Home arrow The Blogs arrow The Corridors of Power arrow A very crucial battle looms

A very crucial battle looms PDF Print
Monday, 05 January 2009 08:25

In predominantly Malay Kuala Terengganu, the Chinese hold a vital hand. And while a local candidate is all-important, the election stakes go all the way up to Putrajaya.

Suhaini Aznam, The Star

KUALA Terengganu is just one parliamentary seat awash in monsoon rains. Winning or losing will make no difference to the lie of the land. Rather, it is a moral fight.

At stake is the reputation of prime minister-elect Datuk Seri Najib Tun Razak. At national level, this by-election is his first leadership test - and he knows it.

“We cannot lose this election and then just three months later, have him succeed as party president (and therefore Prime Minister) uncontested,” said state Umno Youth information chief Razali Idris, 42.

But on the ground, voters were busily debating the merits of that all-important candidate.

The people of Terengganu set great store in having an approachable MP on whose door they can knock at all hours of the day and night. Since March, Umno has learnt the hard way that it can no longer field any old face and draw voters on the strength of its party brand name.

So while Umno announced its candidate almost a month before the Jan 17 polling day – in part to allow time for Umno rival camps to cool down and rectify any attempts to sabotage party efforts – PAS decided to wait it out.

Under the watchful eye of 14 truckloads of General Operations Force police brought in to ensure calm, PAS president Datuk Seri Abdul Hadi Awang named five-term Wakaf Mempelam state assemblyman Mohd Abdul Wahid Endut as its flag bearer in front of some 3,000 party members in a packed indoor stadium on Jan 1.

It was a last-minute switch because Abdul Wahid was not even on the original shortlist of four possible contenders.

At 52, Abdul Wahid is part of the second echelon that will eventually inherit the party under a different political equation. He is a Hadi loyalist, unlike the shortlisted front-runner, Batu Burok assemblyman Dr Syed Azman Ahmad Nawawi whom Razali claimed was already bringing “unsur unsur Anwar” (vestiges of Anwar) to PAS, referring to PKR advisor Datuk Seri Anwar Ibrahim.

Unlike Anwar’s landslide victory in Permatang Pauh last August, this by-election has no ready icon. So candidates are crucial. PAS had conducted a house-to-house random survey in the three state constituencies of Wakaf Mempelam, Ladang and Batu Burok soon after the Election Commission announced the by-election in early December and found that 80% of the households named Dr Syed Azman as their preferred candidate. The eleventh-hour change of plans could well have been hatched at an afternoon meeting at Abdul Hadi’s home in Rusila, just hours before the announcement was made.

People in Terengganu like friendly, humble leaders who would not hesitate to invite them for a teh tarik. Deputy Home Minister Datuk Wan Ahmad Farid Wan Salleh, 46, having been away a great deal as Prime Minister Datuk Seri Abdullah Ahmad Badawi’s political secretary and later as deputy minister, does not quite fit this bill. Even the owner of an Umno warong passed on “hearsay” that Wan Ahmad was “a bit aloof”, while the PKR Youth officials for Ladang were whooping in joy, anticipating a walkover.

It is an image that Wan Ahmad was trying hard to dispel as he handed out footballs and cut school boys’ hair on his meet-the-people rounds. His advantage is that having been named early, he can go about on his soft campaign long before nomination day on Jan 6.

State PAS treasurer Abdul Wahid, on the other hand, may be an old hand in local politics but is not well-known outside his own state constituency. First impressions of Abdul Wahid are of “a down to earth, kampung man” – an image that served him well in Wakaf Mempelam but might not quite cut it on Parliament’s national stage.

Razali is relieved that PAS chose Abdul Wahid to carry its torch.

“At the state assembly, Abdul Wahid just talks about Umno khianat, Barisan khianat (Umno treachery, Barisan treachery),” he claimed. “Had Syed Azman been the candidate, Umno would have had to work extra hard.”

Given the current nationwide mood for change, even Umno supporters like taxi driver Ismail Salleh, who hails from the PAS stronghold of Marang, thinks that having a bit of Opposition is good so that the Government “would not get too comfortable”.

Development is an old Umno staple and Kuala Terengganu, now a city, has grown tremendously in the past two decades. If Umno is toying with the idea of luring voters with even more development money, well, it might just work in Terengganu where people have long lived in poverty.

Bound by feelings

By comparison, Kelantanese have a tradition of being financially independent, said Ismail, who had once distributed fertilisers there.

“They have no scruples about taking the (Barisan) bait but leaving the hook untouched. Not so in Terengganu, where people are still bound by feelings of terhutang budi (gratitude),” said Ismail, who together with other taxi drivers had each received about RM10,000 in government assistance.

