No Mercy PDF Print
Friday, 09 January 2009 09:53

TAY TIAN YAN, Sin Chew Daily

When driving in Singapore, a Malaysian businessman made an illegal U-turn, drove on the wrong side of the road, and was stopped by a policeman.

The policeman explained to him how he had flouted the traffic rules and had to be taken to the police station to face legal actions.

The businessman said, "Let me go and we can be friends. Next time you come to Malaysia, I'll take good care of you."

In the end he was charged with intentional bribery.

The republic's junior court sentenced the businessman to a fine of S$15,000 (about RM36,000).

However, the prosecutor was unhappy that the verdict was too lenient, and appealed to the high court.

The high court judge sentenced the businessman to six weeks in jail after hearing the case.

Up till this point, many might react the same way as me: "Hey! Are you serious?"

If the incident took place in Malaysia, what the businessman has said would not have too much problem at all.

The businessman could always explain that he was just trying to be friendly and hoped the cop would be lenient to him. Moreover he did not offer cash bribe and there was no evidence of buying over the policeman.

Perhaps he would also claim that anyone stopped by the police in Malaysia would say the same thing, and this could be said as a Malaysian culture.

To be frank, how many Malaysians wouldn't do the same thing?

But now, I have to tune my brain to the Singapore channel, thinking from the Singapore perspectives.

"Singapore's system does not tolerate even the slightest speck, absolutely no grey areas, no space for anything that could initiate doubts."

Here is Singapore, and the businessman has encountered a Singapore policeman. In the midst of the Singapore culture, we have to come to terms with Singapore's judicial system.

Singapore's system does not tolerate even the slightest speck, absolutely no grey areas, no space for anything that could initiate doubts.

This is a society that places the laws above everything else, where the laws have preserved a very high level of social order.

To maintain the spotlessness of the system, we have to inculcate an uncompromising legal mysophobia.

Therefore, any slightest hint of bribery will be seen as non-conformity to this mysophobia of the judicial society. Stern punishments must be imposed even without any solid evidence of bribery.

Malaysians have no idea what this judicial spirit is all about, as it is blatantly absent in our social culture.

When rules are breached in Malaysia, the first consideration is not the legal issues, but how to bypass the laws and settle on humanity grounds.

Beginning with pleading for mercy, "Tolong, tolong," with the hope that the enforcement official will show some mercy.

But if this doesn't work, just hit straight on human weakness.

No one abhors money, and a little offering should see all the problems solved.

But such little personal issues could spawn massive social problems.

Singapore overcomes human greed and weaknesses through its rigid systems. The businessman thought the Singapore policeman standing before him was just another ordinary human being, who could have been easily dealt with with a little of emotional or even material enticement.

He was wrong. The policeman he was dealing with was actually representing Singapore's judicial system, whose integrity must never be impinged.

Not only Singapore, this kind of judicial spirit has become a common value system in all clean and incorrupt societies, and has formed a social contract that will preserve the social morality and order.

When people are thinking that Singapore's laws have been too rigid, in actual fact, perhaps that is because our understanding and acceptance of the judiciary is still at very pathetic levels.

Perhaps the businessman's experience will draw some compassion, but in Singapore, there is no space for even the slightest mercy. (Translated by DOMINIC LOH)

Comments (30)Add Comment
written by miwaki, January 09, 2009 10:12:24
The Malaysian business man is definitely very ignorant of the law and that's why he was fined and jailed,after all MCA men are mediocre anyway.

Singapore's law is fair regardless of your position,if you go against the law,you would be prosecuted.However,evidents are required in order to charge you.In this particular case,unless the cop can prove that he is being bribed,there is no way this Malaysian can be found quilty.I was wondering whether the cop has taped the conversation between them to prove he was bribed,otherwise how could he prove that the Malaysian man has bribe him.Was there another cop around to be the witness ?

Of course the Malaysian man deserved the sentence as he has flouted the trafic rule.what I'm trying to say here is cop need evidents in order to prosecute you and if you know the law,you would not be intimidated by our corrupt police men.
written by CPY, January 09, 2009 10:29:48
Bullshit Utama never dared to report it bcos its MCA man who did it!
written by Democrats, January 09, 2009 10:30:51
Miwaki,

The cop doesn't need evidence of bribery. He lodged a report against him, charged him, and he pleaded guilty. Case closed.

However, i like the prosecution who appealed the case further to high court to push for a heavier punishment. Money doesn't hurt this MCA VIP, they probably stole too much from the rakyat already to feel the pinch.

