Home arrow The Blogs arrow Guest Columnists arrow Philip Bowring: Malaysian pretensions

Philip Bowring: Malaysian pretensions PDF Print
Friday, 09 January 2009 10:09

Malaysian pretensions could be dismissed as hot air. But official discrimination against non-Malays in the country was eventually going to attract criticism from human rights groups and other governments. It is hard to argue that the numerically dominant Malays, who control most of the political, judicial and bureaucratic levers of power and many of the country's major corporations, need help. Yet Malaysia's leadership continues to claim that the Malay race and religion would be threatened by removal of privileges.

Philip Bowring, The International Herald Tribune

In a move that could backfire by drawing attention to discrimination against Chinese, Indian and other minorities in Malaysia, the country has claimed a role in the advancement of Malays in other lands.

The Malaysian deputy prime minister and heir apparent, Najib Razak, told an international Malay/Muslim audience recently that his government would work to help support them in countries from the Philippines and Singapore to Madagascar, Sri Lanka and South Africa.

Najib's remarks may draw the attention of China, India and other countries to what has hitherto been regarded by most outsiders as a domestic issue: Malaysia's official economic and social preferences for Malays, and by extension Muslims, which disadvantage Malaysia's non-Malay minorities, mostly Chinese and Indian. His statements are also sure to irritate Indonesia, Malaysia's larger neighbor and fount of Malay culture.

The word "Malay" can mean a language that is native to east Sumatra, which became the lingua franca of trade in Southeast Asia and is now the official language of Indonesia and Malaysia. Or it can mean the relatively small, mostly Muslim, ethnic group of some 20 million straddling Malaysia, and parts of Indonesia and southern Thailand. Or it can mean the much wider Malay racial/linguistic group of more than 300 million people, about 60 percent Muslim, encompassing most of Indonesia, the Philippines and Malaysia - plus many Madagascans and minorities in Vietnam and Cambodia.

In the 1960s there was talk of a loose Malay confederation encompassing Indonesia, the Philippines and Malaysia. However, other issues obstructed this grand idea. For Malaysia in particular, religion has come to play a central role, identifying all Malays with Islam. This notion is viewed as dangerous by many people in Indonesia, which is 80 percent Muslim but is a secular state focused on national rather than religious identity.

Najib's effort to include Madagascar in his speech was also contentious. Madagascar was first settled by people from the Indonesian archipelago long before Islam appeared. The Muslim minority in Madagascar has mostly Arab and Indian roots. As for the Malays of South Africa and Sri Lanka, though Muslim, their roots were mostly in Java and other parts of what was once Dutch-ruled Indonesia.

Malaysian pretensions could be dismissed as hot air. But official discrimination against non-Malays in the country was eventually going to attract criticism from human rights groups and other governments. It is hard to argue that the numerically dominant Malays, who control most of the political, judicial and bureaucratic levers of power and many of the country's major corporations, need help. Yet Malaysia's leadership continues to claim that the Malay race and religion would be threatened by removal of privileges.

Many Malays view these privileges as perpetuating a system of patronage that enriches the elite and makes the Malay poor dependent. Yet changing the system is difficult. While gains of the opposition coalition led by Anwar Ibrahim in last year's election offer some hope, it is naturally hard for the majority to vote away privileges - which is why India and China could become catalysts.

For decades China and India have stuck with the doctrine of noninterference in the internal affairs of other countries. But as their global role blossoms, attitudes are changing. China's eye on the well-being of ethnic Chinese everywhere will increase as Chinese investment and tourism become more important to countries in Southeast Asia with significant Chinese minorities. Ethnic Chinese make up 25 percent of Malaysia's population and are subject to formal discrimination. India has less potential influence, but Indian politicians have begun to listen to Hindu groups complaining about discrimination and destruction of their temples.

In practice, Malaysia is usually more tolerant than official policies and statements by politicians and clerics might suggest. The prime minister is married to a Eurasian who was born a Christian. Various royals have married non-Malays. However, mixed marriages have become rarer as barriers are strengthened by sectarian privileges allied to religious dogmatism.

