Home arrow The Blogs arrow The Corridors of Power arrow ZUBAIDAH ABU BAKAR: Where humility may bring in the votes

ZUBAIDAH ABU BAKAR: Where humility may bring in the votes PDF Print
Friday, 09 January 2009 10:04

The MCA reportedly has 5,000 members here; its representative, Toh Chin Yaw, won his Bandar seat, the only Barisan Nasional seat in Kuala Terengganu, with a majority 1,612 votes in March.

ZUBAIDAH ABU BAKAR, New Straits Times

Datuk Wan Ahmad Farid Wan Salleh (left) handing oranges to shopkeeper Cheah Nam Yong in Kampung Cina, while MCA state chairman Tan Sri Lau Yin Pin looks on.

While Chinese voters appear to hold the deciding votes in the Kuala Terengganu by-election, it would be wrong to play down the importance of Malay voters who make up the majority of the electorate there, writes ZUBAIDAH ABU BAKAR

IN a scenario of Malay voters being split between Umno and Pas in places like Terengganu, it has always been thought that the Chinese, usually a small percentage, were the king-makers.

Political parties involved in this crucial but still unpredictable Kuala Terengganu by-election campaign share this opinion, so much so that their heavyweights and foot soldiers are flooding the Bandar state constituency, where Chinese voters are concentrated.

Kuala Terengganu's Chinese voters must be thinking Chinese New Year has come early for them with the kind of activities taking place these days, from free dinners to handouts of mandarin oranges.

Kampung Cina, in particular, is a hive of activity. The community here appears to be enjoying the special attention it is getting from political parties' members canvassing for votes. But whether their votes on Jan 17 will go to the candidates these political leaders represent remains anybody's guess.
This is because more than 50 per cent of Kuala Terengganu's Chinese voters are said to be members of at least nine Chinese guilds and associations, and they are known to be fence-sitters, voting on the issues, especially on the health of the economy and the business climate.

Chinese make up 11 per cent or 8,735 of Kuala Terengganu's 80,229 voters.

The MCA reportedly has 5,000 members here; its representative, Toh Chin Yaw, won his Bandar seat, the only Barisan Nasional seat in Kuala Terengganu, with a majority 1,612 votes in March.

Gerakan and DAP are not significant.

But winning over the hearts and minds of the Malays is equally crucial in Kuala Terengganu, where the country's changed political landscape has placed a large number of Malay voters in the fence-sitter category.

According to opposition estimates, 20 per cent of Kuala Terengganu's Malay voters are fence-sitters, including the civil servants.

Malay voters make up 88 per cent of the electorate. Slightly more than 25,000 are Umno members, 9,000 are Pas members, and a couple of hundred are with Parti Keadilan Rakyat.

While last year's "political tsunami" was attributed to the shift of support of Chinese and Indian voters from the BN to the opposition, the fact that Malay voters too moved away from their traditional support for Umno and Pas should not be taken lightly in Kuala Terengganu.

A small but significant number of Malays seem to have turned to Parti Keadilan Rakyat, and they are also warming to the DAP.

Malay-based organisations backed by professionals and former Umno leaders have also emerged, all because there are Malays who are no longer content to associate themselves with either Umno or Pas.

Not to be missed out are the non-partisan voters who loathe the mainstream media, choosing instead to click on websites for alternative news portals and blogs.

These groups are also Kuala Terengganu voters, and they need to be wooed.

"The late Datuk Razali Ismail won not because of the Chinese voters but the fence-sitters," says one Umno Youth campaigner.

"BN's victory is still highly dependent on the weaknesses in the Pakatan Rakyat states."

Razali, who was appointed deputy education minister after he won the parliamentary seat by a 628-vote majority in the March 8, 2008 general election, died on Nov 28.

He had secured 32,562 votes, defeating Pas candidate Mohamed Sabu (31,934) and Independent Maimun Yusof (689).

Another campaign worker urged Umno to strive hard to draw members of the defunct Parti Semangat 46 to its side.

"They are former Umno members who did not rejoin Umno, nor did they join Pas. One way to woo them is to get help for former Semangat 46 leaders," says a former Umno member, who is now partyless.

Most fence-sitters are also voters under 40 years old, and they account for almost 50 per cent of Kuala Terengganu voters.

In three Malay-majority voting stations -- Cabang Tiga, Hiliran Masjid and Tok Ku in Bandar, where BN lost in March -- campaigners face an uphill task.

"The fishermen there are traditionally hardcore Pas supporters, so our target is to get close to the younger set of voters," says an Umno member from Kedah.

In the by-election, which will see a three-cornered fight among BN's Datuk Wan Ahmad Farid Wan Salleh, Pas' Mohd Abdul Wahid Endut and Independent candidate Azharuddin Mamat @ Adam, the candidates' personalities count.

"This comes first, followed by the struggle of the political parties and influence of party leaders," says Terengganu Pas commissioner Datuk Mustafa Ali.

BN shares this sentiment, judging by the concerns raised by Deputy Prime Minister Datuk Seri Najib Razak over perceptions that the BN candidate is an "elitist" and out of touch with the simple Kuala Terengganu voters.

"We must remember that this is a kampung atmosphere," Najib emphasised when launching the party's machinery on Monday night.

"The people here do not care how highly educated you are as they put a premium on how courteous and approachable you are."

