Home arrow The Blogs arrow Letters/Surat arrow Of Malay Hegemony, non-malay malaysians and national unity.

Of Malay Hegemony, non-malay malaysians and national unity. PDF Print E-mail
Tuesday, 06 January 2009 08:02
In recent days, there's been much debate on whether the Malay Special Rights should be preserved. Whether to banish the Malay Special Rights or not - there is no right or wrong answer. There are pros and cons for both answers. Wisemen like Pete and TDM could sit down together and debate all night and end up without any proper outcome.

The Malay Special Rights would instantly make the Malays a priviledged race in this multi-racial country. The orthodox Malays argued that they have all the God-forsaken rights to enjoy these priviledges, for being the sons of soil. On the other hand, the unorthodox Malays such as Pete and Neil, argued that they don't need such priviledges, because they don't want to be treated as handicapped. For them the acceptance of such priviledge would seem to be an indication of the inferiority of their race, thus they developed an abhorrence towards the NEP. The non-Malays, who seem to have inadequate understanding of the predicament that the Malays are facing, supports the idea of banishing the Special Rights that the Malays are enjoying.

Here are the basics:

If it is banished - the Malays will basically learn to stop receiving assistance from the government in climbing the economic ladder, improving themselves academically, socially etc. But how many generations do they need in order to achieve that?

If it is preserved - it will prevent the Malays from ostracism, and it will be easier to guarantee them financial stability, academic advancement, and better position in their own country. But how long will it takes for them to stop relying on it?

And the debate continues...

Whichever it is, I'm sometimes annoyed by the way the Chinese/Indians behaved and reacted towards it. Basically most non-Malays don't quite agree with the NEP and Malay Hegemony. They think it is an unfair policy. Yes, being a Chinese myself, I understand how it feels like to be forced to hire a Malay CEO in your company. And not the forget the pinch felt in your hearts when you see the word ‘quota’. But all these are the results of inadequate understanding of the Malay communities’ predicament. Or perhaps, should I say, these are the results of selfishness? Have you ever try to understand them? There's no need for me to elaborate their predicament and the positions that they find themselves in our country. We have already knew it.

Yes, we have poor Chinese/Indians too. But the rate of poverty is the highest among the Malays. And it is undisputable that they are in fact the sons of soil. So is it wrong to help them first? Perhaps it is time to understand them better, and to accept the painful fact that even the non-malays are of malaysian citizen, they are not the sons of soil. You might argue that they have traces of Chinese/Indian/Arabian blood so they can’t be sons of soil. But because they have adopted the Malay’s way of life and regard themselves as Malay, they can be accepted.

Okay, we are not the sons of soil. Does that mean the government completely deny our rights as citizen? Does that mean our position in this country isn't good enough? No.
Please, be thankful that we're here in this peaceful country - Malaysia. We can compare Malaysian-Chinese with Indonesian-Chinese. Chinese in Indonesia don’t speak/write/comprehend Chinese language anymore. They have indon names rather than Chinese. In addition, no Chinese schools and Chinese new year for them. They've lost their true identity, they're not Chinese anymore. Compare those with what we possess and are guaranteed to us under the Malaysian Constitution. So do you get the picture now? Be Very thankful. We should all stop the grumbling. So what if we need to hire CEOs? Our company won’t go bankrupt. So what if sometimes our chance are being denied? Work harder, i'm sure we can shine in somewhere else. Learn to 'yan' (in cantonese), or tolerance. And try to understand other races better and last but not least, respect.

Before I end, I'd love discuss a little about national unity. For pure and total national unity, there's only one single way - the non-Malays should give up their culture, mother-tongue language, way of life, racial identity, religion etc. and adopt the malay's instead. How many of us are willing to do so? But we didn't breach any law by not doing so, so aren't we lucky? I guess that's what makes our country so special and admirable. Somehow, there will be racial strife. It is inevitable. But if we can all develop better understand among each other, and with much compromise and tolerance, a close-to-perfect national unity is actually not far away. If taking a step backward could prevent racial strife, why not?

Finally, if what I've written have disturbed your feelings, I offer my sincere apology. Some might refute some of the contents. But hey, this isn’t an erudite text. My solutions are not complete. And I didn't state that it must be done my way. I'm just expressing my thoughts!

