Home arrow The Blogs arrow News/Commentaries arrow MCA man jailed for offering bribe to Singapore cop

MCA man jailed for offering bribe to Singapore cop PDF Print
Wednesday, 07 January 2009 09:18

(The Straits Times)  — A Malaysian community leader initially fined S$15,000 (RM36,000) for offering a bribe to a traffic policeman was yesterday sentenced to jail for six weeks following an appeal by the prosecution.

Justice V. K. Rajah, handing down the jail term at the appeal hearing, stressed that the courts should take a firm, no-nonsense approach towards attempts at graft.

Any attempt to bribe a police officer will bring on a jail term, and if the bribe is accepted, both parties can expect “uncompromisingly stiff custodial sentences”, he said.

It is the way to go if the integrity of the police force as a pillar of society is to be upheld.

Rajah added that the jail term meted out to Lim Teck Choon, 56, took into account mitigating factors raised by his lawyer. He would otherwise have been jailed two to three months.

Lim, who has business interests on both sides of the Causeway, is a member of the MCA and the party's deputy chairman in the town of Kampong Jawa in Johor. A philanthropist, he regularly donates money to temples and an orphanage; in 1988, he donated a building for a school.

A traffic police officer caught Lim making an illegal U-turn on Woodlands Road and driving against the flow of traffic for 50m.

While waiting for a vehicle to take Lim back to the police station, Sergeant Pah Wenxiang tried to defuse the tense situation by starting a conversation.

Lim told the police officer that he owned a few plantations in Malaysia and knew high-ranking officials.

During the conversation, he abruptly asked Pah in Mandarin: “Why want to do this? Be enemy? You should let me go. We can be friends. Next time you come to Malaysia, I will take care of you. Still got good things.”

He also made a gesture that the officer took as an offer of money.

When the sergeant told him it was an offence to bribe a police officer, Lim backed off on his offer.

Lim initially contested the charge of offering a bribe, but pleaded guilty on the second day of trial and was fined S$15,000.

He was also fined S$2,500 and banned from driving for six months for dangerous driving.

The district judge acknowledged that a jail term was the norm in graft cases but felt a more lenient sentence was justified in this case.

She reasoned that Lim offered the bribe only after the officer struck up a conversation with him, and had not persisted with the offer once the police officer rejected it.

The prosecution filed an appeal.

Yesterday, Deputy Public Prosecutor Lee Jwee Nguan argued that the district judge had no grounds to depart from the sentencing norm of a jail term for such offences.

Rajah, saying there should be a clear framework of rules for situations like this, agreed that the district judge had erred in “applying an intricately nuanced sentencing approach to what is a plain and unmistakeable case of attempted corruption”.

In this case, it was incorrect to conclude that Lim's culpability was reduced just because the officer had initiated a casual conversation.

Rajah said it appears that Lim had assessed the situation and taken a measure of the officer before making his offer, thinking that the policeman might be vulnerable once his guard was down.

Lim's lawyer asked for the sentence to start on Feb 1 so that Lim can spend time with his family for Chinese New Year. Rajah agreed and granted bail of S$30,000.

The prosecution appealed against the fine for the graft charge. — The Straits Times

Comments (38)Add Comment
written by gogsard, January 07, 2009 09:23:42
Serve u right! He think this is PDRM? Unfortunately, only the small fish got caught. big fish scot free
written by mypanida, January 07, 2009 09:24:27
one more thing, Judge please keep him there.
written by arazak, January 07, 2009 09:28:35
How I wish the PDRM would be as honest as the Singapore's police! But, I am just a dreamer!
written by DezMalaysia, January 07, 2009 09:30:18
MCA = MALAYSIAN CORRUPTED ****S !
written by ylcc, January 07, 2009 09:31:32
I have worked 30 yrs in Singapore. I have always warned relatives and friends never never to bribe a police officer. It is not the same as in Malaysia. Even a few minutes parking at a white line to buy something can get you slapped with a parking fine. The police, especially the "aunty sallies" are non-negotiable. So beware!

