Home arrow The Blogs arrow No Holds Barred arrow How the other side of Kuala Terengganu lives

How the other side of Kuala Terengganu lives PDF Print
Friday, 09 January 2009 13:05

They say a picture is worth a thousand words. Well, I hope these pictures can say what words can never describe. Do the Kuala Terengganu voters still want to vote these people into office on 17 January 2009? These are the people who have milked an estimated RM20 billion of Terengganu’s Oil Royalty or Wang Ehsan.

Yesterday, we showed you some scenes of how the man-in-the-street Kuala Terengganu voter lives. Today, we are going to show you how the ‘other side’ lives so that you can see the contrast between the very few Bumiputera haves and the majority have-nots. The New Economic Policy and the RM1 billion a year Oil Royalty has not really touched the lives of all Malays or the majority of Terengganu residents as many may have thought.

1. Datuk Seri Tok Guru Haji Abdul Hadi Awang’s humble abode. Hadi, the President of PAS and Menteri Besar of Terengganu from 1999 to 2004, continued to stay in this old family home although he was entitled to stay in the Menteri Besar’s official residence. He also refused to take his RM4,000 a month housing allowance all through those five years. This is the same for Tok Guru Nik Aziz Nik Mat who has been the Menteri Besar of Kelantan for almost 20 years now.

2. In the middle is Tun Salleh Abbas, one-time Lord President of Malaysia (now called Chief Justice) and head of the Terengganu Ombudsman when the PAS-led Pakatan Rakyat was ruling the state from 1999 to 2004.

3. Handing over a Barisan Rakyat T-shirt to Tok Guru Ayah Chik, the manja name for Datuk Seri Haji Abdul Hadi Awang.

4. The famous Rhusila mosque.

5.  Tan Sri Wan Mokhtar Ahmad’s residence. Wan Mokhtar is head of the ‘Wan Clan’ and was Menteri Besar of Terengganu almost as long as Tun Dr Mahathir Mohamad was Prime Minister of Malaysia.

6. Wan Mokhtar has to explain what happened to more than RM12 billion of Terengganu’s Oil Royalty from 1974 to 1999 -- before it was converted to Wang Ehsan from 2000 until now (which resulted in another RM8 billion or so in ‘missing money’). That makes a total of RM20 billion which flowed into Terengganu and was never seen again.

7. The home of Wan Farid Wan Salleh, the man who would like to be the new Member of Parliament for Kuala Terengganu.

8.  And this is the home of Wan Farid’s brother, Wan Hashim, the man behind the RM300 million a year Terengganu Monsoon Cup. Thus far, RM1 billion or thereabouts has been spent on this lavish but non-income generating extravaganza.

9. The official residence of the Menteri Besar of Terengganu. Unlike the Umno Menteris Besar, Hadi Awang refused to stay in this house although he was entitled to do so and he also refused the RM4,000 a month housing allowance.

10.  See the stable of expensive cars. Most of us can’t afford to acquire these cars even if we worked and saved our money for 30 years.

11. Now see how the other Terengganu cronies of those who walk in the corridors of power live.

And then we have this:

12. And this is how most of the man-in-the-street lives. Although there are brick houses in Terengganu, the majority of the Malays live as this picture shows.

Comments (65)Add Comment
written by PRman, January 09, 2009 14:19:18
Billions of RM has been disappeared! And look at all the posh cars and luxury houses some of the politians and cronies live in. Boot the BeeN and vote the PAS.
agree 300
written by justice, January 09, 2009 14:21:17

