Home arrow The Blogs arrow From Around The Blogs arrow Testing time for Pakatan Rakyat

Testing time for Pakatan Rakyat PDF Print
Monday, 05 January 2009 10:11

PKR vice-president Azmin Ali believes that voters will understand and support the Pakatan Rakyat if the answers to these problems are well articulated.

By Deborah Loh, The Nut Graph
This e-mail address is being protected from spam bots, you need JavaScript enabled to view it

DIFFERENT ideologies notwithstanding, Pakatan Rakyat partners PAS, DAP and Parti Keadilan Rakyat (PKR) will once again test their brand name as a coalition in the Kuala Terengganu by-election on 17 Jan.

Having proven their ability to work together in the Permatang Pauh by-election in August 2008, the alliance now faces a slightly different test of their mettle.

For one, the Kuala Terengganu by-election is PAS's battle. And lately, cracks within the Pakatan Rakyat over issues such as the implementation of hudud law have become more apparent. Opposition leader Datuk Seri Anwar Ibrahim's silence has not helped clarify PKR's stand on the matter to non-Malay, non-Muslim Malaysian voters, who form about 11% of the seat's electorate.

Secondly, it has been 10 months since the Pakatan Rakyat took over the state governments in four states — Penang, Selangor, Perak and Kedah, with PAS retaining Kelantan — and their performance has come under increasing scrutiny. There have been some hiccups, including the 50% housing quota for bumiputera in Kedah, the arrests of two Perak exco members for alleged corruption, and dissatisfaction with Selangor Menteri Besar Tan Sri Khalid Ibrahim's handling of a pig farm project.

Thirdly, the Pakatan Rakyat has had to deal with public scepticism over its much ballyhooed but failed attempt to take over the federal government on 16 Sept.

Though the coalition will undoubtedly put on a united front in Kuala Terengganu, it will be interesting to see whether these underlying issues make any difference to its campaign.

written by Rashid, January 05, 2009 10:32:28
It really amazes me (or rather amused) when I see spin masters talking about PR differences. If PR has differences, what does BN have? Cracks, ain't? So which is worse? Differences in opinions and violence where Umno threatens with blood any BN component party that "talks"? Pooarh! Give me space you slimeball, sleazy, slanderous BN marauding hordes and its spinmasters.
written by DreamLady, January 05, 2009 10:38:48
Deborah, are you on drug or something? your mind has gone haywire!! You don't even notice the 5 PR states are doing fabulous jobs compared to the previous UMNO MBs. Both you and your counterparts have only a word in your thick heads 'cracks' to describe each squabble of PR members to distort the actual scenario. in short, you are the greatest spinner!!

I wonder who is the lecturer who passed your papers and qualified you to be what you are today: a distorted and wayward journalist who is good in spewing venom to no end to smear the innocent rakyat with the poison on behalf of your pay masters!!

You shall be 'rewarded' by our Almighty for manipulating truth to cheat your own people. YOU ARE EVIL TO THE CORE!!
written by Motherchell, January 05, 2009 10:46:49
They can go on this whirlwind trip of spinning. What they don't know is KT will be taken with a fantastic majority . The UMNOites lives depend on a win -- and they have started to pee in their pants of the Tsunami gaining strength.!!! Lets ,never give them sleep . They must be destroyed with insomnia !!
written by ahmadneil, January 05, 2009 10:50:00
In a big family there are bound to have some minor difference but that will all be sorted ou.We must not let this petty issues bother us.Let not allow umno to capitalise about such small issues.Get on with dealing those big and sensitive issues which needed urgent attention.For example,sarawak,where the chance of toppling the gov't looks pretty good becos these natives are restless and they needed a new direction.So PR,make it happen!
written by Saint, January 05, 2009 10:50:22
There are no crack in PR, only in the writings and news from BN mouth pieces.
And the aim of PR is very clear to all Rakyat. Remove BN and its component parties.
written by savemalaysia, January 05, 2009 11:18:55
What cracks within PR? Differences of opinions are totally different from cracks and the former is tolerated in PR which shows that democracy is thriving in PR unlike UMNO which suppresses differing opinions and bulldozes the rakyat.

