Home arrow The Blogs arrow News/Commentaries arrow DR M says that Wan Farid is a bad choice for KT (Updated)

DR M says that Wan Farid is a bad choice for KT (Updated) PDF Print E-mail
Monday, 05 January 2009 18:04

By Lee Wei Lian, The Malaysian Insider

Dr. Mahathir may have jeopardised Barisan Nasional's (BN) chances in the crucial Kuala Terengganu by-election when he said that the ruling coalition's candidate, Datuk Wan Ahmad Farid Wan Salleh, is a bad choice and merely a proxy.

“The choice of the candidate is really very bad because people see him as a proxy to be used if Najib becomes Prime Minister,” the former prime minister said.

This condemnation of the BN's candidate is seen as another swipe at Prime Minister Datuk Seri Abdullah Ahmad Badawi.

“The candidate was the prime minister's choice because he was working with the prime minister,” he added.

Wan Ahmad, the former deputy home minister and member of the Dewan Negara, who resigned both posts last Friday, will contest against Wakaf Mempelam state assemblyman Mohd Abdul Wahid Endut of  PAS.

Even without Dr Mahathir's remarks, Pakatan Rakyat (PR) was expected to use his close links with Abdullah to attack him in the campaign.

This latest bombshell by Dr Mahathir could lead to a repeat of the March 8 general elections where his attacks on the government and calls for a stronger opposition were credited with helping the opposition to their biggest electoral gains ever.

Dr Mahathir's attacks were widely perceived to be personal in nature, and a calculated strategy to force his successor from power.

The prime minister became a focus of Dr Mahathir's attacks when he was blamed for the reversal of several of Dr Mahathir's pet projects including the crooked bridge to Singapore and the decision by Proton to offload Italian motorcycle maker MV Agusta for one euro.

Dr Mahathir, who is Proton's advisor, had supported Proton's  purchase of MV Agusta and was bitterly opposed to its sale.

In the Permatang Pauh by-election last August, Dr Mahathir had predicted that the BN candidate Datuk Arif Shah Omar Shah would lose but with a reduced margin.

Comments (41)Add Comment
written by ahmadneil, January 05, 2009 18:12:15
Today Racist mahathir speaks the language that we all understand.He is on the same frequency as us.
written by ahmadneil, January 05, 2009 18:14:28
Not only him,all the choices make by umno are bad choices.Ya lah! stuffing proxies everywhere,even in toilets!
written by AuntyG, January 05, 2009 18:20:26
Pity this Loktor Madhatter left umNO, otherwise he may be able to appoint his own proxy leh!!!
Ya, lets listen to the old goat this time round - BeEnd's choice is a bad choice for KT, so PAS is a better choice, yakah???
written by Democrats, January 05, 2009 18:29:33
Dear Tun,

Speaking of wrong choices, here are some for you to ponder upon.

(1) ABB as prime minister
(2) Ops Lalang
(3) KLIA
(4) Petronas Twin Towers
(5) F1 Sepang
(6) Crooked Bridge
(7) Semi Value as Works Minister
(smilies/cool.gif Sacking of Judges
(9) Framing of Anwar
etc.......

Shall I go on????
agree 127
written by onnetline, January 05, 2009 18:30:47
The 'living dead' carTUN from Kedah has spoken again! And of course, the usual rubbish that he preaches a lot!
written by hjab, January 05, 2009 18:33:28
Tun, why don't you stand as a calon bebas and fill in the nomination form tomorrow? See whether UMNO voters would choose you or Wan Farid (read: Pak Lah & SIL Sdn Bhd) ? smilies/grin.gif
written by Hakim Joe, January 05, 2009 18:36:02
Wow!!! After so many many many many years, finally he dares to speak the truth.
Welcome back to humanity, Tun!
(Or is it old age that is getting to him???)

written by onnetline, January 05, 2009 18:46:03
Where's the cleaner ?
We need to remove this piece of shit a.k.a. MahaTAHI that is still lying around here.
written by hjab, January 05, 2009 18:46:45
ouuuccchhhhhhh....if i didn't wear my sarcasm hat, my comment above do sound like 99.99% feedbacks of his blog, he's the one and only saviour of this country smilies/grin.gif
written by eloofk, January 05, 2009 18:47:28
No! No! No! Dont be fooled by this cunning old fox. He is not only trying to bring down ABB and destroy UMNO, he's trying to tell all the warlords that he controls UMNO and anyone trying to stifle his plans of milking more money from his Milk Bank will be run down by him. A very clear message to Najib not to mess around with him.
written by DreamLady, January 05, 2009 18:49:14
Mahathir, for the first time in your life, you did something worth mentioning: to provide a solid and powerful ammunition for Pakatan Rakyat to fire and destroy the UMNO regime...