It's time to KICK their ASS!
agree 514
written by myvoice, January 09, 2009 14:21:56
Should the ordinary folks of KT still vote for Bee N, they must be either blind or senile!
agree 213
written by pinsysu, January 09, 2009 14:22:19
da pictures are worth a few thousands votes! wakeup! KT folks! smilies/grin.gif
agree 203
written by joric, January 09, 2009 14:25:02
spot on RPK. When i saw the shanty houses in the earlier blogs, i thought it would be good to see the flip side of it, where those in power lives to have a comparison. well this is where all the billions go to and more.
agree 139
written by Frankfurtguy, January 09, 2009 14:25:42
Rich one got richer; Poor one got poorer
this is Cronism Nepotism Corruption Greed Selfish Lust= BN
agree 146
written by BORN FREE, January 09, 2009 14:27:05
Well done, RPK !! People of KT, open your eyes and do not let us down !
On 17.1.09 do make sure u exercise your voting rights smartly !
We are all counting on you people for a celebration of victory !
written by ahmadneil, January 09, 2009 14:27:35
So KT voters,you see how these thieves live.They steal,plunder and rob the very money that belongs to you all and they dare to show to you how they live and all those luxury cars.We haven't seen the inside and I think the toilets are all gold plated and even the long bath are all filled with milk,to bath them everyday.This is what all these umno guys have been doing for the last 52 years and our PMs have all seen this crooks stealing but turn a a blind eye to this plundering.KT voters,kick out all these crooks so that they will not shame KT.Houses like this destroy the beautiful landscape of KT.
written by ahmadneil, January 09, 2009 14:28:54
Chase this Ali Baba and the forty thieves out of KT.
written by Rainbowseahorse, January 09, 2009 14:31:36
My bro Pete,

That’s exactly what I am talking about! Show the wide dissimilarities between super rich UMNO and down to earth PAS life styles! Now, is there any chance of dissimilating these photos to the good people of KT? These photos will absolutely have an impact on most voters there. But…hehehe…except for those who are out to get-rich-quick through politics who might see that there is more money to be made in UMNO!

Hmmmm, that last photo takes me back to my yesteryears childhood kampong life!

Cheers and all the best in KT! As usual, may Allah be with you all!
written by ahmadneil, January 09, 2009 14:32:35
Must have indoor swimming pool .
One thing,how can these thieves not have any feelings when they see all the poor KT rakyats suffering and they lived in big mansion,partying all night long!
written by arnab76, January 09, 2009 14:32:50
hey MCA/Gerakan, what you have to say about this? I bet you too heavy to allow you to say anything. if you are it still the old days in china we will definitely line up and pay to watch your your head roll down.
written by Mr Bean, January 09, 2009 14:34:32
The photos explained very well where the oil royalty had gone to.
written by Motherchell, January 09, 2009 14:36:28
Dear Pete, Thank you for this exposure
7. The home of Wan Farid Wan Salleh, the man who would like to be the new Member of Parliament for Kuala Terengganu.

Can the people be so ignorant of the way they have been milked dry by the powers that be? 2nd richest state in Malaysia?We have this responsibility to expose all this scums from the corridors of Power.

What will our ACA, or what ever donkey comittees the PM sets up for reforms work as still carriers of the issues of omission and commissions. This Govt dont have the proper diligence and professional attention to bring all the dishonest
to book. Their properties are all locked away far from the madding crowd

God speaks in mysterious ways to expose all one by one. Thanks to the KT bi-elections and to you my dear Raja Petra Bin Raja Kamarudin, God Bless you! The poor and despaired must be liberated soon!
written by Hosea, January 09, 2009 14:41:51
Thanks RPK, Great JOB!

