Home arrow The Blogs arrow No Holds Barred arrow Day 1, Round 1: Pakatan Rakyat

Day 1, Round 1: Pakatan Rakyat PDF Print
Wednesday, 07 January 2009 09:34

The Chinese have no qualms that the outcome of the Kuala Terengganu by-election rest in their hands. But would they take that bold step of giving the seat to the opposition? Day 1 of the campaign is too early to determine this.

Pakatan Rakyat was clearly the winner on Day 1 of the Kuala Terengganu by-election. Nomination Day saw an estimated crowd of 30,000 to 40,000 Pakatan Rakyat supporters against only 5,000 to 7,000 for Barisan Nasional. In spite of the mainstream media spin that reversed the figures, pictures speak a thousand words and the five pictures below tell all.

At 9.30pm, Anwar Ibrahim addressed an estimated crowd of 20,000 to 30,000 people, mostly all local Kuala Terengganu folks, at Ladang, not far from the Bloggers Operations Centre in Kuala Terengganu. Amongst those who also spoke at this Ceramah Perdana were Lim Kit Siang, Haji Hadi Awang, the Menteri Besar of Kelantan, Nik Aziz Nik Mat, and Mustaffa Ali.

Simultaneously, the Bloggers and a few DAP national leaders graced a dinner that was attended by more than 500 local Chinese residents. We went from table to table to shake the hands of the guests and saw many familiar faces amongst the crowd. The support of the Chinese was most overwhelming, and if the dinner crowd last night is a reflection of the Chinese support for Pakatan Rakyat, then the results of the 17 January 2009 by-election may yet pull a surprise for Barisan Nasional.

But this was only Day 1 and Round 1 of the campaign. We still have 11 more days and 11 more rounds to worry about. An early victory may just be a sign of Pakatan Rakyat winning the battle, but not necessarily that it is winning the war. Ultimately, it is winning the war that counts. You can win ten battles but the victor will be determined by whomsoever wins the war and not whomsoever wins the many battles along the way.

Today’s campaign will be door-to-door. Anwar Ibrahim will be officiating the Parti Keadilan Rakyat operations center at Gong Kapas and will visit 18 kampongs around Kuala Terengganu after which he will be doing a walk-about at the main bus stop and the wet market at 11.00am. The Bloggers will be covering the walk-about and we hope to upload the pictures later today.

Intelligence agencies and the BTN have informed Umno that it has lost Day 1 of the campaign and that efforts must be stepped up to ensure a Barisan Nasional victory. They realise they would not be able to win on a level playing field, so expect the Dirty Tricks Department to launch a series of dirty campaigns later today. What they have planned is not known yet other than they are not confident of victory and therefore need to resort to dirty tactics to turn defeat into victory.

The Chinese voters are fully aware that the Malays are delicately split 50:50 and that it will be the Chinese who will determine the victor. They have been told that the are the Kingmaker but the million dollar question is whom does the Chinese want as their ‘king’ representing them in Parliament as their Member of Parliament.

One issue raised by the Chinese is that they are not too confident that PAS is capable of running the state. Unlike PAS Kelantan, PAS Terengganu is not that sharp, laments the Chinese. And five years of PAS rule from 1999 to 2004 has proven this.

This has to be countered with the argument that the Kuala Terengganu by-election is not about choosing a new state government. The voters will just be sending ‘their man’ to Parliament and not voting to form a new state government. The Chinese must be reminded that the present state government will remain intact even if the opposition wins the Kuala Terengganu parliament seat.

The Chinese have no qualms that the outcome of the Kuala Terengganu by-election rest in their hands. But would they take that bold step of giving the seat to the opposition? Day 1 of the campaign is too early to determine this.

Nevertheless, as in any election, local issues are usually the determining factor. Are the Kuala Terengganu Chinese happy with their government? Do they feel that Umno and Barisan Nasional are just too arrogant and need to be cut down to size? Is it time to send a message to the ruling party that it can no longer take the Chinese for granted and continue insulting them, call them pandatang, threaten them with ‘another May 13’, and ask them to ‘go back to China’ every time they open their mouths and express unhappiness? These would be the factors that will decide which way the Chinese will vote on 17 January 2009.

