the welfare of the civilian population of the Gaza Strip.

THE BLOCKADE Israel’s blockade of the strip, with the support of the United States and the European Union, has grown increasingly stringent since Hamas won the Palestinian Legislative Council elections in January 2006. Fuel, electricity, imports, exports and the movement of people in and out of the Strip have been slowly choked off, leading to life-threatening problems of sanitation, health, water supply and transportation.

The blockade has subjected many to unemployment, penury and malnutrition. This amounts to the collective punishment — with the tacit support of the United States — of a civilian population for exercising its democratic rights.

THE CEASE-FIRE Lifting the blockade, along with a cessation of rocket fire, was one of the key terms of the June cease-fire between Israel and Hamas. This accord led to a reduction in rockets fired from Gaza from hundreds in May and June to a total of less than 20 in the subsequent four months (according to Israeli government figures). The cease-fire broke down when Israeli forces launched major air and ground attacks in early November; six Hamas operatives were reported killed.

WAR CRIMES The targeting of civilians, whether by Hamas or by Israel, is potentially a war crime. Every human life is precious. But the numbers speak for themselves: Nearly 700 Palestinians, most of them civilians, have been killed since the conflict broke out at the end of last year. In contrast, there have been around a dozen Israelis killed, many of them soldiers. Negotiation is a much more effective way to deal with rockets and other forms of violence. This might have been able to happen had Israel fulfilled the terms of the June cease-fire and lifted its blockade of the Gaza Strip.

This war on the people of Gaza isn’t really about rockets. Nor is it about “restoring Israel’s deterrence,” as the Israeli press might have you believe. Far more revealing are the words of Moshe Yaalon, then the Israeli Defense Forces chief of staff, in 2002: “The Palestinians must be made to understand in the deepest recesses of their consciousness that they are a defeated people.”

Rashid Khalidi, a professor of Arab studies at Columbia, is the author of the forthcoming “Sowing Crisis: The Cold War and American Dominance in the Middle East."

Copyright 2009 The New York Times Company
written by Rainbowseahorse, January 10, 2009 14:22:30
The State of Israel is 20,072km2, population of 7.5millions with 76% Jews.

If Israel is indeed the mortal enemy of all Arabs and Muslims, why don’t they all unit and simply, as that Iranian President said, wipe Israel off from the face of the earth?

Collectively, I would say our Muslim people runs into the billions and, if all of them just pee on Israel, their urine would drown the Israelis!

After “wiping Israel off from the face of the earth, will we Muslim live in great harmony and prosperity?

Oh no, because we Muslims are now left with our own traditional fellow Muslim enemies which can only be solved by quickly killing each other to get the upper hand.

We have to try our level best to reduce the numbers of our fellow “Muslim Brotherhood” who are not of our clans and sects.

We have to call for Jihad to defend our own against…ehhhh…fellow Muslims who don’t believe what we believe and who do not agree to our way of life which is holier than theirs.

We have to bring these other…eehhh…Muslims to the true path of Islam and to make them see the path to eternal life.

As someone once posted,in this blog somewhere, telling non Muslims: "Don't be surprise one day you will be fighting alongside Muslims for the cause."

And I asked: "Which side of Islam would that non Muslim be fighting alongside with?"
I didn't get a reply!
written by Hakim Joe, January 10, 2009 14:37:29
Rainbowseahorse, first and foremost, I agree entirely with your reasoning. However, you forgot something. C is picking the fight with A. B is merely supplying the arms to C. What about G and H? They are the real sponsors and B & C are merely the instruments. Propaganda is a massive tool. When one has nothing left to fall back on and someone just happens to be around to provide some kind of support, there'll be war (especially in the Middle East). Sad events when there are innocent civilians as casualties but that is fact. I do sincerely hope that this will lead to better things as the Palestine Problem needs to be solved once and for all.

written by Rainbowseahorse, January 10, 2009 15:08:20
Hakim Joe,

Hmmmm, ada C, G & H juga kah?smilies/grin.gif...hehehe...sounds like one big conflict among family members lah, some of whom are rich, some poor, and some plain poor & also real arseholes too! But the uniting factor is a common enemy beating the shit out of that poor asehole relative, who is normally a despised family member.

