Home arrow The Blogs arrow The Corridors of Power arrow Perception will decide the outcome

Perception will decide the outcome PDF Print
Wednesday, 07 January 2009 13:50

"We lost not because the opposition was strong, but because we fought among ourselves," Najib told party workers who had arrived in the Terengganu capital in droves to help in the campaign.

Zubaidah Abu Bakar, The New Straits Times

UMNO is tying up the loose ends as its candidate filed his papers to contest the Kuala Terengganu by-election under the ruling Barisan Nasional banner.

While 46-year-old Datuk Wan Ahmad Farid Wan Salleh is embroiled in a personality battle with five-term Wakaf Mempelam Pas assemblyman Mohd Abdul Wahid Endut, there lies a big task for the Umno leadership to settle some "internal problems".

Weaknesses, which could affect the election machinery's momentum, have to be repaired fast. Datuk Seri Najib Razak who is leading the BN charge in the by-election did not mince his words in his "must win" message, asking Umno leaders to set aside their differences and make themselves more appealing to voters.

An unknown independent candidate, Azharudin Mamat @ Adam who has also joined the fray in the three-cornered fight has been described by political analyst Professor James Chin of University of Monash Malaysia, as "a joker candidate looking for his five-seconds of fame" and is almost certain to lose his deposit.

Chin's counterpart from Universiti Utara Malaysia Professor Mohamed Mustafa Ishak believes there are disgruntled sections in Umno and they might give their votes to the independent candidate instead of spoiling their ballots or abstaining.
"It's worse for Umno if the votes go to Pas instead."

Umno has acknowledged that not all of the over 25,000 party members in Kuala Terengganu had voted for the late Datuk Razali Ismail last March.

This could have contributed to the 685 votes independent candidate Maimun Yusuf secured in a three-cornered fight. The other candidate was Pas vice-president Mohamad Sabu.

Chin said the battle in Kuala Terengganu was between Umno and Pas, and since their candidates were so different, some voters would vote according to how much they like the candidates.

"One is offering the office of a deputy minister if he wins while the other is offering a kampung-style politician."

A greenhorn in electoral contest as compared to Wahid's unblemished records since 1990, Wan Farid who has been criticised as having little grassroots experience, needs a lot of polishing of his public relations skills in this short period.

He has been trying very hard though since being declared the BN candidate, and was even coached by "experts" on how to approach people -- from putting on smiles like a model in a toothpaste advertisement to giving light pats on the backs and shoulders of voters.

"My next challenge is to retain the seat for BN," said Wan Farid after being declared the BN candidate yesterday.

Thousands of BN party workers had an earful from Najib when they gathered at the Islamic Civilisational Park on the eve of nomination day.

Najib made it very clear that he wanted to see more coordinated campaign activities between the state Umno and the Kuala Terengganu division, which Wan Farid chairs.

The Umno president designate does not want a repeat of the 2008 general election and Permatang Pauh, where internal bickering was the cause of BN's poor performance.

He wants to win in this highly unpredictable contest so that Kuala Terengganu will be remembered as the beginning of BN's recovery.

"We lost not because the opposition was strong, but because we fought among ourselves," Najib told party workers who had arrived in the Terengganu capital in droves to help in the campaign.

While opinion polls conducted for both the ruling and opposition alliance indicated a win could go either way by 1,000 votes, an Umno insider claims that BN was at this point the underdog despite it defending the seat it won by 628 votes less than a year ago.

"Ground reports say that BN is trailing with its popularity among voters at slightly over 40 per cent.

"It is a concern as surveys among traders at Pasar Payang showed that the majority is still not with BN," he said.

Still reeling from the last general election in which it lost power in five out of 13 states and its two-thirds majority in Parliament, BN is hoping to show it has won back support with promises of reform and a new leadership come March.

To the opposition alliance Pakatan Rakyat, Kuala Terengganu is a chance to show its support is holding up amid claims that the fragile marriage of convenience between Parti Keadilan Rakyat, Pas and DAP is already cracking up.

In reality, it does not matter a whole lot who wins since no government will fall because of this one seat. At the most Pakatan Rakyat would raise its tally to 83 in Parliament and BN still rules the country.

"It's more to do with people's perception that this by- election is really a referendum on Najib and Datuk Seri Anwar Ibrahim.

"Najib because he is prime minister-in-waiting and Anwar to prove himself after the Sept 16 fiasco from last year," said Chin.

Still, it will not be correct to use Kuala Terengganu as a barometer to gauge support for BN and Pakatan Rakyat if the outcome is solely based on popularity of candidates.