I now need to go hit the streets and do a walk-about in Chinatown. We will update you with the latest events as they develop. Till later and stayed tuned as we report from Ground Zero in Kuala Terengganu.

THE PAKATAN RAKYAT CROWD

THE BARISAN NASIONAL CROWD

Comments (33)Add Comment
written by justice, January 07, 2009 10:02:39

agree 350
written by dsahlim, January 07, 2009 10:24:48
Be alert and watch out for the opponents dirty tricks distributing bogus/fake
Pakatan/PAS pamphlets appeal to sensitive race/religion sentiment designed to turn voters away from PR/PAS. Have PR workers hand phones/cameras ready to catch them.
agree 139
written by cahaya, January 07, 2009 10:25:09
Haris Ibrahim wrote a good report on last night’s Chinese dinner hosted by DAP. It includes color photos of the event, a summary of what happened, how well Abdul Wahid (the PAS candidate) was received, how powerfullly RPK spoke, what Tian Chua reminded the Chinese, etc. Read more at
http://dinmerican.*********.co...om-kt-no2/
written by ahmadneil, January 07, 2009 10:42:04
Yes,as I have said earlier,this time there is no ducking for the chinese.Ahmad Ismail played a big role in the way the chinese vote this time.For damn sure,it's going PAS way.You just move abit around and you can smell victory.I'm not overestimating,but this is the reality.The chinese say,'we all got to kick umno in the ass this time'.One kueh tiau seller says'umno is too much,lying,screwing 'Mongu cha po',makan duit'.Many,when ask if they will vote for umno,instantly shake their head even before I finish my question.Man,I tell you,umno is indeed finish.7,000 majority for PAS is not to high to ask.
written by *********, January 07, 2009 10:43:34
BEWARE! BIG BROTHER PDRM/UMNO IS WATCHING YOU!. Find out how...http://*********.********.com
disagree 20
written by K W Waran, January 07, 2009 10:46:49

Dearest YM RPK and the Barisan Rakyat Bloggers,

At the outset, A BIG THANK YOU TO ALL for the BIG sacrifice of camping at Ming Star over the entire period and for keeping us all updated on the TRUE going-ons at ground zero.

All should avoid the fibbing and spinning by the MSM by just boycotting them. Now, my humble take is that it should not be just for two weeks but indefinitely. They should be taught a bitter lesson for fibbing and spinning while expecting the "gullible us" to pay for their revenue. Hence, they should be hit where it hurts most. Soon, all the advertisements that fill most of the pages will dwindle for it is not actually reaching the target audience.

YM RPK and the Barisan Bloggers, we know of your capacity and capability to deliver like how you guys handled Permatang Pauh till the wee hours of the morning day-in day-out. In fact, YM RPK, you had reverberated the skies of Permatang Pauh with your fiery speeches of TRUTH that hit hard, where it should.

The Barisan Rakyat should and will pray for your respective good health and divine protection throughout the period. Take care and win all the battles and the ultimate war and you know that the Barisan Rakyat aka Anak-Anak Bangsa Malaysia are behind all of you. May the Mighty God Bless and Protect You All for upholding Truth and Justice for All Malaysians.

written by ahmadneil, January 07, 2009 10:49:37
Just this morning,we went to have mee goreng at the stall just next to my hotel.When we walk in,this local guy immediately knows that we are outsiders,so we started talking.I started by asking him who do he think will win.He replied,'mesti PAS'and I ask him why and he said umno only talk and don't do anything.If they do something it's only to benefit themselves,not for those man on the street.'umno didak ada chance sini',he sigh and our mee goreng started coming.Gosh! it smell nice.Sorry guys!excuse us!
written by Motherchell, January 07, 2009 10:50:57
Though it may be true , But my Malay brethren against UMNO have increased ten fold ! Many facts and actions LEAD US TO THIS thought. PAS LEADERS ,WHAT EVER ONE MAY SAY about the demonized facts misinformed by the MSN. They have been fighters for the peoples rights unlike the UMNO upstarts .
We all knew WAN was a proxy--- this was reinforced by TDM. KT truth seekers have not forgotten the plunder and the Batu Buruk incidents . KT is a barren land for what it should have been in development and resources!
My humble request for all PAS workers m supporters -- is keep your eyes open , work hard-- for the VICTORY is OURS!! The societal make up of Chinese, Malay and Indian cannot be broken by the demons of 51 years! Victory is always for PAS!!

written by Wisdom above, January 07, 2009 10:55:09
I have only his to say.