MCA goes around to the poor Chinese and say you are entitled to RM300 per month if you join MCA. There is no such thing in Singapore. I guess this is MCA's culture.
written by kc respect, January 07, 2009 09:38:30
Politically, the FIRST GREAT NEWS for us in Malaysia, although it happened in Spore. HAPPY NEW YEAR! Now lets see what Malaysia Cheeseball ** will do next
written by krising1, January 07, 2009 10:00:57
This Cina-putra thought he is Malaaysia when he made the offer! Something good may come out of this. Go have a Happy new year and then spend 6 weeks in jail. Learn how Singapore jails are run and come back and teach our home minister something.
written by Vincent, January 07, 2009 10:06:15
In Bolehland you can do what ever you wish with Ringgit but not in Lionpore.
written by Ken Liew, January 07, 2009 10:12:25
COmpare the Salery of Polis Raja Di Malaysia, and the S'pore police force.

this is what you get. Singapore, wont need to take Kopi to feed their Family. Malaysia Polis DO~!!

written by alan cheong, January 07, 2009 10:13:18
When will we have:
a) such upstanding police officers?
b) such principled prosecutors?
c) such impartial courts/judges?

YOU decide!
written by ahmadneil, January 07, 2009 10:30:09
Old and dirty habits die hard!
written by Lembing, January 07, 2009 10:36:03
Similar laws exist in Malaysia. IF the enforcer or the ACA and the AG Departments have chosen to perform their duties diligently, Malaysia's revenue will increased by billions in fines imposed on the corrupted parties.
written by AKIKO, January 07, 2009 11:09:04
The police has a facility in TTDI Jaya Shah Alam, for monitoring sms and internet. It's guarded with a fence and watchtowers having guards with rifles. The location is opposite the ttdi jaya Esso petrol kiosk and next to another petrol kiosk It would be better if the rakyat's tax money was spent by the police to combating crime rather than spying on the sms and internet of the rakyat.
written by qitaro, January 07, 2009 11:09:32
Oooops! This old turtle thought policemen EVERYWHERE are corrupted and can be bought! Serves him right! I hope he enjoy his "Singapore Fried Meehoon" in prison!
written by RumahPanjai, January 07, 2009 11:50:18
Giving him singapore fried meehoon is a luxury which he doesn't deserve. He should be served only water and plain bubor. In Malaysia bribing the PDRM is an acceptable culture.Semua untung lah!
written by karyeowl, January 07, 2009 11:52:12
The case of Old Habit dies Hard. This is what MCA stands for. Have money will travel. Unfortunately, system like this doesn't work in Singapore.
written by Msian Idol3, January 07, 2009 11:54:22
Thanks to S'pore.
written by Kunta Kinte, January 07, 2009 11:57:40
This is what they usually do in Malaysia. Played with the wrong guys. Serves your right. Corrupted MCA.
written by SocratesI, January 07, 2009 12:01:35
Bringing Malaysian bad habits to Singapore? Serves him right! This is what MCA stands for very clearly :-

1. It is OK to fornicate and betray your wife & family - Soiled Leg is Dep. President of the MCA!
2. It is OK to practise Bribery & Corruption! Present case!

MCA should stand for Monyet Corrupt *** - UMNOputra cronies!
written by densemy, January 07, 2009 12:48:41
Is this the sort of people attracted to politics in Malaysia??
written by KARMANNGHIA, January 07, 2009 12:55:06
MCA is disgusting, when PR takes over, let's review their business dealings, their scams and lock them all in jail.
written by savemalaysia, January 07, 2009 13:08:15
That MCA guy can get away with it in Malaysia but not Singapore. The difference between the two is that BN accepts corruption as a way of life while PAP sees it as a cancer.

