Home arrow The Blogs arrow News/Commentaries arrow The battle begins

The battle begins PDF Print
Tuesday, 06 January 2009 11:15

By Deborah Loh and Danny Lim, The Nut Graph

KUALA TERENGGANU, 6 Jan 2009: Nomination day is currently underway in this parliamentary constituency. A close battle is shaping up between the Barisan Nasional (BN) and Pakatan Rakyat, spearheaded here by PAS.

The first to arrive at the nomination centre in Stadium Negeri in Kuala Terengganu was BN candidate Datuk Wan Ahmad Farid Wan Salleh, who was greeted by about 1,000 BN supporters who had gathered outside the centre from as early as 8.30am.

He was accompanied by Deputy Prime Minister Datuk Seri Najib Abdul Razak, Wanita Umno chief Tan Sri Rafidah Aziz, Perlis Menteri Besar Datuk Seri Dr Md Isa Sabu and Negeri Sembilan Menteri Besar Datuk Seri Mohamad Hasan.

Also in the entourage was Gerakan president Tan Sri Dr Koh Tsu Koon and MCA deputy president Datuk Seri Dr Chua Soi Lek.

Ahmad Farid filed in his papers at 9am.

By 9.10am, PAS supporters shouting Allahuakbar! began to gather outside the centre as they waited for the arrival of the party's candidate, five-term Wakaf Mempelam assemblyperson Mohd Abdul Wahid Endut.

Heavy police presence and barricades keep the BN and PAS supporters 100m apart.

At 9.15am, Abdul Wahid walked in to file his nomination papers. He is accompanied by PAS president Datuk Seri Abdul Hadi Awang, Parti Keadilan Rakyat's information chief Tian Chua, Perak Menteri Besar Datuk Seri Mohammad Nizar Jamaluddin, Selangor Menteri Besar Tan Sri Khalid Ibrahim, PAS Shah Alam Member of Parliament Khalid Samad and DAP Bukit Bendera MP Liew Chin Tong.

The number of PAS supporters surge and strain against the barrier, prompting the Federal Reserve Unit (FRU) to reinforce their lines.

At 9.30am, Angkatan Keadilan Insan Malaysia (Akim) vice-president Harun Abdul Rahman Mohd from Batu Buruk walked into the nomination centre, but caused a stir when he did not file in his papers.

Instead, in a hastily called press conference just outside the centre, Harun surprised everyone by asking voters to throw in their support behind PAS, because "our paths are headed in the same direction".

"Islam is my course, and I am giving way to PAS," he announced.

At 9.45am, Kuala Terengganu businessman Azharudin Mamat @ Adam, 45, walked in alone to the nomination centre to file in his papers.

The nomination period ended at 10am, and one hour is allotted for parties to raise any objections to the candidates who have filed in their papers. The Election Commission confirmed that only three candidates filed in their papers during the allotted period.

Meanwhile, there's a carnival-like atmosphere outside the nomination centre, with PAS and BN supporters shouting slogans, singing party songs and beating drums.

PAS supporters taunt the BN supporters, shouting “Hancur BN! Hidup Islam” and “Calon PAS bersih, jiwa bersih, hati suci!”. Onlookers throng the compound of Hospital Sultanah Nur Zahirah, directly opposite the nomination centre.

http://www.thenutgraph.com

written by ahmadneil, January 06, 2009 11:21:20
There was also PAS supporters shouting" murderers,crooks,liars,bullshitters,balless,askholes,Al tantuya,Bala,C4, cronies,etc.
written by SocratesI, January 06, 2009 11:23:57
My best wishes to Abdul Wahid, and my commisserations to Wan Farid.

Ahmadneil, have you prepared an old shoe just in case Semi-No-Value shows up to campaign?