Let's Fast and Pray for Wisdom, Revelation,Peace and Tranquility to prevail.
written by Mark C, January 07, 2009 11:19:21
I pray that PAS by proxy of Pakatan will win.

It's time Pakatan Rakyat comes out with a united logo to represent this solidarity and cooperation. No more individual logos and battle cry, only one singular emblem.
written by Msian Idol3, January 07, 2009 11:28:15
The chinese had no qualms about voting for PAS. No more looking at regional issues but at national level. Furthermore what has UMNO/BN done during oil-boom times for Trengganu?? Now UMNO/BN wants to do something, maybe again for their cronies to get fatter bank accounts. Its impossible to give UMNO/BN the vote. Only way they can win in KT is to cheat at all cost.
written by karyeowl, January 07, 2009 12:05:03
PR... please do not be complacent. Work hard and campaign hard. Like what RPK had said, winning the war is what it counts.

Go Go ... go kick the a** of UMNO
written by Milo, January 07, 2009 12:05:12
It is not an option. All, including the malays who have voted UMNO in the past, should change the stance to vote PAS, and in the process strengthen Pakatan hold. Keep the momentum going.
written by ASK4u, January 07, 2009 12:12:26
YM RPK, please take care of yourself. You're too valuable for us. Danger is lurking everywhere. A riot could be easily started and casualties are not uncommon. Oh, by the way, Channel News Asia (CNA) is giving a more honest coverage in KT. Melissa Goh reported from KT yesterday showing overwhelming support for PAS. One KT voter amidst a large crowd was interviewed and he said: "Bantuan penting, tetapi ugama lebih penting, .. hidup PAS"! to the huge roar of support from the people there. There were similar sentiments also. I seldom watch MSM news. CNA is very professional in reporting. They have won many international awards in broad-casting beating even CNN and BCC in the most viewed category.
written by malaysianohope, January 07, 2009 12:16:34
Abang,
Glad you are there to help the campaign which I think will make some difference. On the issue of how KT Chinese will vote, I can tell you that they are more politically savy than you think, when you said they were disappointed with the years when PAS ruled Terengganu. This election is not about state matters but representation to Federal Parliament so no issue in this regards.
To umno & C4 I await your demise with glee!!!!
written by Counterpointer, January 07, 2009 12:17:44
Najis had a real bad dream last night.

These images kept reappearing in his dream in no particular order.

He's wondering whether he is going mad.

written by Rainbowseahorse, January 07, 2009 12:28:29
My bro Peter,

I wish I can be there, but I can't and can only be a contributor towards the war chest! Seems like you guys are going a good job and PAS candidate is well received by the good people of KT. Is there any law in putting up posters showing Tok Guru Nik Aziz simple house against UMNO minister's palaces? I believe the dissimilarity will be most glaring.

May Allah/God be with you all and may the good people of KT vote wisely against a most corrupt and inefficient government.
written by savemalaysia, January 07, 2009 12:46:02
I have relatives in Kuala Terengganu and they told me that they are very fed-up with the Govt's lethargy, partiality and unfairness in hauling UMNO racists' repeated twists of Malay rights to Malay supremacy. They poured disdain for the lightning quick manner in which the Govt slapped the ISA on Pakatan Rakyat's politicians, supporters and journalists but total indifference to Utusan's continuous spewing of venomous racial slants plus the police's high-handedness in arresting peaceful marchers during cnadlelight vigils. All these really get into their nerves. So when the Chinese give their votes to PAS, it is all because of UMNO's own self-destructive exercise of angering, bulldozing and alienating the people.
written by Msian Idol3, January 07, 2009 12:53:46
Of course Round No.1 is PR. Keep alert as UMNO/BN is 100% up to dirty tricks. Meanwhile make sure all out of town PR supporters in KT knows about KT super satays & nasi dagang. Please add a few pounds in the right places with such fabulous local delights. I will be this weekend to lend support to my fella chinese & malay brothers.
written by cahaya, January 07, 2009 12:53:54
Oh, by the way, Channel News Asia (CNA) is giving a more honest coverage in KT. Melissa Goh reported from KT yesterday showing overwhelming support for PAS. - - ASK4u

