Home arrow The Blogs arrow Letters/Surat arrow Call on Kuala Terengganu voters to send a clear and unmistakable message of a national "sky change"

Call on Kuala Terengganu voters to send a clear and unmistakable message of a national "sky change" PDF Print
Tuesday, 06 January 2009 16:03

Call on Kuala Terengganu voters to send a clear and unmistakable message of a national "sky change" in next general election as UMNO and the  BN have failed to learn the lessons of the March 8 political tsunami in the past 10 months

The great challenge  in the Kuala Terengganu by-election on January 17 is  for the 80,229 voters of  Kuala Terengganu to send a clear and unmistakable message of a national "sky change" in the next general election as UMNO and the Barisan Nasional have not learnt the lessons of the March 8 political tsunami in the past 10 months.

Malaysians were promised after the March general election, which ended UMNO political hegemony, the BN two-thirds parliamentary majority and five Pakatan Rakyat state governments in Penang, Perak, Selangor, Kedah and Kelantan that the UMNO-Barisan Nasional coalition  had heard  loud and clear the message of the people in the ballot box and that there would be radical reforms in the country but  very little had been accomplished in the past 10 months.

It is clear that the Umno and Barisan Nasional coalition do not have the political will and commitment to bring about far-reaching changes that can transform Malaysia from a country with first-world infrastructure with third-world mentality into one with a first-world infrastructure and first-world mentality.

In fact, Malaysia is not only losing out in the international competitiveness race, straggling behind one country after another, we are in the danger of becoming a third world country with third world mentality.

This must be the sober thought of Malaysians when they read of news report today of the plight of a policeman, L/Kpl S. Paramasivam, 49, who was beaten up by a group of 10 Mat Rempits at 5.30 pm yesterday while  on anti-crime rounds in Kuala Lumpur – requiring five stitches for his wound in his head after he was beaten up by the Mat Rempits using helmets and metal rods.

Only three days ago, the Tawau acting OCPD Supt Ramli Ali Mat was seriously injured after being stabbed in his house in an attack by a group of five men and had to be admitted to the intensive care unit of the the Tawau Hospital.

In the past, former top police and government officers had been victims of crime, including a former Inspector-General of Police and a state Governor - with the former Penang Chief Police Officer killed in a burglary.

Now, serving police officers, who are supposed to restore to Malaysians the two fundamental freedoms they have lost - to be free from crime and free from the fear of crime – could not even protect themselves and are now regular victims of crime.

Malaysians do not feel safe about themselves and their loves ones in the streets, public places and even in the privacy of their homes.  Now, not only ordinary Malaysians do not feel safe about their personal safety, even public officers are also not safe!

This is a reflection of the serious deterioration not only of law and order but of the general standard of  public services in the country  -  10 months after the political tsunami last March and half a century after Merdeka!

What were  the lessons of the March 8 political tsunami?

The message was very clear – Malaysians want an end to the inefficiency, corruption, abuses and arrogance of power, lack of accountability and transparency, discrimination, injustices and human rights violations which have become a staple diet of Umno-Barisan Nasional rule.

Malaysians want to be proud of Malaysia for being internationally recognised and respected for our  plural society, national unity and harmony,  social justice, quality of life,  international competitiveness, democracy, rule of law, human rights and good governance.
Even the two legislative reforms passed by Parliament last month as two of the three reform legacies of the retiring Prime Minister, Datuk Seri Abdullah Ahmad Badawi – the Malaysian Anti-Corruption Commission (MACC) and the Judicial Appointments Commission – are half-hearted and unsatisfactory measures which will not go very far to end the endemic corruption in the country or to restore national and international confidence in the independence, impartiality and integrity of the judiciary.

If the MACC is really  another ICAC (Independent Commission Against Corruption of Hong Kong) which will bring to book the corrupt however mighty without fear or favour, the Kuala Terengganu by-election should make history as the first clean and honest election in Malaysia  where money politics would have become history.

Is this the case?  Of course not as money politics have already reared their ugly heads even before today's nomination.

The voters of Kuala Terengganu have a historic national mission on polling day – to speak up not only on behalf of themselves but of 26 million Malaysians and future generations in endorsing the March 8th political tsunami and sending a clear and unmistakable message of a national "sky change" in next general election as UMNO and the  BN have failed to learn the lessons of the March 8 political tsunami in the past 10 months.