So maybe the outside world could do Malaysia a favor by taking Najib at his word and speaking up in support of the minority's reasonable request - equality for non-Malay Malaysians as well as for Malay minorities elsewhere.

Comments (33)Add Comment
written by Zym Zym, January 09, 2009 10:24:05
Najiib, who is he to speak for all Malaysians? As far as I know, he knows nothing but women. I would have agreed with him if he were to go all the way out to promote the equality of women and defend their rights. He will be our PM? Oh my, his reputation is too tainted with many unresolved issues and scandals which he, as of to date, has yet to clear his name. Sorry to say, he is not fit to be our PM. There are too many big "?" that left unanswered.
agree 148
written by ylcc, January 09, 2009 10:27:34
"advancement of Malays in other lands ..... help support them in countries from the Philippines and Singapore to Madagascar, Sri Lanka and South Africa."

Singapore??
written by miwaki, January 09, 2009 10:27:41
Luckily Philip is not a malaysian, he could be a hot prospect for ISA.
written by Jan, January 09, 2009 10:43:17
I am a non Malay Malaysian and yes I am discriminated from the day I was born. But no I do not need interference from India and China to resolve this. I have DSAI to do it for us and by god I hope he will.
disagree 17
written by mick_err_stan, January 09, 2009 10:45:36
And to think that he will be our next PM.
written by Jan, January 09, 2009 10:51:10
This country is in potential serious trouble. Discriminations in the name of NEP and affirmative action policies to help only one race have been turned into blatant racism. It has warped into a scam to enrich only a few elites in the name of all Malays.
Good lord, many Malays are beginning to realise they have been taken for a ride and turning against their so-called benefactors. Let's show them what we think in Kuala Trengganu.
written by gorshan, January 09, 2009 10:59:54
by institutionalizing discrimination against minorities the govt is acknowledging that the majority are inferior in some ways to the minorities in this country.

tanya itu mansor puteh bukan kah pelik yang majority tu (80%) minta protection dari yang minority(20%)?

for the info of mansor puteh my parents are buta huruf, father work as jaga, susah payah they puts me thru school, no govt help. i am not smart in education but still i manage to open a small business,no help from govt too. small business was my only option knowing that the civil service will hire bumi only and the private sector sdn bhd will hire chinese only leaving coolies post vacant to my kind .from this small business i will educate my kids with MBA to open big business of their own in the future and yes thank you will still be no help from govt. now you know why my votes will always be for PR not BN
written by renoir, January 09, 2009 11:04:17
Despite UMNO, non-Malays must not accept any interference from their ethnic cousins in other countries, whether from Taiwan, Hongkong, China, or India. We must solve problems ourselves. Foreign meddling will only make things worse, especially when those countries are big powers. Inviting foreign meddling often means a loss of sovereignty, and no Malaysian of whatever ethnicity could or should accept that.

Najib is an idiot to open a can of worms - his suggestion isn't something expected from someone about to become this country's PM.
written by OVERLORD, January 09, 2009 11:15:39
you can't even manage to get your own backyard sorted!where is the support for the chinese, indian and ethnic groups? where is your assistance for the hardcore poor?Stop making statements that reflects your utter most stupidity.Diplomacy 101, please refrain in meddling with other country's affairs. The thought of a suspected criminal running this country sends shivers down my spine.
written by lamakawan, January 09, 2009 11:30:43
We will all be happy if Najib can speak for equality for women, let alone equality for all non Muslims. Look at the way he treated people of the fair sex.
written by Oscar Winner, January 09, 2009 11:35:15
This is a very good article. The whole world should read it and laugh at this moron Najis. Pls forward it to all friends
written by harryo, January 09, 2009 11:36:59
Well written article worth reading twice. The utterance of politicians in Malaysia always claimed to be within the context of the occasion for matters related to sensitivity of one race but not to be understood or applied across cosmopolitan context because almost all the while sensitivity is lost for all other races except during election. Now you see why GE 12 has the proven result. When is Malaysia going to learn or will it learn at all or other races are already forgotten?
written by ahmadneil, January 09, 2009 11:42:58
This malaysian high ranking official playboy's rating is on the minus.If he lost KT,he will have to be deported to mongolia.
written by SocratesI, January 09, 2009 11:50:00
Najis Rosak can't even keep his nose clean, how can he credible in trying to appear as a champion of the Malays by championing Malays all over the world? Look at the living conditions of the Malays in Malaysia, fix that by taking All the UMNOputras' money and distributing it to the poor Malays in Malaysia first before shooting yourself in the foot!People like Damn Zainuddin can plunder Malaysia and start 10 banks which he owns personally. take back this money and bring it back to benefit Malaysia then!

