Home arrow The Blogs arrow No Holds Barred arrow The hearts and minds of the voters

The hearts and minds of the voters PDF Print
Thursday, 08 January 2009 12:59

Don’t think the Kuala Terengganu Chinese do not know that the move to block the conversion of TOL land to freehold in Perak is mainly because the Chinese -- who will end up owning this land – will become richer by RM1.5 billion, overnight.

The Chinese in Terengganu have a love-hate relationship with PAS. Okay, maybe it’s not quite a love-hate relationship as such. But it would certainly qualify as a love-not love relationship. To sum up what one local-born Chinese said: we love PAS Kelantan and wish PAS Terengganu would be just like them.

Well, PAS Kelantan is PAS Kelantan and PAS Terengganu is PAS Terengganu. And for that matter PAS Kedah, PAS Perak and PAS Selangor are separate entities in their own right as well. Many people make the mistake of looking at PAS as one party. However, as I have said before, PAS is actually not one party but a collection of many PASess, each state being independent of each other and of the centre as well.

The message PAS needs to send to the Chinese voters in Kuala Terengganu is that they are not being asked to choose a new government or to change the government. They are just being asked to elect a new Member of Parliament for Kuala Terengganu -- which is a vacant seat anyway, so no one is being replaced or changed. Therefore, there is not going to be any change of government either at state or federal level.

The issue of Hudud is not really that serious an issue except to those weak in arithmetic. These weaklings do not appear to understand, or pretend to not understand, that Malaysia has 222 Parliament constituencies and two-thirds of 222 is 148. This means PAS will need to win 148 Parliament seats to form the federal government with a two-thirds majority and with the required majority to amend the Federal Constitution of Malaysia.

This has been explained so many times in the past. And it has also been explained that PAS contests only 60 seats, far short of the 148, and they win less than half the seats they contest. In 1999 they won 27 seats. In 2004 they won 9. And in 2008 they won 23. How in heaven’s name can PAS amend the Constitution when this is all it can win?

I have said this before, many times, and I will say it again. PAS can never in 100 years win more than 35 Parliament seats, never mind how many seats they contest. They can contest all 222 Parliament seats and they will still win, at best, 35 seats. Most likely, though, PAS will win less than 30 seats.

Now, some are arguing that PAS can always team up with Umno to get their two-thirds majority. Aiyah, Umno has only 78 seats in Parliament. Combined with PAS it would be only 101 seats. Did I not say they need 148 seats to have a two-thirds majority? Even then you are assuming that the 13 Umno Parliamentarians in Sabah will follow the 65 in Peninsular Malaysia. I dare take on any bet that if Umno decides to merge with PAS to turn Malaysia into an Islamic State, at least 10 of the Umno Sabah Parliamentarians will jump ship.

Sigh……it is most tiring having to keep repeating this same issue and present the arithmetic for all to see. Yet, many still repeat the same questions in spite of this repeated explanation and even with the arithmetic glaring you in the face. I am sure many readers are as tired of reading this explanation as I am of repeating it to those thick heads who still don’t get it.

On the positive side though, many Chinese have said they find PAS a better government in some respects compared to Umno. They took me to their building built on a piece of land that the PAS government gave them. Under Umno the Chinese were not able to get any land.

The Kuala Terengganu Chinese are also aware that the Perak government is trying to convert at least 150,000 pieces of land from TOL to freehold but the federal government is blocking the move. The reason the federal government is blocking the effort by the Perak government is simple: the beneficiaries are mostly all Chinese.

Don’t think the Kuala Terengganu Chinese do not know that the move to block the conversion of TOL land to freehold in Perak is mainly because the Chinese -- who will end up owning this land -- will become richer by RM1.5 billion, overnight. In fact, the Kuala Terengganu Chinese too are facing the same problem. They have been residing in Terengganu for more than 200 years and yet they can’t get land and the only land they own is TOL.

Now, even that is going to be taken away from them. After the Kuala Terengganu by-election on 17 January 2009, the state government is going to acquire quite a bit of Chinese land for development and beautification purposes. The state government is not making too much noise about the matter but the Chinese already know about the plan. Even their temple that goes back centuries is not going to be spared.

Yes, the Chinese are most unhappy and would like to see Umno given a kick in the teeth. However, in the same breath, they do not want to ‘rock the boat’. How can they have it both ways? You can’t fry the egg unless you break the shell. And more than mere shells need to be broken if you want to send Umno a message. And we hope to see this message delivered on 17 January 2009.

That is all for now from Ground Zero in Kuala Terengganu. The rest of my report will be in pictorial form.

