Home arrow The Blogs arrow No Holds Barred arrow The battle of Kuala Terengganu

The battle of Kuala Terengganu PDF Print
Tuesday, 06 January 2009 15:52

Currently, I still stand by my earlier forecast of PAS winning the Kuala Terengganu by-election with a majority of at least 5,000 votes. I will let you know as we go along if this forecast changes.

At 5.00pm today, some of us Bloggers will be meeting the PAS leaders at their HQ in Kuala Terengganu to discuss how we can assist in the by-election campaign. Nomination Day, thus far, shows that PAS appears to have the solid support of the locals. However, we shall be cautioning the PAS leaders in ensuring that we don’t menang sorak, kampung tergadai. This translates to winning the cheering but losing your home, or, more accurately: winning the battle but losing the war.

Whatever the mainstream newspapers reported today, don’t you believe it! PAS saw a crowd of 30,000 to 40,000 supporters. And the crowd was wall-to-wall -- from the Stadium Negeri, where the nomination papers were filed, right up to the old penyu round-a-bout, where the penyu no longer lives. Most importantly, the crowd was mostly local folks and their dressing, sarong just below the knee, and Terengganu slang was so distinct there was no doubt about them being locals. I mean, only locals would shout “Hancur, hancur…….hancur bee eng” and “Menang, menang……menang Pakatang.”

Umno, however, saw a crowd of only 5,000 or so, plus-minus. In fact, there were more police stationed in Kuala Terengganu -- 6,000 according to what was reported -- than Umno supporters. Sources from inside the Umno operations centre put the figure at 7,000 supporters at the most and, according to these same inside sources, 80% were from outstation. We were told Umno brought in their supporters in 80 buses -- so these figures would certainly tally. At least Umno and we agree on this issue.

It was heart-warming to see the PAS supporters carrying DAP flags. And the Chinese, in turn, were carrying PAS flags. Even the Chinese ‘dragon’ had a PAS flag in its mouth. If you were to say that PAS supporters have feelings of animosity with DAP with regards to the Hudud issue, and that the Chinese are unhappy with PAS about this same issue, you could have fooled me. Whatever the top leadership of the two parties may be saying, the mood on the ground is that the Hudud issue is a non-issue.

Sirens were wailing non-stop as the Barisan Nasional ministers zoomed all over town escorted by police outriders. You would not be faulted for thinking that the US President was in town. In contrast to this, the Pakatan Rakyat ministers -- like the Menteri Besar of Selangor, Tan Sri Khalid Ibrahim-- humbly made their rounds without any fanfare and walked the streets to shake hands with all and sundry.

It seems the Umno people have some old scores to settle with their party. I was told, in the last election, a lot of money was promised. However, as soon as the election results came in, the person holding the money disappeared and those promised this money were never paid. I will not reveal the name of the place or else Umno may quickly go there to settle their old debts from March 2008.

I met some Umno people last night to feel them out and it looks like they are not too happy with the choice of candidate, Wan Ahmad Farid Wan Salleh. They feel he is the wrong choice of candidate and is carrying too much baggage. He and his brother’s links with Patrick Lim and the scandals involving the oil royalty or Wang Ehsan are a huge handicap and something they are unable to counter.

The PAS candidate, Abdul Wahid Endut, however, has no issues and Umno is hard-pressed in coming out with something to use against him. He is too clean, lamented the Umno chaps, so there is nothing we can use against him. How to defeat him when he is squeaky clean and our candidate is so tainted, sighed the Umno chaps.

The Kuala Terengganu by-election is no longer just a by-election. It is not about choosing the Member of Parliament for Kuala Terengganu. It is a proxy war between Barisan Nasional and Pakatan Rakyat. It is a national-level battle being brought down to the ground to the streets and villages of Kuala Terengganu.

The Kuala Terengganu by-election is also about making sure that Najib Tun Razak meets his Waterloo in Kuala Terengganu. Many Umno people feel, if Barisan Nasional loses Kuala Terengganu, it will reflect on Najib and raise the question of whether the people have rejected him as the next Prime Minister. It is almost like Najib’s career will be made or broken depending on how Umno performs in Kuala Terengganu.