I know where you going with this, but I simply don't see a solution without one or more of the family members of that poor arsehole family member and chastising him for starting a fight with a big muscular outsider whom the other family members would not want to take on in the first place.
Nonetheless, the other family members are now forced to side with that poor arsehole against that big muscular outsider, and a mortal enemy at that, who have the bigger stick which can whack the shit out of every family member. Plus, that outsider has friends in high places who carry an even bigger stick, and whom the other family members do not wish to be in conflict with.

So, who among the family memebers, is going to solve the trouble that poor arsehole family member has got hinself into in the first place?

written by Rainbowseahorse, January 10, 2009 16:14:59
cheekhlaw,

Nope! I cannot be that arsehole simply beacuse I would be one of the other family members.
But I bet it would be you that we whacked for bashing our poor arsehole family member! smilies/grin.gif
written by Rainbowseahorse, January 10, 2009 16:18:26
...oophs! I forgot to trade insults with you! smilies/grin.gif

should had been "cheekarse" lah! Sorry, yah! smilies/grin.gif
written by renoir, January 10, 2009 16:49:30
Quietguy and cheekhiaw, good observations.

Logic exists in analogies, but a weakness of analogies is that they're - inherently - never perfect. Nevertheless, they're still useful in allowing comparative understanding of two seemingly different situations. An analogy is already worth its existence when it enables people to see the similarities; it's worth still more when they see differences as well.

So while logic plays a part; the broadening of insights is sufficient justification for the surat.

One point: while many Jews - mostly of Caucasian Askenazi origins - did go over to Palestine from the US, still more are from Europe. Indeed, many have used the US as a conduit to go to Israel. Second, there're also Jews who're against the unending wars against the Palestinians, and they tend to be more outspoken than, I think, those exhibited by our better educated Malays (with the obvious exceptions of people like RPK, Zaid, and Harris Ibrahim, etc). So while we could be anti-Zionist, we shouldn't be anti-Jewish.

Lastly, no matter what one might say of UMNO, many do possess the kinder, gentler Malay cultural values and few are as ferocious as the Zionists. We all oppose UMNO's policies but - I for one - don't see them as enemies. Compared with Palestine, and with all our justified grouses, Malaysia is still a blessed country. We simply want to make it better.

So remember to vote PAS smilies/smiley.gif

written by cahaya, January 10, 2009 17:04:34
LChuah, Thank you for the article you posted earlier on "War of Choice".

Thanks also for your explanation on logic and analogies. Your comments could help Batsman who was trying so hard to find "Rough Similarities between Palestine and Malaysia". He does not understand the flaw in his weak analogy. Please do add a comment under his article to encourage the young man.
written by cahaya, January 10, 2009 17:07:13
Hakim Joe, LChuah and others,
below is something from a Middle East regional paper. The author tries to explain the potential impact of the war in Gaza on the Arab world, as well as why the Arabs and others (Muslims and non-Muslims) around the world are helpless to do anything about the Palestinians other than to march in solidarity.

= = =

The Gaza onslaught will impact on the Arab world
By Rami G. Khouri, Daily Star, Friday, January 09, 2009

The immediate consequences of the Israeli assault on Gaza are being felt primarily by the Palestinians in Gaza, but its political shockwaves will be felt throughout the Arab world, in forms that cannot be easily predicted today. The Israeli attempt to inflict patrie-cide -- the murder of a people and state -- on Gaza emphasizes a series of transformational trends that have been clear throughout the Arab region for the past quarter-century.

The most important trend is the reconfiguration of power, legitimacy and activism in the modern Arab state. As governments in Arab states effectively ignore what is happening in Gaza -- to judge by their political immobility -- we will continue to witness the thinning impact, control and even legitimacy of many of those regimes. We will also continue to see the rise of non-state actors who become so strong and credible that they should be called parallel states.

Street demonstrations by angry Arabs no longer have political significance because the fear, rage, and desire for action by ordinary men and women throughout the Middle East have been mobilized by a combination of Islamist and tribal movements that now form the center of gravity of Arab political identity - in those expanding spaces that are not dominated by the modern Arab police state.

Hizbullah, Hamas, the Muslim Brotherhood, Muqtada Sadr's movement in Iraq and others are some leading examples of this. Hamas in Gaza is probably the most significant, because it is part of the core Palestinian-Israeli conflict that has expanded into a wider Arab-Israeli conflict. The conflict forms a sacred landscape that incorporates Jerusalem, which is holy to all Muslims and Arabs, Christians included; and, in the past two years, Gaza is the only place in the history of the conflict where Palestinians have had a brief opportunity to establish a sovereign statelet of sorts - with their own institutions and security operations, largely free from direct Israeli attacks or controls, or hindrances from fellow Arabs.

