Home arrow The Blogs arrow News/Commentaries arrow Najib says KT vote is not about him

Najib says KT vote is not about him PDF Print
Tuesday, 06 January 2009 07:54

By Adib Zalkapli, The Malaysian Insider

Deputy Prime Minister Datuk Seri Najib Razak played down suggestions tonight that the Kuala Terengganu by-election is a referendum on his leadership.

Pakatan Rakyat (PR) is already planning to make the poll a test of support for Najib as he prepares to take over as prime minister in March, but the DPM said tonight the election could well be remembered as the beginning of Barisan Nasional's (BN) recovery.

But Najib will still be feeling the heat as BN election director as it is the first poll since the March transition plan was hammered out last October.

PR has already served notice of their intention of using the murder of Altantuya Shaariibuu as ammunition for the campaign.

Five PKR Youth Wing leaders were arrested this morning for putting up posters with pictures of the slain Mongolian woman in what is clearly an attempt to discredit Najib.

The DPM has been trying to dodge links to the murder ever since his close associate Abdul Razak Baginda was arrested and charged for abetting the murder in 2006.

Tonight, the DPM brushed aside suggestions that a victory for BN in the by-election would be an endorsement of his leadership.

"I have heard so many thing about the by-election. Some said this is a referendum for me and some said this is a test for (Menteri Besar) Datuk Ahmad Said. They can make any speculation, but most importantly this election is for the people," said Najib to loud cheers from party workers when he launched Umno's youth, wanita and puteri wings' campaign machinery tonight.

In his speech, he declared that Kuala Terengganu would not be another Permatang Pauh, referring to the August by-election in Penang which saw Datuk Seri Anwar Ibrahim defeat BN's Datuk Arif Shah Omar with a big majority.

"This is an election that will test the BN's capability after the March 8 election. After we fell in Permatang Pauh, we pledged that Kuala Terengganu will be remembered as the beginning of BN's recovery," he said to thousands of party workers who packed the hall at the Islamic Civilisational Park, near here.

With a campaign platform themed 'People Friendly' Najib vowed that party leaders are ready to win the hearts and minds of the voters.

"I will be here for days to work with you and to ensure BN's victory," he said.

Najib also reiterated his promise that BN's candidate Datuk Wan Ahmad Farid Wan Salleh, who resigned as deputy minister and Senator, in order to run for the Parliamentary seat would be reappointed to his post if he wins.

"The Pas candidate will not become a deputy minister," said Najib, referring to Pas's Abdul Wahid Endut, who is also Wakaf Mempelam assemblyman.

He admitted that internal bickering was the cause of BN's poor performance in the last general election and the Permatang Pauh by-election.

"We lost not because the opposition was strong, but we lost because we fought among ourselves," said Najib.

"In the last election some leaders kept the money meant for the election for the Umno election instead. We gave money for the party not for them to win the division chief's post," he added.

Tomorrow, Najib along with Wan Farid, will lead the procession of party supporters to the nomination centre.

written by DreamLady, January 06, 2009 08:14:45
Najib, why only now, after so many years when you have travelled across the world umpteen times that all of a sudden you remember to take notice of the people of Trengganu who have been there long before you were born? Stop bull-shitting, you are here to campaign as the result means heavens and earth to you!!

To forewarn you: you and your UMNO regime is going to lose BIG TIME!!!
written by mountain man, January 06, 2009 08:17:59
Najis, like it or not the whole world is watching not only KT by-election but also the C4 case of Mongolian beauty with so many fundamental questions unanswered.....cannot simply say I don't know lah, rakyat tak bodoh lagi, who will believe?

how immigration records can be erased and no police investigation?
how did murderer obtain C4 and no police investigation?
did the murderer killed the lady for fun, i.e. without any motive, unbelievable lah?
how come all the suspects have some kinda of association with you, razak baginda and body guards?
what was the reason for changing prosecution team and judges?
how come prosecution did not appeal against acquittal of baginda?
how come suspected murderers always brought to court with face cover, are they the real murderers or some other soul?

the list of questions goes on and on, please answer lah!

