Home arrow The Blogs arrow News/Commentaries arrow Abdullah calls Dr M 'irrelevant' in KT campaign

Abdullah calls Dr M 'irrelevant' in KT campaign PDF Print E-mail
Thursday, 08 January 2009 22:07

By Adib Zalkapli, The Malaysian Insider

Just two months before leaving office, Datuk Seri Abdullah Badawi finally called his trenchant critic Tun Dr Mahathir Mohamad irrelevant as he defended his choice of candidate for the crucial Kuala Terengganu by-election.

Dr Mahathir, who has repudiated his anointed successor Abdullah,  had called the Barisan Nasional's candidate Datuk Wan Farid Salleh as a bad choice and a proxy of the prime minister, who hit the campaign trail today.

"Dr Mahathir can say anything he wants. He is irrelevant to us. We know what we are doing and we know what we want, we will continue to fight to defend the seat," Abdullah said after meeting party workers involved in the Kuala Terengganu by-election.

The by-election, which is probably Abdullah's last election campaign as the Prime Minister, is widely seen as a referendum on Datuk Seri Najib Razak's leadership who is slated to succeed him in March.

But the selection of Wan Farid, who was his former political secretary, as the BN candidate is a reflection that Abdullah is still very much in control of Umno, the dominant party in the ruling coalition.

Earlier at the closed door meeting, the Prime Minister said he reminded party members that Wan Farid, a senator who was appointed deputy minister after the last general election, is a serious candidate for BN.

"I have told him that if you do not win, you will lose your senate seat and lose the deputy minister's position and you cannot come back to me to be my political secretary," Abdullah told reporters adding that Wan Farid was willing to risk his political career.

"When I first informed him, he replied that he is willing to be the BN' candidate in Kuala Terengganu because he wants to serve the people in the constituency as he is also the division chief," he added.

He also reiterated that only Wan Farid's name was proposed by the state Umno, which proved that there was no internal bickering within the party.

The Umno president also reminded the party campaign machinery to remain stay focused on the by-election and not to be distracted by the party elections scheduled for March.

Abdullah also said BN component parties remain committed in ensuring Wan Farid's victory on the Jan 17 polling day.

written by densemy, January 08, 2009 22:16:13
"I have told him that if you do not win, you will lose your senate seat and lose the deputy minister's position and you cannot come back to me to be my political secretary," Abdullah told reporters

Sheesh... poor Wan Farid must be devastated to hear that news... Literally quaking in his boots. Poor guy... he's a sacrificial lamb
written by doggone, January 08, 2009 22:22:52
You asked the BN campaign machinery to stay focused and commented that your most trenchant critic is 'irrelevant'.But Mr.PM, you too have never stayed focus during your term of office and you too have become irrelevant to the people of Malaysia. What we dread now is the person who's replacing you when you leave office. Can you see what you have done to the nation my dear PM?
written by clarity, January 08, 2009 22:27:58
BN can think of selling public hospitals so the poor will die faster of heart problems. BN can arrange commissions of $500 million or when they buy submarines and helicopters. BN can inflate P. Klang construction cost from $1.2 billion to $4.3 billion without explaining why the loss is so great. BN can say no need to find out who ordered the killing of the mongolian woman.
So, how to win in KT? ?
written by stchin, January 08, 2009 22:31:48
" you MUST win...win...WIN ! i dun care whatever method ....!"

aiyooooo !! PASman, pls jaga diri baik2, ok !? GODBLESS !
written by kkselvam, January 08, 2009 22:35:03
What!!! Pak Lah angry???? Ooooo......scared la...
written by Motherchell, January 08, 2009 23:07:30
ACTUALLY ABDULLAH should charge him in court, then give stements like this . After all he has the Great Patail--( who would charge an accident victim for murder) , Musa ---( Who will blow a whistle to get his Balaclava clad men to arrest !) and Albar will say he wants to keep his mentor -- safe under the ISA! Go ahead Paklah ! Get you friends to fix TDM!
http://sjsandteam.wordpress.com/
written by SiHangChai, January 08, 2009 23:08:23
Pak Lah and Tun M should get into the ring and be like Evander Holyfield. Old man still can box around. Pak Lah should tell Tun M to shut up as he is no longer a UMNO goon.
written by ASK4u, January 08, 2009 23:14:45
Ya!Ya! you're also going to be irrelevant in two months time. The very experienced and 'seasoned' senior statesman knows something and after Jan 17, he is going to say, "kan saya sudah cakap ...." and Pa la is going to go "Dato,..Dato.." to him.
written by fireduck, January 08, 2009 23:30:56
"I have told him that if you do not win, you will lose your senate seat and lose the deputy minister's position and you cannot come back to me to be my political secretary,"