The Public Prosecutor’s office in Kuala Terengganu has been put on a 24-hour alert and some prosecutors have been told to sleep in the office.  According to what we have been told, they expect to arrest some opposition people over the next 12 days, and if that happens they want to speedily charge them for whatever crimes the police may say they have committed. This is not about speedy justice but more to get them off the streets and remanded for two weeks until after the election when they can no longer do harm to Umno.

More from Kuala Terengganu later as and when new developments unfold. Meanwhile, stay tuned as we bring you the latest from ground zero. Your Blogging team based here in Kuala Terengganu will be hitting the streets later today to meet the voters and to talk to them about what we are all in Kuala Terengganu for. We shall impress upon them the need to send a message to Barisan Nasional that the 8 March 2008 Tsunami, and the repeat performance in the Permatang Pauh by-election, is still strong and still very much alive.

Yes, we are not facing a by-election in Kuala Terengganu. It is a national-level battle fought by proxy in the once sleepy town of Kuala Terengganu but now bustling with activity. And, just like in Permatang Pauh where the voters gave Anwar Ibrahim two out of three votes or 66.66% of the votes to demonstrate their next choice of Prime Minister, the Kuala Terengganu voters will be asked to do the same thing to send Abdullah Ahmad Badawi a ‘no to Najib as the next Prime Minister’ message.

Currently, I still stand by my earlier forecast of PAS winning the Kuala Terengganu by-election with a majority of at least 5,000 votes. I will let you know as we go along if this forecast changes.

Comments (64)Add Comment
written by justice, January 06, 2009 15:58:10
agree 366
written by ibabonma, January 06, 2009 16:03:27
You cannot be wrong here RPK but indications are rampant that Pas is gaining ground by the day.
agree 177
written by justice, January 06, 2009 16:06:17
agree 318
written by SocratesI, January 06, 2009 16:06:39
RPK, You got to be joking. how can PAS be winning by 5,000 votes only? At least by a majority of 10,000 votes, unless the Barisan Najis cheats!

Hancur BN! Menang, Pakatan Rakyat!
agree 214
written by Kunta Kinte, January 06, 2009 16:15:45
Dear RPK and team,
We are here in full support to show Najib and BN the sentiments of the people. Let the voices of the Rakyat be heard again and again until it gets into their thick skull.
agree 126
written by TruthSayer, January 06, 2009 16:16:54
No one must count their chicks before the eggs hatch. Don't make the mistake of becoming too confident Rest assured BN will use every imaginable and unimaginable dirty tactic to try win this by election. Watch for phantom voters, watch for double voting by postal voters. Every Malaysian must contact their voting relatives in Kuala Terengganu to vote for Pakatan Rakyat by voting for PAS. Donate to the campaign. Even a single ringgit is not too little. Keep fighting until after the results are made official. We will prevail if we do not give up Hidup Bangsa Malaysia!
agree 125
written by Ken Liew, January 06, 2009 16:17:11
Ask the Biggest Munafiq in the world... All the sudden those Munafiq are Pindah to Terengganu.....

And the EC are Soooooo hard working to change their tempat undi. I wonder does the IC department change the addredd of those Pemindah's Mycard too???

See How BN USING Rakyat's Money To Pindah their member of UNMOrals.
written by DreamLady, January 06, 2009 16:21:44
Raja Petra, thank you for keeping us posted. Indeed it sounds very positive that PAS is going to win big. In the meantime, keep flashing your big smile that stretches from ear to ear....I could see that it pleases you to help those who need help.

We are waiting for news from you guys, constantly keep in touch,ok! Take care!
written by kent chong, January 06, 2009 16:28:02
HIDUP PR-PAS/DAP/KEADILAN!
*Murid murid, keluar barisan masuk Bulatan!
written by LKO, January 06, 2009 16:29:24
Reported in the Star - http://thestar.com.my/news/sto...sec=nation
Barisan supporters at the opposite end of the barricade were relatively quiet throughout the nomination process.

Najib, when asked about this restraint, said: “Why should we make noise? It is not necessary.”

Kah! Kah! Kah! I've never seen a UMNO/BN team being quiet when they have the upper hand. Plus, if you are and "import", I doubt you would want to be so loud against a local, especially if they out number you 10 to 1.