Lim Kit Siang

written by ibabonma, January 06, 2009 16:10:02
The message is clear: UMNO natang!
written by OVERLORD, January 06, 2009 16:21:50
Come on voters of KT send a clear message to BN! we have done it before and we can do it now. reject corruption! reject gangsters! reject murderers! reject thieves!
our time is now!
written by Ken Liew, January 06, 2009 16:23:33
BN are not willing to treat Terengganu as their people.
written by Democrats, January 06, 2009 16:26:39
If PAS can win with more than 10000 votes, it would be the biggest bitchslap on BN' face. KT voters, you are entrusted with the hands to slap these bugger. Let them crawl back to Putrajaya with their tails between their legs.
written by kent chong, January 06, 2009 16:29:38
Orang Melayu-Muslim di Terengganu miskin under UMNO-BN , it's due to Ketuanan Melayu?
written by Sitora, January 06, 2009 16:32:16
Penduduk Kuala Trengganu harus membuat penentuan sama ada inginkan perubahan atau tidak. Mereka harus arif memilih pemimpin yang boleh dipercayai bukan pemimpin yang penyokongnya sanggup menggunakan kata-kata seperti 'natang' yang ditujukan kepada Sultannya.
written by ahmadneil, January 06, 2009 16:33:33
Yes, the 8,000 strong chinese voters in KT will definately send a very strong signal by voting PAS and giving PR a decisive victory.umno will be send packing ,humiliated and crawling out of KT.This umno defeat will be massive ,and they will never be able to recover fully.With this defeat,it the beginning of an end to umno.
written by Ken Liew, January 06, 2009 16:38:12
written by kent chong, January 06, 2009 16:29:38

Orang Melayu-Muslim di Terengganu miskin under UMNO-BN , it's due to Ketuanan Melayu?

you forgot something? There are NO ketuanan melayu. the truth is there are ONLY ketuanan UMNO! UMNO TUAN, all Rakyat, Slaves. DONT YOU GET IT?

ps: sry to be so hash on words.
written by Garend, January 06, 2009 16:38:59
Yeah... They are being attacked by the MAT REMPITS who suppose to be the EYE & EARS of the police as stated by Khairy... WAKE UP KT... RISE UP... show your POWER.... And our dear HOME MINISTER say we are safe and better off than a lot of countries.. SHAME on you...

LETS keep on bashing on BN's door until the listen... if necessary.. lets bash on the door until it breaks.. it that is required to make them listen.
written by Susanna, January 06, 2009 16:40:06
People in Kuala Terengganu must do this national service to send strong message to government for change. We depend on you!
written by PRman, January 06, 2009 16:49:34
Lets boot BN out!!!!
written by DreamLady, January 06, 2009 16:56:41
Pakatan and its components are there to provide solid moral support for its members. The scent of unity is sweeter than the Morning Glory. People of Malaysia unite as one voice to destroy tyrannical regime once for all, and wipe them off from the surface of the earth!!

God bless KT rakyat, God bless Pakatan Rakyat and most of all, God bless Malaysia!!!
written by beijing, January 06, 2009 17:14:51
it is time to kick ass of UMNO.
written by cheekhiaw, January 06, 2009 17:21:54
Anyone knows what kind of a guy is that Tawau OCPD? Is it thieves fighting each other or those thieves trying to get rid of a good cop?
written by Milo, January 06, 2009 17:33:17
UM...say NO to UMNO....say it clear, loud and telling! Time the sky fall on their head!
written by othman hitam, January 06, 2009 17:39:40
Oil was discovered & pumped ftom the off-shore of Terengganu since the seventies. Yet, the state is second in terms of the number of poors in the country. In Kuala Berang, Jambu Bonkok & a host of other villages, old grandmothers are still selling corn to supplement the family's income...where are you wan farid, where are you b end. b end??? umno leaders, live like kings...look at their sprawling mansions versus the shacks in which many Terengganu folks call home. Enough is enough...rise my fellow Malaysians in Kuala Terengganu, irrespectiove whether you are Malay, Chinese or Indian, join the "we have had enough" tsunami that is burning in this beloved country. Make KT, b end's Waterloo. Then we shall march on to Putrajaya
written by my oumrie, January 06, 2009 17:52:51
Dear people of Terengganu, you have suffered all these years as a result of your oil royalties leaving your state to fatten the wallets of putrajayaites, and had to make do with crumbs they throw at you. ENOUGH IS ENOUGH! Be brave and show BEE ENG that you and countless Bangsa Malaysia mean business and are serious about wanting to take your rightful place in this country and not have to hang your heads in servility yet again to your wealthy munafiq masters. HAVE COURAGE WILL TRAVEL FAR!
written by carribeanking7, January 06, 2009 17:54:58
Quote This must be the sober thought of Malaysians when they read of news report today of the plight of a policeman, L/Kpl S. Paramasivam, 49, who was beaten up by a group of 10 Mat Rempits at 5.30 pm yesterday while on anti-crime rounds in Kuala Lumpur – requiring five stitches for his wound in his head after he was beaten up by the Mat Rempits using helmets and metal rods.