- CWL

Comments (34)Add Comment
written by Rhan, January 06, 2009 08:24:54
Stupid article from a stupid idiot.
written by mountain man, January 06, 2009 08:25:42
Let us be clear here, it is rather UMNO's hegemony NOT the Malay hegemony. It is an insult to equal all Malays to those corrupted UMNO morons and liars.
written by wes wong, January 06, 2009 08:28:03
You seem to not understand that the people who are against these policies do so NOT because they are racist or so whatever....it is because after so many years of it being used, it still does not solve the problem. It is ENRICHING a small group of malays and not helping the majority of the poor people.

No one is disputing the malay rights, just that the policies are used wrongly!!!! Furthermore, continuing on with the policy in the future will just lead to a dead end for Malaysia. How can the minority of the population support the majority of the population??? Sooner or later, when the money runs out, the Malays will have to stand up for themselves. Why not do it at this early stage rather than wait until later??? Remember, you have to learn to walk first before you run.
written by Malaysiaputra, January 06, 2009 08:28:07
Yes, we have poor Chinese/Indians too. But the rate of poverty is the highest among the Malays.
====

I have observed that many many , especailly the Malays have the wrong impression that removing the NEP as it currently is and REPLACING with a fairer policy which help ALL races, is going to deprive the Malays of govt assistance.

The fact is that the Malay poor will continue to get govt assistance PLUS the non Malay poor will also get assistance. This means Malays who do not qualify will not get govt assistance , unlike the present policy where mainly the Umnoputras are the ones getting assistance.

Continue discrimination by the govt base of race,religion and political affiliation and not on need, will only further erode national unity at all level.

Making all non Malays qualify as Malays through religious conversion etc is not going to bring national unity. It is fairness and mutual tolerance that will, with time.

written by loosecannon, January 06, 2009 08:32:00
What rubbish. So you think the non-bumis should forever be the door mats for the bumis? How about the natives of Sabah and Sarawak? I don't see them living the privilege of the NEP. And how about the bumi and non-bumi intermarriages that are already in 3rd generation? Act like a door mat and you shall be treated like a door mat my friend. Do you now wonder why some people think they are "superior" than others? Because people like CWL desire to be treated like 2nd class citizen.
written by est, January 06, 2009 08:35:07
We can discuss "the NEP should continue" and "the NEP should NOT continue" till cows come home and it will never end and there is no one right or wrong answer to it. So it the "the Special Rights of Malays should remain" and "the Special Rights of Malays should NOT remain" issue. No one straight right or wrong answer.

BUT asked a NON-Bumi, if the situation had been the other way round, would you want it taken away? Many would probably say NO, I guess. So it is completely understandable why many Bumi (if not the majority) would be dead against the idea of taking away the so-called special rights.

The question here is not about whether the so-called "special rights" should stay or not. It's about now that we are a 50year old nation, where do we go from here. What was the situation then 50 years ago that lead to the existence of so-called special rights. Why is it that it was a "tenable" proposition then and less tenable or perhaps unacceptable now to this generations. Why? It is indeed very difficult if not completely unacceptable to those who were born here to both parents who are Malaysians. Are we saying that the moment you are born, you are to be distinguished from the guy/gal born in the next bed by reason your ancestry difference or ethnic origin? Not that easily swallowed for anyone.

On a broader scope, the key issue is where do Malaysia want to go from here? Do you want to live the next 50 years or a hundred years till eternity having to grapple amongst Malaysia the idea of "I Melayu, you China, dia Indian, he Iban or Kadazan." I think this line should blur over time and every INDIVIDUAL born a Malaysian should see himself as Malaysian irrespective of ethnic origin if we were to progress as a nation. On this note, I think the bold step has to be taken to receognise Malaysian as Malaysian and simple that. The idea of what is your "Bangsa" should start to blur from now on and the government of the day must initiate this bold step by breaking the chain of identifying people by bangsa. If you sincerely wants nation unity, this has to stop here. Reminding every one of their ethnic origin day in day out right from the day he goes to primary one in school, and then bombard him with the ideas of bumiputra and non-bumiputra all along the way from primary education to varsity and during the entire working live and then tell them that they must work together is sheer NONSENSE. If the government of the day is sincere about national unity, remove the ONE BARRIER that remind people that they are different.