Goes to proof what RPK said about the crowd.
written by Garend, January 06, 2009 16:31:09
Darn it. I know those POLICE is up to NO GOOD wanting to capture innocent ppl on baseless charges. and the prosecutor. Shame on you lot twisting JUSTICE to serve some fellow's whims and fancy. AND those of you who come out with this plot and those who endorsed it and shove it down their throat. I HOPE all of you play Badminton!

I am sure and confident that the power of the PPL will be greater than all this scams. The RAKYAT will win again. and do remember who pay you your salary it is not the gov. it is the PPL. and please those family members of these police and prosecutor will dissuade them from doing all these for the "Fear of the GOD".
written by PRman, January 06, 2009 16:35:52
Vote for PAS!!!!! Our Malayisians future is better to be put on Pakatan Rakyat than BN's hand. Look at how the taxpayers are short changed in all the highway deals? Look at the arrogant BN officials treating us day in and day out. How can a highway cost be 1.xB, but the return is 10 times of the cost in 10 years? Our Semi-Value certainly know how to enrich these private companies at the expense of Malaysians! NO TO BeeN, YES TO PAS!
written by ahmadneil, January 06, 2009 16:37:44
My sources told me that PAS will win with a majority of 7,000 votes and I too have place my bets with a crate of Tiger beer.
written by johanssm, January 06, 2009 16:38:21
Photos available at Uncle Zorro's blog.
visit http://zorro-zorro-unmasked.********.com/
It is as described and reported to all of us by RPK .
The last photo is of a Dragon with the PAS flag.
Where are those bn macai? On the way back to KL..hahaha
written by *********, January 06, 2009 16:43:38
10 DALIL MENGAPA WAN FARID AHMAD TIDAK BOLEH MENJADI YB KUALA TERENGGANU...More http://*********.********.com
written by DreamLady, January 06, 2009 16:43:56
Raja Petra, will it be a good idea to bring the father of Attantuya for sight-seeing in Trengganu ? Karpal will be pleased to be his tour-guide, and point out to him who is his son in-law!!! That is going to be a big time-bomb for Najib if he comes face to face with his father in-law!!!
written by ahmadneil, January 06, 2009 16:45:11
As I have said,they chinese are bend on settling score with Ahmad Ismail for calling them 'squatters'and this time they will certainly vote PAS to show their disapproval for be called names and been marginalized.And also there are many unsettling issues which MCA have ducked.
So KT chinese,show that you all are a force that will quicken change.Yes,you all can!
written by kksam, January 06, 2009 16:45:45
Ah i wish i could follow you and the Barisan Rakyat Bloggers to KT, God Bless you all and take care. there's more photos at Haris's blog
http://harismibrahim.*********.com/
written by KTRaj, January 06, 2009 16:47:00
Some how I know Najib (BN) is going to use money, power, any kinds of resources, dirtiest tricks to make sure he win KT. Luckily, over 30k PR supporters in KT>
written by ahmadneil, January 06, 2009 16:48:25
With the siren baring so loud,I thought it's the ambulance ,rushing some high ranking official to the ICU.
written by ahmadneil, January 06, 2009 16:53:42
Be careful with your PC!Those thieves will be trying to steal your PC as they have done it at your house many times.Stay safe and alert!
written by ahmadneil, January 06, 2009 16:57:18
This time the chinese are not grumbling and they meant what they say after some lecturing from RPK.They won't hatam umno infront and vote for them behind.NO! This time they will vote PAS and hatam umno.
written by MalaysiaBaru, January 06, 2009 16:57:23

Just a minor correction. That is not a dragon carrying a PAS flag. It's a Lion that the chinese use in Lion Dance. Anyway, it is good to see Malays carrying DAP flags and Chinese deploying their lions to carry the PAS flags. It showed unity despite the mainstream media trying to divide and conquer the KT folks with the Hudud issue. RPK, please do all you can to reassure the Chinese that there is nothing to fear but everything to look forward to if PAS wins the by-election.