1. Police on the right. Notice the roadblock in the distance.

2. And police on the left. Kuala Terengganu is beginning to look like a war zone.

3.  The black Chinese New Year banner from MCA and Barisan Nasional has upset the traditionalist Chinese who associate black with death and red with good fortune.

4. The solitary MIC operations centre in Kuala Terengganu that is yet to open its doors since Nomination Day.

5. The Terengganu Monsoon Cup costs RM300 million a year and has swallowed an estimated RM1 billion thus far. But what the Kuala Terengganu folks really need are monsoon drains that have eluded them for 52 years since Merdeka and which would have cost far less than RM1 billion.

6. The ‘road’ leading to the houses smack in the middle of Kuala Terengganu and within the vibrant business district of Ladang.

7. The rubbish dumps beside the houses.

8. A typical Terengganu home. You would have great difficulty comprehending that these are homes of the so-called beneficiaries of the New Economic Policy that favour the Malays and discriminate against the Chinese. These Malays are poorer than the discriminated Chinese.

9. Another sample of a Malay house in Kuala Terengganu, the capital of the second richest state in Malaysia.

10. You have seen the 'rubbish collection system' in photo 7 above-- now get a load of their ''water supply system'.

11. This house belongs to a ‘richer’ Malay.

12.  And this is where they all finally end up when death comes take them away from their life of despair. They end up in the graves surrounding their houses. Some houses are built on top of the graves but most are within a stone's throw. The dead never really leave. They just move next door.

Comments (73)Add Comment
written by diff2view, January 08, 2009 15:24:01
Hancur..hancur..Bee Eng, Menang..Menang..Pakatang
agree 197
written by krising1, January 08, 2009 15:29:30
I am quite sure that the Chinese have taken note of the fact that UMNO is trying to put a stop to the Chinese owning the land on which they sit. Just add that the MCA and Gerakan have also not spoken against it! Neither has the MIC. That should drive another nail into their coffins.
agree 186
written by Kritz, January 08, 2009 15:44:12
Come on all of you KT Chinese voters! You all have only one choice. Vote PAS.
agree 161
written by densemy, January 08, 2009 15:45:18
It would make an interesting contrast if you could show us how the elite of KT live. The "friends of friends" who really have benifitted from the NEP and other handouts
written by Motherchell, January 08, 2009 15:51:40
Dear Pete,.
This one takes the cake!
No 9- Another sample of a Malay house in Kuala Terengganu, the capital of the second richest state in Malaysia.

What is fascinating is , UMNO Leader's salaries are the lowest in the region, but their WEALTH is higher than the MONTE CARLO crowd!! Baffled? ! Lets assume 20 years of drilling oil in Trengganu --- and with the oil prices in the last few years , DUBAI is competing with Chicago, while Trengannu is competing with Kampong ULU SIAM!!
Who's responsible -- TDM??---- Razak?? well time to make the change once and for all -- to wipe the imbeciles off the map!
http://sjsandteam.*********.com

written by justice, January 08, 2009 15:58:34
The official BN campaign poster for KT by-election is out now as shown below.

To the Chinese voters in KT, OPEN YOU EYES now!!!

agree 293
written by eloofk, January 08, 2009 16:08:24
To all the KT voters,

Vote PAS candidate into parliament and demand from the UMNO-led government to return what have been robbed from you for the past 51 years. You deserved better than what you are now.
written by ahmadneil, January 08, 2009 16:20:14
If you are offended by Ahmad Ismail then vote for PAS.If you vote umno,more Ahmad Ismail will be calling you all 'squatters' and MCA will be dumb ,as they have done this before.
agree 124
written by Kunta Kinte, January 08, 2009 16:20:51
Dear PRK and team, going back to picture 4, what's happening? Read sometime ago Samy Velu and team will be there to render their undying support for the BN candidate. Meanwhile, you are able to buy more time to keep using your dirty shoes and slippers before he makes his grand appearance.
written by ahmadneil, January 08, 2009 16:21:19
Great picture.With all this promotion,more tourist will be going to KT after this election.
written by Rainbowseahorse, January 08, 2009 16:22:03

I just love your photos as they takes me back to my yesteryears of kampong life not far remove from those in the photos!

I know you're trying to show the stark contrast between urban & rural life, and after 51 years of the NEP, these just shouldn't be common sights anymore as they represent poverty.

