Home arrow The Blogs arrow Letters/Surat arrow CCM Youth Press Release dd Jan 7, 2009: Bantahan Larangan KDN

CCM Youth Press Release dd Jan 7, 2009: Bantahan Larangan KDN PDF Print
Wednesday, 07 January 2009 19:36
COUNCIL OF CHURCHES OF MALAYSIA YOUTH

* Siaran Media Eksklusif *

** PEMUDA MAJLIS GEREJA MALAYSIA MEMBANTAH LARANGAN KE ATAS GEREJA KATOLIK MENGGUNAKAN BAHASA MALAYSIA  DALAM PENERBITAN MINGGUAN THE HERALD -THE CATHOLIC WEEKLY **

*JANUARI 7, 2009* 

Pemuda Majlis Gereja Malaysia (Pemuda CCM / CCM Youth) merasa kesal dan bimbang atas larangan Kementerian Dalam Negeri (KDN) terhadap gereja Katolik menerbitkan edisi bahasa Malaysia akhbar The Herald-The Catholic Weekly.

Pemuda CCM juga berpendapat bahawa larangan edisi Bahasa Malaysia ini tidak munasabah, malah tidak adil saksama. Bukankah gereja kita diterima sebagai sebahagian masyarakat majmuk negara tercinta kita? Negara Malaysia sangat bangga dengan masyarakat majmuknya di mana rakyat berbilang bangsa, kaum dan agama hidup bebas, aman dan damai. Oleh itu, ia sangat menghairankan kenapa segolongan rakyatnya sekarang tidak dibenarkan menggunakan Bahasa Malaysia, biarpun untuk terbitan the Herald yang terhad untuk penganut Kristian dan istilah Allah telah digunakan oleh penganut Kristian di Malaysia sejak generasi-generasi yang lalu.

Di samping itu, bukankah orang beragama Kristian di negara ini juga warganegara yang berhak dan patut digalak menggunakan bahasa kebangsaannya dalam segala urusan hariannya? Bahasa Malaysia adalah hakmilik bersama. Sering kita mendengar seruan pemimpin-pemimpin negara kita agar rakyat Malaysia berbahasa Malaysia. Oleh sedemikian, Pemuda CCM berasa hairan atas larangan KDN ini. Larangan KDN ini adalah tidak adil dan, malah, merupakan sesuatu penindasan atau diskriminasi terhadap penganut Kristian yang berbahasa (dan berbangsa) Malaysia.

Pemuda Majlis Gereja Malaysia membantah larangan KDN ke atas Gereja Katolik menerbitkan edisi Bahasa Malaysia akhbar The Herald-The Catholic Weekly. Kami  meminta kerajaan Malaysia supaya menghentikan penindasan oleh KDN ini dan membatal larangan tersebut, demi kebebasan rakyat beragama Kristian. Kami juga membuat tuntutan bahawa perkataan Allah yang digunakan antara golongan Kristian di negara-negara Arab, Indonesia, dan juga di Sabah dan Sarawak telah lama digunakan.

SUMBER: PEMUDA MAJLIS GEREJA-GEREJA MALAYSIA (COUNCIL OF CHURCHES OF MALAYSIA (CCM) YOUTH)

(ditandatangan)

Daniel Chai

Setiausaha Pemuda
Pemuda Majlis Gereja-Gereja Malaysia
Mobile| +6012 237 6102
Email| This e-mail address is being protected from spam bots, you need JavaScript enabled to view it

Januari 7, 2009

written by johanssm, January 07, 2009 19:44:57
Let them ban whatever the umno wants to ban.
If Bahasa malaysia cannot be use, may i suggest to use Bahasa Indonesia.
It is nearly the same.
written by bakarsmoke, January 07, 2009 20:00:09
johanssm....good idea, total agree with u
written by DreamLady, January 07, 2009 20:05:58
UMNO regime preaches racial harmony and religious freedom, but they practise differently. If the goons take 80 years to build a church for the people in Malacca, what is new when they choose to curb the usage of Bahasa Malaysia for the herald-catholic weekly!!

My dear Daniel Chai,this is reality in the land of Malaysia you have to accept, UMNO goons will suppress whoever they deem to be a threat to them, your papers and churches are no exception as their target, unless you ask all the church-goers to vote for pakatan rakyat that profess justice, religious rights, and fairness for all the rakyat without spinning!!