People of KT, please use your vote wisely. Remember that a vote for UMNO is a greenlight for it to fleece, neglect and ignore you people which has been proven time and again. Stop this diseased party from its despicable arrogance, indifference, incessant abuses and rampant corruption. You need a fair, honest and outspoken PAS to provide the check-and-balance.
written by hjab, January 05, 2009 11:32:41
everytime there's an election, the spinmeisters a.k.a kaki putar alam will be hard at work, not enough with print media, creeping up to electronic media as well, congrats deborah (ppsssttt...how much you're being paid for this nauseating piece?) smilies/grin.gif
written by exzonerator, January 05, 2009 12:42:34
An article that assumes voters are nuts.
written by archie, January 05, 2009 12:44:34
The BN has had to deal with public scepticism over the loyalty of its backbench MPs. Worried that some of its MPs may cross over to the Opposition on last September 16, BN panicked and sent all its blacklisted MPs to visit chicken farms in Taiwan.
written by Counterpointer, January 05, 2009 14:39:56
If there were cracks, these same supposed cracks have existed prior to March 8 and Permatang Pauh. Tell me what's new?

Despite these 'cracks' Pakatan Rakyat had emerged victorious on both occasions. So why shouldn't PR also be victorious in KT, cracks and all?

BN, has however more things to worry about as people are not scared anymore to vote for the opposition and despite the absolute failure of the mainstream media to change public opinion prior to their two earlier losses, they are still using the same losing tactics using the mainstream media to divert attention from their huge cracks and faults and still believing that their promise of goodies will get the votes.

Every election or by-election the BN touched so far had turned to shit for them (that wouldn't be a surprise when Najis is around). Although they refuse to believe that they had lost that golden touch, KT would be just another hard reality lesson for them.

Bungkus Nasi-lah BN!
written by USJ 6, January 05, 2009 15:17:55
I deemed most Malaysians believe in Democracy Leaderships, and this has been practised in the PR component parties since the March 8, 2008, where all the component party leaders are free to voice out their opinions diligently on policies which go againt the benefits of the rakyat, they will also checkmate on each other among the component parties to minimise or to eliminate any wrongdoings without sweeping it in the carpet like what the BN does.
written by USJ 6, January 05, 2009 15:23:58
We the rakyat of other states, strongly urge the KT voters to vote out the gloomy UMNO Malay for a better KT and Malaysia as a whole.
written by SocratesI, January 05, 2009 15:41:44

DreamLady,

It takes a NUT to read and understand what nonsense the Nut Graph is decorating their toilet paper with, and certainly with such useless toilet paper decoraters such as Deb here, no one will find their toilet paper attractive any more other than to wipe our posteriors with, and even then they are probably too coarse !!

The description of the job the Opposition held States did and the few problems they faced were born of trying hard to do a good job, unlike BN held Statesw where every project is about Corruption and the enrichment of some UMNO/ Barisan Najis cronies !!

The "rifts" and "cracks" perceived by the toilet paper decorators and the UNdemocratic Govt and MSM are actually the main pillars of "Free Speech", "Exercising of Democratic Rights", and "Governing with a Conscience" which are totally ALIEN to the Barisan Najis Govt. its cronies and their MSM toilet paper producers !!

KT will fall to the Righteous - Pakatan Rakyat's component Party, PAS !!

written by Badrol, January 05, 2009 16:10:30
Duburlah, why don't you do a write up on Saiful instead.
written by DreamLady, January 05, 2009 17:56:56
Good evening, Socratesl, for the last few days we come across too many spinning articles from the other side of the fence. I guess it must be campaign time for the UMNO goons and running dogs.

It tends to get on my nerve how people spew out trashy garbage to hurt others who are fighting very hard to put the government in order again. To say they are illiterate, it will be a sweeping statement as plenty of illiterates have hearts that are made of gold; to say that these spinners are educated and learned, they behave like a bunch of Chicago crooks!!!

I failed to contact Angie, and I would not go there by myself to KT. I will wait at home for the good news from KT instead..

Have a great evening, socratesl!!!!
written by Hakim Joe, January 05, 2009 18:41:50
So what if PR got cracks?
We also got epoxy also lah!!!

written by BUTEK, January 06, 2009 00:05:48
VOTE FOR UMNO....

COZ WE WILL DEFEND THE CHRISTIAN'S LAW AND LEGACY FOR THE BENEFIT OF ALL...

WE WILL BE LESS CORRUPT THAN PAS,

WE WILL THROW BILLIONS FOR OUR LOVELY RAKYATS,

WE WILL MAKE SURE THAT SEX PARTY, GAMBLING AND BOOZE CONTINOUSLY SERVE TO THE RAKYATS,

THERE WILL BE MORE SUBSIDY FOR RAKYATS....

OIL PRICE WILL BE GIVEN MORE SUBSIDY,

WE WILL GIVE THE IMMIGRANT CHINESE CITIZENTSHIP,

VOTE UMNO, MCA, MIC THE TRUE DEFENDER OF RAKYAT...

HUA.....HUA....HUA....