Keep these pictures coming to better inform Malaysians that all those billions of "poverty eradication funds" were actually used mostly to help eradicate UMNO's people's "poverty".
written by Garend, January 08, 2009 16:23:54
YES Totally Crap. and the Mercedes cars for the MPs. what nonsense. While the ppl are suffering they are enjoying. this is too much. They are practically practicing double standard here.
1) UMNO goons & cronies
2) Normal Tax Paying Citizens

This got to STOP.channel back the Wang Ehsan back to where they belong.bring up Terengganu.Down with UMNO.
written by USJ 6, January 08, 2009 16:24:53
Dear Pete, do take some photos of the UMNO goons staying in a BIG MANSION like the late-Zakaria who had really benefited from the NEP which we believe there were plenty of them just to show the contrast... smilies/wink.gif
written by SocratesI, January 08, 2009 16:28:39
If the Utterly Moronic Nazi Organization (UMNO) invites disgruntled Rakyat to spit in their faces, kick them in the teeth and slap their faces, there are going to be many drowning, toothless, swollen round faced UMNO imbeciles around!Frankly, that is really what I would like to do to them!
written by ylcc, January 08, 2009 16:30:09
The issue of HUDUD: "I am sure many readers are as tired of reading this explanation as I am of repeating it to those thick heads who still don’t get it."

I CONCUR, and APPRECIATE this comment very much. Thank you.
written by ahmadneil, January 08, 2009 16:36:18
I have forward all these pictures to my friends in Washington DC.I'm asking him to show it to Barrak Obama if possible and tell him what malaysia looks like since 52 years already.And also tell him ,if he don't know where malaysia is,that Altantuya was here and C4ed.
written by Rainbowseahorse, January 08, 2009 16:41:12
Hih my ylcc! smilies/grin.gif

Yes pleeze, meeee too concur with you! Most times, people will believe what they want to believe and…hehehe…except in cyberworld, in my daily life I try to avoid topics concerning religion & politics, especially if they differ widely from your views. Most certainly recipes for broken relationship!

Cheerio!
written by kent chong, January 08, 2009 16:44:13
Hey UMNO! Terenganu is under you-your Ketuanan Melayu how come poor? Why dont you blame DAP?
written by Rainbowseahorse, January 08, 2009 16:44:43
Socratesl,

...hehehe..Nice one, but better still "Utterly Moronic Numbskull Organization"; yah?

Cheers!
written by ylcc, January 08, 2009 17:01:58
Hello RBSH, thanks for the support again. I think you know why I am so grateful to Raja Petra for those words.

Yes, saw you a couple of times getting into the fray in cyberworld (tried defending you a couple of times!) ... better to avoid any showdown, yah?
written by USJ 6, January 08, 2009 17:06:53
By all means, KT voters, you have no better chance than now to vote PAS into Parlimen so as to take back what you had lost in the past 52 years from the federal government. smilies/sad.gif
written by pinsysu, January 08, 2009 17:08:46
voting for BN / UNMO = putting desiccating agent in ur food jar. u'll be completely deprived of all moisture. save for da 1st few pics, i thot da rest look like somewhere in philipine ... or some ghost town after da gold reserve was completely depleted ...
written by USJ 6, January 08, 2009 17:15:54
Listen all the KT Chinese voters, RPK was right, you can't fry the egg unless you break the shell, what is the point of riding on the same boat where you can't rock...? Come on, dump the sinking boat and ride on the Cruise of PR... smilies/cool.gif
written by USJ 6, January 08, 2009 17:20:18
KT Chinese voters, think for yourselves and your next generation, do you really want a ruling party like the shit UMNO GOONS who have been calling you a " PENDATANG " to rule the country, please think of it at a national level not only KT.
written by miwaki, January 08, 2009 17:32:58
Penang Hockkien had done it and we are rewarded with Pakatan Rakyat as state government,now KT Hainanese can also do it.Make sure KT chinese do not give Barisan Najis a single vote ! Creat history just like Penang,we sent MCA,Gerakan and MIC all back home.These mosquito parties are totally incapacitated now.
written by Cinakelate, January 08, 2009 17:49:59
Dear Cina Ganu, many many years ago, I voted for the devil I don't know - PAS. And I never regret I did!
written by carribeanking7, January 08, 2009 17:52:46

Yes you have explained many times including before GE12 when many had concerns about voting PAS, the 308 tsunami proved to a certain extent that this myth was debunked among many non-Muslims seeing that PAS more than doubled their seats since 2004.The ones who were not convinced or did not want to listen voted BN,
my theory is these are the same people who are asking the hudud question because they were not listening in the first place, so it is good because they are probably former BN supporters who are mulling whether to vote PAS.

In the runup to GE 12, I talked to many Indian friends in Khalid Samads constituency of Shah Alam-till my throat was hoarse on various angles of this very same issue, because of their irrational fears some were just hearing without really listening, because they made up their minds to vote BN, and recently when the hudud issue came up again I find myself repeating to the same individuals what I had told them months ago.

I think it is worth repeating again, on the likely chance if it will change the minds of former BN supporters.
written by wartank, January 08, 2009 17:53:42
Hudud again?! I thought this is already a 'no issue' in KT.