There is a big difference between people themselves identifying themselves as being difference but is not condone by the government of the day compared to differences is emphasised by the government of the day.
written by freerpk, January 06, 2009 08:47:54
Why are we talking about races....the POOR & UNDERPRIVILEDGE(see no race being mentioned) must always be assisted in life. This is not happening with the policies of this government.
written by USJ 6, January 06, 2009 08:52:16
Hey, CWL...how much have you been paid by the UMNO goons to put up this stupid article...?
written by Taikohtai, January 06, 2009 09:01:38
Not even kindergarden stuff, this article.
Can't imagine how CWL cannot see beyond the motive of BN's policies after all these years. Mate, BN is never about integration, one nation or national unity.
NEP started on a noble idea but the whole idea got hijacked from day 1 of implementation. And that's not the frightening point. The scary part was how the whole gomen machinery was manipulated to cater for the interests of the inner sanctum! Good riddance BN. May KT be the next bastion to fall in PR's favour.
written by alan cheong, January 06, 2009 09:14:00
get your facts right, bro. malays are NOT sons of the soil. the orang asli are. the so-called malays are exactly like the rest of us descendants of immigrants, ie PENDATANGS, too. however, since we're (mostly) born on this soil, we're locals, too.give the orang asli what the so-called malays are hogging right now, and we MALAYSIANS have no problems with it. but when hypocrites, claim jumpers, squatters try to lord it over others, THAT is when it becomes unacceptable. and when these kughang hajau play the religio-cum-race-cum-politico platform to brainwash the unthinking herd, it becomes unbearable.time for change, time to GROW UP.
written by alan cheong, January 06, 2009 09:14:50
don't be a foolish apologist, or are you a coward?
written by ahmadneil, January 06, 2009 09:19:20
Quote.... the unorthodox Malays such as Pete and Neil, argued that they don't need such priviledges, because they don't want to be treated as handicapped ...
CWL,you are shaming us malays again!What crap are you writing.You are insulting the malay intelligence.Ya! we need help but help never comes for those who needed most.Those who don't need help are given all the help that they don't even need.The gov't is only barking about NEP for their own benefit and we the malays never get a grain of rice.Those who got it are rich friends,relatives and cronies.
When I ask for JPA scholarship,I was almost bankrupted by the airtickets and logging becos I have to fly to KL for those unending interviews which are nothing but bullshit.In the end I got nothing but debts.What crap is the gov't propagating!Go around the malay kampongs and see for yourself,how many 'true' malays have benefited from NEP.I don't want to prolong my headache becos in the end it's I who will be on the losing end.My panadol is running out!
written by ahmadneil, January 06, 2009 09:30:57
I ,as a malay is truly insulted by this posting becos I never got any shit from the gov't.This posting remind me of the tradegies and hardships I face during my days in college and university.When my mum's money ran out,my gov't never came to my help.This so call 'saviour' was a mirage.In fact I was left at the mercy of the college that I went.I struggled,fight and suffered day and night ,saving every cents for my education.Today,I dare say the gov't didn't help me with 1 cent.So the above posting greatly malu me.
written by The dragonheart, January 06, 2009 09:35:59
Yeah YM RPK is right about the Chinese. They will grumble until the cows comes home. They are not sincere in what they said.

