Home arrow The Blogs arrow Letters/Surat arrow Publication Permit for Herald - the Catholic Weekly

Publication Permit for Herald - the Catholic Weekly PDF Print
Tuesday, 06 January 2009 13:13

EVEN though the Home Ministry recently approved the publication permit for the Herald – the Catholic Weekly, only publication in English, Tamil, and Chinese is allowed. Publication of the weekly's Malay language version has been held back, pending a court decision on the use of the word "Allah".

While my Christian friends applaud the decision to renew the permit, they are understandably upset over the prohibition to publish the weekly in Malay. This, they say, is due to the fact that the majority of Christian Malaysians are in Sabah and Sarawak, and Malay is their first language. The prohibition to publish the weekly in Malay is thus seen as a serious affront on their freedom of religion.

I personally find the position taken by the Home Ministry untenable and see no reason why the Malay language version of the Herald should be put on hold.

I believe all these problems are the result of the ignorance and confusion of Muslims in Malaysia about their own religion. Having lived under the leadership of Umno/Barisan Nasional and its brand of Islam, who can blame them? This misunderstanding is turned into policies that, although well intended — i.e. "for the sake of Islam" — portray a negative image of the religion.

This is akin to the prohibition on women to learn to read and write in the old days, for fear that they would write love letters to men. These women were kept uneducated and ignorant. Islam, on the other hand, demands of its followers, men and women alike, to strive in the pursuit of knowledge.

The first misunderstanding is in the false equivalency that "Malay is Islam" and "Islam is Malay", which makes Malay the language of Muslims. Newsletters in Malay for religions other than Islam is a form of a culture shock for many Muslim Malaysians, who, of course, forget that if any language has a right to claim such a position, it would be Arabic. Yet we find Christian Arabs comfortably delivering sermons in church in Arabic throughout the Arab world. They even use the word "Allah" with no objections from the Muslims there because, as every Arab knows, the word "Allah" means "God".

The second misconception is that once other religions are presented in the Malay language and the word "Allah" is used for God, Muslims would become confused and susceptible to changing their religion. Although I agree that many Muslims are neither practising nor understanding Islam as well as they should, this weakness cannot be addressed by taking steps that imply an intrinsic weakness within Islam. This only suggests that Islam is unable to hold its ground and argues its case to prove that it is the religion from God, revealed through the prophet Muhammad. The problem has to be addressed by ensuring that Muslims are better educated about their own religion.

The negative and defeatist attitude upon which these "policies" are based will lead to restrictive laws for non-Muslims, curbing their activities for fear of Muslims being influenced and converted. Unfortunately, this would then lead to an impression of Islam being restrictive and oppressive, creating a very negative impression of Islam among non-Muslims. The cost would then be the loss of potentially strong and devout Muslims from among the currently non-Muslim population who genuinely care about religion, truth and God. The Muslim community loses them for the sake of ensuring that weak, uncaring, and peripheral Muslims stay Muslim.

I have always been of the opinion that Muslims must project the beauty and strength of Islam, its emphasis on justice and truth, and its respect for the rights of all communities. Through this, many will come to Islam's fold. Unfortunately, there are those who do not share this confidence in the ability of Islam, on its own merit, to win over hearts. They become defensive and apologetic. By doing so, they do great injustice to Islam.

I appeal to the Home Minister to reconsider his decision.

WalLahu ‘Alam

Khalid Samad

Comments (34)Add Comment
written by densemy, January 06, 2009 13:18:31
Now maybe you will believe me when I said that part of the reason for reintroducing Malay as the official language was to make it easier to control what you read
written by ahmadneil, January 06, 2009 13:23:07
For Math and science,they wanted it to be taught in English.For national integration,they want Bahasa Malaysia.But now why marginalizing the Christians.Can't they be allow to worship their God by saying prayers in Bahasa Malaysia.God hear and speaks all languages.
written by mightywill, January 06, 2009 13:24:55
To Khalid Samad: Your letter says it all...

To Home Minister: Publishing In Malay = BANNED
YOGA = BANNED
Almost anything is banned.......

Then why Islam can use English to translate Quran for non-Arabic speaking community ..?

Ban them also...?

Then we will have more trouble of racial polarization....