At least, the other races living here for the past 4 generations are not considered 'pendatang's and threatened with bodily harm by the PAS administration.
They are actually most hospitable and peaceful, as opposed to the pictures the BN had been painting of them thus long to put fear into the hearts of the other races.
Thanks to cyberworld and RPK this had come to pass.

And..Yes, it's pitiful to see the state of the locals in the 2nd riches state in Malaysia. All this after 50 years of the Ketuanan Melayu(UMNO)crap.

Kesimpulan: Pangkah PAS!
written by salsabarney, January 08, 2009 18:06:19
Dear Chinese in KT
If you decide to vote for UMNO/BN, don't forget these
1. Ahmad Ismail calling you pendatang
2. UMNO Youth organising rallies supporting Ketuanan Melayu Tidak Boleh Dicabar
3. Student Mob at UITM
4. Noh Omar , "Kalau Tak Suka Boleh Keluar Dari Malaysia"
5. ..Future PM..Najib Tun Razak.." Bathe the Keris in Chinese blood"

..and MCA/Gerakan lapdogs stood there and do nothing..or rather cannot do anything!!

Think again, we must not condone racism, enough of evil UMNO's bullying and endless rhetorics and race bashing.

Vote PAS..for the better fute for all
Hidup PAS, Hidup PKR, Hidup DAP
Hidup Pakatan Rakyat..
Let 2009 be the year of the change in govt in Malaysia
written by panca, January 08, 2009 18:25:49
I would have to use the correct word to describe what Pete(YM RPK) been repeatedly explaining about PAS implementing the 'Hudud Law', it is really 'painstakingly' having explained too many times.

We note with great appreciation and the Non-Muslims must make every effort to explain this simple math to fellow Non-Muslims about the figure required is somehow unachievable. The Chinese is not poor with arithmetic, thus should not cast further doubt on this 'Hudud' non-issue. As a result of lack of understanding of the requirement figure, the umno/bn will spin ghost stories to haunt your suspicious, mistaken and undetermined mind, this is actually baseless!

Chinese voters, please educate the rest of the voters, do not fall for the umno/bn craps. You are not changing the KT gomen, you Chinese voters are merely sending a representative voice via the opposition, PAS and Pakatan Rakyat.

Pete, really is tiring but I believe you have to repeatedly address this in your ceramah with the Chinese voters. Vote PAS for your voice.

Cheers.
written by AIS, January 08, 2009 18:35:20
As 100% true blue terengganu guy, i feel insulted with the overkill use of poverty among my people. Why can't this election also centre more on healty policy debates and less on emotional crap as shown here? If BN over-used sodomy issue in Permatang Pauh, it doesn't give anybody the right to overuse poverty issue of Terengganu people!
And if BN is creating a chinese-malay segment of KT population, why are you guys doing the same? Non malay terengganu people are the most integrated in budaya tempatan as compared to other states. Terengganu never had any issues in this matter so why both parties desperately try to potray the contrary by segmenting terengganu people!
There are 2 main reasons why we are poor:
1 - We were under the useless Wan Mokhtar for 25 years!!! twenty-five!
2 - We had more guts than other states (except kelantan). When we changed the govt back in 1999 during the reformasi movement, what the f**k were you guys doing then? We paid big time during those 4 years while you guys were sucking honey from BN's dick!

Angry Terengganu guy
written by Rhan, January 08, 2009 18:39:51
The moment PAS bring up Hudud, then it is your duty to explain. If PAS says it ten times, you have a duty explain it a hundred times. If PAS says it a hundred times, you have a duty to explain it one thousand times. If PAS stop mention Hudud, then you can stop explain. This is arithmetic.

So who is the one who repeating the same issue huh?
written by Angela Ooi, January 08, 2009 18:51:50
It's good that you repeat the numbers again and again till fearful Chinese 'get it' cos on the ground we still hear this same old misgivings. The abject poverty among houses in town depicted by the pics are not the worse. others tell us it is far worse as you go further away from town. Regards the BN poster the pantang 'black' background is at the bottom of the flag where the MCA logo. And this heralds the 'Tahun Baru Cina' can only mean curtains for m SI a.
written by magickriver, January 08, 2009 18:55:08
Karpal Singh and Husam Musa can bicker about hudud till the holy cows come home - but I would still invite them to my home for tea and vote for them every time. If any non-Malay voter is worried about all this talk of an "Islamic state" and whatnot, just look at those Umno/BN politicians - vote them in again and they'll turn Malaysia into an "upshitcreek state"!
written by Johnson, January 08, 2009 19:11:08
To Chinese voters

Mind not about the Hudud, mind not about the inexperience of state gov or even federal gov, what you need to decide now is: to continue suffer what you have been in the past 50 years or make a change. I need not to remind what are the issue or how bad or evil BN is, you probably know more than me. What I want to remind you is to give a chance for chance, for a betterment of malaysia. Our country need change, and democracy give us the opportunity for a peaceful way. What our country need is not PAS, DAP, PR or BN... We simply need is a strong opposition where one could replace another if one is less fit to be gov, and we the people decide it. We can Change!

