Home arrow The Blogs arrow Guest Columnists arrow Will MCA members decide KT polls

Will MCA members decide KT polls PDF Print
Thursday, 08 January 2009 17:20

JAN 8 - Believe it or not, members of MCA may be the deciding factor in the Kuala Terengganu by-election.

Liew Chin Tong is the DAP MP for Bukit Bendera.

By now it is practically conventional wisdom that with Malay votes likely to be equally divided, the 8,700-Chinese voters who make up 11 per cent of the electorate are the 'kingmakers' in the upcoming polls.

Most significantly, we are talking about voters who have been affiliated to the Malaysian Chinese Association one way or another at some point in their life.

Most of these voters are concentrated in Bandar, one of the four state seats forming the vacant parliamentary seat. It is the only seat in Terengganu which MCA constantly contests in and constantly wins, excepting the 1999 election.

Over the years, in order to secure electoral victory for the MCA candidate for the Bandar seat, members of the party living in the outskirts of the state were encouraged to register as voters in the capital.

As a result, more than 3,000 Chinese voters registered to vote in the by-election on 17 January actually live outside of the boundary of the parliamentary constituency of Kuala Terengganu.

Some suggest that MCA members constitute as much as two thirds of the Chinese electorate in Kuala Terengganu.

But these figures do not paint as rosy a picture for the BN as one might think.

Like UMNO, MCA is a mass-based political party with a registered membership of more than a million. Many are merely members in name with very little involvement in the political processes.

Some may not even know that they are registered members of the party as the party's many crises over the last three decades drove warring factions to register members to boost their bargaining powers.

Nevertheless, during the March 8 election, the presence of a large membership of MCA probably did help the BN candidate win by a small margin.

By some estimates for that occasion, more than 60 per cent of Chinese voters supported the BN parliamentary candidate while slightly less than 80 per cent voted for BN's ethnic Chinese candidate for Bandar.

In other words, Chinese voters in Kuala Terengganu did not join the bandwagon of the peninsula-wide non-Malay revolt, aided by urban Malays, that fuelled the change of government in four states and denied the BN a two-thirds majority in Parliament.

The high concentration of former and current MCA members in the constituency means that BN potentially has easier access to Chinese voters compared to the PAS candidate; and the MCA's propaganda line, including the hudud controversy, will be magnified in Kuala Terengganu.

However, the new political milieu after March 8 has also resulted in an awakening of Malaysian voters that had not been seen before. Unlike previously, political issues are now discussed more publicly than ever.

MCA members, like most Malaysians, are deeply unhappy with the handling of the Ahmad Ismail controversy, the spate of ISA arrests in mid-September and the management of the economy.

There is a yearning for our own "Obama moment" that promises change towards a less corrupt and less racial polity.

Thus, potentially, there may be a swing among Chinese voters in favour of the PAS candidate, based on the reformist platform.

Packaged as an attempt to "teach UMNO a lesson", it is an attractive proposition that even hardcore MCA members are prepared to consider, especially in a mere by-election where there is no danger of a change of government.

This explains why MCA President Dato' Seri Ong Tee Keat has been quick to dismiss the talk that Chinese voters are the "kingmakers". He said it is essentially a fight for Malay hearts and minds.

Everything else being equal, a swing of ten to 15 per cent of Chinese votes is enough to deliver PAS the Kuala Terengganu seat.

More importantly, any such swing is a testimony to the disillusionment of MCA members with the party and, ultimately, the Barisan Nasional model.

written by USJ 6, January 08, 2009 17:34:24
I used to be MCA odinary member but voted PR in both the Assembly & Parliment...so what...you blow ah... smilies/grin.gif
written by Democrats, January 08, 2009 17:43:14
MCA is no longer MCA lah...... I cannot fathom any reason why anyone would vote MCA. They can even get their "so called" partner in BN to grant these residents freehold status after 51 years of independent.
written by patlu, January 08, 2009 17:51:54
Whatever the political party leaders say, action speaks louder than words. I choose to believe that ordinary members of any political party have minds of their own to decide the destiny of our country since March 8, 2008. The people (all Malaysians, irrespective of race and religion) HAD ENOUGH of the talk. We want to see REAL changes and implementation of the talk.

Here's A Tale of Three Chinese Malaysians. Watch the last two in this segment
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=rZXPQPn_UmM
written by miwaki, January 08, 2009 18:00:43
I have confident in Hainanese of KT.They will vote PAS.
written by salsabarney, January 08, 2009 18:34:50
There is nothing to lose for the KT Chinese by voting in PAS candidate. They still get their Bandar assemblyman Toh Chin Yaw but at the same time they get to teach the mightily arrogant BN a big lesson. I still cannot understand why these people want to vote for racist BN. calling them to go back to China and threatening a 'May 13' once they lose support..unless they can kang-thau (contracts) from MCA