The coming weeks will reveal what is happening in the battles in Gaza, and the political ramifications to follow. What is already obvious, though, is that Gaza represents the first time that Palestinians who controlled their own society have decided to make a stand against Israel's repeated attempts to kill, occupy, starve, and destroy them as a coherent society.

[to be continued]
written by cahaya, January 10, 2009 17:08:53
[continued]
The picture is not pretty in any of its dimensions: the internal Fatah-Hamas fighting among Palestinians in 2007-2008, the mutual attacks between Hamas and other Palestinians and Israel, the insolvency of the Israeli negotiations with the Palestinian Authority headed by Mahmoud Abbas, the stunning immobility of the Arab governments and leaders, or the world's complicit inattention to the Israeli attempt to starve and strangulate Gaza's population in the past two years, since Hamas won the parliamentary elections in January 2006.

Most of this is not new. The one and only truly new phenomenon today is that several thousand armed and trained Palestinians under the command of Hamas and smaller resistance groups have taken a stand in their homeland. They have shown that they are prepared to fight to the death to defend themselves against Israel's might and America's explicit support for Israel.

The 60-year-old intensifying Israeli assault on the people and land of Palestine has crossed so many thresholds that it has finally started to elicit reactions from many quarters of the Arab world who refuse to acquiesce in their own continued humiliation, colonization, marginalization, or -- in the worst cases such as Gaza today -- their own extermination.

A majority of Arabs and others around the world sympathize with Hamas and the Palestinian people, but they are helpless to do anything other than march in solidarity. Most Arab and foreign governments fear movements like Hamas that mobilize masses of citizens, take charge of their own destiny, and openly resist and confront the American-backed power structures around them.

How this war ends will have an enormous impact on trends in the region. If Hamas emerges standing on its feet, with an internationally monitored cease-fire that stops attacks by both sides and also reopens Gaza's borders to normal economic activity, this will be seen as a victory for Hamas. It will also bolster the popularity of the Hizbullah-Hamas model of armed resistance predicated on the will and capacity to fight a stronger foe.

Israel historically has never been able to come to terms with Palestinian nationalism. It has never seen the Palestinians as people who should enjoy the same quality of life and national rights as Jews, Zionists, and Israelis. In Gaza, we see the first example of assertive Palestinians operating on sovereign Palestinian soil. They have elicited an Israeli attempt at patrie-cide, and widespread popular support throughout the Arab region. Both of those trends will strengthen Islamist-nationalist movements and further degrade some existing Arab state structures.

= = =
written by renoir, January 10, 2009 17:38:50
Hi Cahaya - thanks for mentioning Batsman's article on "Similarities between Palestine and Malaysia"! I'd read that and gone out for a cuppa and when returning to my computer saw this article and wrote that posting under this one!!! Evidently, my student was responsible for this jump to "Rationalization of War"! (My computer is open to any of my young visitors.) Shows old age creeping up - wonder if I'm still fit enough to participate in the cyberworld!

written by cheekhiaw, January 10, 2009 17:53:55
Rainbowseadonkey,

No insults involved. It is just putting the right label on the insolent.

written by Malaysiaputra, January 10, 2009 22:28:30
CNN Withdraws Apparently Faked Video of CPR Attempt on 'Dead' Palestinian Child

===

Hmmmm, makes me wonder how many of the pictures or videos we see in the papers and in the news are doctored propaganda ?. Though it is undeniable that some are true pictures, but which are true and which are doctored ?.
written by oster, January 10, 2009 22:46:44
Love, the pursuit of ambition, the accumulation of wealth, all these are subjective notions. As is the perception of religion etc.

To decouple human actions from subjective thought will disable your arguments, as it has here.

War is not about overwhelming force, but the pursuit of subjective goals.

The moment you realise that is the moment your entire argument breaks down.

Your article itself has no logical fallacies, apart from the fundamental assumptions you've made.

Finally of course, many wars are won without overwhelming force. France, 1941, Blitzkrieg. ****** them.

written by oster, January 10, 2009 22:50:07
Addendum:

Certainly, Israel is not solely to blame here. Being gangbanged by Arab countries during its inception left a great impression of vulnerability on many US Jews, and hence a strong pro-Israel lobby in the US.