Like RPK said many times, so many times that people might forget, this is the cure for our country. One party has been so strong for so many years, the corruption and everything is rod to the core. We need a change! If you are afraid of Pas because Hudud which the chances are merely more than striking grand prize in TOTO do you afraid of being sucked ass kicking by the party in the past fifty years like a frog in the pot?

Beside what pete pointed zillion times, the fact is PAS can not and will not be able to be a treat in at least few GE to come, you can always vote them out when you feel threaten by the ideal but not now. Now we need a change, with a new gov, then things could get effective. Its going to be too draggy, I wish to stop now. When you cast your vote, think about the future of your children. Do you see hope in the current gov in corruption? Do you feel safe when you walking on the street on day time? Think! you can make a change!
written by Johnson, January 08, 2009 19:29:19
To AIS,

You were right, of cause the elected MP should represent the interest of where he is from. However that did not happen (if you agree with me) in the past 25 years. Back to this, which candidate do you think that could represent your interest vote for him. Thats what everyone should do.

If you wonder why the issue become so big and nationwide, I might be able to give you some clues. Besides all the news or the words you heard from people talking on the street. The fundamental is actually the reason why you have been so angry. The country is sick! The democracy is this country does not work. That is why a MP did not represent your interest. He is in power and always in power, he does not need serve you the people, he only need to serve the masters he is working for. Money Politic. He sucks your money and support his own game, and that has everything to do with conflicting you interest.

Terengganu people got guts, and now only the people in the country catching on. We hope you will always be an exmaple and fight for our own right. Glod bless.
written by ASK4u, January 08, 2009 19:54:52
Just a quick update from CNA, THU 08/01/09. YM RPK you're absolutely right. The Chinese in KT knows. CNA did an exclusive interview with some local KT Chinese folks. I was a bit late from work today but when I tuned in to CNA 7p.m. today, One poor old Chinese lady was saying that during the time PAS was ruling Terengganu, they abolished T.V license and some other fees. Many of this additional fees were reinstated when BeeN came to power. I might have heard it wrong, but was T.V license still in force during the time PAS took over? Care to enlighten me KT folks? The expression in her face shows so much of dissent for BeeN. Another middle age Chinese man openly criticize BeeN saying that he had always voted for BeeN in the past but now his vote is definitely not for BeeN. He said that when they wanted their vote, BeeN will promise this and that and later fail to deliver. Many other Chinese in the vicinity echoed somewhat the same sentiments supporting this guys view.

I think BeeN should just hand it over to PAS without a contest. That way, they can save the embarrassment of losing in their turf. Anyway guys, don't be complacent and keep the momentum going,..k!
written by Rozlan, January 08, 2009 20:12:37

Tq for the pics...I strognly believes KT voter had gotten the messages already.From the responses given PAS will win with 60% votes..Insyaallah smilies/smiley.gif
written by Al Ambia, January 08, 2009 21:17:00
Thanks for providing the photograph showing the scenario at Trengganu.How pathetic.One point to ponder is how come other state in Malaysia which does'nt has oil but yet richer than Trengganu???Every year at this time of the year always banjir,banjir,banjir.Longkang besar pun tadak.Where is all the money???Monsoon cup lagi penting ke?
written by joeawk, January 08, 2009 21:39:22
What has happened to all the oil royalty money? Have a heart. There is no need for any malaysian to live in such rundown environment. Why be so wasteful when we still have people living in such squalor? Where is your Islamic morality? What Monsoon Cup that cost RM300,000,000.00 which can built 10,000 houses of reasonable size and quality fopr the people of Terengganu. UMNO really has no shame. What makes anyone an UMNO member or want to be UMNO member.
written by shissun, January 08, 2009 21:40:19

I think the number is true! What a slap on Najib and the rest of the dogs!
written by stchin, January 08, 2009 22:16:48
I NO takut pada PAS & hudud though saya a babicina & saya BUKAN penumpang = saya berHAK di tanah ini, faham !!
2) i like this NICE- looking PASman = macam MB Perak ku !
3) i'm betting ipohkopiputih on this PASman with 9000vote majority, any taker !?
written by stchin, January 08, 2009 22:21:54
to the 11.6% minority : take & accept whatever is overdue = money, land, house, citizenship, scholarship ...& lagi & lagi !! BUT...BUT...VOTE PAS = PR lah, ok tq !!
written by coolandy, January 08, 2009 22:34:14
Wahai Cina Terengganu.

