Home arrow The Blogs arrow News/Commentaries arrow Pak Lah tries to convince Umno members to back Wan Farid

Pak Lah tries to convince Umno members to back Wan Farid PDF Print
Friday, 09 January 2009 14:54

By Adib Zalkapli, The Malaysian Insider

Datuk Seri Abdullah Badawi hit the campaign trail yesterday for the first time, meeting party members to defend his choice of candidate, Datuk Wan Ahmad Farid Wan Salleh, and admitting that it was Umno members that have been attacking the former deputy minister.

The Prime Minister, who is slated to leave office by the end of March, found himself trying to convince Umno members to support their own candidate.

"I have heard a lot of things said about our candidate. But what is unusual is that it is Umno members who have been saying things about him, but we have to defend our candidate," said Abdullah to hundreds of Terengganu Umno Wanita leaders on Thursday night in an effort to convince the party that Wan Farid was not a bad choice.

Last night, he denied perceptions that the Kuala Terengganu Umno chief is arrogant.

"If he was arrogant he would not have been appointed my political secretary," said Abdullah.

Wan Farid, who resigned as deputy minister to contest the by-election, will face Pas's Abdul Wahid Endut and an independent, Azharudin Adam, in the January 17 vote.

The by-election, which was called following the death BN's Datuk Razali Ismail in late November, is widely seen as a referendum on Datuk Seri Najib Razak's leadership but the selection of Wan Farid as the candidate shows that Abdullah is still in control of the party.

Abdullah also reminded Wanita leaders to remain focussed on the by-election and not to be bogged down by the party election.

Earlier in the afternoon, the Umno president had to explain to party workers that Wan Farid was a serious candidate who had sacrificed a lot for the party with his resignation from the government and the Senate, a point which he repeated to the Wanita Umno leaders.

He then spoke at length about his last minute reform efforts where he managed to get the Malaysian Anti Corruption Commission Bill and Judicial Appointment Commission Bill, which were initially opposed by the dominant party in BN, passed by Parliament.

He again denied that the reform laws were introduced in a hurry.

written by SocratesI, January 09, 2009 15:11:37
Sacrificed a lot for the party? I believe the word "sacrifice" is to perform work and/or donate money or resources without any monetary gain or repayment! With the billions from Wang Ehsan and Monsoon Cup, how can this be termed as "sacrifice"?! Fact is, this One Putrid guy (Wan Farid), is an UMNOputra through & through and is already rich and wants to become richer and Bodohwi wants to make sure he gets his share of the Wang Ehsan and Monsoon Cup revenues by placing his One Putrid guy there as MP in KT! The secret is out, Bodohwi, you can go home and Sleep now!
written by Rainbowseahorse, January 09, 2009 15:11:59
PAS should take a line from MM when he was confronted by reporters on certain rumors: “Well, if you say so, then it must be correct lah!”

In this case it is: “Well, if such statements are from UMNO’s own people, then it must be correct lah!”.
written by smeagrooo, January 09, 2009 15:20:15
If he was arrogant he would not have been appointed my political secretary," said Abdullah.

Hahahahaha. So who appointed Syid Hamid? He also not very arrogant what. In fact very smart too and with a sense of humor using ISA sesuka hati. Truly not arrogant.

And what can we all say when TDM passed the baton to u. U also not arrogant nor stupid, just tired and sleepy.
written by USJ 6, January 09, 2009 15:24:13
Good to see the UMNO's internal disputes are going wild in KT, that shows the UMNO goons are fighting for their own benefits among themselves...who cares about ordinary folks in KT...?
written by pinsysu, January 09, 2009 15:25:24
wow! tis really out of da orbit! u fielded a candidate dat u'v yet to convince ur ppl dat's a good choice. dun tink da KT ppl will be convinced at all. dat's nice! smilies/grin.gif
written by ahmadneil, January 09, 2009 15:28:43
You all know that umno is still Racist Mahathir's backer and he have alot of proxies in umno.How can they back Wan Farid when Racist mahathir say umno have make the wrong choice.And more over this guy is AAB crony,so with him retiring in March,what is the use of having him in umno.Najis have a hand full already. Vote PAS and kick out Wan Farid!
written by Evol, January 09, 2009 15:30:30
Don worry, all the UMNO member sure will support WAN Farid provided they get their share in Wang Ehsan or Oil Loyalty.