Anyone watched last night's RTM 1 special on KT? Someone at home changed channels during a commercial break, so we watched a few minutes. Such biased and unprofessional reporting by RTM 1. Watching a few minutes is enough to convince any viewer not to vote BN. smilies/cheesy.gif
written by ASK4u, January 07, 2009 13:44:51
Cahaya,
Thank the person who changed the channel.I saw their opening, on the 5/1/09 and felt nauseated. The journalist(profesional konon) was a sore to the eye. He was always looking towards his right side as though someone was instructing him on what to say. He is not a journalist but an Ameno goon, that I know for sure. Looks so r*tarded. People in Johor and Singapore are lucky because they get a comprehensive and accurate coverage, just like during the last GE, from Media Corp. CNA. You want to see a good reporting(& Journalism ethics), go to CNA.
written by Rainbowseahorse, January 07, 2009 14:27:16
I took another hard look at the photographs and notice that while the PKR crowd seems to be in some sort of festivities, the UMNO crowd looked dejected, bored, and defeated. More like what we see at funerals!
written by viveg, January 07, 2009 14:45:45
Thanks alot RPK, Haris, Zorro, Gus, etc. The Pakatan Rakyat Juggernaut is on a roll and cannot be stopped. Why??? People's Power!! Addding the whole hearted support of civil society leaders like RPK, Haris, and rest, we have an unmacted recipe for success. Najis is now crying into his bowl of sup tulang. Mari kita hapuskan Beee,, Eng... dan buat sup tulang
written by USJ 6, January 07, 2009 14:53:44
Dear KT Chinese Voters, it is time to slap UMNO goons on the face telling them not to call Malaysian Chinese " pendatang " anymore.
written by myvoice, January 07, 2009 15:54:45
Yeah! for all the "pendatang" as claimed and secretly supported by AMNO, please be smart enough to vote, and show them who is pendatang actually. MCA, you have bring shame to all the M'sia chinese by supporting someone who call the chinese "PENDATANG"!
written by SotPlug, January 07, 2009 17:37:54
Come my fellow Chinese.
We might not have the biggest penises.
But we can show those bullying UMNO bastards who's the one with the balls.
written by asguard, January 07, 2009 19:55:14
To the chinese in KT ...please vote with your sense...UMNO is one that should be punish again their racial remarks, unfair, use the chinese as punching bags whenever they like... and when its time election ...they expected the chinese to vote for no matter what! Time to kick them out again!
written by kclim2, January 07, 2009 20:36:10
Its the good vs the evil!We have to be careful of the dirty tricks the evils have. They will do anything to ensure victory. God Bless Anwar and PR
written by DamnPekcek, January 07, 2009 21:16:51

I start believing the PAS would win by majority of 5k
written by Mirage, January 07, 2009 22:30:19

I think you have hit the home run with the caption on UMNO calling the Chinese pendatang. Its still fresh in my mind and what type of Multi-racial Goverment would allow their party members esp from the opposite race to make such comments and get away with it. By allowing that, BN has just sign their own petition to a death warrant and yet the PM has the cheek to say that other races can be a Prime Minister. What kind of party is this???? They should be voted out by the Chinese if they dont even know how to be diplomatic abt such basic racial sensitivity.
written by DontPlayGod, January 08, 2009 00:52:20
Though I dislike PAS Islamisation policies, I have to urge the Chinese to vote PAS. UMNO has threatened and discriminated against the Chinese for the last 51 years, and enough is enough. UMNO has turned the Malays into racists, and has sowed hate in the hearts of the Malays towards the non-Malays.

We can only hope that, with power, and the support of the people of all races with their different cultures and religion, and looking at the West Asian Islamic countries, which are now in a mess, and heading for doom, PAS, in time, will tone down their Islamization policies, and stop playing God. God will rule in HIS own way. No need for anyone to act on HIS behalf!!!
written by purple, January 08, 2009 14:11:04
The "pendatang" label is still smarting and causing huge disappointment in the heart of the Malaysian Chinese. After being in Malaysia for so many years and generations, still being labelled a "pendatang"? It's really time to vote these racists out. We need a fair and compassion group of people to bring Malaysia to a new height.