Home arrow The Blogs arrow News/Commentaries arrow 'Stop lopsided toll agreements'

'Stop lopsided toll agreements' PDF Print
Wednesday, 07 January 2009 13:56

(NST) The government should not use traffic volume and bank loan guarantees if it decides to privatise the management of the second Penang Bridge.

Chief Minister Lim Guan Eng said the guarantees should not be incorporated into an agreement with any concessionaire.

Commenting on the agreement for the existing bridge with Mekar Idaman Sdn Bhd, he said it was a lopsided agreement, which benefited the company.

According to the agreement, Mekar Idaman can increase the toll rate by two per cent annually after five years of the deal being signed.

If the government refuses to approve an increment in toll rates, it has to compensate Mekar Idaman for the loss based on estimated traffic flow on the bridge.
"This is why there should be no profit guarantees in future concessionaire agreements.

"The government should be the authority setting the toll rates and they (the rates) must be fair," he said after revealing parts of the Mekar Idaman concessionaire agreement, which was made public for the first time on Monday.

The agreement, signed in September 1993, ends in May 2018.

Lim also urged the government to consider buying over highways such as the North-South Expressway and the first Penang Bridge from the present concessionaires.

"What is the logic of only one company benefiting compared with 27 million Malaysians at large?

"It is better for the government to earn the profits."

written by Rainbowseahorse, January 07, 2009 14:11:38
Of course all government contracts are lopsided, honorable LGE! How else can UMNO cronies make money? Even to this day, AP is still controlled by UMNO Fat Lady & her cronies. That’s how that Fat Lady got so fat in the first place. Should recommend that she take up some sports like badminton, for example! Not only good for her, but potentially for all Malaysians!

Keep up the excellent work Mr Lim.
written by ahmadneil, January 07, 2009 14:15:59
LGE,This is purposely done to benefit umno cronies.Can't you see how mahathir got that RM 8 billion.
written by ahmadneil, January 07, 2009 14:36:11
When the bloody Ali Baba makes a agreement,all the forty thieves benefited from this agreement.Ask Racist mahathir,he knows best!
written by ahmadneil, January 07, 2009 14:40:00
See the Singapore water agreement!We have no say about the increase in the water price.What a stupid askhole agreement! where are all the brains,if they have one!
written by mikefonz, January 07, 2009 14:48:23
Actually the Gomens still make the money by PROXY.
Why do you think it's lopsided.
written by wongnoball, January 07, 2009 14:48:30
So DAP still want to do the Principle thing of waiting for next Election rather than take power based on a few Katak jumping?

Do you think Malaysia have a lot of time to waste before we descend to become another Zimbabwe? UMNO is like Mugabe Terrorist Rob the people, print money and continue to stay in power. The longer malaysian Don't take power by FORCE ala Thailand the quicker we allow UMNO to strengthen their power base. I sure hate to run a Zimbabwe Malaysia when every good stuff have been DECIMATED! Only Stupid Pakatan wants to run a Bankrupt Malaysia! Stuff the ideology of must have more Malay MP than other race to Rule Malaysia. Whose sick racist idea was that? We are either Malaysia or Dogs of various species! I tak terima non muslim cannot be PM or DPM or be Head of Arm Forces or Police. I tak terima Racism, ISA, and no Freedom of Religion. The quicker we Obliterate UMNO, the better it will be for Malaysia!
written by ahmadneil, January 07, 2009 15:00:35
Breaking News..

In Sarawak,Kuching,as PKR will be holding a dinner at..

time: 6:30 pm
date:09-01-2009
place:lot 2500,block 10, jalan stampin, 93350,kuching. (headquarters of the association of churches in sarawak)
Latest news from sources confirm that some unseen hands have prevented this dinner from been held at this place.Instructions are also been given to prevent food and drinks from been purchase by these people who are preparing this dinner.So you see what the state gov't are up to.Every effort is been make to stop this dinner.Now,the organiser are busily searching for a new venue to hold this dinner.What a shame!Will let all PKR and PR supporters know on the 8th,Jan,where it will be held.This is truly police state!
written by Taikohtai, January 07, 2009 15:16:00
Is it just me noticing the eerie silence by TDM on all these disclosures by PR? Wahlau! How selective of him to hatam AAB, etc but Chedet is MUM on the exposures. Yes, you bet your bottom dollars that more will be revealed each coming day TDM!
Hope you live long enough to see your sworn enemy DSAI inaugurated as the next PM.
written by savemalaysia, January 07, 2009 16:23:42
The rationale of lopsided agreement with concessionaire is not because the Govt is stupid or doesn't know how to negotiate. It is deliberately signed with lopsided terms because most of these concessionaires are owned by UMNO's big wigs via their proxies. The more one-sided the agreements, the more these UMNOputras will earn for their political masters. So don't ever expect the Govt to revise the terms of the agreement or buy over the concessionaires because privatised tolls are money spinning machine for the UMNO's big shots.
written by IbnAbdHalim, January 07, 2009 17:38:02
"What is the logic of only one company benefiting compared with 27 million Malaysians at large?
"It is better for the government to earn the profits."

The logic is, if the government gets the profit the ministers lose and if the company gains the ministers gain.Road-tax turun menteri tak rugi, kerajaan hilang pendapatan. Insuran naik rakyat hilang pendapatan, menteri banyaaaaak untung. "Kita ada syer laaa!"
written by cheekhiaw, January 07, 2009 18:23:27
LGE,

Those contractual terms are meant to guarantee that those thieves continue to get fed long after they are thrown out. The privatisation of IJN is just the latest example. The solution is not to buy back those assets - that will cost the state more money. The solution is to prove that those assets were sold off improperly and illegally, and just cancel and re-nationalise them. Proving their thieving antics should be easy.
written by Sudahlah tu, January 07, 2009 20:51:17
umno ......
semestinya umno sahaja yang berani melakukan kezaliman sebegini terhadap rakyat Malaysia.
written by lynn, January 07, 2009 22:42:13
savemalaysia,

All these lopsided agreements: the parties involved have committed serious offences of criminal nature, they have abused their authority. It is deliberate & intended to siphon money out by proxy. Say, if a govt dept signed on a requisition form approving the purchase price of 1 set of screwdrivers at RM5000, while the same set is sold at Tesco for a mere RM12.00,isn't that outright cheating? I remembered reading in Bodohland MSM a long time ago, cheating was & still is a criminal offence.
written by lynn, January 07, 2009 22:48:17
It is very daring & bold of Dr M to allow all these lopsided agreements to go through. It is criminal in nature. Surely he shld know that. But went ahead he did. He must be very self-assured to as the Judiciary is under control.

Maybe he thought Malaysians are generally not as smart as him, they would fail to notice they have been ripped off year after year. Maybe because after each GE, the bodohland voters keep giving BN power to continue to cheat, steal, lie and fcuk us all to hell. Am sure millions of BN voters and supporters are suffering in this recession which has hit us, inspite of the govt's stand that we are insulated from recession. This govt has no respect for us Malaysians. We are treated like bloody fcuking idiots. I hope you BN voters will suffer really bad. You deserve your pathetic fate.
written by ROBERTNGTG, January 08, 2009 12:26:41
'Stop lopsided toll agreements'

AH TEE, THEY HV TO CARI MAKAN MAH. THE ONLY WAY TO STOP IS TO PUT AN END
TO BEEND AND AMENO.