Vote for Pakatan Rakyat - Vote PAS!
written by ahmadneil, January 06, 2009 11:25:46
Yes, this is the battle which will decide whether Aminah's boyfriend,the Playboy,will be allowed to be the next PM.
written by batsman, January 06, 2009 11:26:09
With only RM8K war chest? But don't worry - the Palestinians have less by comparison.
written by batsman, January 06, 2009 11:27:30
Don't vote for the thieves who steal your oil royalty!
written by borneoman, January 06, 2009 11:27:45
ahmadneil,make sure it is a metal studded boots and dont forget to tremple on the cow dung before you throw it onto semi values face.
written by Rainbowseahorse, January 06, 2009 11:29:13
May Allah/God help PAS candidate Mohd Abdul Wahid Endut to succeed in KT by-election.
Amein!
written by ahmadneil, January 06, 2009 11:37:50
Yes,I have got 2 pairs of shoes,one pair is a cowboy boots with rear spike and another is a wellington boots with the front covered with steel.If I miss the first ,then I have another chance.I'm practicing the throw daily and if you see him with a black eye,you sure know that he bun into one of the shoes.
This morning you see all these crooks,thieves and screwer from umno/BN,parading shamelessly in KT.With all these people ,the defeat of umno will be even more painful.KT voters don't like 'outsiders' coming here to 'show off'.
written by ahmadneil, January 06, 2009 11:43:07
I saw RPK,campaigning like a cow.Many mistakenly thought that he is standing for this election and many did ask him to stand.Man,he did put on some weight!He really still got stamina.Months in Kamunting have prepared him for this arduous task.
written by Kopi37, January 06, 2009 11:50:46
Look for Ahmad Ismail, if he is hiding amongst the crowd, bring him to the limelight! He's good propaganda and let him earn some free shoes as well! smilies/cry.gif
written by lobster, January 06, 2009 11:53:56
RM8K is really not good enough, let's do our part. Since I can't vote, I will give financial support.
written by MAMR, January 06, 2009 11:57:26
KT voters pse exercise your power dont vote fo UMNO/BN-WHY? I just say one point that this UMNO/BN Govt is a true lier -WHY ? Because they said they will review price of oil downward if World oil price keep dropping. As it is now the price of oil is UNDER USD 49. In RM should be lower than RM1.50 per litre.They just forget about it WHY ? because they have power and they are missussing it-WHY ? Because they take us RAKYAT as idiots. We are NOT IDIOTS so show them our power by voting for PAS/PR.
written by temenggong, January 06, 2009 12:11:42
Look at the Nut Graph! They did not report that there are 30,000 Pas supporters there right now at the nomination centre, as opposed to 1,000 umno supporters.

Don't trust the Nut Graph!! They must be paid umno cybertroopers. I have been watching them for sometime.
written by Rainbowseahorse, January 06, 2009 12:14:12
Glaringly, where is DSAI,LKS, & Kapal?
written by ahmadneil, January 06, 2009 12:14:27
Ahmad Ismail,come out and call the chinese 'squatters' again.You will be as famous as Barrak Obama.Where Racist Khir Toyo,come out and help your brother to campaign.They needed you badly.
written by pinsysu, January 06, 2009 12:16:22
i got old golf shoes with metal spikes. any takers? smilies/grin.gif
written by Counterpointer, January 06, 2009 12:16:27
The dwindling support for UMNO through the years at KT is all too clear:

and the days of relying on Postal votes to win may well be over.....

written by Garend, January 06, 2009 12:20:24
I agree totally with temenggong. There is much obvious bias in this reporting. Example.
The number of PAS supporters surge and strain against the barrier, prompting the Federal Reserve Unit (FRU) to reinforce their lines.

PAS supporters taunt the BN supporters, shouting “Hancur BN! Hidup Islam” and “Calon PAS bersih, jiwa bersih, hati suci!”.

Look at all those words. it shows as if the PAS & PR members are like hooligans, while the UMNO supporters are like angels. Booo to you I say. But I do respect Harun Abdul Rahman Mohd from Batu Buruk. at least for once the AKIM ppl are doing the right thing by not watering down the election and putting his support behind PAS.
written by temenggong, January 06, 2009 12:24:29
malaysiakini
(quote)
Meanwhile, a news media reported that the police estimated 20,000 PAS supporters and 4,000 BN supporters have gathered for the nomination.

However, The Star reported there were 30,000 BN supporters and 15,000 PAS supporters.
written by Wudan, January 06, 2009 12:33:47
Anyone know where Nallakaruppan is? Ezam is looking for him to go to KT together. Nalla, please go to KT.
written by Badaksumbu, January 06, 2009 12:57:25
PAS supporters must behave, don't follow what BN supporters are doing-by doing that people would have more confident that PAS is for peace.
written by pokokmangga, January 06, 2009 13:19:28
Every anak anak Bangsa Malaysia must vote for PR and kick out BN/Umnoputras before our beloved Malaysia is lost forever.
written by Debbie, January 06, 2009 14:33:21
I may not be a fan of hudud but I still stand behind you guys. Down with the murderers and coniving thieves. Rakyat, we can make a difference. make the right choice for the future of our children. I think we all dont want headaches.
written by CPY, January 06, 2009 18:33:47
If I'm a voter, I'll fake support 4 BN, by taking their angpow, shouting Long live Chairman A-du-la(Abdullah), but during erection, i'll take panadol! smilies/cheesy.gif