Pakatan Rakyat is a PARTY for all races, all religions and for people from all walks of life in Malaysia!!
written by OilMan, January 07, 2009 20:07:07
Why the fear? The Muslim bodies in Malaysia should focus more on strengtheninh the faith nof Muslims instead. So waht if the Catholic publications are in Bahasa or any other language? It only shows the failure of the Muslim bodies in promoting their religion. Do not instill fear, hatred and discrimination towards other religion. Rediculing other religion will not help. Work on promoting Islam as a religion of love and tolerance and the end result would be much more fruitful.
written by thewayicit, January 07, 2009 20:56:58
Hey DreamLady, Your idea is very good. I think Daniel Chai must tell the GOONS that the CATHOLIC church has THIS many millions voters.
written by Badaksumbu, January 07, 2009 21:06:33
That's quite creative, why not write in Bahasa Indonesia, or even Bahasa Sabah-I'm a Muslim but I disagree with the way the authority is handling this issue.
written by sydput, January 07, 2009 21:37:17
one of the reason why i detest religion. it only create contreversy. better follow mao ze dong and ban religion.
written by Zym Zym, January 07, 2009 22:05:20
The Chinese has a saying that sounds like this, " Real gold is not afraid of the fire." I guess in this case, it not a real gold after all. Shall not elaborate further. You know what I mean.

written by stevly, January 07, 2009 22:24:52
the dragonheart... u wonder why they insist? try to think why they insist.... do u know how long the word allah has been used by the christians in malaysia and indonesia? it has been used since before the law prohibiting the usage of allah by the christians is made. it has been used since before merdeka.. so why now? allah is everything for the muslim?? i say ...allah is everything for me too.. so shouldn't i insist?
written by Pangkis Pangazou, January 07, 2009 22:42:00
The Light is not afraid of the darkness. The darkness is terrified of the light. All the darkness in the world cannot put out the light of a single burning candle. The Truth shall prevail.

"When i find myself in times of trouble, Mother Mary comes, speaking words of wisdom...LET IT BE... LET IT BE...
written by Wisdom above, January 07, 2009 23:09:29
Let's Fast and Pray for Wisdom, Revelation, Peace and Tranquility to prevail.
written by MasterYoda, January 08, 2009 00:07:22
Dear Herald people,

Stop making an issue... use the name Elohim, Jehovah and Yahweh, the way it originally was, when Yeshua Messiah preached...and even before.

If Muslim Arabs teach their converts to use the name of Allah in what ever langauge, then we Christians should teach all our converts to call on the name of Elohim, Jehovah, Yahweh and Yeshua Messiah as they orignally are.

I am a born again bible believing Christian, i am against any man, instituion and publication that tries to call my LORD by any other name... and ofcourse make a political issue in the process.

We can clearly see why the government is making an issue of it, but i can also see why the publication is making a issue of it...

Allah was never the name of our LORD. Allah mean 'The God'... Mohammad made it a distinction between all the other lesser god of his arab tribes. 'The God' aka Allah was Mohammad's own revelation / interpertation of God.it was a super combo/ hybrid of characteristic taken from many little allahs... So Mohammed's version of Allah is Not ours! Not Our LORD. Because our Lord died for us. Mohammad's Allah didn't die for him or for anyone. Infact Allah commanded its followers to die for it.

So there is your distiction.
written by stevly, January 08, 2009 01:00:22
masteryoda,

allah is not the name of god... allah in arabic, bahasa indonesia and bahasa malaysia means god. elohim, yahweh or jehovah are god's names. mohammad did not create the word allah.. the word allah has existed long before mohammad was born.. and the word was use by the christians, the jews and even the pagans. allah simply means god. you can refer to any arabic-english dict. it does not belong to islam or anybody. it belongs to the language.

there are times in writings when we need to use the word god instead of his names... so in bahasa malaysia.. whenever we are refering to god in the writings or speeches... we say allah bapa, allah, tuhan allah or tuhan.. we dont say jehovah or elohim.. although in certain case we do. depending on how the sentence is written .. the same thing in english. we dont refer president bush as "mr bush" all the time.. sometimes we use "the president" or "he".

you are right, of course allah was never the name of our god. because allah means god. may be you're using the english bible instead of the indonesian bible, so the word allah has never been an issue for u.
written by wongnoball, January 08, 2009 03:24:15
Some of you still don't get it. We are at a point of no compromise when it comes to Freedom of Religion. To you it is acceptable to substitude Allah with anything like Tuhan Yahweh...etc. That was my perception many years ago until I realised this has been the convention used many centuries ago way before UMNO or Malaysia EXISTED.

This is the Dhimi status UMNO and the Islamic Goons wants us to be subjected to their rules and laws and regulation. Its like a fun thing to play this in the name of their God. If you have not realised THE MUNAFIK-ness of Syriah, Jais, Jakim, UMNO for 51 years, then you have been brain washed and this is the best for Malaysia. i.e the current status quo.