KT Folks this is a serious WAKE UP CALL! Know the truth and set yourself free from the bondage of UMNO cronies bullying.
written by ahmadneil, January 09, 2009 14:42:33
And after seeing this I will never vote umno for the rest of my life and that's still not enough;I will go round KT and show them all this pictures and tell them these crooks houses are all built with your money and still not enough;I will bring these picture and show it to the poor in Penang and other states that I will be going to in the coming days.And finally I will sent all these pictures to my friends abroad ,telling them how this gov't have 2 set of rules for the rakyat and how they discriminate the poor.I will tell them that we, the poor lived in houses that are worst than chicken shed.So let see if PM will keep on telling the world that malaysian are all well off and been treated fairly.
written by salmanthegreat, January 09, 2009 14:42:49
i swear to god that if i ever had power to do something,then i will kick these cronies n put them in the so called "stable" and let the poor to stay in their "millions of ringgit houses"..or maybe i will sell them and give the money to the poor..its just so unfair!!! i feel like punching the cronies's faces!!!
written by ahmadneil, January 09, 2009 14:46:14
Masterpiece!Great job RPK! Thanks to Barisan Bloggers for your job well done.
written by SocratesI, January 09, 2009 14:47:17
The Barisan Najis Govt. practises left pocket and right pocket finances. Whatever that belongs to the Rakyat and Malaysia, Gasak saja into Both left pocket and right pocket, and what the Rakyat ever gets, if they are lucky, is the overflowing coins brimming over from these BN Lanun's pockets!So obvious where the Wang Ehsan has All Gone Famous Barisan Najis movie. Wang Ehsan Gone With The (Monsoon Cup) Wind, blown into UMNOputras & cronies' pockets!
written by ahmadneil, January 09, 2009 14:48:24
Can take some pictures of the rich and famous,going around in big cars ,splashing their jeweleries like our AP queen.
written by malaysianohope, January 09, 2009 14:48:31
Abang Pete,
Like everyone here, I'm totally disgusted with the display of ill gotten gains by the umno cronies. The only problem is that most people particularly the Voters of KT do not realize these. Perhaps since you are campaigning there show them the fotos of these scumbags blatant show of extravagance!!!
written by Bandit, January 09, 2009 14:49:26
And they go around screaming Islam sesama Islam Bersaudara. One saudara lives in a palace and the other saudara in shambles? Want to talk about NEP? These are the hypocrites who call themselves muslims. Right now pove to me where does the so called wang ehsan goes to. Isnt this proof enough? Why do KT folks have to vote these parasites? These BN prostitutes are shameless. Makkal Shakti and Tsunami Power...Lets kick their Ass Big time.....
written by nafis, January 09, 2009 14:49:32
and below are comments from my relatives who are pro-amno:

"see how important it is that we must uphold the NEP? are you not proud to see malays now can afford to own mansions, and can rival the chinese?"

and i am going bald everytime i hear them talk like this....
written by patriotic1994, January 09, 2009 14:49:55
Are they paying tax?

My relative who able to work hard and able to make some good money to stay in better house (not as big as those in the picture lah), but always got tax people come to disturb him, every year. Mind you, most business he do is oversea business, not milking from the people's money.

So, if you are capable, they red eyes. If they are capable, you can't even allow to make a squeak!
written by ahmadneil, January 09, 2009 14:53:32
Tun Salleh Abbas still look very strong,stronger than Racist Mahathir.I hope he live longer than Racist mahathir.Best wishes to Tun Salleh Abbas.
written by Rainbowseahorse, January 09, 2009 14:56:17
My bro Pete, Just thinking out loud! Is it possible to hold a mini “exhibition” in KT showcasing these lavish houses (complete with name of owners, of course) of the various designs “available” to the good people of MT, and maybe even elsewhere in Malaysia? Include traditional houses too, such as those inhabited by PAS members.
Show be an eye opener to many Malaysians that PAS do practice what they teach i.e a simple life style minus all the unnecessary extravagances and luxuries practiced by UMNO.
written by Motherchell, January 09, 2009 14:58:05
Time to transfer all the ACA personnel to some sewage reprocessing plant to make them smell the job they do and end they lives if they feel frustrated by jumping into one of the tanks there!
written by DamnPekcek, January 09, 2009 15:00:27
We hav enough Bee-Eng Nonsense. Let Send a message to them throught the by-election.
HIDUP Pakatan RAKYAT
written by wannabepatriotic, January 09, 2009 15:00:48
Wake up KT voters. Mind you, this is not only happening in your backyards, we have other 13 states full of money laundering corrupt fools living a posh lives while you and most other 'poor' people are suffering, while they spend on lavish cars, gifts, jewelery and you ponder when the next best meal is heading your way.