Please stop this stupid excuses... Everyone have the right to use any language they wish... Bahasa Kebangsaan is Bahasa Malaysia. Not one race should claim the rights to a language.
written by pokokmangga, January 06, 2009 13:25:05
Khalid,
I am profoundly sadden by many commentators that fail to see that the government is using the Malay langguage to control its Malay rakyat.
written by ahmadneil, January 06, 2009 13:26:14
Quote..."Muslims must project the beauty and strength of Islam, its emphasis on justice and truth, and its respect for the rights of all communities" but on the other hand they openly discriminated the other half of the population.
written by LKO, January 06, 2009 14:09:08
To extend the illogical arguments of the UMNO, the next thing they will ban Malays from learning English as this is used in the the English Bible. Or even Mandarin, as that is used in chants and prayers too.
written by sisa, January 06, 2009 14:09:55
I am holier than thou - just listen to me
written by Garend, January 06, 2009 14:17:44
written by pokokmangga, January 06, 2009 13:25:05
Khalid,
I am profoundly sadden by many commentators that fail to see that the government is using the Malay langguage to control its Malay rakyat.

I totally agree with this one.. They are controlling the Malays by controlling what they read.. and what they think.... They are trying to keep the Malays (Majority) ignorance.. and then the Elites (Minority) will have total control over them. Just look at our own Ministers.. (especially our own Education Minister).. Have he ever joined in the Public Education in malaysia? Have he ever learned under our own education system? Did he even send his own children to the local schools? What give him rights to become the education minister.. for he does not understand the schools.. It is pure crap..

But I do agree with the writer Khalid.. they are just concern over their own benefits.. and they insulted all Malays by saying that they have no brains.. and be confused easily.. and do not have any knowledge on the Islam... What Joke..
written by Mr Smith, January 06, 2009 14:20:45
My respect for Khalid was never misplaced. He speaks sense. It is Muslim like him who gives us hope that all is not lost. This injustice by the Home Ministry has nothing to do with Islam. It is clearly political.
Wonder what MCA and MIC got to say about this.
written by mikewang, January 06, 2009 15:26:28
Thank you YB Khalid, Thank you PAS !

Thank you very much for your support and understanding !

This is surely the right way Muslims ought to defend their faith through self-realisation and confidence.
It is useless having the authority to doubt their faith through the suppression of others like those promoted by UMNO.
written by ksauyong, January 06, 2009 15:41:31
written by Rainbowseahorse, January 06, 2009 13:24:44

"...This, they say, is due to the fact that the majority of Christian Malaysians are in Sabah and Sarawak, and Malay is their first language...".

This is erroneous! Local natives dialects is their first language as many of them don't even speak BM properly. Furthermore, some Natives even have newspaper in their mother tongue.
Perhaps the Herald – the Catholic Weekly - should consider publishing in the local native languages!

Have you been to Sabah or Sarawak???
written by eloofk, January 06, 2009 16:01:14
No wonder UMNO has been losing big in GE and By-elections. The Muslim-Malays are now more educated and knowledgeable and have sensed that the UMNO-led government is using race, religion and even language to segregate all Malaysians for their political agendas.

The UMNO goons are still in denial that they are losing votes because of the suppressive policies of divide and rule.
written by ylcc, January 06, 2009 17:03:39
Hi again, Mawi ... Rainbowseahorse is a Muslim. It was an innocent comment, and I believe no ill intentions on his part, as I have followed his comments on "MT".

Remember what Pangkis Pangazou explained to you?
That they converse in Bahasa Melayu... Sabah style... that colloquial language is different from written language... that Church literature/articles in Malay are written in proper Bahasa Malaysia and not written in "their loghat Sabah" as there are no such thing as "written" Sabah Malay dialect ... that some of the younger generations don't know a single word of their mother tongue ... that lingua franca is the local Sabahan Malay dialect and it cannot be in written form for official Church articles, it must be written in proper Bahasa Malaysia.

I had also explained to you that this is similar to our Chinese dialects. We too need a proper common language to communicate among ourselves - which is Mandarin.

It is probably difficult for Muslims to understand, as you had indicated that the Federal govt had rejected a Chinese-speaking mosque. Why? Is it an offence? This is where we are different. We try to cater to everyone's needs - Thai sermons for Thai workers, Myamar for Burmese, BM for Indonesians/East Malaysians, Cantonese for older non-educated Chinese who cannot speak English or Mandarin, Mandarin for Chinese nationals/Chinese educated, English for expats/Philippines/English educated ... the church will even go all out to find Vietnamese or Cambodian speaking preachers, if required. This is common practice for churches worldwide. Languages are used as a form of communication, and not as a threat ... no need to "ISA" the Christians for it!
written by Nunudada, January 06, 2009 17:26:20
Our present Government has made itself a laughing stock not only in the eyes of the world at large,but also in the muslim world.We always hear two terms in relation to muslims-Radical and moderate.Is there no such thing as liberal Islam? Why must a muslim live with a sword (although invisible )constantly pointed at him.
written by ylcc, January 06, 2009 17:30:33
I have something else to add:
when Pangkis Pangazou said that some of the younger generations don't know a single word of their mother tongue ... this comment is similar to the young Chinese Singaporeans. They hardly speak any dialect. Singapore, like Malaysia with BM, makes Mandarin compulsory for the Chinese in schools (the Chinese were resentful initially, but now understand why LKY did it ... he had to gel the Chinese together, and at the same time he prepared them for the China market). Isn't this so true among the new generation of Asians living in their adopted countries like US, England, Australia .... ?
written by beijing, January 06, 2009 17:40:09
Actualy now a day the sarawakian and sabahan can speack and understand english. Many of them read english paper.
written by amoker, January 06, 2009 18:30:08
UMNO just want to keep Malays in Jahiliah. Cannot read this, dun translate that. Dun check internet. Don't question.