Belum puas TUMPANG?
Belum panas telinga dengar "kalu dok suka, balik negeri"?
Rasa kenyang doh makang rasuah politik BN RM200-300 Wang Ehsan?
Mu tau duit Royalti tu gi mana?
Apa mu dok tahu MCA, GERAKAN dok kata satu pong tentang tanah Freehold Perak?

Wahai Cina Terengganu,

Celiklah mata dan buka minda. Undilah PAS kali ini. Kalu dok molek, kite undi balik BN lain kali.

Bagilah PAS menang BESAR. Ajor BN sombong sangat.
written by wartank, January 08, 2009 22:55:35
Its very simple, actually.
If the Gov't doesn't perform, we CHANGE them!
If the next Gov't fail us, we change them too. This is Democracy.
They will then compete for the betterment of ALL, not only their fat pockets.. but the current Gov't only treat us like idiotic fools!!
So, you all know what to do!!!
written by zhugeliang, January 08, 2009 23:06:41
Yes, KT voters should consider politicians like diapers, they should be changed often! Don't worry about rocking the boat! The majority of the people in Msia is rocking already so give them the push forward! Be the change you want to see in this world or you will be changed by UMNO! God Bless PAS! Send UMNO to hell!
written by Loh, January 08, 2009 23:11:14
If UMNO does not preserve the poor as seen in Trengganu, how can they justify the continuation of NEP? And obviously NEP is there to facilitate the connected to be rich.
written by Johnson, January 08, 2009 23:37:12
Dear AIS,

I share you view. I absolutely understand what you are saying. I do not come and teach you who to vote. We only provide information, information that you might not get from newspaper, dangerous views that will put one in ISA. You cast the vote on your freewill.

I believe RPK posting those photos are not meant to be insulting. This is to show what the BeN gov has done to your people. All this would not be told in MSM and people should know, people should know what the gov has been doing all these years.
Those people always talk about how NEP is important to help the people, but still the picture is not unique in kampung malaysia. Would MSM report this? People who take MSM as their main source of information does not get to know this at all. This is not only happen in KT, please dont take it personally.

Are these your fault? You have no reason to be shame of as this is a result of gov helping poor. Those people in charge have no sense of shame at all, and why should you?

I do not work for PR and I have no heck of any idea at all to know what they will do for you but I know that if PR doesnt do anything, they will be kicked ass just like the current gov. This is what we call democracy. This is why we call for alternative party system. This did not exist in Malaysia.

p.s Sadly one PR MP might not do as much as they want to due the fed gov is not them. Change will come with new gov.
written by Taiping60, January 08, 2009 23:57:44
I don't know but I do not think the Chinese should be so forgetful of what Ahmad Ismail said and done, and UMNO virtually did not do anything besides charges other who reported it under ISA. This is the first election after this controvesial and it will be dissapointing those moderate malay, Chinese and Indian continue to support those UMNO, MCA and MIC. They should send them a strong message that BN need to reform otherwise they will be history. To do that they need to give Pakatan the biggest majority ever.
written by cahaya, January 08, 2009 23:58:09
RPK, Thanks for keeping us informed. It is so good to hear first-hand news from you. We notice some misreporting and misinformation about KT, especially articles from online media and blogs.

Earlier today, Tian Chua the PKR info chief announced that media had misreported what Anwar said about Israel. PKR information chief Tian Chua denied that opposition leader Datuk Seri Anwar Ibrahim likened Umno to Israel. . . Anwar's words at a ceramah on nomination night had been misreported and were being twisted by Umno leaders. He told reporters that the fiery orator was, instead, referring to the weak and corrupted leadership of certain Arab countries who failed to stand up to their Israeli neighbour. Speaking at a press conference here, Tian Chua also called on media which had reported that Anwar said Umno was like Israel to retract what they had written. . . --“Tian Chua: Anwar did not say Umno is like Israel”, Thurs. 8 Jan. 2008.
http://www.themalaysianinsider...ike-israel

Will the Malaysian Insider reporter retract what she had misreported yesterday in her article? “Anwar says Umno is like Israel” , By Debra Chong, The Malaysian Insider. http://mt.m2day.org/2008/content/view/16685/84/
Alternatively, will the Malaysian Insider editors retract the misleading article that was published? If not, we (MT readers) must be very careful when reading reports from Malaysia Insider about the KT by-election.