Of course cannot come back as your political secretary lah. What lah, own self may be without any political office very soon, how to hire him as pol. sec.? And who would want to be pol sec to a loser, someone on the way out? Duh!
written by DreamLady, January 09, 2009 00:29:05
Badawi, the pot is calling the kettle black. Look in the mirror, and talk to yourself:
1. How many times I dozed off while on duty during the last 5 years as PM?
2. Why did I allow Hamid to use ISA rampantly against my rakyat?
3. How was that I did not dig further into the internation-known trial of
Attantuya and Razak is set free? ya, come to think of it, Attantuya cannot blow
herself up, and I was just wondering from where did the 2 policemen get their
C4 explosive?
4. Why didn't I shut up the Fatwa's mouth for stirring up Yoga issue?
5. Was I asleep when Najib had a secret dealing regarding eurocopter purchases,
and why didn't I call for a clean and transparent investigation into his
scandals??
6. I was angry with Rais for saying something about throwing shoes'story, but why
didn't I reprimand him for saying such aweful thing about US president?.......

You say to yourself you are very tired and do not wish to carry on with the list, and you turn around to face the rakyat who are screaming on top of their voices:

Badawi, you are IRRELEVENT, as bad as Mahathir!!!

written by SocratesI, January 09, 2009 01:09:52

Finally, the Worm turns !!! A Lame Duck SleepyHead PM calling a Senile Old Fool of an ex-PM "Irrelevant" should realize that he is every bit as Irrelevant as MahaTahi !!

It therefore stands to reason that Bodohwi's choice of One (ah)Mad Putrid is a case of 1 irrelevant PM choosing an irrelevant candidate for the KT election !! This means that there is actually only 1 choice - that of Wahid Endut from PAS/ Pakatan Rakyat !!

Vote for Pakatan Rakyat ! Vote for PAS' Wahid Endut !!

written by cheekhiaw, January 09, 2009 01:40:31
One irrelevant talking to another irrelevant.

written by banjarbp, January 09, 2009 07:24:16
Yeah, both are irrelevang...Barisang and BeeNg will dissapear soon and Pakatang will rule.
written by adan, January 09, 2009 08:50:18
AAB .. It is too late to call your bitter critic 'irrelevant'.You by your inaction and 'elegant silence' aganist all his personal outbursts against you and your govt provided him with lot of opportunities to undermine your image and authorities.

YOU ARE STILL THE PM..you can 'fix him up'just as he fixed up anyone who dared to cross his path.... EXPLOIT THE the lingam gate scandel, the countless corrupt practices, and , FOR SOME DRAMATIC EFFECT, carry out character assasination, come out with triupmed up charges..Otherwise, when you are no more the PM, he will let all hell break loose upon you and anyone associated with you,.
written by SCM, January 09, 2009 09:34:21
It will snow in Malaysia soon. Wow, I never thought I'd ever agree with you on anything but you have finally come out of your deep slumber and said something that I agree with, i.e. Mahathir is irrelevant.

However, you should not stop there. It would be more accurate if you listed the entire UMNO supreme council members and also said that like Mahathir, you are all corrupt ans racist dawgs. That would have been more accurate and would have stopped the snow from falling in Malaysia.
written by SimpleSoul, January 09, 2009 16:56:02
DR M = Irrelavant
Pa La = irresponsible

Now both happy?
written by aplus, January 09, 2009 20:49:21
C'mon Dr M, he has upped your ante on your irrelevance and it is not always he does so. You can use the number of visitors to your blog to refute his statements. On the other hand why does the PM need to put aside your assertions? It is a red herring. Please stay on the topic. Can the PM refute the statement that UMNO BARU's KT candidate is a bad choice? I'm sure Dr M has enough facts to back his allegations. To say someone is irrelevant is already irrelevant to the topic. Perhaps the PM is implicitly admitting that Dr M's allegation is INDEED correct that the UMNO BARU's KT candidate is a bad choice after all.
written by Fart Fart Wah, January 10, 2009 02:00:09
Mahathir should be placed under ISA..time infinite..for starting the rot in Malaysia..he is a terrorist per se for starting all this problems...a terrorist does not have to blow up people..

this guy blew up 800 billion in 22 years and has no answer for it until today..
it is the rakyats money???where did it go?? he has also blown the races apart and the economy..put him behind bars as the Tunku did..the first time...the Tunku was right.
written by ROBERTNGTG, January 10, 2009 12:27:45
Just two months before leaving office, Datuk Seri Abdullah Badawi finally called his trenchant critic Tun Dr Mahathir Mohamad irrelevant as he defended his choice of candidate for the crucial Kuala Terengganu by-election.

LET THE BATTLE OF THE POT AND THE KETTLE BEGIN. I WOULD LIKE TO SEE THE CURRENT
PM PEE ON THIS HAS BEEN RESPONSIBLE FOR ALL THE SHIT IN THIS COUNTRY. YES, IT WOULD SURE GIVE US GREAT PLEASURE TO SEE HIS STINKING MOUTH SHUT FOR ONCE.