Kudos to the Singapore Police.
written by karyeowl, January 09, 2009 10:34:51
Said many times before, Old Habit Dies Hard. How do you teach an old dog new tricks? They just know how to buy the way through. Have money will kau tim.
written by Zym Zym, January 09, 2009 10:35:12
Singapore is sending out a message to the whole world that they are not just strict and corruption-free but they are also sending out a message that Malaysia and Malaysians of all walks of life are practically corrupted and has rotten to the core. It has been the talk of the town lately in many "kopitiam" there. Malaysians are not to be blamed generally; it's BN who instilled such culture into US for the past 50 years. It's time to vote them out! KT here I come.
written by smeagrooo, January 09, 2009 10:41:40
And dont forget the Singaporean who got bashed up by a certain VIP in Genting. Pls put them in jail!
written by Rozlan, January 09, 2009 11:14:22
I agreed that Singapore is better in bribery matters.It is almost impossible for low level officials to take bribes.However corruptions did happened in higher level.An ordinary sungaporean cannot report the crime freely.If they do they will have to stand for civil suit by the accused.Nobody could defend the whistleblower

Singapore Kidney Foundation bribery case was one example.
written by gorshan, January 09, 2009 11:19:47
This is a society that places the laws above everything else, where the laws have preserved a very high level of social order

this law applies to LKY and family too?
written by cheekhiaw, January 09, 2009 11:26:14
The Singapore Police should have put him in jail and let their prison take good care of him. He thinks law enforcers every where are like the thief-like ones in his own country. Arrogance of idiocy.
written by miwaki, January 09, 2009 11:58:38
gorshan,
Yes,the law applies to LKY but LKY is not that stupid to commit it !
written by ahmadneil, January 09, 2009 11:58:49
My friend told me that he was stop many times during road block in KL ,but refused to part the money that they ask.In the end give them some rokok will do also.
written by ahmadneil, January 09, 2009 12:01:26
Don't ever try messing the parking coupons if you have no more parking tickets.Rather park your car without the parking ticket than messing with the old ones.The fines will burn your pockets!
written by mucking fuddled, January 09, 2009 12:35:30
some of you guys out there are really wet between the ears, just one incident that so happen to involve a politician and you all make it sound like the whole of singapore and the lky regime is squeaky clean...get real buddies
written by savemalaysia, January 09, 2009 13:06:07
The malaysian civil service is just as indisciplined as the MCA idiot. That's why our civil service is so lethargic, inefficient, indifferent, abusive and corrupted. Is Najis game enough to respect the rule of the law like Singapore so that the Malaysian civil service will have the discipline, dedication and determination to achieve Vision 2020. Of course not because Najis wants total control of the judiciary, police and army so that he can cover whatever shit during his reign.
written by carribeanking7, January 09, 2009 13:20:14
The government of malaysia runs foul of the rukunegara, but ask schoolchildren to memorise it.
If it cannot even follow 5 simple principles , how is it to uphold law and order.
Thay are more intersted to "kautim" voters with spin, than provide good governence

One Idiot caught in Australia, suddenly pretended he did not understand English.
written by adamckteh, January 09, 2009 13:37:16
Stupid man committed a stupid act by offering bribe. I do not think the event was that simple. The man must have been insistent in offering the bribe otherwise the police man will not take that drastic action.
Suppose the business man just accept the police man's summon, and pay up the fine at the exist point, every thing will be ok. After all what the government wants is the prompt payment of fine.
written by purpleshoppe, January 09, 2009 13:39:20
a country with ambitious multiple laws, but no meaningful enforcement a country of fewer laws, but serious enforcement no wonder we are what we are, and they are what they are
written by DezMalaysia, January 09, 2009 13:53:06
The MCA man is one of Chua Soi Lek's staunch supporter! The corrupts in one nest!
written by mypanida, January 09, 2009 13:55:24
The businessman's only mitigation was he is a Malaysian.
The judge is learned.
If he is a Singaporean, he will be severely dealt with.
Afterall,that S$15000 was probably once stolen from Malaysians.
written by Kaneeneh, January 09, 2009 14:18:03
You can't even think such thoughts when dealing with the US policemen. They stop you for traffic offence, you show them your licence,registration and shut up. Talk and you're incriminating yourself. Talk more and you're in deep shit. Open your mouth and you're inviting troubles. The writer is right. Our understanding of the judicial system is pathetically low.
written by EUGTAN, January 09, 2009 14:19:03
Was the conversation taped? Well, in the original sentence of 15K it was proven that the businessman already committed the crime. Chungguo is on his normal tour of the Singapore political landscape, makimg wild speculations. What has free speech got to do with a bribery conviction. As for the Kideny Foundation case, if it was kept quiet just becasue it involved the higher-ups how come the chairman ended up in jail?
written by Taikohtai, January 09, 2009 14:45:16
Let no one forget about Singapore's overall selective prosecution and persecution style by their governing body. Yes, some small incidents here and there doesn't make Singapore a preferred benchmark in terms of justice. Just ask any of the opposition members there. How many have been bankrupted by their not so partial judiciary system? LKY may have done a lot of good but he is just another warlord - BIG FISH in small pond. Remember the no casino policy? Now they are building not one but two, after LGT's era. And how the opium king of the Golden Triangle in Burma, Mr Lo and son-in-law being feted like kings in Singapore? How Singapore pumps in millions into the hospitality industry as a money laundering process in Myanmar to fool the rest of the world? Singapore is today's equivalent of Swiss Bank of yesteryears - heavily tainted in blood and drug money. All in the cause of survival and kiasu and kiasi mentality.
written by steviewonger, January 09, 2009 15:39:24
The Singapore Judge is too lenient. This is a VIP from Malaysia. Should have sentence him to 6 months in the lockup , whipped 2 rotans and fined S$50,000.00.
This will teach all VIPs to be more respectful of foreign countries LAW.
These SOB VIPs are too arrogant and true blood suckers.
If the M'sian Law implemented and acted as their counterpart did over the causeway, this country will be freed of corrupt practices and our beloved Malaysia coffer will increase... but it will never happen if BN and Ameno still walks the corridor of power...sigh...
written by cllim123, January 09, 2009 16:35:34
There is a country with law and order and a system that benefits every common man and woman. Meritrocratic and corrupt free. Open tender and no kow tim. That is why they are able to attradct foreign investors and foreign fund depositors. That is why they are rich. They dont need NEP and all sorts of fake machinery to boost their confidence but that will actually cripple the very people it was supposedly protect and help.