Pak Awang the beca rider too, was convinced that there was nothing wrong in supporting those who had helped out during floods and other hard times.

“When PAS ruled (1999-2004), everything was given to cronies,” he claimed.

Arithmetically, however, PAS has the upper hand, having won three of the four state seats in the last general election. Only Bandar went to MCA.

Nevertheless, state PAS deputy commissioner Datuk Wan Muttalib Embong considers PAS the underdog, by virtue of the Barisan having won Kuala Terengganu by a 628 vote margin last March. So PAS is far from complacent. The week before nomination day, everyone was still calling the odds at 50-50.

Terengganu’s 88% Malay voters have very decided political opinions but unlike their Penang cousins, are rather more reticent in voicing these to strangers.

Nevertheless, locals easily identify eateries by their political leanings.

When searching for the PAS headquarters, a smiling seamstress told me: “Don’t bother asking there, that’s an Umno kedai; the warong across the street is a PAS hangout.”

Political identity stretches even to the ubiquitous handphone - blue means Barisan, green for PAS.

With such clear demarcations by party affiliation, it is the fence-sitters who will swing the day.

Umno is going on a direct-to-voter campaign.

“There will be no huge rallies except for the Prime Minister or his deputy,” said Razali.

“Ministers will not be dragged here and there. They have been assigned specific areas and ballot boxes. If everyone does his job, Barisan officials will be able to meet each voter at least once.”

Umno members make up 40% of Kuala Terengganu voters.

“The reason we lost last March was that not all Umno members voted Umno,” said Razali tersely.

“But even if every Umno member votes Umno this time, we still cannot win the by-election. We still need the fence-sitters.”

From its “war room” of wall charts, events on the board and detailed breakdown of past results, PKR too is targeting this wavering 20% of blue-green voters.

“Anwar had instructed us to work as if we are the ones standing in this election” said state PKR Youth head Fariz Musa, whose team is throwing themselves wholeheartedly into staging large night rallies, complete with personal attacks on Wan Farid.

A decisive component of these fence-sitters are the 8,787 (11.4%) Chinese voters, most of them concentrated in the Bandar and Ladang urban state constituencies.

Soft approach

PAS is approaching them with a soft touch – in keeping with the state’s gentler culture. Three doctors were giving free blood pressure and sugar level health checks under a tent next to a kedai makan.

“The Chinese like this. They then go and buy their own medicine from the Chinese medicine hall,” said Hanafiah Mat, head of the Terengganu PAS Supporters Club.

Hanafiah is comfortable that the Chinese seem to be leaning towards PAS this time.

“Most are retailers who have suffered from the price rise in consumer goods forced on them by wholesalers. But as shopkeepers, they cannot sell their goods because locals cannot afford to buy them,” he said.

“The Chinese are also grateful to PAS for reverting to the name Kg Cina when we came into power, after the Barisan had changed it to Jln Bandar,” he added.

More specifically, no party is fielding a Chinese candidate this time to split the Chinese vote.

“The Chinese in Terengganu tend to follow the Malays. They speak like locals, boleh beri salam (pronounce the Muslim greeting of peace) and identify with their Malay neighbours,” said PKR Ladang branch chairman Abu Bakar Kasim.

Not everyone is as sanguine. Nor should anyone take the inscrutable Chinese vote for granted.

“The Chinese are the silent voters,” noted Meru assemblyman Dr Abdul Rani Osman, one of the PKR volunteers manning the makeshift health clinic.

“You cannot gauge where their votes will go. At most, a few would say “kuih bulan” (mooncakes – referring to PAS’ party symbol) before thanking you for your services.”

By the political countdown, it is early days yet. Much can happen in two weeks.

Already, there is a hint that this is not going to be a simple straight fight between the blues and the greens. Come nomination day on Tuesday, local politicians expect to see at least a five-cornered fight, with Umno tacitly backing a clutch of Independents to split the Opposition vote.