Go to hell MCA even with Ong Tee Keat campaigning for them (this chap is really sucking up to his UMNO master)defeat is imminent and staring at you.Send him back to KL with tails between his legs. Wait a minute.I saw in Malaysiakini video that Koh Tsu Koon was there too.not enough being humiliated by UMNO and Ahmad Ismail now he is back to become their good boy-boy.a very obedient one.
written by ahmadneil, January 08, 2009 18:37:14
MCA is been make a laughing stock in KT.The chinese there are fed up with MCA becos they know that MCA is not like the MCA they use to know.Now MCA is just a party for personal rivalry,a party that fight for self survival,a party that want to show off their powers,a party that don't do what it preaches,a party that is outdated and fill with old and expired ideas and a party that have forsaken the chinese.MCA can't represent the chinese becos your president speaks with a a grinding teeth.He hold grudge against those who don't vote for him.How can he lead a party and be president when he can't even forgive and forget in order to move on.He is too arrogant to be the president of MCA.He was voted into power by all those who are sleeping.
As for KT,reliable sources says that that the chinese will not vote for umno becos of what Ahmad Ismail have called the chinese 'squatters'.And the chinese hated MCA becos you all never stand up and make a strong statement ,condemning umno for not punishing Ahmad Ismail.You as MCA VP,must stand up and speak with force,demanding that this Ahmad Ismail be pubnished or sent to Kamunting.For not doing so,you are a party to all crooks and liars.And today ,with God grace,KT is where the chinese will get even with MCA for the neglect and coward altitude shown by MCA.If there have been no election like this for another 1-2 years then the chnese would have forgotten all about Ahmad Ismail,but then this memory are still too fresh in their minds.Don't forget,the chinese have still the Keris waving issue to settle with MCA.These days the chinese are more sensitive on issues that affected their names and pride,not like mahathir's years,they are more concern about their business and their children's education.So anything that directly affect their names and prides must be instantly dealt with strongly.There are also issues like KetuananMelayu which are getting very irritating and MCA haven't come up with a way to deal with this issue.Everytime MCA tries to say something about this ,umno started to shout about not interfering in their rights and that we must discus this indoor.If they can publicly shout about Ketuanan Melayu, then why can't MCA counter them publicly.All this issues are directly affecting the effectiveness of MCA as a party that have been always boasting to look after the chinese till death do us part.For all that have been said,this by election will be a barometer not only for umno but also MCA.Whether these 8,000 plus chinese voters voted for umno remain to be seen.If umno fail to capture KT,then umno/BN is truly on the road to destruction and MCA is partly to be blamed.For all I hard here in KT,the odds are against umno.This stake are high and PAS is gaining grounds fast.Keep your fingers cross and if you worship the goddess of mercy,then ask her for her blessing that umno will win,if not your VP seat is also not safe.My bet is on PAS and I can say this with my hand on my heart.Prove me wrong.What I hear is not what you think!
written by Hello Keithy, January 08, 2009 18:45:22
Whatever's gonna be, MCA members of KT will be having a field day organising karaoke, cooking sessions and in-line dancing. That's what they are good at. The "Ah Sohs" and "Ah Pors" tend to forget UMNO's prejudice towards the Chinese.
written by Dualties, January 08, 2009 19:02:03
Ong Tee Keat:

Whatever you may declare now at the KT by-election, you cannot command the change or swing of voters for the benefit of BN.

It is know fact, MCA has not delivered justice to the residents of KT. What punishment have you initiated on the greedy MCA assemblyman who overcharged for the maintenance of the Perdana car? MCA kept silent.

Now the only KAMPUNG CINA in KT is going disappear very soon, presumably for a public project. Were you deaf or pretended not to be awared of what's going on in KT.

Can we still trust MCA who work in cohort with BN for the rich, powerful and influential to deceive the Rakyats? !!!
written by Angela Ooi, January 08, 2009 19:05:36
No worries, on the ground, we have had many MCA members come up to us let us know they will vote PAS cos they are disgusted with UMNO's arrogant treatment of their partner. Every vote for PAS will be considered a "NO" and a slap to Najis!
written by ahmadneil, January 08, 2009 20:04:21
MCA is nothing.It's just a personal club for those chinese leaders who fight among themselves for positions and names.
written by SiHangChai, January 08, 2009 20:21:03
An Appeal to the Chinese of K. Terengganu. Pls show your support vote to Pakatan Rakyat and to send a message to OTK that you all have no confidence on him as President of MCA!
written by mikewang, January 08, 2009 20:40:21
Being an MCA member doesn't mean he/she will automatically support the party.
There are many reasons why a Chinese joins MCA and most of the time it has to do with helping out a recruiter friend.

I am also an MCA member because of this reason.
However, I will appeal every Chinese to vote PAS even if the contest is between MCA and PAS as long as PAS is part of the PR coalition.
written by Al Ambia, January 08, 2009 21:37:55
I use to support MCA all the way.But not now,as i feel that they are unable to deliver whatever they promises.They are just like a dog being use by the Bee Ant.After so many years being sting by the Bee ant,still belom bangun.Really thick skin.Only time you can see them is during election.
written by Angela Ooi, January 08, 2009 22:40:30
A couple days back, I asked 2 MCA men who also happened to be having bfast in the hotel we stayed, "Please tell me WHY mca is relevant to the Chinese?" Of course they could not answer and probably feeling ashamed finished their bfast in a hurry and disappeared.
written by onnetline, January 08, 2009 22:46:04
Ong Talk Kock & MCA are mere rubbish and slaves to their BN-UMMNO masters. MIC included.
written by Daryl, January 09, 2009 06:39:23
If political party membership is not tie to "MEAL TICKET" than they will vote which ever way they want too. At least not all of them because you will have some diehard supporter in any party.
written by MalaysianFirst, January 09, 2009 18:00:03
The Chinese today are totally different from the Chinese that the MCA once knew. MCA Chinese have no argument with the word "pendatang" because their mindset is to make it while the going is good and get the fugg out of here when the going is bad. Loyalty to King and country is not something important to them.

Not today's Chinese. Today's Chinese do not want to be called "pendatang". Loyalty to King and country is important to them and it pisses them off when someone calls them "pendatang". It pisses me off big time!!

MCA has no place in the mindset of the present day Chinese in Malaysia because their mindset have evolved and none of the young Chinese are immigrants. They are all born, raised, educated, lived, worked, married, and in all probability, die in Malaysia. This IS their homeland and they want to be part of it.

MCA, you can now go and hang yourself. And don't just hang yourself. Make sure you hang and die.