Lastly, may the murderer of Altuntuya sufferes the fate of the late KT assemblyman. Amin smilies/grin.gif
written by AuntyG, January 06, 2009 17:03:32
Just read MalaysiaInsider report that carnival is on BeEnd side, and on "the other side" there is sound of silence! If not for MT ground report, many of us will be blurblur reading spins or spams and taken in hook line n sinker! Shall we bet on MI or MT? I'm no gambler but I dont lose $$ either
written by othman hitam, January 06, 2009 17:04:02
" mean, only locals would shout “Hancur, hancur…….hancur bee eng” and “Menang, menang……menang Pakatang.”"
YM Bro Pete,...you really make my day. Of course PAS will win. Have been in communication with many of my Chinese friends in KT, from what they said, I believe they have had enough of b eng
written by ahmadneil, January 06, 2009 17:04:45
WOW,As I write,Najib entourage have just pass by my hotel.The sound of those siren is deafening.You know the locals here hate this siren.They said these people are too proud.If the siren is not turn down umno will lost another 1,000 votes.Good !
PR leaders are polite and moving around quietly,shaking and talking to bystanders. these are what makes PR stand out among the rest.Yes,PAS will win with a huge majority!Najib's post is in serious doubt.He may have to abort his plans in March!
written by arnab76, January 06, 2009 17:07:34
how can a murderer wins GOD is good all the time! A PM who interfere with a murder trial that he can predict what will happen to Razak on the temtative charge? Najis, said opposition bankrupt of ideas. hey my najis smells better than your face! Come and dont hide.

Sick and tired of them including Hamid. In a democracy country quote hamid "we need to do this and that." in Barisan democracy la not Malaysian. political power is more important than the country.
written by Counterpointer, January 06, 2009 17:24:48
Najib Tun Razak meets his Waterloo in Kuala Terengganu.

My thoughts exactly!

BN, Najis , Water and Loo; these things go together extremely well.

written by wongnoball, January 06, 2009 17:25:12
Based on rent a voters and postal votes....my estimate is a 1100 majority victory.
BN have been mobilising army and police to be based there for training. So about 10,000-13,000 postal votes not suprising. Go ask EC how many postal votes there, IF they give you a true answer!

UMNO-BN smart in managing outcome to continually manage the TRUE anger of Malaysian who wants change. Why do you think there was such a long campaign??

So better campaign saying UMNO-BN will win by 7000 majority, because we need every single voters to turn out to over turn the MASSIVE CHEAT by UMNO-BN! Spending $1 Billion in this election to ensure Victory and to crown Najib as future PM is a Good investment to those in the Loop. In light of the 10-15 Billion in Infrastructure spending spulrge to combat Economic crisis in Malaysia in the next 18 months.

Meanwhile keep up the Boycott Forever for all Local Media and make those journalist get retrenched. It comes a time when one needs to Demoralised Journalist for supporting such blatant corruption and being a propoganda tool for UMNO-BN.

Keep Boycotting Proton and Perodua, lets end the UMNO-BN Racist car once and for all...vote PAS!!
written by ahmadneil, January 06, 2009 17:26:47
PAS printing machine is glowing hot due to non-stop churning out Altantuya 's posters.
written by ahmadneil, January 06, 2009 17:29:47
Hopefully Razak Baginda will be campaigning with Najis and Roastmah.Can some ask them to sign on Altantuya's poster!
written by ahmadneil, January 06, 2009 17:31:28
Even with all the police voting, umno will still lost KT.
written by Hockchew, January 06, 2009 17:32:14
My BN friends are saying the same. The winner is PAS!

BN candidate is PakLah's choice and so Paklah is also going to get it. Whatever Paklah did, TDM will not like it and will sabotage it.

I will pray for PAS to win. "The moon represent my heart" or " Bulan lambang hati ku" will be sang all over KT. God bless the Tok Guru with good health and great wisdom.
written by renoir, January 06, 2009 17:34:47
Hey RPK, do convey our best wishes to the local folks and also to our comrades like Haris, Zorro, and all the rest. Tell Angela I'll give her a big hug when she returns, whatever the election results.

Also, bread and butter issues might play a role there - maybe we should find what peeves the locals most and emphasize on that.
written by malgal, January 06, 2009 17:38:19
RPK, and all the blogging bros, may you use all that umno has provided u in ur arsenal. Fr monsoon cup to wang ehsan, gerry mandering to hantu voters, please remind the kt ppl that even the police has been deployed to act impartially.
watching the proceedings with bated breath, much prayer and hopefulness.
written by DreamLady, January 06, 2009 17:42:09
Aunty G, I have always enjoyed your humour, keep it up to cheer everyone here at MT site!