What about your billions and Bodohwi's and MM's billions?
written by Motherchell, January 09, 2009 11:53:20
Thank You Philip I look forward to your articles. Great analysis! I whole Leadership in the Country needs a Paradigm shift in its bearing, creation, and policies. They are Intellectually so badly bankrupt that reflections of irrelevant postulations is the order of the day. As long as Malaysia is an oil producing Country, the powers will gas with their empty vessels. I feel sorry for the Xgenerations of the future who will be products of the prevaricator groups of today in the Power wielding circles. There will be no connectors to the World Power House if the damage goes on like todays!
written by Rainbowseahorse, January 09, 2009 12:05:11
I am surprise that Najib, and others, have not yet proposed a joint recruitment exercise along with Indonesia to recruit "Freedom Fighters" in Malaysia.

Indonesia has already started and Najib & company shouldn’t want to be seen as less Islamic; do they?
written by carribeanking7, January 09, 2009 12:05:23
Philip Bowring, if you are reading this, it was Najibs father who was the key player in the mess we are in now, also please expect some half baked denials and knee jerk responses from our mainstream media.

Kudos Mr.Bowring, this is the best thing since Michael Backman from Australia wrote the "Malasia Bodoh".

written by Zapper, January 09, 2009 12:15:58
WE have domestic social, economic and racial problems and our PM in waiting is trying to put his name in the news.
written by evaangel, January 09, 2009 12:21:00
Datuk Najib, Charity begins at home. Help the poor of Malaysia before you extend hard earned tax dollars to foreigners. America is pledging a trillion dollars in domestic programs and initiatives to help weather the financial storm. Please invest in our own economy instead of telling people all is well and Malaysia is untouchable. Don't give away money that should be invested in the future of Malaysia.
In short, don't pull a Madoff.
written by Counterpointer, January 09, 2009 12:31:04
Thanks Philip for reminding the world that forms of Apartheid and pariah leaders still exist in this World and picking Malaysia as an example.
written by mypanida, January 09, 2009 12:43:54
The world will know that APARTHEID is well and alive in Malaysia.
written by alarcarte, January 09, 2009 12:47:37
To support and help the Malays in other countries? Come on Mr Najib, this is called interference in the affairs of other countries, and this will invite hostility. How do you feel, if China and India say they will support and help the minorities in Malaysia? I am sure you will organise a rally and tell China/India to butt off! Right?

Don’t try to help the Malays in Singapore, for they really are more advance than the Malays in Malaysia in general and they may not like your kind gesture! To them you UMNO Malays are so backward and corrupted and not relevant to the advancement of Malay race.
written by Sinewy, January 09, 2009 13:14:34
As far as the racist warlords of UMNO are concerned, the non-malays in malaysia are fifth class citizens, after the malays, other bumiputras, immigrant muslims and immigrant pseudo malays. NEP is a political tools to create sentiments among the unknowing malays to support UMNO for political survival as well as the right to blunder the tax payers' money to enrich the selected cronies and UMNO members in the name of "redistribution of wealth" in the country. Only in this boleh land can the racist politicians practice apartheid rule in the name of "human right", i.e., special right and priviledge for the supreme race.
written by liewyk, January 09, 2009 14:01:01
Najis, a murderer, womaniser, racist and hypocrite.
written by EUGTAN, January 09, 2009 14:08:31
The Eurasian had to convert to Islam to marry the PM. The many cases of body snatching, Lina Joy, use of "Allah" totally contradicts whay Bowring write. Philip Bowring (probably) has has been in the South Pole for the last 25 years.