Now they are brave enough to attack policemen, if I was the IGP I will consider rempits a threat to national security, and issue shoot on sight orders if they fail to surrender after a warning shot.
written by Richard Lo, January 06, 2009 17:59:23
Totally agree with LKS! Without fundamental change in the institutional pillars of our country, we will only spiral downward towards lawlessness. BN's defeat at the upcoming KT by-election will be a strong psychological victory to all Malaysians and the start of the restoration of this beloved country of ours.
written by Lim Lim, January 06, 2009 20:10:54
KTs,on 17-1-2009,vote PAS n send this message on behalf of the 26 millions malaysian loud n clear to the ever rotten n corrupted umno be end,we want real change n we do not want the c4 najis to be the PM !!
written by Fuminari, January 06, 2009 20:35:26
KTs,shoes are jus not sufficient enough to be thrown at umno be end,give them the boot on 17-1-2009 on behalf of the 26 million malaysian!!!
written by Semut Jantan, January 06, 2009 21:39:27
From my observations, the gomen starts to do something whenever there is an election. The rakyat benefits. (Silly gomen for self serving only).

I think Malaysia should have a by-election every six months to keep the BN led gomen on its toes.

Someone ought to vacate his or her seat every six months to force a by-election to make Malaysia great again, like in the late 50's and early 60's.

Responsible MPs ought to sacrifice their seats for the sake of the country. It does not matter one is from the ruling coalition or from the opposition parties. After all, less than 10 MPs need to do it this way after each GE. These 10 MPs will be self-less heroes who propel the country to its greatness. Any takers?
written by Proud_2b_Malaysian, January 07, 2009 02:33:10
No matter how much the rest of Malaysia wants the outcome of the KT by-election, it falls squarely on the KT voters shoulders to show beyond a shadow of doubt if the "sky change" is for real.

In Pematang Pauh, it was clear. Will it get clearer still? Or will it fade? We shall soon see.

http://proud2bmalaysian.******...ver-is-on/
written by DreamLady, January 07, 2009 20:52:17
My dear Proud_2b_Malaysian, Optimism is a life rope to an inspiring ingredient in a battle field!! All Malaysians need it to surge forward to win BIG in Trengganu!!

A dream that is earnestly pursued, shall become reality eventually!!

Cheers, to all voters, and supporters of PAS!!!

Many thanks to you for being one of us, have a great evening, and take care!!!
written by ROBERTNGTG, January 08, 2009 12:35:28
The voters of Kuala Terengganu have a historic national mission on polling day – to speak up not only on behalf of themselves but of 26 million Malaysians and future generations in endorsing the March 8th political tsunami and sending a clear and unmistakable message of a national "sky change" in next general election as UMNO and the BN have failed to learn the lessons of the March 8 political tsunami in the past 10 months.

WELL WE HAD A WEST COAST TSUNAMI, NOW WE NEED ONE IN THE EAST COAST. AFTER
THAT ONE FROM DOWN SOUTH. WE NEED ANOTHER BEEND VOLUNTEER TO DO A ZAKARIA ACT
THOUGH. GOT ONE PERFECT FAT BLOKE CANDIDATE IN MIND......