To me, the only reliable reports are those coming from the blogging team led by RPK. May God bless RPK, Marina and team with good health and safety.
written by Thundercat Pink, January 09, 2009 01:11:11
Is there a mobile kiosk with internet to show KT folks about the real news? Or maybe they don't need internet to see it. But MSM is sure poison to everyone and should not earn our supports.
written by cheekhiaw, January 09, 2009 01:50:07
ADDING TO THE SIMPLE MATHS

Even if UMNO joins PAS to add up to 148 seats they still have to overcome another statistical problem.

That is having ZERO thieves, liars or murderers amongst them - the kind of people that will balk at the idea themselves.

What is the chance of that statistic being zero?

written by renoir, January 09, 2009 02:04:13
Hi Johnson and all: keep up the good work! The focus on poverty is absolutely correct, as it is class and not race that truly matters. The pictures show clearly what the poor of all races have to endure, at a time when billions of dollars are disappearing - whether via electronic transfer or in the primitive baskets we don't know - in overseas bank vaults. KT citizens must unite against the party that denied the previous PAS government their oil income - money that could've done much for Terengganu, for KT voters and their children.

Vote PAS!!!

written by Johnson, January 09, 2009 07:16:54
AIS and fellow malaysian,

Post March 08 Malaysia is different. Hope been in many people around the country. We did not have the guts that Terenganu people have, but now we have. We were proud of you, and we will proud of ourself.

You got a very good point, which is changing the state is not changing much, but changing the gov changes everything. That is why we need to work together. Everyone, every vote.

I totally agree with you, racial issue should not be stir-fried like keropok. I will share my thought with you on this but not now.

I do not know if this is just an rumours or it is true, and I would like to share this with you. In Selangor state, state gov has not been given the power to do their job. they faces trouble with working with the gov servant. That created a lot of news if you have noticed.

Remember the Bandar Mahkota's blocking stones? It takes few MPs, hundreds of people and bloods to unblock it. Question asked, why the state man cant just give order and get the stones moved since its their state? Answer could be a sad joke, a very sad one.

I suggest you raise your question to the candidate and see what he will answer you. I would like to know too.

Good thing would not come easy, make a change and we stand a chance. Otherwise we can continue our life and one day we ask ourself again, why this country so screwed!!
written by evaangel, January 09, 2009 08:28:17
I visited Kuala Trengganu for the first time last year. An uncle of mine who has lived there for 30 years at least related to me the following problems:
1) No work without 'kulit kualifications'
2) Subcontracting - where someone who knows someone gets the contract despite not knowing how to do the job. This gets subcontracted down the line with commissions syphoned off the initial price of the contact. In the end you get a substandard job done with only a small portion of the contract price used for the actual work. And almost to support his argument, the new roof of a local school fell down.
3) Chinese not allowed to own land in certain parts of Trengganu.
4) Millions of dollars pumped into the pusat tamadun islam with lavish mosques while the average malay person lived in poverty. I could only drive around the periphery as a tourist - so where is the revenue for such a place? Also controversy surrounding the crystal mosque meant that some locals did not want to use that building as a place of worship.
I am repeating this as a 3rd person - I do not know if this is really true.
What I saw with my own eyes was an oil producing state with lavish resorts and a marina - mostly devoid of local people. I saw a capital of an oil producing state looking like the outskirts of Penang where poor kampung people live.
If I lived in Trengganu - I know where my vote would go.
written by hellosunshine, January 09, 2009 09:25:00
Karpal hits out at Anwar over statement on hudud law
http://thestar.com.my/news/sto...ec=nation

RPK, great calculations on the Muslim parliamentary seat numbers. Now we have a 3rd Muslim factor to add in from PKR. What now?
smilies/wink.gif
written by hellosunshine, January 09, 2009 09:28:47
Sorry. Here's the Star article link again.