In many sense, it was bigotry that beget bigotry, regardless of who started it, many of us are merely propagating it.

written by Hakim Joe, January 11, 2009 01:01:50
Ha...Ha...krising1, seems that I might have escaped being bloodied by the readers of MT (except for cheekhiaw). Ah well, serves me right for writing something so controversial in the first place.

In retrospect, one can witness the many opinions and comments given here. Same thing is happening in Malaysia. We all look at the same picture but get different views from it, each making diverse judgment on it. Some support BN and some support PR, and it is not wrong for making a stand for what we believe in.

Cool it cheekhiaw...this is merely a perspective that we believe in (as we see it). Doesn't mean we are always wrong but it doesn't mean that you are correct either. We are all friends here.
written by renoir, January 11, 2009 02:20:14
One of my favorite rhetoricians is Quintillian, who like most Chinese philosophers of the Axial Age emphasized not only on the art of rhetoric, but on the disposition of the rhetorician himself. Thus, to this Roman citizen, a rhetorician must speak WELL, meaning not only skillfully, but also morally. I believe Cheekhiaw, with whom I'd some differences of opinion before, is such a person. He's one of those posters I'd be happy to call "a friend."

written by glock17, January 11, 2009 13:01:00
its a problem of mideast of deep historical mistrust for ages...why the heck does southeastasian monkees (without tail species) are harping illogical protest against it while its own back yard are fill with abuses, discrimination, blind ethno narrow minded nationalism and megacorruptions.

Remember my moronic monkees martyr wannabees.....the birth of 'A is Gd First Born Nation', do u think suicide bombers and ak 47 can erased it of the world map???

U Syiok sendiri jer lah brader..!!!
written by Hakim Joe, January 11, 2009 16:19:21
LChuah, in pertinent to your comment about speaking well skillfully AND morally, one must add another aspect to it - RESPECTFULLY. It is cheekhiaw's right to disagree with someone else except the abusive name-calling is uncalled for. A rhetorician gets his message across without offending the other party. A thug announces his lack of civility by the utilization of words meant as a direct insult to the other party. Perhaps this is done to exhibit his manliness (or lack of it). Nonetheless, we are all educated people here and respecting other people's views are one of the many aspects differentiating humans from the animals.
written by Hakim Joe, January 11, 2009 16:29:48
BTW cheekhiaw, guess who was the first person of importance in history to prepare a proclamation establishing a Jewish state in Palestine? In was Napoleon during the siege of Acre in 1799 and this is years and years before the Balfour Declaration (incidentally not authored by Arthur James Balfour but written by Lord Alfred Milner) or Theodor Herzl's Der Judenstaat.

Also Napoleon (after the French Revolution) abolished the different treatment of people according to religion or origin that existed under the monarchy; the 1789 Declaration of the Rights of Man and of the Citizen guaranteed freedom of religion and free exercise of worship, provided that it did not contradict public order.

written by MalaysianFirst, January 11, 2009 18:55:11
A says B must do this and that to end the armed conflict.
B says A must do this and that to end the armed conflict.
C steps in and says A and B must do this and that to end the conflict.
D steps in and says C should not interfere.
E steps in and says D should not interfere.
F steps in and says D and E should not interfere.
And then GHIJKLMNOPQRSTUVWXYZ all seem to have something to say about the conflict and how it should be resolved. Everyone seems to have their intepretation and argument on how to end the conflict. And everyone seems to think that they are right.

BUT UNTIL NOW, NO ONE SEEMS TO BE ABLE TO RESOLVE IT.

We had two world wars and yet, BOTH were somehow resolved. Here, we only have A and B killing each other DAILY, and still, since I was a little kid in school, they had never stopped fighting. UNTIL NOW!!!!

I'm no longer interested to read about the A and B conflict because both sides do not seem to care about its people. All they care about is just territory. It is not really about race or religion.

Man! The way I see it, 500 years from 2009, long after mankind have migrated to live in some other galaxies, A and B will still be fighting.

Instead of blaming anyone, I'd prefer to think of this conflict as the will of God.
written by cheekhiaw, January 11, 2009 20:22:19
Hakin Joe,

So you want to give everyone here an ABC writeup on what you learned from the behaviour of the kind of people behind Israel? The shorties around here could do well with it.

Oh, unlike your pseudonym there is no insult nor disrespect involved when a term is fittingly used. One may not be 100% right but one can be much more right than the foolish and there are simple ways to tell that it is so.