Comments (25)Add Comment
written by SocratesI, January 07, 2009 14:02:20
Ahmadneil, I need your shoe to stuff her mouth up with, but you have to take your shoe as gone for good, my friend! Don't want your foot to catch any infection from this woman's mouth! This contest has always been about the Rakyat fighting tooth 'n nail for their independence, equality, justice and freedom from Barisan Najis, by supporting the True Rakyat's Party, Pakatan Rakyat! Since March 8th 2008 this has been the case, only Barisan Najis has been in denial all along!
written by Rainbowseahorse, January 07, 2009 14:03:49
Najib, don't forget to teach your candidate one more trick! Roll over and play dead!
written by Susanna, January 07, 2009 14:16:07
Just goes to prove and confirm BN is expert in coaching and faking le.
written by AuntyG, January 07, 2009 14:16:19
All these MSM "beautifooool journalism" will not sway KT voters one inch. The writer is merely writing for her bread and butter. KT folks are voting to kick out the "dread and gutter" ...
written by pinsysu, January 07, 2009 14:18:40
deep in his heart he knows da outcome of tis highly predictable contest & KT will be remembered as da beginning of BN's demise ... but PR dun be complacent. continue to work hard for EVERY SINGLE VOTE. da no. of votes garnered shall speak volume of KT ppl's desire for CHANGE ...
written by ahmadneil, January 07, 2009 14:28:10
And that son is barking day and night about how great he is.He talks as if the whole of KT is his territory.He refuse to accept what he have seen in Permatang Pauh.Until he come to his sense,this ask** will be shamed ,with his tail between his 2 his two legs,and crawling out of KT. Socratesl,you can have my shoes which I have just step on dog shit a couple of minutes ago.Cheers,mate!
written by ahmadneil, January 07, 2009 14:49:50
I bet that this will be umno's greatest defeat after Permatang Pauh.The wind of change is sweeping across KT.
written by Motherchell, January 07, 2009 15:09:46
Umno is one animal who loves to play all the tricks in the game .. They do not -- or rather don't bother to safeguard the Party's name because they know money can buy everything from position and power .
This philosophy is the prolix tombstones they are designing for themselves. The younger True Malay folks realize this and will not want to remember UMNO existed because other than the select few families --- the poverty level is the same .
Take a walk thro the outskirts of KT !! They have lived thro the monsoons minus the Cup!
written by Caramel, January 07, 2009 15:10:12
Yes remember to think of Ahmad Ismail when you cast your vote
written by cahaya, January 07, 2009 15:31:41
Among the three candidates standing for election, one stands out above the others. He is Abdul Wahid Endut. Wahid is a humble and modest man. He has quietly but effectively served the people in KT for more than 18 years (5 terms) as the State Assemblyman for Wakaf Mempelam (part of the parliamentary constituency of Kuala Terengganu). He is also the PAS chief for Kuala Terengganu.

Abdul Wahid Endut is the most qualified (in terms of his grassroots experience and character) for the job of Member of Parliament Kuala Terengganu. KT voters should elect this PAS candidate to represent them in Parliament.
written by carribeanking7, January 07, 2009 15:52:23
It appears that BN has tacitly accepted defeat. When NST spinners like Zubaidah try to downplay a possible BN loss they know they are in big trouble. Above article sounds more like a after the loss post-mortem.
written by clarity, January 07, 2009 16:07:23
DPM. You are wrong. You lost because umno is corrupted and if you still don't know, then you are not fit to be PM. You and your running dogs are all the same. Corrupted. Did you see the malatsian insider today? MCA deputy chairman LOw Teck Choon sentenced to jail in singapore for corruption. Isn't that shameful? Does this mean MCA menbers don't mind corruption? Are they trying to get the chinese inKT to behave like that? Malaysian Corrupted Association I want to puke.
written by savemalaysia, January 07, 2009 16:14:18
The more Zubaidah writes and comments about the UMNO-led BN, the more the KT's folks will vote against Wan Ahmad Farid because they know that this lady is planted by UMNO to spin news in favour of BN and distort facts to hammmer Pakatan Rakyat. Being a liability in UMNO's baggage, she will only pull down Wan Ahmad and that's a damn good favour she is doing for PR.
written by middlepath, January 07, 2009 16:21:00
Yes we can, we the rakyat can decide to change the government from BN-Umno= Corruption=cheating,Arrogant=Greedy,=only benefit cronies. Yes we can change the government to the rakyat government. Pakatan Rakyat is our new government. yes we will change the government. even there is a little different among the Pakatan Rakyat goverment member or component party, yes we will still vote for PK, RPK, PKR, and we have enough of BN. yes we can. we will go for change.
written by wood, January 07, 2009 17:25:36
Najib, rakyat do not care whether you all fought among yourselves. Even family members fight and quarrel amongst themselves !The rakyat have seen and heard and experienced enough of what BN does all these years ! Enough is enough ! Unless the rakyat can feel any consistent positive and sincere change , then I am afraid to tell you your reasoning is not correct ! BN is going to lose more seats.