AWAY with all this cronyism and nepotism. Start by kicking BN outta KT!!!

written by Zym Zym, January 09, 2009 15:01:37
Guess what? Those houses are really UGLY. Is this the kind of architecture that Malaysia is heading for? Oh my, I think the Pertubuhuan Arkiteck Malaysia and its counterpart Lembaga Arkitek Malaysia got to do something about the level of Malaysian architecture. It's horrible and pathetic.

RICH men have no taste? Well, to be specific, BN has no taste at all!
written by miwaki, January 09, 2009 15:30:12
These are the homes of the big shots in KT for their first wife,wait till you see the homes of their girl friends in KL.He he he
written by Wudan, January 09, 2009 15:30:32
RPK, you teruk la! Why you go show Wan Farid and Wan Hashim's house? Wan Farid body is already full of 'bullet holes' and he is trying so hard to smile. He also 'banyak korban' already you know? After this, I think he cannot smile anymore. If he cannot smile then BN cannot win.

Takpe Wan, have a cigar first.
written by future, January 09, 2009 15:43:48
Vote Bee End you give them to rob and plunder our country.Wake up Malaysian and to KT
voters you have the chance to kick them out once and for all.
written by OutsideLookingIn, January 09, 2009 15:46:06
RPK, can you start mobilising the troops to expose in each seat similar excesses by the corrupt politicians between now and the next general election? Excellent journalism thus far but lets look at the big picture and start snapping pictures in preparation for the big event in 3 years' time.

We have often heard that the electorate deserves the government the elect. They also deserve the Members of Parliament that they voted in. Surely, they must know the corruption all these years however simple minded they may be. Lets work hard at the ground level now.
written by Xerxes, January 09, 2009 15:46:30
Wow!!! Now we know where the late Datuk Z of Klang got his inspiration for his palace from.

And these are the guys who screams and rants that they still need the NEP to protect their rights. I can see what rights they want protected. The right to steal some more and more, and more and more......
written by steviewonger, January 09, 2009 16:09:46
These blood suckers trying to outbuild each others on their 'palaces'. If they really preach Islamic teaching, they must have entered on the wrong door.
I have said before, down with these bloody suckers. Vote them out, fast and efficiently.
PEOPLE POWER RULES!
written by Admiral Tojo, January 09, 2009 16:28:43
Oh my GOD, thieves abound and all in UMNO. Not only they steal from you, they show it and rub it in your faces. Malu aku. Vote PAS!!!!

Salaam
written by Mee Udang, January 09, 2009 16:31:04
"SITA" those bloody UMNO's house!!! Sell it for charity or turn into orphanage & old folks home.

If I'm given superpower, I will turn all these $ suckers into tortoise.....
written by Beezee_Beezee, January 09, 2009 16:31:13
Whoever is paying these so call Mejestic Palaces, the money must come from BN Project side-kick form the TAX PAYER Money. I wonder if they are paying any TAX or did IRD come and do assesment?????
Rakyat Terengganu since Our RAKYAT MONEY being used for this HOUESE ensure we put a STOP to it. We should ask them to SHOW Course to use why we should VOTE them again. I think this time around we VOTE PR [PAS]..Hidup Rakyat Terengganu...

written by Counterpointer, January 09, 2009 16:35:07
While the KT folks try real hard to make ends meet, these people are literally swimming in their ill gotten rakyat's monies.

We cannot tolerate this kind of NAJIS no more.

SAY NO TO BN !

written by cahaya, January 09, 2009 16:46:24
Thanks for those photos yesterday and today. We can see the contrast between the few rich cronies and the many poor residents in Terengganu, especially around KT.