written by OutsideLookingIn, January 09, 2009 16:07:57
We have to keep reminding the PM in the waiting that he has to govern for all Malaysians and not just for Malays. That would apply to any other PM (in the rare occasion that a non Malay is ever elected). They have to govern for all Malaysians whatever colour they may be. The Malaysian government is right in defending the interests of Malays wherever they may be but I would have thought that they are defending the interests of Malaysians not Malays. There are Malays in Africa (Kenya, Madagascar, South Africa, India etc) but they are not Malaysians and they do not need defending by the Malaysian government. On the same token, Malaysian Chinese in Europe, US, Australia etc needs the Malaysian government's assistance if they are ever in trouble.

Even though the Sultans and Kings are Malays, they now have a land inhabited by all colours of people who swear allegiance to them and thence, they must see them as their subjects and therefore they are there to protect all as citizens of Malaysians.

I wonder whether all politicians in Malaysia who get elected undergo a course on governance and responsibilities before they are let loose in Parliament? Can anyone help here?
written by anakwatanKL, January 09, 2009 16:46:49
Please don't insult my intelligence with your championing for one race when you are of mixed blood period. I pray that God help you to 'open' your eyes and have compassion for the weak and strong human race.

God Bless Malaysians.
written by Nunudada, January 09, 2009 17:07:20
I was born here and technically am a bumiputra.Our neighbour Indonesia,who originally coined the term during the Soekarno era,has officially done away with this terminology.Ours as usual was a borrowed act.Ironically,the word is from Sanskrit-talk about originality.So,after nearly four decades of of this terminology,now we have to deal with KETUANAN.This word renders everyone else gardeners and drivers.I am only glad to note that this is totally not acceptable by the minority group and also supported by the Malays who are hard working and intelligent.
written by Fuminari, January 09, 2009 17:24:20
no man can choose to be born at a certain place n of a certain race!therefore ,we hav to say no to racism,we hav to say no to discrimination if we are human n becos it is god forbidden!!so,is the apartheid 'umno be end' human? or sub-human???
written by born2reign, January 09, 2009 19:46:47
What is the Great Divider? Politicians have always use these for control
-Race (bumiputra, and non-bumi. Imagine we go to USA and need to feel in the form White or Non-White. Pathetic).
-Religion (UMNO, PAS and PKR. Be careful that those pro-PKR don't fall for the same trap. Religion is still their division factor. PAS has used this for their 50% quota, hence PAS is just UMNO in turbans)
-Sex (Why do we need Wanita and Youth wings for? What's the objective and the way I see it, the party can have more presidents and deputies...still airheads)

Maybe time for the Human Rights to demand from dear Najis and Bodowi who are the real bumiputras? The Philliopinos and the Indonesians who reside in Malaysia AFTER Independance, or
those born in Malaysia?

My prayers and support for Hindraf for raising this injustice. Hope they get more international attention.
written by ckw, January 09, 2009 23:26:50
as usual, the BN government will issue statement that the reporter from herald tribune do not understand malaysia. that he don't know about the "social contract" agreed by our forefathers. this is so common, everytime, people criticize Malaysia NEP policy, they will plead that other are ignorance of us and how well the rakyat live in harmony and blah blah blah. hello, if our forefathers are so good, that what they verbally agreed cannot be changed, we should listen to our earlier generations forefathers, where we should be still be part of the British Empire, spending pound sterling.
written by Alarka, January 10, 2009 07:00:18
WOMANIZER

Minister
Where you from, how's it going?
I know you
Gotta clue, what your doing
You can play brand new to all the other chicks out here
But I know what you are, what you are, babi

Look at you
Gettin' more than just re-up
Babi, you
Got all the puppets with their strings up
Fakin' like a good one, but I call 'em like I see 'em
I know what you are, what you are, babi

Womanizer
Woman-Womanizer
You're a womanizer
Oh Womanizer
Oh You're a Womanizer Baby
You, You You Are
Womanizer, Womanizer, Womanizer