When comes to belongings they are selfish. what is theirs will be theirs but what belongs to others they will try their luck to own it. In politics they will stand far away behind YM RPK and YB DSAI. In Business they will bribe and licked the UMNO goons as long as they get the tender and projects. So who actually benefit the NEP? of course the Chinese tycoon and businessmen and the dirty UMNO people. These are facts but no Chinese and UMNO would accept nor admit it. Too bad if all of you here do not agree with me But I am damn bloody right! Sent all those Chinese bribers and corrupted UMNO Goons to HELL!
written by Garend, January 06, 2009 09:46:55
this article does provoke a lot of ppl. LoL But of course I fully understand why. You see What CWL wrote has it's own reasoning and I don't blame him for this reasoning because if he is Chinese it's only natural because this is the crap BN have been feeding us all the times. They are playing with our fear that we may not continue to enjoy the peace and can't earn our money.Lets face it for Chinese money IS PRIORITY In school and even around everywhere i've been told that we are been treated good enough already. we should not Question the special privileges. Be thankful with what you have etc. Oh ya on several occasions, ppl told me that they are thankful for the NEP. the reason is it makes the Malays Complacent and lazy. therefore they can't compete with us Chinese. and thus secure a better and easier future for us.
But the MAIN POINT here is that no one is really questioning the "Son of the Soil" thingie of the MALAYS. the problem is that it is a whole corrupted scheme which only benefits the few. Look at the Sabahan and the Sarawakians. aren't they the "Son of the Soil" too? Why are they left in such desolated situation. and what Ahmadneil say is true. If this Special Privilege is really helping how come after 50 years the Malays are still with the highest rate of poverty? Can you answer that? You mean with 50 years with all those incentives the Malays still can't get up? Then you are truly insulting them. The MAIN REASON is because the Special Privilege is only by name to them. they don't get the majority of the benefits.. only those who belong to the elite group gets them. SO I say give help to where help is needed and not to the ELITES.
written by borneoman, January 06, 2009 09:48:25
Whichever it is, I'm sometimes annoyed by the way the Chinese/Indians behaved and reacted towards it. Basically most non-Malays don't quite agree with the NEP and Malay Hegemony.,
CWL,if you need to present your own views by all mean please do so but DONT YOU EVER try to speak on our behalf!
written by CPY, January 06, 2009 09:56:50
CWL, you may give up everything to become cinathir, & marries 4 wives, but as far as im concern, the minority has the rights to maintain their culture. Forcible assimilation is against HR! Look @ Soviet Union & Peoples Republic of China, the minorities there are somehow treated like 1st class citizens. smilies/angry.gif UMNO dogs!
written by truthbespoken, January 06, 2009 10:01:18
CWL's posting reflects very shallow thinking of the real political scenario in the country. CWL is nothing more than a Mansor Puteh in expressing his warped understanding of the biased social reality in Malaysia. This CWL is very well an unwanted stupid apologist in MT!
written by Fat Zorro, January 06, 2009 10:07:53
CWL, you live in Malaysia orsomewhere else? You seem rather ignorant of the true practice of the NEP. Non Malays are far from unhappy about NEP policy for Malays. The non Malays are not stupid not too realise there must be balance of wealth education etc fairly ditributed amongst all races. The only thing in the NEP policy the non Malays are unhappy about are how unfairly the policy is being actually implemented for the Malays. The present policy benefits the same UMNO/MCA/MIC cronies okay. Maybe you are one of those cronies needing favour from UMNO and cringed having to employ a stupid UMNO goon (instead of more qualified and able Malays)as CEO of your company....you sure sound like a crony of Dr.M
written by SocratesI, January 06, 2009 11:01:17
CWL,

You are so immature in your reasoning (if I can call it such), and so juvenile in your outlook, I was tempted to give commenting on your "shitarticle" a miss, but the topic is too important to pass up.To me there are only 2 types of people in Malaysia - the "Haves" and the "Have Nots", regardless of race, religion or creed. Why should 1 race benefit from these so-called bumiputra privileges which are in reality "Virtual Crutches", and not the rest of the poor people?

Let me tell you why. This bumiputra privileges thingy was architected and engineered by the UMNOputras to garner support from the race that has the most people in Malaysia, and used to hoodwink (pull the wool over their eyes) the Malays into thinking they had palpable advantages over other races, so that these Malays will vote for the Barisan Najis and the UMNOputras and their cronies will stay in power and continue pillaging and plundering the country!The BULK of the "benefits" from the bumiputra privileges policies are siphoned to the UMNOputras and their cronies, you MORON ! That is why most Malays are still living below the poverty line after 50 years of "bumiputra privileges" - which is why I call it "Virtual Crutches".

And for this, the Malays must endure humiliating remarks like "Orang cacat need help" which is why they need these "bumiputra privileges". And dragonheart, bribery and corruption is exactly what siphons the benefits to the UMNOputras and their cronies as they use the bumiputra policies to force the non-Malays to pay them to get business and earn a living. Which is why all "efforts" to eradicate corruption has come to nought as the UMNOputras pay lip service only while greedily stretching out both hands to snatch the cash payouts! So much for the "bumiputra privileges"!
MT, Your choice of letting MORONS like this one publish shitarticles like this demean MT!
written by Counterpointer, January 06, 2009 11:17:45
CWL,

Guess your vocab doesn't have the words equality and meritocracy other than tolerance.