have a great evening!
written by ASK4u, January 06, 2009 17:52:31
Not only a by-election but PAS could win Terengganu State hands down if Parlimen is dissolved and another GE is held. Something went wrong in the last GE. PAS should have won. Keep an eye so that BeeAnn doesn't employ dirty tactics in this by-election. Oh, by the way, my sources predict that PAS will win by a 7000 majority. Looks to optimistic, isn't?
written by future, January 06, 2009 17:59:21
Thank You Y.M. RPK and all the Bloggers which keep the news flows from KT.Insyallah
Pas will win and it is a win for PR and the Rakyat.
written by miwaki, January 06, 2009 18:10:51
BN is a spent force this time in Kuala Terengganu,before the polling day,I already know PAS win win.Cheers.
written by Motherchell, January 06, 2009 18:23:31

I share the same sentiment as you, but we have to be weary of the number of phantom voters UMNO will inject into the voters list.

written by Bloodhound, January 06, 2009 18:37:37
We need to also monitor the voters entering the voting booths to ensure that the security forces/police personnel do not themselves becomes pengundi hantu with each of them voting at several different voting stations to increase the BN votes. These sort of pengundi hantu are easily identifiable by their mannerism and age groups. Use your cameras, mobile phones or video cameras to get evidences.

All opposition supporters should arm themselves with video cameras to tape all suspected pengundi hantu especially those coming off buses from out of town. These videos should then be sieved through by residents of the various sites to identify unknown voters or pengundi hantu. Local volunteers should be at all the voting booths to confirm that voters are from their areas. Voters going into the voting booths which are not known to the locals should be video taped for future references and identification. If enough of supporters carry out these video tapings, then, the use of pengundi hantu can finally be confirmed or otherwise.

Participants should however be discrete as the so called "security forces/police" on duty will do their best to cover up the evidences of such pengundi hantu and they will threaten partiicipants and confiscate the cameras to ensure that the truth about pengundi hantu stays in and remain buried within KT and that evidences does not get out of the electrorate in order that the rest of the Malaysians outside KT are kept in the dark in order for their repugnant scheme to work! This is why we must expose them to the fullest for what they are!

Results obtained by foul means is a cheating by any language. It defeats the purpose of elections and go against the will of the people. The people's rights to choose must never be undermined by anyone or any party for that matter. That is what democracy is all about - nothing less!

PAS volunteers must go to the Chinese/Indian areas to accompany voters to get to the voting stations. As previously in Permatang Pauh, the "security forces/police" have been reported to have intimidated/discouraged/threatened/abused the non-Malay voters to prevent them from coming out of their houses to get to the voting stations. The "security forces/police" know that these groups of voters are now more inclined to vote for the opposition (PAS in KT) and preventiing them from getting to the voting stations is as good as having pengundi hantu.

If the non-Malay voters are prevented/discouraged from getting to the voting stations and pengundi hantu are present, the odds of a fair election will be severely compromised and the will of the people hijacked! This must never happen - the rights of the people must never be compromised!
written by Malaysia Ku, January 06, 2009 18:41:41
Let all Malaysian pray that PAS will win this election.. This is will a test to see we are ready to be a real Malaysian without any racial and religious boundary. To all PR Selamat Berjuang untuk Malaysia tercinta.. Hidup Malaysia..
written by panca, January 06, 2009 19:03:38
"DING* "DING* "DING*

Bookies have stopped accepting bets, reason given was the odds are against BN, too many punters went for PAS big win. HEHE smilies/grin.gif smilies/grin.gif smilies/grin.gif
written by yapsir, January 06, 2009 19:36:08
my heart would not able to rest well until we all see BN lost the seat.
Thank You RPK and team,please take care youself too.
May the people wins!
written by Victory or Death, January 06, 2009 19:47:30
RPK says,

"Currently, I still stand by my earlier forecast of PAS winning the Kuala Terengganu by-election with a majority of at least 5,000 votes. I will let you know as we go along if this forecast changes."