But the Menteri Besar Datuk Ahmad Said says “Claims that the Terengganu Government is rich but its people are poor are all lies”.
The poverty rate had been reduced from 89.9% since independence to only 13%, although Ahmad Said admitted there were still about 6,000 hardcore poor, including single mothers. He added the Government should not be blamed for not doing enough for those who remained poor because in many cases, they possessed “very negative attitude.”
“In most cases, we even go to them to offer the various aid, yet despite our efforts the number remains the same every year. And so we think that they remain poor because of their own attitude and because they shun development,” he said at the opening of the Small and Medium Industries Development Corporation yesterday. He said that in Malaysia, the people were assisted by the Government from the cradle to the grave. . . .
- - The Star, Friday January 9, 2009.

Such arrogance! When did he last take a walk around Kuala Terengganu?
With the financial crisis, more KT voters are struggling to pay their bills. Many want to know what happened to Terengganu’s wealth. Surely they know who they should not to vote.
written by ibabonma, January 09, 2009 17:10:12
Dalam hal seperti ini, selama ini siapa pandai? PENGUNDI MELAYU YANG BODOH!
written by mob1900, January 09, 2009 17:34:18
written by mikewang, January 09, 2009 17:42:00
The residences in the photos are a result of UMNO's Ketuanan Melayu.

It's UMNO's battle cry to share the wealth of Malaysia among themselves. smilies/sad.gif
written by sang0kancil, January 09, 2009 18:31:37
... Cantik Benor Rumah Konco UMNO yang sebijik Macam Castle tu!
written by Sudahlah tu, January 09, 2009 18:58:45
Sungguh memalukan bangsa melayu sendiri ....
TAMAK ....... itulah dosa manusia yang paling besar.
Tertulis dalam Ayat Suci yang tamak itulah yang merosakkan umatNYA.
written by Fuminari, January 09, 2009 19:23:52
pete,PAS,PR hav to duplicate ur stuff n make flyers out of this n distribute quickly in KT before 17-1-2009!pictures speak better than a thousand words.many of those huge mansions shown are in fact the second or third house of those umno thieves n bandits!!!
written by Lim Lim, January 09, 2009 19:25:18
this is what umno mean by 'KETUANAN MELAYU'!!!!!!
written by JustAMalaysian, January 09, 2009 19:34:59
I think we get the "picture".
written by Samwise, January 09, 2009 19:42:34
If most Terengganu Malays live in shanty houses shown, then they are not likely to have Internet access and won't be reading MT. How many of the voters would actually be able to compare and contrast Malay Common Folk's houses (shanty) and UMNO Goon's houses (mansions). You need to put these in banners or posters and distribute them door to door. At the very least, have a montage of these and put up huge banners everywhere. Money well spent, don't you think?
written by arazak, January 09, 2009 20:01:19
Well, when those UMNO goons who had robbed the poor rakyaats' money died, they will take with them to see their Creator with a shroud of white cloth and a land space 6ft X 6ft X 3ft.

Their surviving families/cronies who consumed the ill-gotten wealth will also receive the wrath from their Creator.
written by mob1900, January 09, 2009 20:47:10
written by SiHangChai, January 09, 2009 22:17:07
The past rakyat of KT was BODOH to vote for barisan najis. just look at the shit BN men's houses and cars. Now, I hope KT people is smarter and give Najib all the shit he can take into his mouth.
written by thor, January 09, 2009 22:30:06
Is this why the 30 percent target never achieved but amount given to achieve this was given over d past 51 years but hijacked by d very few powderful AMENO people who then say they and their kind defend d MALAYS etc etc? What bull?
written by Fuminari, January 09, 2009 23:48:00
pete,guess this is precisely why umno says NEP n Ketuanan Melayu is a MUST!!rakyat,when are u going to wake up???
written by Fart Fart Wah, January 10, 2009 02:07:42
From the time of birth these bloody UMNO buggers have not seen suffering..people like Najus, Hissapmudin, and the elite born into rich families with a silver spoon in the mouth..have raped the rakyat over and over again to continue to live like their fathers..Now they come back to create a dynasty..the Mahathir dynasty, the Razak dynasty, the Onn dynasty , the botak dynasty...and the list goes one....