Comments (25)Add Comment
written by ahmadneil, January 05, 2009 08:40:07
For the chinese who will surely be voting PAS,they have to thank Ahmad Ismail for calling them 'squatters'.This time there is no ducking.The chinese have enough of all this cowshit.For far too long they have been called names and marginalised.Let umno see the real force of the chinese people power.PAS will win with a decisive majority.Yes,we can!Undi PAS.
agree 138
written by DreamLady, January 05, 2009 08:53:58
The gullible will vote for UMNO goons since the goons could churn out taxpayers' money (our money) to bribe the voters. The ones who vote for PAS are able to differentiate between a devil and an honest, God-fearing folk!!
written by Rashid, January 05, 2009 09:11:37
an open letter to YM Raja Petra

Dear Raja, the Chinese trust you more than anyone else for they know you are honest with them and always want the best for them as Malaysians. I want you to take over the Chinese vote alongside Haris Ibrahim of Bangsa Malaysia Great Sons and Daughters and drill into their heads why they should stand by Pas now. This is a battle we can't lose. There can no be choice, option or alternative about it. Forget the candidate. It is about PR's march to Putrajaya and the Chinese must know that they will gain from a PR Federal govt while they will lose from an Umno govt (if they haven't lost everything by now). That's all. The Chinese area comes under your perview. We want 90% Chinese support. Teregganunians are very strange and can't be gauged by any measure. Thanks Abang and may victory be ours. Allahuma Amin.
agree 153
written by Ken Liew, January 05, 2009 09:32:47
UMNO want terengganu so BAD!! cos there are Natural Resources there. In the economic crysis, they'll LEECH as much as they can....

Dont let this happen..... Malaysia Is almost DRY!! thanks to the UMNO.
Tell me which UMNO VIP or Semi VIP is NOT living in a Rumah Mewah sebagai Istana???
written by hellosunshine, January 05, 2009 09:36:58
PAS should learn from UMNO that they shouldn't, in the past, step on the sentiments of the non Muslims with protests/actions which infringed on the rights of other citizens but it's still not too late to win them over with consistent actions, not NATO, that's a win-win for all instead of one religion/race only.
I'm sure the non Muslims would definitely vote for PAS in KT when PR highlights all the misconduct of UMNO/BN (including UMNO insulting the Sultan last election) to the people there.
Goodluck to the PR team.

smilies/smiley.gif
written by TruthSayer, January 05, 2009 10:28:53
Money politics will be at it's fiercest in this KT by election. The MCA is going all out promising and delivering goodies left and fight. Even social clubs are getting huge "Donations" in the hope that they will vote for the BN

But I say all is fair in love and war and this is WAR. Take their goodies, take their cash, take their dinners but vote for Kuih Bulan!
written by Motherchell, January 05, 2009 11:02:08
Concur with you DREAMLADY, Now as the battle looms , they are using the newsprint in a psycho war to brainwash the gullible . The people in KT know , and all those loyal to the KING know PAS has done more good in the years . They spun stories to misinform . They are dying , and the "Karaoke" studio may not be opened afterall !
With the Economic crises eating into the UMNO pockets-- they are caught with their pants down .
written by ahmadneil, January 05, 2009 11:28:10
The chinese may be grumbling but they are trustworthy.
written by Thamipoh, January 05, 2009 11:30:33
Thamipoh will be going to KT to share with the ppl there (especially the crucial Chinese voters) about the 308 tsunami in Perak, Penang , Kedah and Selangor. The ppl here had had enough of BN lies, threats, empty promises, corruption and abuse of power. It is the time now to show BN the way out. Nothing is more important for the country than creating an atmosphere of change for the better. We will be united under the PR-PKR PAS DAP banner and together will work hard for a brighter tomorrow. ( c u there RPK )
written by DreamLady, January 05, 2009 11:39:43
Motherchell, thank you. Have a beautiful day!
written by merlin2001, January 05, 2009 13:03:35
Let us look at the bigger scenario.
Come April 2009 Malaysia will no longer have a legitimate PM. Think!!!!!
The PM we the people have given the mandate to has been forced out.
We know who is responsible. Are we going to quietly accept the situation or
use this KT election as a point of protest. If Umno can do this to one whom the people has mandated, think of what else they will be prepared to do/use to stay in power.
A win by PAS with just an extra handful of minority Chinese votes will not be meaningful.
The voice must come from the Malays, Umno must loose big and shamed via the majority not the minority.
Then and only then will BN awaken to the fact that their days are indeed numbered.
This must be the battle cry of PR in this KT onslaught.
written by USJ 6, January 05, 2009 15:56:32
Dear KT voters,

Please help us (the Rakyat) to help yourselves in KT by voting out the UMNO goon...
written by clarity, January 05, 2009 16:19:55
1. Should the BN continue to rule with a to be PM loaded with suspicions on the mongolian issue and refuse to totally clear himself in court?
2. Should the BN continue to rule with a to be PM associating himself with pondans like Saiful?.
3. Should the BN continue to rule with a to be PM associating himself with dubious deals like submarines and helicopters?.
written by miwaki, January 05, 2009 16:47:35
Send Ahmad Ismail to KT to campaign for Wan if UMNO has the gut.The Chinese of KT will show Ahmad who actually is the squatter.Undi PAS to teach UMNO a lesson so that this party will behave in future.