written by exzonerator, January 07, 2009 13:20:36
Thanks to the compassionate judge, Lim is lucky that he can spend CNY with his family before going to jail. That's the price to pay when one thinks that money can solve all problems.
written by Tom n Jerry, January 07, 2009 13:51:18
MCA means *Memang Cuai Anjing*;not suitable to to partner the corrupted BN*s UMNO;NEw Year new resolution;one of the most urgent is get BN out of the Government! smilies/angry.gif
written by Rainbowseahorse, January 07, 2009 13:57:41
If that had taken place in Malaysia, I bet there would have been no case at all! It would be settled right there and then with the roles of Briber & Bribetee in reverse, of course. smilies/grin.gif
written by mikefonz, January 07, 2009 14:22:00
Haha. stupid MCA fella thought cops in Singapore like in Malaysia. Singaporeans comes to Malaysia can bribe Malaysian cops but it does not work the other way round coz they have the integrity unlike ours. Serve him right and when he comes back, our court should hand him a sentence him for more time in jail for disgracing our country.
written by rotibakar, January 07, 2009 17:25:56
ken liew wrote:
COmpare the Salery of Polis Raja Di Malaysia, and the S'pore police force.

this is what you get. Singapore, wont need to take Kopi to feed their Family. Malaysia Polis DO~!!
----------------------------------
its not the salary. its ethics, professionalism, self-respect and integrity.
written by ylcc, January 07, 2009 18:24:51
apa jadi, this is not stale news. This incident happened a month or two ago ... not 2 yrs'. I "joined" MT 4 months' ago, and I read it on "MT"! The report says "appeal", which means the prosecutor appealed against the previous sentence and thinks it is not harsh enough. Please note 2nd last para: "Lim's lawyer asked for the sentence to start on Feb 1 so that Lim can spend time with his family for Chinese New Year." CNY is on January 26/27, so he goes immediately to jail after! It is a follow-up case.

rotibakar, note what the judge said "any attempt to bribe a police officer will bring on a jail term, and if the bribe is accepted, both parties can expect “uncompromisingly stiff custodial sentences." On top of what you have commented rightly, the policeman loses his job. Is it really worth it?
written by ekt tan, January 07, 2009 18:47:12
OTK, your member practises corruption because the whole organisational structure corrupt based. This further proves beyond reasonable doubt that the culture of corruption is deeply entrenched in MCA. It is only appropriate that OTK takes the neccessary action to dismiss Lim Teck Choon from the membership. OTK however turn a blind eye, after all this guy is a 'crony'. It also shows that PDRM is corruptable because this will offer the bribe if he is caught in Malaysia and it is customary that PDRM will accept the bribe. Let this guy stay in Singapore jail an never come out. It is highly unlikely that OTK will action, there will be silence and the matter will be swept under the carpet.
written by SamYap, January 07, 2009 18:49:25
Deputy Chairman of MCA Kampong Jawa Johor jailed for offering bribes in SINGAPORE???

Hahahahahahahahahahaha! LMAO! Someone should print this story and distribute it in Kuala Trengganu China Town.
written by SiHangChai, January 07, 2009 19:29:29
Stupid dungu MCA. You think this is Malaysia where polisman will ask you directly instead of offerring. Serve you right. Najib Razak should learn to be Singaporean before be a PM.
written by cllim123, January 07, 2009 19:30:38
See our MCA leaders, all buat malu for us. Go to Singapore and still practice their corrupt ways, thinking they can be their corrupt selves everywhere they go. MCA should all go to hell.
written by Hakim Joe, January 07, 2009 22:23:51
When you have someone who will not keep his word as the president,
A porno superstar as the vice president,
An ex president having dinner with a gangster,
Another ex president whose non-working son is a billionaire in his twenties,
And running dogs within the exco,
Offering a bribe is "small fry".

written by Danne, January 07, 2009 23:31:44
Oh! you think this is bolehland kah??

S'pore Prison Authorities, please do us a favour and allocate the "best" room at the Changi hilton for this leader from Money Conquers All.
written by adamckteh, January 08, 2009 09:51:21
From this MCA man who practices corrupted way of life, and you can sum up that all those in MCA are of what quality.
OTK, your member practices corruption and we want your comments, please.
written by apa jadi, January 08, 2009 13:22:40
ylcc,
Thanks for pointing out my error. I had a quick skim and did not read the last few lines, remembering it was an old story. There was already a court judgement passed earlier on this guy.
written by onnetline, January 08, 2009 20:39:14
This stupid Lim fella' thinks that he can get away with anything like in Malaysia.

Serves him right !