Only fools think that 400 years ago the pope's opinion on the structure of the universe is as 'equal' as that of the likes of Aristarcus, Copernicus or Galileo.

Only fools standing on nothing think it is just a matter of difference of opinions.

Now go find a more fitting name.

written by renoir, January 11, 2009 21:01:23
Hakim Joe wrote:
> your comment about speaking well skillfully AND morally]]

Only wish it was my definition, Joe. That was Quintillian's, who put the worth of a good rhetorician beyond the mastery of the art (the "artistic" of the ancients was what we today would call the "scientific" - quite the same thing). This humanized approach was a step forward beyond the Aristotlean view of rhetorics being - largely - the art of persuasion.

written by Avanza1, January 11, 2009 23:25:57
Intellectuals, peace loving ppl would want to separate religion from the conflict. It is a noble attempt to zoom down for a Palestine solution. Unfortunately, no matter how hard we try, religion is the source of the problem there. It is a fuel the continue to feed the fire burning there. Israel has no problem with Muslim Arabs living in peace within Israel. They are allowed to live there. Sad to say that is no the case beyond it's borders, except for Egypt and Jordan who hv signed peace treaties with her. We have to understand what did the Quran say about Israel, both the good and the bad things, together with their tradition...yes, their tradition. We don't expect their tradition will just die off once there is a peace treaty. What did the Quran say about Israel in the future? Destruction and wipe off the earth. That is exactly what the current followers are doing. If the can't do it they will die trying to fulfill it. Please understand what is Darl Al-Harb (#http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Dar_al-Harb)

#http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Islam:_What_the_West_Needs_to_Know

written by Avanza1, January 12, 2009 01:17:32
This Palestinian give an insight of what is actually happening in the middleast. His question is in the video is 'which part of the kill they(The West) don't understand'

#http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=_jREpbFaKOE&feature=related
written by oster, January 12, 2009 04:30:05
@cheekhiaw

I do not know what you are trying to insinuate by saying that I have my own version of the story. I had put up a disclaimer against assuming I declared who started the whole mess. My example of Israel maintaining multiple fronts was to show that the whole animosity between the MidEast peoples stem from mutually-dependent and mutually-sourced fears of each other. A chicken and egg conundrum, so to speak.

I am a man of cold, dour logic who sees words as merely a mode of expressing logic, so I cannot derive from your reply what your point is. If it is to mention the pre-Balfour bloodshed, be clear about it.

written by batsman, January 12, 2009 10:36:31
I think cheekhiaw is right. It is obscene to call a massacre a war. Further, it is also obscene to use the cold logic of ABC maths to describe a bloody massacre. But enough said. I don;t have to add any more when someone else has written brilliantly about it - read Robert Fisk in the Independent...

The Independent/UK

ps. Sorry if the link does not work - seem to have some problems with it.
written by batsman, January 12, 2009 10:43:26
Sorry to MT. The article is copied below. The link doesn't work.

Why Do They Hate The West So Much, We Will Ask
by Robert Fisk
So once again, Israel has opened the gates of hell to the Palestinians. Forty civilian refugees dead in a United Nations school, three more in another. Not bad for a night's work in Gaza by the army that believes in "purity of arms". But why should we be surprised?
Have we forgotten the 17,500 dead – almost all civilians, most of them children and women – in Israel's 1982 invasion of Lebanon; the 1,700 Palestinian civilian dead in the Sabra-Chatila massacre; the 1996 Qana massacre of 106 Lebanese civilian refugees, more than half of them children, at a UN base; the massacre of the Marwahin refugees who were ordered from their homes by the Israelis in 2006 then slaughtered by an Israeli helicopter crew; the 1,000 dead of that same 2006 bombardment and Lebanese invasion, almost all of them civilians?
What is amazing is that so many Western leaders, so many presidents and prime ministers and, I fear, so many editors and journalists, bought the old lie; that Israelis take such great care to avoid civilian casualties. "Israel makes every possible effort to avoid civilian casualties," yet another Israeli ambassador said only hours before the Gaza massacre. And every president and prime minister who repeated this mendacity as an excuse to avoid a ceasefire has the blood of last night's butchery on their hands. Had George Bush had the courage to demand an immediate ceasefire 48 hours earlier, those 40 civilians, the old and the women and children, would be alive.
written by batsman, January 12, 2009 10:44:08
cont....

