Home arrow The Blogs arrow News/Commentaries arrow Malaysian Indian 'Showdown' In Chennai

Malaysian Indian 'Showdown' In Chennai PDF Print
Monday, 05 January 2009 15:19

(Bernama) -- Malaysian Indian political leaders from both sides of the country's political divide are heading to Chennai, the capital of Tamil Nadu in India this week to attend a conference which is likely to be an explosive affair.

Malaysian Indian political leaders from the MIC, DAP and PKR are heading for the southern Indian city to attend the three-day Pravasi Bharatiya Divas, better known as the Indian Diaspora Conference, starting Wednesday at the Chennai Trade Centre.

The event will also be attended by representatives of the outlawed Hindu Rights Action Force (Hindraf). MIC president Datuk Seri S. Samy Vellu will lead a 150-member delegation comprising top brass and divisional leaders of the largest Indian-based political party in the country.

"We would first attend the World Tamil Conference on Jan 6, also in Chennai. The next day would be the Pravasi. We would attend that too before flying back on Jan 10," he told Bernama.

The DAP would send a 20-member delegation, led by Penang Deputy Chief Minister P. Ramasamy. This is the first time in the conference's history that Malaysian opposition parties are attending the Pravasi held in a state where the majority of Malaysian Indians originated from.

Ramasamy's delegation, it was reported, would consist of Perak state executive councillor A. Sivanesan and Selangor state executive councillor Xavier Jayakumar.

PKR, meanwhile, would be sending a 40-member delegation. Kapar Member of Parliament S. Manikavasagam, who recently created a controversy by threatening to quit the opposition party, said the delegation would comprise politicians and businessmen.

A check on the Pravasi website revealed that Malaysia would have four speakers, and they are Samy Vellu, Ramasamy, Malaysian Human Rights (Suhakam) Commissioner Datuk Dr Denison Jayasooria and Human Resource Minister Datuk Dr S. Subramaniam, who is also the MIC secretary general.

After each speaker has delivered his address, the floor would be given at least 15 minutes to seek explanations from the speaker, and this is where trouble is expected.

An opposition leader who declined to be named said the opposition delegation was expected to question MIC leaders on the state of affairs of Indians in the country since the party was from the Barisan Nasional, the ruling coalition.

"Well, we have an opportunity to question them directly. We do not have the opportunity here, so I feel they would take whatever chance they have to question the MIC leaders," he said.

To top it all, Hindraf chief P. Wathyamoorthy, who is now living in a self-imposed exile in London, is expected to attend the event with several supporters from Malaysia.

written by SocratesI, January 05, 2009 15:50:13
It will be interesting to see what answers will be given by the MIC to explain their 50 years of selling out their brethren, the Indians! And also to explain what happened to the MAIKA shares and how & why the Indians' life savings were stolen through MAIKA.

Perhaps, they can declare Semi-No-Value as a non-Indian after all is said and done for his contribution in decimating his fellow brother Indians in Malaysia! Disown Semi-No-Value!
written by ahmadneil, January 05, 2009 15:51:23
Samy Vellu will be receiving his first shoe there.
written by ahmadneil, January 05, 2009 15:53:13
Hindraf,that will be you chance to strip Samy to his bone.Make sure you snatch his wig first.
written by carribeanking7, January 05, 2009 15:55:02
Aiya bodoh punya Bernama, its not a showdown over 1500 delegates from 40 countries will attend the 'Pravasi Bharatiya Divas' to be held in Chennai from 08 Jan, The convention, which is being organised by the Ministry of Overseas Indian Affairs.
The malaysian delegation comprises only a small part of the total delegates.
Pravasi Bharatiya Divas is a big event, which involves, not only speeches and conferences but also exhibitions, food fests and entertainment evenings.

It has been going on since 2003 without much ado, now BN mouthpiece Bernama is pathetically trying to infer otherwise.

Having said that I do hope , this time Samy Velu gets embarassed there for declaring HIndraf links with tamil tigers- the last time I heard CM of tamil nadu Karunanithi snubbed him.

So dont tell lies lah , Bernama yang ada nama busuk.
written by Motherchell, January 05, 2009 16:12:11
Dumb uneducated bigots are the ones who will come out with a Headline like this How can you call it a showdown when its a yearly meet! What are you trying to do? wake up your AMOK crowd to take to the streets.a well written article by RPK could not be understood. You expect them to know what a PARVASI Baratiya Divas is. As usual Samy will be there with his goondas, He just got to watch his step in Karunaidhi's turf.
written by Democrats, January 05, 2009 16:18:37
Showdown? What showdown? just because MIC and HINDRAF leader as well as pakatan leaders are there? Please dont dramatize an event to make it like a bollywood event.