This is how UMNO supporters work, am I right?
written by Motherchell, January 09, 2009 15:43:25
Paklah just wants to save his swimming trunks from getting wet till the next Monsoon Rubber cup!
written by Democrats, January 09, 2009 15:55:48
Why do they need to put a leash on the media and invoke ISA on the normal people. We are no threat to UMNO, the real threat is UMNO itself, the principles it holds to, the people's characteristics and their ideals of their party.

How to succeed in life, achieve enormous wealth through UMNO,
(1) Start your own branch.
(2) Get your friends in to be member and elect you Branch Head.
(3) Start talking to the Division leader and extort money from him so he remains Division Leader (He would have alot of money, which he extorts from hopeful that wants to be in higher positions).
(4) WIth the capital from the extortion, you now can start a company and get government license (PKK and Kewangan License) to supply goods and services to the government. Then you get contracts, and swindle off supplier and have more money.
(5) Now you have more money, use it to bribe other branch leaders to vote you in as the new division leader - challenging the guy you extorted earlier.
(6) Now a division leader, its time to extort the bigger boys. Votes and support for DP, VP and Supreme Council, Belia, Wanita, Puteri, etc...
(7) By now, you would have millions. You'll need them and replicate more money to keep you there to continue to extort more.
(8 ) If your ambition is higher, start some contraversies and racist remarks to make you more popular and visible. Then you will get more support to get you into the supreme council.
(9) Once there, start backstabbing one another and if you are lucky you might end up being the PM.
written by Ken Liew, January 09, 2009 15:56:09
Not even a normal rakyat want to shake hand with you in last night's news. Only those ppl with BN on their T-shirt (which i believe BN uses rakyat's money to make it and give them out free). Show some news on the Pakatan will ya!
written by carribeanking7, January 09, 2009 16:24:43
Leaders should not be "bogged down" by anything but providing good governance and serving the people, not do a last minute dog and pony show to obtain votes, the rakyat know if they have been seved and no amount of spin will change that.

written by steviewonger, January 09, 2009 16:25:52
I wonder if he have fully woken up from his sleep and dreams?
He can still continue with his sleep and dreams and only wake up after the by-election. Who cares for and about him anyway. He's leaving the sinking ship and all the helpless rakyat to defend themselves from the Shit.
written by savemalaysia, January 09, 2009 16:52:08
You're an outgoing PM, so who is going to listen to you. Why waste your breath to persuade the members to close ranks when all that's needed to get them over to Wan Farid is just to dish out money, after all money politics has been perfected into an art form by all UMNO's bigwigs.
written by Evol, January 09, 2009 19:00:54
no matter who is the BN candidate, it makes no different, AAB is going out, Najib will be soon become history also coz DSAI going to take over!
written by Sudahlah tu, January 09, 2009 19:13:45
bayar sebelum diundikan .......
setinggi jumlah menjadi asal mendapat undian lebih.
umno ... kalau bukan pasal wang ... apalagi.
written by cheekhiaw, January 09, 2009 23:57:57
Sleepy thief tries to convince fellow thieves to back arrogant thief.

written by jayenjr, January 11, 2009 01:45:27
"If he was arrogant he would not have been appointed my political secretary," said Abdullah.
-----------------------------------------------------------------------

Really?

But you let THIS ARROGANT A - Hole become your son-in-law?????

[/url]
written by jayenjr, January 11, 2009 01:48:33
----------------------------------------------------------------

Really?

But you let this ARROGANT A-Hole become your son-in-law??