and the rakyaat...still suffer....
written by Msian Idol3, January 10, 2009 04:24:57
Can anyone tell me which UMNO/BN minister is not a millionaire ?? All UMNO mentri besar's are millionaires too. Sleepy hollow is a great well where UMNO(primarily)leaders/cronies have stolen lots of oil money. Most Trengganu people are on subsistance livelihood. And one of the main reasons BN does not want meritocracies is that they can go on plundering, like it is an intentional policy to generate thousands of malay university graduates so that UMNO can shout they are doing alot for the malays tantamount to giving certificates for every stupid courses attended.
written by singam, January 10, 2009 05:49:31
There is one fact sticking out that is not so obvious.

All of those umnoputra houses are overflowing with material wealth but are totally devoid of any moral or spiritual wealth. The modest abodes of PAS leaders as well as the simple houses of the ordinay rakyat are the ones containing the real wealth of Terengganu.

The bee eng magic spell is ending. The people are waking up from the illusion and are able to see the reality. This month, bee eng will be kicked out of the KT parliamentary constituency. Soon, bee end will be kicked out of the federal and many state governments. Then the people will recover the freedom to grow morally and spiritually.

Yes to Pakatan Rakyat!
written by tmf, January 10, 2009 07:27:29
What is the big deal? When TDM met reporters in his new house in Sri Kembangan, he told them unashamely that the huge house costs him less than one million ringgit only!

No other PM before TDM deem it appropriate to collect property when in office.

Once the trend is set, others just follow. I believe there is a saying in Bahasa Melayu warning that if a father urinate improperly, his children will urinate in even more vulgar manner.

written by talk2stop, January 10, 2009 07:53:20
The pics just re enforce me that Malaysians are so easily manipulated by a few. How can you not tell something is not right here when gigantic homes are built not far from tiny worn down sheds. The voters are just too stupid. But then may be I am too gullible because the poor just want to be poor. I can accept that. The problem is that the poor want others to be poor too. Whatever it is Malaysia will remain the same because most Malaysians think nothing is broken why fix it.
written by Rainbowseahorse, January 10, 2009 09:32:23
Cahaya wrote:
“But the Menteri Besar Datuk Ahmad Said says “Claims that the Terengganu Government is rich but its people are poor are all lies…..In most cases, we even go to them to offer the various aid, yet despite our efforts the number remains the same every year. And so we think that they remain poor because of their own attitude and because they shun development,” he said at the opening of the Small and Medium Industries Development Corporation yesterday”.

Shouldn’t that be part of PAS campaign speech?smilies/grin.gif
Go tell the good people of KT that the BN government claimed that the poor people remains poor due to their own choices.
written by Free Malaysia, January 10, 2009 11:31:09
My dear Malaysians,

Enough is enough. Kick UMNO-BN out for the sake of our children.
written by purple, January 10, 2009 14:36:06
Thanks for all those pictures. These are the things that our government would like to hide from the knowledge of the general public. Rampant corruption is one major issue that is making us all very sick with them.

I wish the people of KT the best of luck and may you all vote wisely for the betterment of all.
written by coolandy, January 10, 2009 14:59:54
I thought those were rumah Cina Terengganu. Rupa-rupanya, kepunyaan UMNO Putra.

Wahai rakyat Terengganu, BUAKALAH MATA ANDA.

Tabahkan hati dan UNDILAH PAKATAN RAKYAT = PAS kali ini.
written by temenggong, January 11, 2009 01:04:50
Trengganu and Kelantan are third world states. Their main produce apart from keropok lekor, a statewide obsession, is oil. In ten short years they have succeeded in killing Cherating which is devoid of foreign tourists. Hundreds of malay bed and b'fast homes are ruined! Thanks to Jakim. I guess this is their idea of fun.

Development is proportional to the number of non malays in the states. Next door Kuantan is a testament of this.