There are over a billion Indians in India and millions all over the world. Don't think they will be too worked up over the petty issue and spat between the Indians in Malaysia. HINDRAF will bring up issues of marginalisation, while Samy will be there saying how lucky Indians are in Malaysia with MIC at the forefront of protect them.
written by exzonerator, January 05, 2009 16:20:38
Are they a)Malaysians, b) Indians, c) Malaysian Indians, d) Indian Malaysians, or e)none of the above.
written by ahmadneil, January 05, 2009 16:22:59
Don't let Samy come back with his wig.

Malaysian Human Rights (Suhakam) Commissioner Datuk Dr Denison Jayasooria,you haven't finish your homework in Sarawak.What about those underage Penans who was rapped by the timber camp workers in Bario,sarawak.You can't be like a frog,jumping here and there,without finishing what you say would.I like to hear this from your mouth before you go.
written by AuntyG, January 05, 2009 17:30:25
Wow, big 200 'bolehwood' delegation going to Bollywood land to have waat big "showdown" ?!?!
I wonder if they are paying from their own pockets, or the respective parties foot the bills hah??
written by SCM, January 05, 2009 17:32:06
Please inform the Indian officials in Chennai of how Vell Paari murdered Sujatha Krishnan and how his corrupt bald eagle father got him off the hook. While you're at it, let them know that BN members frequently get away with murder and site Najib's C4 bombing of Altantuya as an example.
written by mypanida, January 05, 2009 18:00:40
It is the perfect location to shame the MIC. A political party that has been in the RULING COALITION for the past 50 years and still FAILED its people. Sammy Vellu is going to sing a SAD,SAD song.
written by advocatusdiaboli, January 05, 2009 18:06:33
Bro ahmadneil, getting off Samy's wig will be quite difficult as he uses superglue to keep it in place. But nvm he can keep his hair on. It will be great to see shoes land on him and bang on target too. I will donate my shoes to anyone going there to throw it on Samy. Also a video shot will be great.
written by Cinakelate, January 05, 2009 18:13:37
The conference should also declare him as non-Indian.
written by onnetline, January 05, 2009 18:37:12
Barisan Najis will no doubt be sending their owned media personnels to Chennai to report misleading news to the Malaysians, as usual !
written by ssathia, January 05, 2009 18:42:37
The above headlines is good evidence that even professional journalists can be a disgrace to themselves and to he nation. This tantamounts to an absurd description such as the World Islamic Conference being reported as a showdown among Islamic countries!
written by ekt tan, January 05, 2009 18:56:48
It will be interesting to know how Samy No Value survives being savaged in the lions den by his Malaysian compatriots. He'll be lucky if he ever lives to tell his tale.
written by pengembara, January 05, 2009 19:57:05
Hmmm. interesting from Bernama
Note "...since the party WAS from the..." shapes of things to come?
So is Samy's boys going to prevent PKR, DAP and Hindraf from going to the mike to ask question like they do to his opponents here?
Is Samy the taikoh there or just small fly / thambi?
written by rosso, January 05, 2009 22:00:02
After the MP Kapar YB Manikavasagam episodic tantrums I am beginning to think that Indians in this country can never be Malaysians; they will always be Indians first - no matter whether they are in BN or Pakatan - same same, 2 x 5,
written by Semut Jantan, January 06, 2009 05:48:50
...and don't forget to tatoo some meaningful messages on his shinny sculp after you have removed his rug. smilies/grin.gif smilies/grin.gif smilies/grin.gif

Mr. Semua Malu -- I malu lah, you UMNO punya kaki busuk.
written by Nunudada, January 06, 2009 17:58:32
It is indeed sad to note that a Malaysian issue is to be debated in a foreign land.We are all Malaysians first,then comes our individual ethnicity and finally religion.We need to solve our problems from within,and not by taking the issue to a neighbours door-step.Remember,India has severe race related problems of its own.The political system is ten times more corrupted than ours.A shouting/acting Chennai chief minister is going to create little impact on our society or this country and its policies.The Indians must engage the ruling Government,whichever it turns out to be in the coming months, to deal with their pertinent issues.