Home arrow The Blogs arrow News/Commentaries arrow Wong: Contracts Contrary To Privatisation Spirit

Wong: Contracts Contrary To Privatisation Spirit PDF Print E-mail
Thursday, 08 January 2009 09:13

By KOK SU CHIN, Sin Chew Daily

MCA Youth Legal Affairs & Parliamentary Legislation Research Bureau Chairman Wong Nai Chee said the various highway privatisation contracts signed by the government since late 1980s had been contrary to the privatisation spirit.

He said those in the prime minister's department economic planning unit responsible for negotiations on the contracts back then had the obligation to explain to the public.

He said the concept of privatisation mooted by former British prime minister Mrs Margaret Thatcher in late 1970s was meant to help the private sector raise funds, absorb losses and loan risks while cutting back on red tapes and corporatising engineering projects, thus providing high quality services to the public by imposing reasonable charges.

"The private sector would then hand over the completed projects to the government several years later, allowing the government to harness public funds to maintain the infrastructure. And this is the spirit of privatisation."

Wong said during an exclusive interview with Sin Chew Daily that the legal affairs bureau discovered after conducting initial inspection on the five highway contracts Tuesday that:

1. The government was to bear the risks of highway concessionaires' loans. In the case of LDP, the highway concessionaire applied for the loans but the government had to bear the risks.

2. To some extent, the government was to ensure that highway concessionaires were making profits. The government had to compensate the highway concessionaires if they were not allowed to increase toll rates.

He said the two points above had clearly shown that our highway contracts had gone against the original spirit of privatisation, i.e. the private sector did not have to bear the risks of loans, but the government.

He added that if the highway concessionaires were cash-rich, experienced, capable and financially sound, they did not even need the government to bear the risks or make profit assurances.

"In general, the five highway contracts we have seen do not have the basic characteristics of privatisation. The contracts have very powerful elements of government-sponsored companies assured of profits by the government."

He said if the highway concessionaires had made losses, there would only be one reason to explain it--poor management and misjudgement of vehicular volume.

"It is not hard to see that in many areas, highways have been designed in such a way that local residents are forced to use the tolled highways. Therefore, more and more people will be using highways. Under such circumstances, highway projects should be profitable."

On the signing of the highway contracts, Wong said representatives from the prime minister's department economic planning unit conducted the "bargains" and negotiated the conditions and details with highway concessionaires. Now that the highway contracts have been declassified, those involved in the negotiations should stand out and explain to the public.

"We want to know under what conditions, and under what spirit did we sign such contracts. We need some clear explanations. Of course we also know that some of the people involved in the negotiations back then are now retired, but where political duty is concerned, they should still explain to the public.

He nevertheless refused to speculate whether the contracts had incorporated elements of cronyism, but said understandably there would be all kinds of guesses after the contracts have been made public.

"In legal perspectives, if someone thinks he has the evidence, he has the right to report to the Malaysian Anti-corruption Commission (MACC) so that investigations could be initiated." (Translated by DOMINIC LOH)

written by ibabonma, January 08, 2009 09:22:55
The highway concessionaires must make to the rim, so as to fund the UMNO robbers to rule this country.
written by DreamLady, January 08, 2009 09:31:54
MCA, Wong Nai chee, hats off to you!! By exposing the irregularities, you are indirectly exposed to the likelihood of expulsion from your party. I can see that you have guts and you are prepared for any consequence for telling the truth!!

In case you are fed up with your bosses, you know the doors are open to you, and join DAP under the coalition of Pakatan rakyat!!
written by ahmadneil, January 08, 2009 09:33:51
Ask that Racist Mahathir!He is the man behind all this.This absolutely daylight robbery.How can the gov't be make to ensure those highway concessionaire make profit at the expense of the rakyat!This must be answer by Racist mahathir!
written by Motherchell, January 08, 2009 09:37:12
Mr Wong -- do you realize with all the coalition spirit of the so trumpeting by UMNO members , they take the coalition partners for a good horse and pony ride ?
In any country a Coalition means complete consensus with all the Peoples reps.