http://thestar.com.my/news/story.asp?file=/2009/1/9/nation/2980311&sec=nation
written by teo siew chin, January 09, 2009 10:23:48
Take the chance people and vote for change.
yes, you wonder whether you will be making the right choice if you do vote for change, but you sure the heck know what the WRONG choice is now!
written by evaangel, January 09, 2009 11:34:42
I'm sorry I offended you AIS. I was merely repeating what my uncle told me. You see he moved to Kuala Trengganu to work as a school teacher more than 30 years ago and bought his patch of land then. Now he says, if he wants to sell it, he is only allowed to sell it to a bumiputera. I'm sorry if you perceive that as inciting racial hatred... it is merely an anecdote about one man's experience in KT.
I calls it as I sees it - it was my first visit to KT and it was a culture shock for me. No one is making a judgement on the trengganu people being dirt poor. But based on your own statement on malay people living by the road from KT to marang who have lived there for 40-60 years.... how come they still don't own the own land? If no money to buy, then how come they couldn't be helped out by the oil revenue? If the land is off limits to them then what about the bumiputera quota on land ownership? Who owns this land? If you are not asking questions then perhaps you should start before bashing reasonable thinking MT readers for having a civilised discussion.
p.s: Just out of interest, how many of the Trengganu populace have access to internet anyway?
written by ahmadneil, January 09, 2009 12:15:13
Guys,AIS is one of those arrogant umno lapdog.He is just trying to bla bla his way out.Read carefully what he say.It's all nothing but bullshit.How can he represent KT people.He is just lying to his teeth.I don't believe a word he bark. It's absolutely crap!He only wants to corner us!Who is he to tell us this and that!Get lost,ask ho!
written by renoir, January 09, 2009 12:51:57
Ahmadneil, good observation. One could smell a cybertrooper through what they say. We know that the non-Malays all over the country have difficulty owning the land they've lived or tilled for generations. This problem was related to me not only by some elderly Jinjang people several years ago (they went to the US to attend graduation ceremonies in Minnesota) - which I relayed to DAP rep Tan Seng Giaw - but also from folks in northern Terengganu (I taught there for a short time in the early 70s). That some Malays were similarly discriminated is no surprise - UMNO has all along treated those who're outside their party like beggars. PAS Malays especially found difficulty not only in getting land titles, but also small business loans, etc. That's why EVERY Malaysian, irrespective of ethnicity, MUST vote out UMNO.

Vote PAS!

written by ahmadneil, January 09, 2009 13:25:33
Ya,LChuah,
When you read carefully what he writes,you can say that he is one of them.But that is not important.Anyone can come in and write what he think is bullshit or not but this guy,AIS,is just trying to belittle us.He thought that he can just write some crap and all of us in MT will be on his side.You know what,he only want us to see his 'lan see' writing.
nice to hear from you,it's great,cheers, LChuah and a happy new year to all. smilies/smiley.gif smilies/smiley.gif smilies/smiley.gif
written by Rainbowseahorse, January 09, 2009 14:49:11
My bro Pete,

Just thinking out loud!

How about holding a mini “exhibition” in KT showcasing these lavish houses (complete with name of owners, of coursesmilies/grin.gif) of the various designs “available” to the good people of MT, and maybe even elsewhere in Malaysia? Include traditional houses too, such as those inhabited by PAS members.

Show be an eye opener to many Malaysians that PAS do practice what they teach..i.e.. a simple life style minus all the unnecessary extravagances and luxuries practiced by UMNO.

Cheers!
written by Johnson, January 09, 2009 17:22:46

Thanks for pointing out. Stop me from wasting time on this repeated issue. If there are KT people reading this blog maybe you can surface and clarify what your life is in KT. A lot of us did not get the chance to know. Pete is doing the work for you, maybe you can have your own?

Thanks to LChuah, Ahmadneil and all.
written by zhugeliang, January 10, 2009 10:39:38
I was watching TV3 session with Karam Singh the other day. He was highlighting how a group of villagers in Sabah went to build their own mini-dam without a single help of Sabah govt. He reported that it need a lot of money to channel water and electric to the villagers.

So my questions: Isn't the water and electric is the basic necessity and part of human rights? Sabah govt does not have money? Come on! And those MB has money to build lavish houses!

You vote BN and this is what you get. They ask you voters to be independent! For God sake! Can't even provide basic electric supply and water supply to a group of villagers! They are not even asking for direct money.

BN: Duit saya mau! Kerja saya tak mau! You sendiri buat!
written by ahmadneil, January 10, 2009 12:40:42
AIS, come on grow up! Don't just come into MT and try to be a hero!Write some thing readable.How many time do we see AIS comments!RPK is just trying to show part of the poor hardcore people of KT.How I wish they can live in big mansions like those umno crooks!
written by Loh, January 11, 2009 23:30:56
/// Hudud offenses include: [2]

Drinking alcohol (sharb al-khamr, شرب الخمر)
Theft (sariqa, السرقة)
Highway robbery (qat' al-tariq, قطع الطريق)
Illegal sexual intercourse (zina', الزناء)
False accusation of zina' (qadhf, القذف) [1][3]
Rebellion against the ruler (sedition or high treason)
Apostasy (irtidād or ridda, ارتداد) includes blasphemy///--Wikipedia

The Chinese drink alcohol without restriction, unless they are Muslims. They do not want to be punished by Hudud for drinking. Also as non-Muslims, they should not be liable for Apostasy and blasphemy. Thus, Dzul of PAS was correct to declare that Hudud laws are only applicable to Muslims.

As for the other offences, would Muslims in the country be willing to be subject to Hudud? The SIL of AAB supports Hudud. Does it mean that he was willing to have Hudud punishment meted out to him, where applicable, even if Hudud is not officially applicable to other Malaysians?

As for the other offences