What happened was not just shameful. It was a disgrace. Would war crime be too strong a description? For that is what we would call this atrocity if it had been committed by Hamas. So a war crime, I'm afraid, it was. After covering so many mass murders by the armies of the Middle East – by Syrian troops, by Iraqi troops, by Iranian troops, by Israeli troops – I suppose cynicism should be my reaction. But Israel claims it is fighting our war against "international terror". The Israelis claim they are fighting in Gaza for us, for our Western ideals, for our security, for our safety, by our standards. And so we are also complicit in the savagery now being visited upon Gaza.
I've reported the excuses the Israeli army has served up in the past for these outrages. Since they may well be reheated in the coming hours, here are some of them: that the Palestinians killed their own refugees, that the Palestinians dug up bodies from cemeteries and planted them in the ruins, that ultimately the Palestinians are to blame because they supported an armed faction, or because armed Palestinians deliberately used the innocent refugees as cover.
The Sabra and Chatila massacre was committed by Israel's right-wing Lebanese Phalangist allies while Israeli troops, as Israel's own commission of inquiry revealed, watched for 48 hours and did nothing. When Israel was blamed, Menachem Begin's government accused the world of a blood libel. After Israeli artillery had fired shells into the UN base at Qana in 1996, the Israelis claimed that Hizbollah gunmen were also sheltering in the base. It was a lie. The more than 1,000 dead of 2006 – a war started when Hizbollah captured two Israeli soldiers on the border – were simply dismissed as the responsibility of the Hizbollah. Israel claimed the bodies of children killed in a second Qana massacre may have been taken from a graveyard. It was another lie. The Marwahin massacre was never excused. The people of the village were ordered to flee, obeyed Israeli orders and were then attacked by an Israeli gunship. The refugees took their children and stood them around the truck in which they were travelling so that Israeli pilots would see they were innocents. Then the Israeli helicopter mowed them down at close range. Only two survived, by playing dead. Israel didn't even apologise.
Twelve years earlier, another Israeli helicopter attacked an ambulance carrying civilians from a neighbouring village – again after they were ordered to leave by Israel – and killed three children and two women. The Israelis claimed that a Hizbollah fighter was in the ambulance. It was untrue. I covered all these atrocities, I investigated them all, talked to the survivors. So did a number of my colleagues. Our fate, of course, was that most slanderous of libels: we were accused of being anti-Semitic.
And I write the following without the slightest doubt: we'll hear all these scandalous fabrications again. We'll have the Hamas-to-blame lie – heaven knows, there is enough to blame them for without adding this crime – and we may well have the bodies-from-the-cemetery lie and we'll almost certainly have the Hamas-was-in-the-UN-school lie and we will very definitely have the anti-Semitism lie. And our leaders will huff and puff and remind the world that Hamas originally broke the ceasefire. It didn't. Israel broke it, first on 4 November when its bombardment killed six Palestinians in Gaza and again on 17 November when another bombardment killed four more Palestinians.
Yes, Israelis deserve security. Twenty Israelis dead in 10 years around Gaza is a grim figure indeed. But 600 Palestinians dead in just over a week, thousands over the years since 1948 – when the Israeli massacre at Deir Yassin helped to kick-start the flight of Palestinians from that part of Palestine that was to become Israel – is on a quite different scale. This recalls not a normal Middle East bloodletting but an atrocity on the level of the Balkan wars of the 1990s. And of course, when an Arab bestirs himself with unrestrained fury and takes out his incendiary, blind anger on the West, we will say it has nothing to do with us. Why do they hate us, we will ask? But let us not say we do not know the answer.
written by cheekhiaw, January 12, 2009 11:21:05
oyster,

Don't pride yourself. To imagine a 'snake and egg' situation as 'chicken and egg' requires much lesser than cold logic.

Here are some cold dish for you:

If you got to ask, you ain’t never gonna get to know.
- Louis Armstrong

Compassion without knowledge is ineffective
Knowledge without compassion is inhumane
- Victor Weisskopf

written by Rainbowseahorse, January 12, 2009 11:47:22
cheekhiaw, wrote:
"Rainbowseadonkey,
No insults involved. It is just putting the right label on the insolent".