there are also more than 50% of Malaysia who are saying to Hell with your UMNO-RACIST Bigots Rules, we will fight to the bitter end. This is Malaysia and we will continue to main it as Secular state. There are other options available in life but to compromise Freedom of Religion is NOT one of them!
written by borneoman, January 08, 2009 04:44:54

written by The dragonheart,
I wonder why they Insist to Use "Allah" in the Malay version news letter. Why make things so difficult. Allah is a everything for the Muslim so why quarrel. Go find another alternative name for God in Bahasa melayu or sanskrit like Tuhan, Yang, Saga, Dewa,etc

please dont tell us what we can or cant use because you are not our GOD!your god is so much younger than ours so just keep your mouth shut.you are the perfect mirror image of tuan melayu umno.what would have happened if the early arab christian banned your prophets and tuan melayu umno fromusing the word "allah"?BTW...who say "allah" is an original tuan melayu umno word?
written by borneoman, January 08, 2009 04:56:34
written by MasterYoda,
Allah was never the name of our LORD. Allah mean 'The God'... Mohammad made it a distinction between all the other lesser god of his arab tribes.

are you telling the whole world that you dont agree to the early Arab christian who use "allah" as reference for our GOD?or are you thinking that as a born again christian you can simply say that we dont have the right to use words that our early Arab christian use?what about if the English people banned us from using the word GOD? common man ,language is universal and every human being has the right to choose what ever language they want to use or speak.If you find it impossible to agree with me i suggest you use Latin in your prayer.
written by borneoman, January 08, 2009 05:05:57
ritten by The dragonheart, January 07, 2009 21:49:33
Malaysia is a funny country...

Places where people were asked to give priority to use Bahasa Malaysia, they refuse to implement it. they give 1001 reasons. But in areas they were asked to use their mother tougue they insist to write in Bahasa Malaysia.

why do you think thousands of news papers are written in thousands different languages?even in malaysia we have quite a number...so you think only papers written in bahasa tuan melayu umno is the legal paper? turuoi sama mu,purak sama mu,butuh apai nuan...is this ok with you?
written by ylcc, January 08, 2009 17:23:01
Hi borneoman, I find it tiring to explain repeatedly that language is only a form of communication and not a threat. Languages are created by God, not men.

You won't mind me taking a break, and stand quietly behind you and others instead? Actually, what did you mean by your last sentence? Never mind explaining, whatever, I shall still support you.
written by borneoman, January 08, 2009 17:52:03
tq for the support.ya i see what you mean.i owe you one.my last sentence?i will explain it to you when we meet one of these days.hopefully.cheers.i presume you are a chinese and if i m right i would like to wish you,ur family and friends a very happy new year and gong xi fa cai.
written by ylcc, January 08, 2009 18:10:47
Thank you for the friendship. It never ceases to touch me whenever I make a friend on "MT".

Appreciate the good wishes for CNY. Yes, I am a Chinese, but my sister-in-law is a Kadazan Christian from Sabah. She celebrates CNY with us, and actually enjoys it becos she gets "rich" with ang pows during the festive season! I too wish you and your loved ones gong xi fa cai for the Year of the OX! May you and your family be blessed with happiness, love, health, and wisdom. Catch you on other blogs.

written by SiHangChai, January 08, 2009 20:16:04
Mengapa berjemaahan Quran dalam Bahasa Inggeris, Cina dan Tamil dibenarkan sementara berjemaahan agama Kristian, Buddha dan Hindu dalam bahasa malaysia dilarang sama sekali. Ini menunjukkan KDN serta orang yang buat keputusaan atau mereka yang bantah masih lembap pemikiran dan seperti katak dalam temburung. Negara-negara seperti China, Amerika, Singapura, Rusia, Thailand semua membenarkan penggunaan bahasa nasional mereka kerana hak kebebasan beragama adalah pilihan seseorang. Kalau mereka ini melakukan sesuatu kesalahan disisi agama, pihak agama boleh ambil tindakan dengan syarat berpandu kepada undang-undang agama dalam perlembagaan dan bukan undang-undang buatan sendiri. Larangan KDN menunjukkan negara kita masih tak matang dari segi kebebasan agama.
written by stevly, January 09, 2009 19:15:16
masteryoda

the point now is ..why must the word allah can only be used by the muslims to refer to god?

i have stated earlier... before islam or even before christian existed.. the word has been used by the arabic pagans to refer to god.. then the arab christians used it.. then followed by the arab muslims....

so why suddenly... the word becomes exclusive for the muslim in malaysia? it is not an issue in indonesia which has the most muslims. why here in malaysia? even tok guru nik aziz disagreed..

who get confused by the word? what should be done when people get confused? shouldn't we explain? people get confused because they have been assuming that the word is originally created by muslims.. so the muslims owned it. why should they confuse? they are prohibited to read the book anyway..

why dont we tell them the word doesn't belong to the muslims alone and it was not created by them? you and i know it is a fact.. unless u cant accept it..

since i was small i have been refering god as allah, allah bapa or tuhan allah.. i never use elohim...now i have to change it just because one group of people scared that the word will confuse others..
written by ylcc, January 10, 2009 17:52:26
Someone who professes to be a christian should not insult others ref "if not go play with your blowpipes".