Believe or not is up to you !!!
smilies/wink.gif
written by cllim123, January 07, 2009 19:23:35
Stupid Najib, you still dont get it. BN and UMNO lost because the people has had enough of your corrupt racist and murderous ways. RM500million commission? Altantuya conver up. Zakaria palace. All the expressway concession agreements. AP. Monsoon cup. IPP and TNB tariffs. PGCC. PKFZ. Education system. Keris in Chinese blood. Koh Tsu Khoon torn picture. "Pendatang". Ex-gratia payment to judges. I no speak England. Sex with under age. ISA. Maica. Bocor. Close one eye. Money politics. Tearing marriage certs.... The list goes on and on and on...

Enough is enough!!!
written by singam, January 07, 2009 19:51:36
Kudos to MT for giving BN apologists the space to present their views. In a democracy, we should never fear nor stifle contrary viewpoints. However we can give them enough rope and let them hang themselves.
written by Badrol, January 07, 2009 19:58:22
What marriage of convenience Zubaidah? PKR, Pas And DAP are such loving triplet and they're happily married and became known as Pakatan Rakyat even though their marriage is yet to be solemnised by the Registrar of Societies. They're so loving and productive that many Bansga Malaysia are born every day. Don't know which of the party conceive and deliver though.
written by DreamLady, January 07, 2009 20:26:40
Zubaidah, I notice there is some improvement in your overall approach, you have shifted one notch below your usual arrogance and blatant outburst of intimidation. I am pleased you permit yourself to move closer to the right track. Keep on improving yourself and eventually you shall find yourself in the land of enlightenment, the land that shall bring you onto the path of blissful future meant only for the honest and upright individuals!!

written by mikewang, January 07, 2009 20:50:22
Dear Zubaidah,

Are you mentally challenged to come out with an signing off statement like this ?

"Still, it will not be correct to use Kuala Terengganu as a barometer to gauge support for BN and Pakatan Rakyat if the outcome is solely based on popularity of candidates."

This election is about party philosophy and ideology on a wide range of issues, with corruption and arrogance at the top of that pile.

The outcome will have less to do with the popularity of the candidates than with the issues at hand.
While BN is happy to scrape through, I don't think I as a PR supporter is happy unless our PAS guy wins with a 10k majority.
written by Wudan, January 07, 2009 22:01:43
Oi Wan Farid! Now only you want to learn how to smile and pat voters'shoulders ah? Gila punya GORENG! The nature of the scorpion is to sting.
written by LFLee, January 08, 2009 00:10:17
These MSM did nothing but mis-leading the readers. Those two professors, did they ever went to KT to see how the voters over there think? or just sitting in their office and came out with the idea? Aren't we suppose to boycott MSM? Why post these
useless piece of article here at MT?
written by Rozlan, January 08, 2009 20:39:13
Najib

UMNO lost because it was so corrupt not.Fragmentation came after corruption because each of you was vying position for bigger bribes..
written by amoker, January 09, 2009 19:20:40
Zubaidah, how did you get this job?
written by chiongguo, January 11, 2009 11:46:03
A greenhorn in electoral contest as compared to Wahid's unblemished records since 1990, Wan Farid who has been criticised as having little grassroots experience, needs a lot of polishing of his public relations skills in this short period.

He has been trying very hard though since being declared the BN candidate, and was even coached by "experts" on how to approach people -- from putting on smiles like a model in a toothpaste advertisement to giving light pats on the backs and shoulders of voters.

Najib had also advised BN workers to be humble when approaching the electorates. It seems BN is now trying to wear a new skin.

To me been authentic is more important than humility. Sometimes humility can just be false humility in which one plays the game of humility to gain political mileage. It is about playing the part.

Been authentic doesn't mean that one is always honest. We are driven by a lot of delusions, fear, lost of face, human frailties and all that drives us as human being. It is about been honest with oneself when one has made a mistake, or on a spur of the moment unable to be honest or on occasion less than humble etc. At the end of the day it is about learning how to live with yourself.

What or how the world sees you is less important. If this is important than such projected humility is false and the real you will still be hidden from yourself. Happiness based on the acceptance and accolades of others - no matter how close, is unstable and temporal.

By been authentic one has to acknowledge our own hypocrisies and ALL of us, safe the enlightened, have a closetfull of hypocrisies.

If one can become authentic one starts to accept oneself and that is the dignity no one can take away from you and you will be able to do the right thing most of the time. Therein also lies the key to our happiness - happiness not fabricated from some notional ideal of what happiness is. It is happiness based on a simple acceptance of your total being - warts and all.

Of course this will be very difficult for political animals.