Kuala Terengganu may have received city status and the constituency categorised as "urban" by the Election Commission, but its voters are not urbane, nor do they have a "city mentality".

Humility is what they are looking for in their new wakil rakyat.

written by smeagrooo, January 09, 2009 10:33:46
How come shopkeeper wasnt smiling when he rcvd those oranges? Gv ppl lah real gold bars instead of KAM (gold) oranges!

written by cahaya, January 09, 2009 10:38:24
Last year, two-thirds of KT Chinese had voted for the BN candidate for parliament. This time, the PAS candidate is clearly the best choice for MP among the three candidates. Abdul Wahid Endut is a humble and modest man who has quietly but effectively served the people in KT for 18 years. As the State Assemblyman for Wakaf Mempelam (within the parliamentary constituency of Kuala Terengganu), he understands the challenges facing the people in KT. Abdul Wahid is ready to speak out for all of them, whether Malay or Chinese or other minority.

This time, many more Chinese will vote for PAS than last time! More Malays will also vote PAS because many prefer someone who is not arrogant!
written by Motherchell, January 09, 2009 11:36:41
With all respects to you i find your demands very astonishing in your analysis. Suddenly you deem the voters were all less humans and now you need all the humility you can get. Are you some Freud in the Malaysian scene that you feel we the Rakyat are at fault all the while. Where were you when the plunder was on? Why are you not writing about what the voters don't want?Cant you see what is wrong with the demon party?

My advise to you Either you are part and parcel of the system to see the disease and not the cause. Take some thoughts to see how your Country is screwed inside out ie if you consider interested in the Country you call Malaysia as you Land. As a journalist you have this responsibility!
written by SocratesI, January 09, 2009 11:40:43
Barisan is a master of disguising itself in sheep's clothing, but nowadays the rural folk also know how to differentiate between a real sheep (real humility) as part of Wahid Endut's character, and a fat ungainly sheep with predatorial long, sharp fangs, whose sheep's coat washes off in the monsoon rains to reveal an arrogant obese wolf, grown fat on robbing the Rakyat of their Wang Ehsan!

Beneath their veneer of false modesty is the same crook who has been plundering your land, and wang ehsan etc. from Barisan Najis, Don't Fall For It, good KT Rakyat! Vote for PR/PAS, Wahid Endut!
written by Counterpointer, January 09, 2009 12:00:48
As the wise one says, Hypocritical contenders who feign humility, will only bring in votes for their challengers. What the hypocites will get is only humili ---ation !!!
written by Rainbowseahorse, January 09, 2009 12:15:16
Humility?? I see that written all over PAS candidate Wahid Endut’s face and in his actions.
written by Badrol, January 09, 2009 12:19:11
25,000 umno members, 9,000 Pas members and a couple of hundred Keadilan members. Sheesh, I wonder where she pluck that figures from. Probably from the national archive or the history channel.
written by savemalaysia, January 09, 2009 12:37:21
MCA may have 5,000 members in Kampung Cina but they so fed up with UMNO's incessant championing of Malay supremacy that it's hard to convince them that UMNO won't marginalise the Chinese and other communities. This cliche "once beaten twice shy" hold great relevance to the Chinese. KT's Chinese won't fall for UMNO's hypocrisy and kris-stabbing.
written by nightcaller, January 09, 2009 12:56:23
the shopkeeper wasn't smiling because the oranges cost is only rm 1.00 compared to his "promised" ang pow of RM 600, as widely rumoured amongst the voters of KT.
written by amoker, January 09, 2009 18:58:35
Yeah, we are not taking in what MSM says nowadays as they are rubbish, like many articles by Zubaidah,.
written by onnetline, January 09, 2009 20:10:27
The ' Tan Sri 'slave from MCA is seen hard at work escorting it's master to mislead the Malaysian Chinese !!!
written by DreamLady, January 09, 2009 20:28:21
Good evening, Zubaidah, the title itself is like a breath of fresh air...

There goes the running of a well-greased train, as it takes its passengers along the smoothened path, the fragrance of flowers is there to greet them, and the tiny little hands waving in the distant land to announce the gift of a blessed future for all!!

Well done, Zubaidah, you did it again, thank you so very much for wanting to be
different, to create a better breathing space for your own mankind...

May God bless you with good health, and a brighter future ahead!!
written by Mustapha Kamal, January 09, 2009 22:05:06
One day, Zubaidah will have to answer for all the lies, distortions of the truth, misrepresentation of facts, pathetic analysis of blatantly obvious facts, and many, many more sins. She has lost the right to call herself a journalist. She is merely a scribe for the propaganda machine of the BN/UMNO. Let her mint her lovely lolly, because when the time of reckoning comes, she may need it to live in Zimbabwe ! Sheesh ! What a bum !
written by borneoman, January 10, 2009 02:54:37
mustapha kamal,agree 100%.
written by stchin, January 10, 2009 21:23:30
WHAT ! only 300 each for chinese, 1000 for indian ; so berapa for the malay ah !?
Hey ! the oil royalty for 2008 is > ONE BILLION = > 1,000,000,000.00 wow !!
WHERE HAS THE rest GONE TO !? not my pockets lah, SIAPA then ah !!?? @#$%^&*

vivavivavivavivaviaVIVA pas !!