Yup, you are right,so was I! So you are an Ass & I a Donkey! Nice combination!smilies/grin.gif

Cheers!
written by cheekhiaw, January 12, 2009 14:21:37
Not as colourful as you.

written by renoir, January 12, 2009 16:58:37
>Compassion without knowledge is ineffective
Knowledge without compassion is inhumane
- Victor Weisskopf ]

Love without knowledge, said Bertrand Russell, was what happened when a priest, confronted with a widespread infectious disease, call his parish to gather at a certain place in order to pray together. That merely intensifes the epidemic.

Knowledge without love, on the other hand, was what caused the inhuman events of WW2.

The first few words of the Analects refer to the basic goodness of man. When we think deeply, our understanding - and hence compassion - would naturally emerge. Thus, says Confucius, “Learning without thought is labor lost; thought without learning is perilous."

written by renoir, January 13, 2009 02:37:53
Excerpts from http://www.counterpunch.org/avnery01122009.html
The writer, Uri Avnery, is an Israeli peace activist.

-----------------------------------------

...Nearly seventy years ago, in the course of World War II, a heinous crime was committed in the city of Leningrad. For more than a thousand days, a gang of extremists called “the Red Army” held the millions of the town’s inhabitants hostage and provoked retaliation from the German Wehrmacht from inside the population centers. The Germans had no alternative but to bomb and shell the population and to impose a total blockade, which caused the death of hundreds of thousands.

Some time before that, a similar crime was committed in England. The Churchill gang hid among the population of London, misusing the millions of citizens as a human shield. The Germans were compelled to send their Luftwaffe and reluctantly reduce the city to ruins. They called it the Blitz.

This is the description that would now appear in the history books – if the Germans had won the war. Absurd? No more than the daily descriptions in our media, which are being repeated ad nauseam: the Hamas terrorists use the inhabitants of Gaza as “hostages” and exploit the women and children as “human shields”, they leave us no alternative but to carry out massive bombardments, in which, to our deep sorrow, thousands of women, children and unarmed men are killed and injured.

IN THIS WAR, as in any modern war, propaganda plays a major role. The disparity between the forces, between the Israeli army - with its airplanes, gunships, drones, warships, artillery and tanks - and the few thousand lightly armed Hamas fighters, is one to a thousand, perhaps one to a million. In the political arena the gap between them is even wider. But in the propaganda war, the gap is almost infinite.

Almost all the Western media initially repeated the official Israeli propaganda line. They almost entirely ignored the Palestinian side of the story, not to mention the daily demonstrations of the Israeli peace camp. The rationale of the Israeli government (“The state must defend its citizens against the Qassam rockets”) has been accepted as the whole truth. The view from the other side, that the Qassams are a retaliation for the siege that starves the one and a half million inhabitants of the Gaza Strip, was not mentioned at all.

Only when the horrible scenes from Gaza started to appear on Western TV screens, did world public opinion gradually begin to change.

True, Western and Israeli TV channels showed only a tiny fraction of the dreadful events that appear 24 hours every day on Aljazeera’s Arabic channel, but one picture of a dead baby in the arms of its terrified father is more powerful than a thousand elegantly constructed sentences from the Israeli army spokesman. And that is what is decisive, in the end.

War – every war – is the realm of lies. Whether called propaganda or psychological warfare, everybody accepts that it is right to lie for one’s country. Anyone who speaks the truth runs the risk of being branded a traitor.

The trouble is that propaganda is most convincing for the propagandist himself. And after you convince yourself that a lie is the truth and falsification reality, you can no longer make rational decisions. An example of this process surrounds the most shocking atrocity of this war so far: the shelling of the UN Fakhura school in Jabaliya refugee camp. Immediately after the incident became known throughout the world, the army “revealed” that Hamas fighters had been firing mortars from near the school entrance. As proof they released an aerial photo which indeed showed the school and the mortar. But within a short time the official army liar had to admit that the photo was more than a year old. In brief: a falsification.

Later the official liar claimed that “our soldiers were shot at from inside the school”. Barely a day passed before the army had to admit to UN personnel that that was a lie, too. Nobody had shot from inside the school, no Hamas fighters were inside the school, which was full of terrified refugees.

But the admission made hardly any difference anymore. By that time, the Israeli public was completely convinced that “they shot from inside the school”, and TV announcers stated this as a simple fact.

So it went with the other atrocities. Every baby metamorphosed, in the act of dying, into a Hamas terrorist. Every bombed mosque instantly became a Hamas base, every apartment building an arms cache, every school a terror command post, every civilian government building a “symbol of Hamas rule”. Thus the Israeli army retained its purity as the “most moral army in the world”....