You can go right ahead and practise and master your tolerance skills by the way the commenters are coming at you.

'yan'.......yawn.
written by batsman, January 06, 2009 11:18:04
There are 2 types of national unity. the UMNO version and the rakyat's version. UMNO's version means that UMNO must be in charge. If UMNO is in charge, it promises national unity on its own terms, but if it is not in charge, it threatens the rakyat with national disunity and racial tensions, racial riots, - the works.

Which type are you proposing?
written by cruzeiro, January 06, 2009 11:32:15
cwl,
With such amazing reasoning skills, I nominate you for the (drum roll please)
- Umno/ Mansor Puteh award of the year!!
written by pokokmangga, January 06, 2009 12:52:25
Malaysia with a population of about 28 million and the so called 'malay' population of 16.8 million, they want to be called the 'supreme race'. There is no such race called 'malay'. Looked at the Nazi Germany and see what happened to them. CWL you must be stupid stupid or STUPID.
written by fletcher, January 06, 2009 13:36:41
Cwl, with your reasoning NEP will be forever be there cos the population of the bumiputra keep on increasing and there will be no ends to that. Initially is just for 30 years and we have given them more than 50 years of handicap. The problem is not with the other race but the umnoputra whom have sucked all the benefits to themselves.
written by exzonerator, January 06, 2009 13:51:44
For the sake of national unity, CWL proposes that:- All non-Malays should start eating nasi lemak only for breakfast (no more roti chanai, bak kut teh, etc...), wear traditional baju melayu (no western-style pants, ties, suits, skirts, etc...), celebrate Hari Raya only (no CNY, Deepavali, Christmas, etc...), speak BM only (no English, Chinese, Tamil, etc..), ......

The irony of the above is that the author's statement quote :"If taking a step backward could prevent racial strife, why not?". It seems that the author has unknowingly (or deliberately) insulted the Malays by saying that adopting the Malay culture, mother tounge language, identity, religion and way of life is a step backward. What an article filled with paradox and irony. Keep it coming.
written by cruzeiro, January 06, 2009 14:21:58
written by exzonerator, January 06, 2009 13:51:44
CWL proposes that:- All non-Malays should start eating nasi lemak only for breakfast (no more roti chanai, bak kut teh, etc...), wear traditional baju............
===========================

You forgot - you also have to "PL" (potong L...) smilies/cheesy.gif smilies/cheesy.gif
written by wartank, January 06, 2009 14:43:14
Where have you been, CWL?
We, at MT are currently at the stage where we look at helping the poor, irrespective of race, period. Special rights is a different issue.

You kept mentioning Chinese, Indian, non-Malay, etc. I felt that either consciously or sub-consciously, you are not ready for national intergration.
Chinese are people from China and Indian, people from India.
That is why you find people from Indonesia, Indonesian. They can be Javanese, Bugis, Balinese..even Chinese but they are definitely Indonesian. You cannot find Malay though, except those from Malaysia.
Me, I'm a Malaysian of Chinese descent.
Some cultural rituals should only be dropped to make way for common sense and progress..and not the other way round.
Maintaining our identity is one thing, but accepting ourselves as Malaysians wholeheartedly is another.
Do you consider yourself a true and complete Malaysian, CWL? From your article, one cannot be sure.

We non-Malays are actually also at fault and willingly let the Govt. manipulate us for wanting to retain our 'identity'. Remember, it ALWAYS takes two hands to clap.!
written by ylcc, January 06, 2009 15:43:47
Heh! This guy sounds exactly like my MCA brother-in-law! "You do not know how lucky you are, look at the Chinese suffering in Indonesia, don't rock the boat, we are the ones to suffer, they are the majority, riots can happen ... blah! blah! blah!" My sister is DAP, but she voted for opposition (in her state, it was UMNO vs PAS) ... sounds like "Hamas & Israel", doesn't it? So, batsman/dragonheart ... not all Chinese are insincere ..... there are sincere and insincere Malays & Indians too. It takes all sorts to make the world go round!

Interestingly, I am reading a book by Patrick Keith, a journalist who had followed Tunku Abdul Rahman closely, and who later sadly left for Australia when he became disillusioned with the way racial politics were being played out in both Malaysia and Singapore.