written by CitizenBodohland, January 06, 2009 08:43:43
For UMNO, it is all about money...
The question now is where does the money comes from?
Taxpayers?.. Commissions?
written by USJ 6, January 06, 2009 08:43:50
Cheers...PAS & PR.....Cheers.....KT Voters.
written by Taikohtai, January 06, 2009 08:50:26
Like hell it's not about a referendum on Najis! C4 is so quick to deflect any negative impact KT may have for him and ever so typical of BN's conduct, exceptionally quick to take whatever credit should KT comes his way.
KT means oil money to BN. How can the plunderers ignore the biggest honey jar?
written by ahmadneil, January 06, 2009 08:57:28
umno will not lost with a big majority,but with Najis presence,the lost will be massive.His reputation is what matters!
written by Counterpointer, January 06, 2009 09:36:05
Najis, that is so unlike you, already going into face saving talk before KT is lost for you.
written by DezMalaysia, January 06, 2009 09:45:51
I have nothing to say... pictures are the best describe about him.

written by SamSan, January 06, 2009 09:55:26
If Najib is sincere in ensuring BN victory, then my best advice to him is for him and his scumbag cronies to disapper altogether from KT and let the local BN Trengganu folk run and man the campaign. That way hopefully people will forget about Altantuya and other BN crimes at the federal level.
written by borneoman, January 06, 2009 09:58:45
sour grape najib!you know very well bn umno will lost the seat so you pretend to downplay the issue.of course its all about you because it will be your " baptism of fire" before you sit on the pm stool at pj.
written by DreamLady, January 06, 2009 09:59:22
Haili, that is incredibly creative of you! Hats off for the passion you have to demolish UMNO regime through your artistic talent !

Have a very blessed day, Haili!!!
written by Fat Zorro, January 06, 2009 10:12:32
He might as well say this election is about his dead father, the creator of the NEP policy, Tun Razak. He is already practising his defence when BN loses the KT seat!!!
written by Democrats, January 06, 2009 10:18:52
So what is the test of your leadership, Najib? By the number of people attending your speechs and visits? Typical commonwealth government mentality, if lose, not my problem, if win, my efforts! Porah! Go take a long walk on a short pier......
written by Counterpointer, January 06, 2009 10:19:22
Saifool, come 'ere, Najis needs to look at your rear again.

written by ahmadneil, January 06, 2009 10:56:40
For every election we will keep Altantuya spirit alive.Najis will forever be haunted by her spirit.
written by Dualties, January 06, 2009 11:30:37
Najib Razak:

Not forgetting that you have lost Permatang Pauh and going to loose KT too.

Will you quit if failed to capture the Parliamentary seat in KT by-election 2009 or be forced to step down as PM in March 2009, especially when you have personally strategized

Likewise, UMNO has pressured Ahmad Badawi to step down as PM after the March 2008 GE's poor performance?

written by EUGTAN, January 06, 2009 12:08:37
Let's compare Najib with Bill Richardson, the Obama nominee for Commerce Secretary. The state (independent) corruption agency has started investigating links between a computer company and the state finances. Nothing has been proven. No links have been established between the company and Richardson. No personal accusations against him. What does Richardson do? He withdraws his candidacy in order to spare the nation the agony of a long Senate confirmation hearing. What do Malaysian leaders do? They hold on to their positions to shield themselves from the accusations. They never challenge the accusers in court. And this is a country that in its self-rigtheousness never constrain itself when it comes to criticizing the US.
written by densemy, January 06, 2009 13:22:59
I'm sure the voters will see it as a means of pointing out that they dont want Najib as PM... regardless of what HE says
written by rpremkumar2u, January 07, 2009 07:15:53
Najib, Najib. You are the DPM. When PKR gets a resounding aye and a thumping majority, you will realize that it is not whether BN candidate will lose; it is by what margin he is going to lose. This is surely something that is going to haunt you since there is nothing sub-judice about the rakyat in KT going to 'sebulat suara' reject you and your absurd propaganda. You cannot give any walk over because this time, finally, you are going to be walked all over. If I say the rakyat in KT are going to give you and your policy assurances a resounding slap will be a bit too crude. As I am not as a bit crude like you.