I am glad that I can read and understand my scriptures. hehe
written by CPY, January 06, 2009 18:49:32
Wah, Khalid! I better pray to Allah, I mean God (I don't want RPK to be charged as insulting Islam) to protect you from ISA! In China, Islam is initially known as 'the religion of Hui(the largest Muslim majority ethnic group which is 99.99% same as the Han Chinese)'.
written by Tompios, January 06, 2009 18:51:10
Since in the beginining the Sabahans and Sarawakians are using English as official language. unfortunately, the federal backed by UMNO and the Moslem leaders in Sabah destroying the "20 Pekara" including English medium usage in any government departmentals business hours.

Today, (in my observation) almost 70% new generations of Dusun cannot speak Dusun anymore. They speak in Bahasa Melayu Baku. I think the Kadazan people still manage to perserve their language compare majority of Dusun.

Pelacuran Bahasa Melayu di Malaysia Barat lebih parah dari Sabah. Majority of the Sabahans will try very hard to speak English or Malay properly. Kecuali, mereka yang berhijrah ke Malaya dan kembali ke Sabah dgn loghat Malaya mereka yang meloyakan!! Why? Muka Sabah tukang 'logop' tapi loghat Malaya!!

Apapun, pemgharaman penggunaan Bahasa Kebangsaan untuk akbar Katholik merupakan satu penghinaan kepada Bahasa Kebangsaan itu sendiri dan Umat Islam yang bertaqwa kepada Allah. UMNO masih terbelengu penjara zaman purbakala! Umat Islam Malaysia sudah ada yang melihat bumi dari angkasa lepas! UMNO? masih lihat umat Islam Malaysia dari zaman Jahiliah!!

written by cruzeiro, January 06, 2009 18:59:56
Mawi,
Come on - get real man! Your reasoning is totally flawed!
Same goes for you to, ksauyong.
I'm certain that both of you are well aware that you stance is illogical but insist on splitting hairs to "menegakkan benang basah".
How can you go on defending the indefensible act of banning of Malay publication, when it is unconstitutional?

How can you say that Catholics have no right to cater to their Malay speaking faithful (even if they are small in number, but ever increasing) in W.Malaysia?
How can you prevent us from having a common language for communicating with the children who increasingly fluent in Malay but not in English?

Since when has numbers been the criteria for right to publish in a certain language? Every citizen has the right to be catered to if the leadership of the community deems them worthwhile - and in this case, every single one of them!

How would you feel as a Muslim, if English publication of Islamic literature were banned, when a small community of Muslim Englishmen in your community aren't able to relate to the larger community in other languages?
That's the equation that you should use to put forward your point.
Not that the Englishmen don't speak Queen's English, and hence banning of such publication is justified! It is quite a different matter whether they can learn other languages - but the authorities should have every right to cater to these (hypothetical) Englishmen!

Do deny this fact is an admission of poor thinking skills.
The choice is yours - Hamid Albar has made his ....
written by panca, January 06, 2009 19:23:42
ylcc,

You have made your points clear enough not only once and detailed too, painstakingly I would say. I still hear the same arguments despite what you have shown to them.

"I heard Christmas carol was sung(played) in bahasa Malaysia and I realised the majority of Christian spoke in the language - Sarawak".... I was there before Christmas. Facts and Figures don't lie.
written by panca, January 06, 2009 19:28:21
YB Khalid, I have shook your hand and I will shake your hand again.
written by ylcc, January 06, 2009 19:50:51
Hi panca! I am glad that at least my efforts have not gone unnoticed. Thank you so much for your support. The Christians are just minding their own business, they are not harming anyone ... just having peace and fellowship with God. We are tolerant of other religions, do not practice violence, and do not go around protesting and creating problems for others - so why the persecution? Sigh ... Aren't Christmas carols beautiful, in whatever language?