I am going to share with the readers something that caught my eye when Patrick Keith talked about the Malays in Singapore (for readers who are anti-Singapore, please keep an open mind ... it has nothing to do with LKY, and it has nothing to do with resentment of special privileges on my part ... please just note the principle/logic).

Quote " Lee Kuan Yew's meeting on July 19 was attended by over a thousand people from 101 Malay organisations ... He told them why he could not agree to special quotas for Malays in jobs, business licences, taxis and so on. Such handouts would never get anybody out of poverty. The root problem was education. Too few Malays went to secondary schools, even fewer to universities. Most seemed content with a primary education, leaving them unqualified for better jobs. This had to be changed if the Malays wished to catch up with the other races.

Lee's belief was in further education for the Malays and training them to compete on equal terms with non-Malays. It was the only DECENT and HONOURABLE solution - the ONLY solution. Lee said his government was ready to give the Malays every possible assistance in education. In fact it had already offered them free eudcation right up to university level."

Today, the Singapore Malays proudly compete with the other races on merits. They no longer require or are entitled to any special assistance from the government.
written by carribeanking7, January 06, 2009 17:31:20
I am speechless, there are so many general fallacies in the article it dumbfounds me where to start.

Is CWL the acronym for Cunning White Lies ? I will just second Cruzeiro nominating him for "Mansor Puteh award of the year!! ".

written by Sinewy, January 06, 2009 18:50:19
CWL, talk is easy. If you are for real, I wonder any of your relations have suffered from the discrimination in the face of the pseudo-apartheid NEP. If you have no knowledge of it then please shut your bloody mouth because I have personally suffered in silence from it throughout my life, from a young innocent school kid to a struggling bread earner. Talking things based on priciple is easy, if you have not tasted the bitter pill, what do you know? Eventhough I have been deprived many times by the discriminating NEP, I alwats agree that the poor must be assisted by a compassionate government, and in this case most of those received help will be malays because of the number of lower income household. By all means help them to be able to sustain themselves financially in the long run, but don't have policies that can be used intentionally to deprive other races. Stupid move.
written by gorshan, January 07, 2009 00:34:05
cwl, when did they released you from tanjong rambutan? smilies/grin.gif smilies/grin.gif smilies/grin.gif smilies/angry.gif
written by mafiaa, January 08, 2009 14:40:59
SITI NURHALIZA, MISBUN SIDEK ,SHALIN,AND MANY MALAYS SUCCEED IN THEIR OWN FIELD NOT BECAUSE OF HAK ISTIMEWA ,BUT BECAUSE THEY WORK VERY HARD....TRAINED VERY HARD...THERE IS NO SPECIAL RIGHT....THATS MERITROCACY.CAN YOU IMAGINE AN ENTERTAINER SUPERSTAR, BadMINTON STAR, FOOTBALLER,ETC THAT SUCCEED, THAT ACHIEVED BY SPECIAL RIGHT...?
written by ultraman_dyna, January 09, 2009 20:57:13
CPY,

Look at former Soviet Union & Peoples Republic of China, the minorities there are somehow treated like 1st class citizens.

Yes brother CPY, I 100% agree with you on how former USSR and China treats their minorities 1st class. Look at Muslims majority in Chechnya being killed w/out mercy as they have been categorized as 'terrorist' by the Russian government. Chinese government exaggerating violence to crackdown on movements committed to democracy and freedom of religion by Muslims minorities with a population of 24 million only!

You chose two very bad example of countries mate in your argument.Take Aussie/Ireland/UK la brother.Know your facts right.

But, I agree that the Majorities in any country should treat the minorities better. Majority = human being , Minority = human being.

In a democracy country, the majority will always 'win'.They set and implement policy for everybody. Therefore, its a must that the Majority will hear the Minority's grievance. We are many colors but we all have one common dream that is to pursuit happiness.

CWL is just exercising his freedom of speech and pen his thoughts. He got a lot of flak for doing so. Why are we condemning his thoughts and calling names of him. I thought democracy is about listening to all parties and have an open mind. This is childish democracy. Cursing is a curse. That is why they call it cursing. Act like an adult! Give constructive criticism. If you want to rant do it in your head. If you like to sideline people's idea just because its different from your thinking/believe/idea, than you are no better than the current regime.