10,000 at least!!!!!
10,000 at least !!!!
10,000 at least!!!!!
written by Azril Way, January 06, 2009 20:20:23
reading your post makes me goosebump! insyaallah we will win.

written by mob1900, January 06, 2009 20:42:28
written by Susuit, January 06, 2009 20:48:32
Pendatang undi Pas.
written by Futurist, January 06, 2009 20:50:25
Since it's a do or die battle, the BN goons will go out with all the tricks they know since they are old hands at it. The PR guys who can smell such activities, please keep a look out for it.
KT folks, do your part well and send the BN goons to the deep.
written by cruzeiro, January 06, 2009 21:02:37
Wishing all the Barisan Rakyat team, a Happy Campaigning!
I'm certain that KT will be another Permatang Pauh - and maybe your estimate of a 5k majority estimate is a very modest one. The tide against the BN regime is definitely on the rise, as people aren't afraid anymore after the "impossible" was done on 030808.

All the best guys!
Please keep us posted.

Hidup PR! Hidup PAS!
Shout “Hancur, hancur…….hancur bee eng” and “Menang, menang……menang Pakatang.”

PS
Maybe you guys should start planning for temporary mirror sites, considering the efficiency of the MMC and Mr.Albar/ Shabbery Cheek/ Shaziman?
written by Jeffrey, January 06, 2009 21:17:23
hi, there, RPK. We are all behind you...all the way. What can we (bloggers in Sabah) do to help? Just let us know..

Psky@puffinsky.********.com
written by mob1900, January 06, 2009 21:38:28

For years, Barisan Najis had starve your state of progress and wealth, rob and rape your resources, now YOU have the power to stop the rot and purge the corrupt!
written by Selva, January 06, 2009 21:39:49
I will be there in KT 5 days before polling and would like to assist in any way possible. I can be contacted on 012-6805144. Lets kick the buzzards out!
written by Semut Jantan, January 06, 2009 22:18:33
From my observations, the gomen starts to do something whenever there is an election. The rakyat benefits. (Silly gomen for self serving only).

I think Malaysia should have a by-election every six months to keep the BN led gomen on its toes.

Someone ought to vacate his or her seat every six months to force a by-election to make Malaysia great again, like in the late 50's and early 60's.

Responsible MPs ought to sacrifice their seats for the sake of the country. It does not matter one is from the ruling coalition or from the opposition parties. After all, less than 10 MPs need to do it this way after each GE. These 10 MPs will be remembered as self-less heroes who propel the country to its greatness. Any takers?
written by ylcc, January 06, 2009 22:43:05
Careful, Selva .... Cybertrooper SBennit has just turned up!!
written by Fuminari, January 06, 2009 23:43:07
KTs,u need not hav to throw shoes at the umno be end thieves n bandits,come 17-1-2009...lets boot them out!vote Pas..support pakatan rakyat,PR!!
written by Fuminari, January 07, 2009 00:11:29
why not lets bring saiful bukhari,the GPA 0.6 scholarship holder...the umno be end brand of 'sodomee' to KT for campaigning purpose???
written by jowkg, January 07, 2009 01:13:43
WHY the hell Moses deploy so many police for F**k? .... f**king idiot.... when the landslide happen.. these are the coward who conveniently steal.. but when come to real life saving work. they chicken out... damit.
written by rpremkumar2u, January 07, 2009 07:02:20
As I see it, Permatang Pauh was a Waterloo for BN. Now KT will rest any doubts whatsoever, regarding the fact that Malaysians who want change and more importantly rejection of Najib, will score. I really understand why Najib must be having sleepless nights. This election will be a categorical rejection of Najib and what he stands for. The BN candidate is a bad choice. In this instance, I agree with Dr M.
written by batsman, January 07, 2009 08:03:32
As far as PMS go, TDM was brutal and dictatorial, AAB was more relaxed - patriarchal even. Najib has no real character. He is just corrupt womaniser. Everything he does just feeds his own ego and pleasure. He is a perfect candidate for blackmail.

If he becomes PM, Malaysia will be ruled by fat old women and eunuchs. That is for sure.
written by educationist, January 07, 2009 08:40:58
Wow!! That prediction coming from RPK carries special weight fpr me.
I'm going to change my wager of a cup of kopi 0 kao with my friends based on his prediction.
written by USJ 6, January 07, 2009 14:40:17
Thanks Pete, for informing us the actual happenings on the ground in KT, it was pretty great to know the local Chinese and the Malays are pulling their force together behind PAS & PR...Cheers.......KT voters. smilies/wink.gif
written by kclim2, January 07, 2009 20:49:13
Ong Tee Keat,MCA all of you are a bunch of shitheads! Why do you have to support the evils when they call us the pendatang? You better switch camp now before its too ;ate!