As for our Malaysian VIPs who flout other countries' laws, this MCA fella is definitely not the first. Remember the "speako no england" Umno guy? Now hoping to be Umno Deputy head? That time he managed to get away. What a shame. They all should be punished to the fullest extent of the law, here and abroad. But here, the law is only a political tool of oppression against the opposition and the rakyat.
written by Ayoyo, January 09, 2009 17:47:11
Is that So ? How come SINGAPORE BIBLE COLLEGE do not follow the laws of Singapore?? They have their own set of laws ....no grievance procedure and a discriminatory policy for their students applying for Hostel. Anybody care to comment or bring this up with the law courts of Singapore ?
written by mrbean, January 09, 2009 18:30:48
That is why Singapore is so developed and advanced when compared to Malaysia.
The attitude of MAlaysians as a result of a very very lousy education system has caused such behaviour to be accepted as a norm.
We will forever be backward if we do not change. The more reason we must change and change the whole system which is corrupting the attitude and minds of the people.. if left unattended we will be like Zimbabwe ....or whatever is left of it..
written by mrbean, January 09, 2009 18:33:11
BTW, a friend of mine told me a story. once a triad member tried to extort protection money from the shopkeeper in singapore.. the shopkeeper told him to fly kite.. he told him if he wants money, go to the police station and ask the police for money. This is a true story...Law and order is so strict there that if you try to be funny, they can catch you very quickly...
That triad guy didn't have the balls to do so.. if this were in Malaysia, the shopkeeper would have been beaten or worse his shop would have been burned.. and maybe the police might even have a hand in it.
written by USJ 6, January 09, 2009 18:35:54
That makes the difference between two countries across the river. smilies/wink.gif
written by chiongguo, January 10, 2009 00:19:17
EUGTAn wrote :

Chungguo is on his normal tour of the Singapore political landscape, makimg wild speculations.

What is so wild about what I had said. Anyone with a computer could easily confirm the substance of what I had said. I spoke not out of school but from real experience. When I have so many people disagreeing with me I know the LeeRegime is very active. More than that a lot of "hantu" came out today after I made this post. I had tested this proposition quite a few times now. They seem to come out of the woodwork in droves everytime I say things that seem to put them in the bad light.

Well for those who disagree with what I had said try educating yourself by doing a search on "chee soon juan", "Martyn see", "vincent cheng", "jeyaratnam" etc.

And recent cross-examination of Lee Kuan Yew by Chee Soon juan found LKY lying under oath and yet no action was taken (http://www.yoursdp.org/index.p...ut-and-run).

LKY had been calling Dr.Chee a liar and a psycho. Tried to get woodbridge to certify him as delusional but failed. What martyn see did as a young man was to write a number of letters with well-meaning and good suggestions, some of it was taken up by their million-dollar minister. In return for his civic consciousness LKY and his group of gangsters(ISD) started a surreptious smear campaign to destroy his reputation and forced him to mentally break down. But Martyn see bounced back and became stronger. Vincent cheng ? What did do really ?

For those who disagree with me do yourself a favour and school yourself on what is really happening.