Thank you, Mahathir!!! With your indirect blessing, Pakatan is going to win BIG!!!
written by ahmadneil, January 05, 2009 18:49:28
The guilt have finally overtaken him.This is what he did for 22 years,stuffing proxies all over the country to keep him alive.
written by adan, January 05, 2009 18:52:15
MM 'S observation that the BN'S candidate is a proxy for AAB is probably based on his own experience as PM. He appointed his 'own men'(=his proxis) to crucial posts in all important government institutions to serve him EXCLUSIVELY as errand boys and running dogs. In any case,he is in his usual self with the expected remark -creating and causing confusion among UMNO members.
written by Hope4all, January 05, 2009 18:59:01
Tun speaks again. Home Ministry tak boleh sentuh dia. Siapa lagi ahli politik atau icon negara yang boleh bercakap mengikut pendirian diri sendiri tanpa risiko ISA? Tun baru kembali dari Pelabuhan aden nasihati mahasiswa dari timur tengah mengenai kejayaan Malaysia sebagai sebuah negara di Asia Tenggara.

I tak selalu setuju dengan Tun, kadang-kadang juga tak setuju langsung, tapi respek itu ada. Sama-sama orang Malaysia.
written by asguard, January 05, 2009 20:55:16
Well... he did it again this in favour of PR!
written by Motherchell, January 05, 2009 21:35:19
Thank you TDM for the support . We know PR will wipe out WAN. He may get some votes from Musa's blue clad men(phantom voters-- wondering too if Musa will live thro this elections). They have come here to see the clashes of the century like we were some African Republic!
Just a note TDM, be careful with this fellows from Putrajaya. Wan is a sharpshooter , plus you never know --- they may be scheming with the help of UNCLE Pet to fix you up with some sodomy charge. You know what goes around comes around!
http://sjsandteam.wordpress.com/
written by Pangkis Pangazou, January 05, 2009 22:11:02
Talk about SHOOTING ONESELF IN THE FOOT!
written by Fairminded, January 05, 2009 22:14:32
DM is such a hypocrite. I still remember him indirectly criticizing LKY by saying that if he (DM) retires he will not be "senior minister or mentor or anything" and if I go, I will go. Now he is trying to run the government from the outside. Why dont he fade into the woodworks? Simply because he still wanted his hand in the pork barrel to help his children. Gosh, I hope that the rakyat will be smart enough to throw him and BN out once and for all.
written by alpha100, January 05, 2009 22:16:58
Wan Farid was going to lose anyway! But guess now they got new scrap goat - TDM!
written by Kotadamansara73, January 05, 2009 22:52:40
IS all power play. This Mahathir has no heart for Malaysia.He don't care about justice and equality. He only cares that his son goes into power. Because he is so afraid of Pakatan Rakyat will come into power and dig his shits out.
written by othman hitam, January 05, 2009 22:54:06
As far I am concerned, anyone from united malays national organization or its macai parties, is a bad choice period
written by yy88, January 05, 2009 22:54:32
You cannot distinguish whether he is telling the truth or lies. He can repeat a lie often enough to become a truth, he can twist and turn a lie into truth with his forked tongue. If Wan Farid wins, he says I told you so.If Wan Farid lost, he will claim that KT dislike Pak lah, as Wan Farid is his proxy. With age catching up with him, he can be forgetful, and the senility can cause him to be amnesia selectively. With him around, UMNO can be a circus. With him around, the Rakyat has a perpetual distructive enemy at its doorstep.
written by azee72, January 05, 2009 23:01:21
PAS.
Pls use the video on Mahathir comments about " WAF is Pak Lah Proxy",put the video footing in Bahasa and spread around KT during election.
3000 votes will swing to PAS.
Terima kasih Tun...
written by temenggong, January 05, 2009 23:14:01
Okay, the ma.mak kaka kas killed Farid! smilies/grin.gif smilies/grin.gif

We vill remember him in our prayers. Farid was dying anyway.

written by Msian Idol3, January 05, 2009 23:40:35
I like it MM. Please say more. I think the guys in UMNO are lost in their wits as to what to do with uncle MM & perhas almost pee in their pants whenever MM open his mouth on UMNO.
written by Msian Idol3, January 05, 2009 23:49:28
WATCH VIDEO ON INTERVIEW WITH MM OVER AT MSIAKINI.
written by mansel, January 05, 2009 23:56:04
mah dahlin mahathirrrrrrrrrr !!!
you sometimes like this sometimes like that.. why you making me havin headache la dey...sometimes ah.. i feel that there is two of you in malaysia, yanno like angel and devil ?? why is the angel only appearing now ah ??? cum to drink of it you wonn't know. well here is the story... mister mahathir... the angels are appearing now because that is a sign from above that your time might be up and its doing a bidding of the mighty devil to pull you down and make you pay for what you have done to my beloved country!!! and thank you for being right this one last time because PR will succeed in taking over this country and make it one of the greatest country on earth! good bye and good night funnyman!

your devilishly
Mansel
written by BUTEK, January 06, 2009 00:01:04
VOTE FOR UMNO....