Malaysians have no alternative but to vote PAS so that Pakatan Rakyat can form the next government.Permatang Pauh has done it,now is your turn KT.
written by USJ 6, January 05, 2009 17:01:58
Dear KT voters,

Please chop them (UMNO goon) off to save our country...Cheers..........
written by lobster, January 05, 2009 18:08:26
Pas will win.
written by Hope4all, January 05, 2009 19:36:35
Saya mempunyai mimpi, bahawa satu hari nanti, ahli-ahli politik kita mempunyai otak di luar tempurung, selaras dengan pemikiran rakyat jelata.

Saya mempunyai mimpi, bahawa satu hari nanti, rakyat Malaysia memandang sesama sendiri bukan secara perkauman tapi dengan ihklas, jujur dan tanpa prasangka bukan saja di Lembah Kelang, tapi di seluruh negara.

Saya mempunyai mimpi, bahawa sesiapa ahli politik yang tidak bersih, berasuah dan memisahkan rakyat dengan isu perkauman untuk kepentingan diri sendiri, akan dilanda petir oleh Tuhan serta-merta.

Saya mempunyai mimpi, bahawa Pakatan Rakyat yang kini merangkumi parti PKR, DAP, PAS akan diperkembangkan lagi untuk menerima parti-parti lain yang mengikut falsafah untuk menjayakan semua rakyat berbilang kaum di taraf antarabangsa, bukan saja mendapat piala gergasi di kampung sendiri.

Saya mempunyai mimpi, bahawa hari itu akan menjadi kenyataan di suatu hari yang terdekat!

Saya mempunyai mimpi, bahawa mimpi ini bukan setakat....mimpi.

Majulah Pakatan Rakyat! Undilah PAS di KT.
written by lynn, January 05, 2009 20:16:00
No if, no but, no maybe. PAS must win BIG. At least 55,000 votes!
written by Lis LQ, January 05, 2009 20:55:43
I am praying hard that our beloved brother RPK,brother Haris Ibrahim to name a few will be make their presence in KT. Brother RPK,you are our hope and saviour,please be there for the people of KT and to all Malaysian as a whole.
I will be praying everyday till PAS win the election hands down.
I do hope that my hero Tok Guru will make his way to KT to deliver his speech too.
Hidup PAS,long live Tok Guru,RPK,...
from Switzerland with Love.
written by Futurist, January 05, 2009 21:11:53
If UMNO leaders had taken a firm action against Ahmad Ismail and charged him in court for sedition, then they can say that "we stand for all Malaysians".
As it is, they let him go practically scott free and now have the cheek to go to the chinese voters begging them for their votes.
You guys have the liberty to say and do anything without having any action taken, then come voting time, throw all the goodies at the voters. Do you expect the voters to be gullible, naive and stupid to be taken in by your spin? KT folks, you must show them the way out. You will do all Malaysians a great favour.
written by borneoman, January 06, 2009 11:47:09
butek you are disgusting!just like your tuan melayu umno masters.
written by Angela Ooi, January 06, 2009 13:13:05
Celaka BN, I just heard MSM papers are given out FREE since we started our campaign to boycott them.
written by wass, January 06, 2009 17:03:16
Raja Petra Kamaruddin,

You gave your challengers 5,000 votes handicap! Why not 10,000 ? You said there were 30,000 to 40,000 people at the PAS group on Nomination day in KT! And most of them spoke with a local lingo!To rub salt into a wounded BN , you said that there were 5,000 suporters; and , the oen that took the cake was that there were 6,000 Policemen! That means there were more Policemen than UMNO supporters! You also mentioned that BN brought in 80 bus-loads of supporters from out-station! Were those supporters from Pekan, I wonder!

You also mentioned that the Deputy Public Prosecutors were on 24-hour alert to charge some PR supporters so that they could be kept in custody until the by-elction is over!

Is this a by-election or a BYE-BYE election, the good-bye election to PM-elect! You mentioned that there were outriders blaring their horns, thereby giving the impression that the US President is in town!Barack Obama in town campaign on the slogan " Change we can! "

S.H. Huang

written by fdqn, January 06, 2009 20:19:30
CNY 2009 is just round the corner, so the 'kueh bulan' looks very timimg for this occassion,so for the Chinese folks over the in KT.Happy chinese New Year and please vote wisely.Kong Xi Fa Cai!!!! smilies/wink.gif smilies/smiley.gif smilies/cheesy.gif smilies/grin.gif