If UMNO can do this to a Coalition Party , imagine what they will tell the ordinary citizen as they rob from under our feet? Such clear cut cronyism in the powers that be ! Contract or no contract --- the disconcerting questions of political governance has opened the Pandora's Box in our Govt., to show us the rot inside.
http://sjsandteam.wordpress.com/
written by Garend, January 08, 2009 09:41:58
these are all talks and no action. only come out to talk after DAP toils so hard to make the contract public. when they are toiling last time. why didn't you come out and assist them? Look at your statement. it always emphasize that the government only need to give explaination and keep stuff legal after the the contract is made public. does that mean anything that is kept classified do not need to go according to legal and explained to the ppl?
written by Birdbrain, January 08, 2009 10:22:14
This is Umno's "Get rich quick scheme"! They never need to work hard for their money.

Ketuanan Umno ma! Mahathirism which is worse than communism and like DSAI said, Umno is like Israel!

Cuckoo!
written by fireduck, January 08, 2009 10:41:13
ahmadneil, not only Mahathir. Remember too, the then Works Minister, semivalue. Remember how he threw the OSA to our face when we protested and demand to know more about the LDP toll agreement? And he had been in that position for only God remembers how long. What did he do to help ease our burden then? Zilch, nada, zippo! Semivalue has to take the majority of the blame for such lopsided deals.

And we are not even talking about all those contracts awarded that resulted in 3rd class slipshod workmanship, eg. MRR2, the water leakages in the govt buildings, the molds in a yet-to-be-occupied govt hospital, etc. In any other country such poor record as a Minister, he would have his azz fried long long time ago. Instead, he still has no shame and still trying to get back into the Govt.
written by asguard, January 08, 2009 10:45:06
Dr M and semi no more value are in same boat when comes to dealing toll issues!
written by PRman, January 08, 2009 10:58:58
Ask MR Half Value, and Dr M.....
written by Racheljansz, January 08, 2009 11:42:52
The way Wong Nai Chee talks is like MCA is NOT part of the Barang Naik Gomen that signed the Highway CON-tracts! No more talkin, explaining and spinning! Just return RM63.5 billion that the the private companies have over the years amassed revenue, including compensation worth RM38 billion, by holding concessions over the ro***!
written by xgovtservant, January 08, 2009 11:50:49
With all the unfair contracts given out by the BN Government and the Government committed by these contacts, it is time to pass a law that all contracts for connessions given for a period exceeding the tenor of the the present Government (ie 5 years) can be reviewed to determine the financial implications to the future government. Any unfair contracts can be terminated in the interest of the citizens of the country. Why should we be bound by any contracts made in bad faith by the corrupted civil servants working with the politicians. It is the tax payers money and he should be the one to determine the contract.
written by ahmadneil, January 08, 2009 11:56:03
This is so dirty and the gov't have their hands in this.
written by Susanna, January 08, 2009 11:59:09
It is not spoken out aloud only but everyone in their heart and mind knows why the contracts are lopsided deals. Not everyone can be taken as fools le. Simply because the decision makers, the ones a party to the deals get untold benefits which only the people who signed those papers know in their hearts and possibly carry the dark secrets to their graves. Isn't anyone bold and courageous enough to spill out the truth? Even if they can get away with signing away the rakyat and nation's rights (and murder most foul as well), they sure cannot get away from God, the almighty! God cannot be mocked!
written by Zapper, January 08, 2009 12:42:43
All tolls le*** to UMNO and goons. So please tell me what is fairness?? All the BN components are at fault for robbing the rakyat. Talk is useless now...what are the component parties going to do..that is what the rakyat want to see. GOT THAT!!
written by DezMalaysia, January 08, 2009 13:16:45
There's a joke on this Wong Nai Chee & Koh Nai Kwong of Malacca, ex-MP & ex-assemblyman. They are Giant killers of DAP's heavyweights, but when they lost their seats in the March 08 GE, almost all Malaccan Chinese folks said, "Ma Liu Jia Liang Li Nai Ge Diao Liao !" means, Dua biji TETEK Melaka sudah kena potong !