COZ WE WILL DEFEND THE CHRISTIAN'S LAW AND LEGACY FOR THE BENEFIT OF ALL...

WE WILL BE LESS CORRUPT THAN PAS,

WE WILL THROW BILLIONS FOR OUR LOVELY RAKYATS,

WE WILL MAKE SURE THAT SEX PARTY, GAMBLING AND BOOZE CONTINOUSLY SERVE TO THE RAKYATS,

THERE WILL BE MORE SUBSIDY FOR RAKYATS....

OIL PRICE WILL BE GIVEN MORE SUBSIDY,

WE WILL GIVE THE IMMIGRANT CHINESE CITIZENTSHIP,

VOTE UMNO, MCA, MIC THE TRUE DEFENDER OF RAKYAT...

HUA.....HUA....HUA....
written by SiHangChai, January 06, 2009 01:02:31
I rather vote for a DOG than PAS, Dr. M.
written by Fuminari, January 06, 2009 01:19:14
solid evidence of that c4 najis would be jus a 'fronting' for the kerala crab!
beware,KTs!!this kerala crab might be playing the 'reverse psychology' along the line that jus too many malaysian hate him.
written by mob1900, January 06, 2009 02:15:40

remember this?
written by johanssm, January 06, 2009 05:41:26
Nice of Tun M shooting down farid.
But we dont have to thank such a dictator former pm.
PR can win without the bloody nosy Tun M.
People of KT will take this election to snub umno big time.
written by ROBERTNGTG, January 06, 2009 10:15:48
DR M says that Wan Farid is a bad choice for KT (Updated)

PEEING AND SHITTING AS USUAL. GO LAH AND SHOOT EVERYONE ELSE DOWN AS INCOMPETENT
IN AMENO SO ONLY YOU AND YR SON WILL BE LEFT STANDING.
written by Fat Zorro, January 06, 2009 10:24:08
Hey MT Readers, can you think of someone else who was a bad choice as PM for Malaysia in the last 22years and ought to be immediately shipped to Zimbabwe?
written by temenggong, January 06, 2009 10:41:31
He has killed Farid.

Wahid Endut, KT is yours!
written by sorosapril, January 06, 2009 10:42:19
every one affiliated with AAB will be deemed proxy by the ex-PM, so will be bad choice, what he is saying is those affiliated with him is a GOOD choice!!!!.

I wonder why people like the ex-PM is making so much noise and trying to wash off all the shits created by him during the 22 years he was running the country.

are we saying UMNO turned back only when AAB took over the presidency?

the ex-PM admitted during his time money politic was rampant also, the question was what had he done to eradicate this problem? or he was the one who encouraged it?

and he blamed whatever goes on now on AAB and washed his hand, my god, what a terrible person he was and yet if you go to his blog, a lot of people are heaping praise for this guy and singing praise like how great he was, all i see is how lousy he was as a politician who created so much mess for Malaysia, i wonder why they are so many people who can not see the truth about this guy.

I liked one comment stating if this guy thinks he is so great, he should stand as independent in KT by election.

when he quitted UMNO and asking people to quit, yet his own son did not follow what his old man said.
written by antiilluminati, January 06, 2009 10:48:37
I hate Mahathir but i love son of Kutty for his latest statement that Wang Farid is a bad choice.
written by Rainbowseahorse, January 06, 2009 10:54:48
Syukur Alhamdullilah Mamathir is struck with diarrhea of the mouth!
Now PAS can go forth and win KT by-election with the grace of God!
written by jjireh99, January 06, 2009 12:20:16
yikes... wan farid reminds me of Najib's face, fat and round and in cantonese "ham-sup"!
written by pokokmangga, January 06, 2009 13:09:02
Mamak just want to deflect any potential swipe at Najib when BN lose the KT by election. Mamak has a gut feeling the UMNO will lose this seat. With such imminent groundswell support especially with the concerted effort of anak anak Bangsa Malaysia, Mamak, through his network, analysed that this KT seat is a forgone conclusion.

My two sen worth.
written by raven1958, January 06, 2009 20:35:56
Wan Farid should now do the decent thing ...withdraw and forfeit his 10,000 ringgit deposit.....he is now kaput...to put it mildly.....