As for YB Khalid ... if I were not a Christian first, and I see so much kindness, understanding, and tolerance in a Muslim like him ... who knows I might have considered being a Muslim ....
written by ylcc, January 06, 2009 20:38:01
Hi cruzeiro, I believe you have misunderstood ksauyong . He was just answering Rainbowseahorse's comment on "Perhaps the Herald – the Catholic Weekly - should consider publishing in the local native languages!" ksauyong's rebuttal was "Have you been to Sabah or Sarawak???", which I take it that he did not concur with the comment.

Anyway, Rainbowseahorse is a nice Muslim. I like him, and I am sure it was more of a question rather than an offence. As I have indicated, the Muslims probably do not understand how the churches organize their services/administration. Mawi had commented before that the Federal govt. did not allow their Malaysian Chinese Muslims to have their own mosque. I don't understand why not as whether Chinese or Malays, they are still Muslims. Likewise, it would also probably be difficult to explain to the Muslims why the church should use BM for their service.
written by KKchan, January 06, 2009 20:40:45
Kudos to you Khalid. If I were a Malaysian Malay Muslim, I would be insulted by my Government. Why does it think that Malay Mulsims are so weak in their faith that they need such protection? I am not learned in any religion and so I stand corrected. But isn't the God of Islam the same as the God of Judaism and Christianity? If it is, then the Home Ministry should tell the Herald not to call Abraham Ibrahim, or Jesus Isa and so forth. But Adam is still Adam and so is Noah.
written by panca, January 06, 2009 21:01:50
ylcc,

Upon searching on youtube this is one conducted in bahasa apa?

Probably in Indonesia?

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v...re=related
written by NRR, January 06, 2009 21:52:12
There was a time all Malaysians were forced to use Bahasa Malaysia in schools, govt service, and all the public services refused to entertain any questions, requests orally or in written form unless the same was in Bahasa Malaysia. Why now sudden change and say you cannot use it in worship and religious news papers etc? The powers in being should make up their mind.
written by ylcc, January 06, 2009 21:55:23
Thanks, panca ... have put it on my list of "favourites" .. I am sure my Indonesian helper will be happy listening to the videos.
written by mrbean, January 06, 2009 22:04:17
Allah is God in Arabic. Full Stop..
How stupid can our government be ? Perhaps they are very smart that they pretend to be stupid and think we are all stupid by implementing such ruling...
written by needchg, January 07, 2009 00:14:55
Is baldie playing God? or Syaitan? or both??
written by Fart Fart Wah, January 07, 2009 01:31:12
UMNO historians are good for changing Malaysian History to Malaysian Mythstory.
and this is basically to play to the gallery as UMNO Malays Boleh.

Frankly the Malay language does not have an original writing of its own. Much of it is borrowed and it is presented in a romanized versions in writing. If you go back to its roots it comes from the Malay Archipelgo..which includes Indonesia and the surounding area. Therefore it is not even originally Malay Malaysian.

But as usual the ostrich's put their head in the sand and remain in a drunken stupor of denial that much of the language is borrowed. And UMNO keeps on bullshitting the Malays that this word is theirs and that word is orignally theirs..and we have cockeyed educationists who show false patriotism to this and
add on to changing history to mythstory.

As for the word Allah it is not even Malay( so it is Arabic.. at least the Arabs can proudly say they have their own writing)...so it does not belong to the Malays. It belongs to Muslims..Arabs..and those professing Islam. However it has been used by Christian Arabs and is still being used.

And in largest speaking Malay world..Indonesia..tiada masaalah..Christians use the word Allah and so too Muslims...hey no problemo..
But ..wait a minute.over here ..UMNO owns the word...and indirectly it is telling the Malays ..hey we own Allah..you cannot use the word..for you do not own him ...WE UMNO MALAYS OWN HIM....

and so.pea brained..Home Minister and his people one night had a vision
( hey maybe in a cave in Gua Musang when they went there for a rehat sambil belajar trip) that this word belongs to them..and they own Allah.

servant owning the Master.....ONLY IN UMNO time warped thinking...
I give up...someone up there must be laughing his head off over a teh-tarik!!!!

Vengeance is mine says the Lord...it seems the Christian Bible says...
UMNO's vengeance is ..you sue me ah???I stop your paper woh!!!

Well..UMNO you have made thousands frustrated and angry...but
they can't do anything( because you hold the political power)...but the one up there can do something I think...it is a matter of time....and he has all the time...carry on UMNO>>>>>>>>>
written by Malaysiaputra, January 07, 2009 17:22:53
(although it is in Arabic) but it also means an Islamic God.
===
Mawi , stop bullshitting here. Allah is the Arabic word for the God of Abraham , Issac and Jacob. No man has a monopoly of this word.