The reason? They both have the name "Nai" which means "Tetek" in Chinese! If I am Wong, I might as well quit politics once and forever. MCA is now full of thick-face-shameless & corrupt leaders. PKFZ, Playboy doctor, bribery in Singapore, whatever you can name it! A sorry party! Better disband the MCA dog party!
written by cruzeiro, January 08, 2009 13:30:49
MCA Youth Legal Affairs & Parliamentary Legislation Research Bureau Chairman Wong Nai Chee said the various highway privatisation contracts signed by the government since late 1980s had been contrary to the privatisation spirit.
============================

Porah!
You running dogs were the ones who supported this contract under Ling Liong Sick (which was apparently in line which the BN "social contract"), and the Jailing of LKS & KS who objected like real patriots - all for the sake of a few towkays who stood to gain!

Now you shout out for political mileage ....
You guys are truly sick!
written by Xerxes, January 08, 2009 13:47:06
It is an open secret that all these "privatisation" are a front for money making scams for the well connected.

Wong said.."... Now that the highway contracts have been declassified, those involved in the negotiations should stand out and explain to the public...."

I think he should stop beating around the bush and come right out and call a spade a spade. The EPU officials are minions and pawns in this game. Their political masters made the decisions and instructed them to act accordingly. What is needed is for those in the Cabinet at that time (and many of them are still in the Cabinet today) to explain their decisions. The present PM, DPM and some of the senior ministers were party to this decision making and should explain their role in this matter. And of course, we have that party "rebranding" expert who is still running around loose and who was at the center of this fiasco.

By any yardstick it is a ridiculous arrangement. The Govt. guarantees the risk and the profits. What privatisation nonsense is this? The concessionaire has no financial or profit risk and any clown could make money on such projects. That is bad enough. To make matters worse, after they have recouped their no-risk investments they are allowed by the Govt. to continue to make obscene profits from toll increases. In short, the rakyat, through their taxes, shouldered the financial burden and the financial risk for the highway construction and after that, to rub salt into injury, is still being fleeced by mandatory toll increases. Only in BOLEHLAND can such citizen rapes happen.
written by aiyomanaboleh, January 08, 2009 13:48:23
Should a new federal government from PR be formed today, they will find to their dismay that there is really not much to govern as a lot these governing have been taken over by private companies.
written by Caesar, January 08, 2009 18:26:10
Mr MCA Wong,
As a 'leader' in your sinking party, why doesn't your leadership abandon BN (aka UMNO) for PR..and ensure that what you are complaining about never happens again OR are your remarks just token to curry some support for your dying party.

Also, why only now that your 'research' has found this out? Where were you during the Mahathir era when the highway privatisations were done? Only the DAP dared to speak out then!

Most importantly, is your Research Dept telling you that MCA's survival is very critical now?
written by Path Fighter To truth, January 08, 2009 19:14:57
Where in the world have such business, where the government have to gurantee a privatise company made profit and to subsidise that amount if no profit is made.

How come the govt. allowed them to raised the toll since they made 1.6 billions in a year.
written by merchant222, January 08, 2009 21:38:31
In Thatcher's concept of privatisation, it was meant to be for the private sector for the good of the public.

In Mamaaak's concept, it became "piratisation" for his private benefit and that of his goons and idiots. Colonization in the British era was also copied by the Mamaaak, but in his version; he colonized the rakyat itself. Divide and Rule! Put fear in the Malays with his lies! Dogtor M was the worts PM Malaysia ever had, other than Razak, Father of May 13.

If we have such leaders with such ill agendas, we need not have any hope for a ONE Malaysia.
written by merchant222, January 08, 2009 22:02:24
Wah!, now the "CHOW-KOW"(RUNNING DOGS) can talk so loud ah? Fantabulous man, overnight turn into Angel??? Ha!ha!ha!...unbelievable. Tomorrow if BN wins KT, the CHOW-KOW cronies will steal the public burial grounds in KT and PIRATISE it to their private companies.