Home arrow The Blogs arrow News/Commentaries arrow A RM30 million joke

A RM30 million joke PDF Print
Monday, 05 January 2009 08:24

(NST) KAPAR: Kapar MP S. Manikavasagam has rubbished rumours that he has been offered RM30 million to switch to the Barisan Nasional, adding it was the work of jealous politicians.

The Parti Keadilan Rakyat leader said the accusation came about as certain party leaders were feeling threatened by his popularity and were trying to twist facts to make him look bad.

Manikavasagam admitted that he had been approached to join BN but had not been offered any money.

"I immediately rejected it as I will live or die with Parti Keadilan Rakyat," he told the New Straits Times after meeting about 100 party members and the public at his service centre here yesterday.

He said the approach from the BN came after he said he would be resigning as deputy state PKR liaison chief. He said the rumours that he had been bought over arose after a conversation over tea with a BN leader during the Permatang Pauh by-election.

He said the BN leader had jokingly asked him to join BN for a payment of RM30 million.

"We both laughed at that. He is a good friend and we had tea. That's all that happened but it has been twisted to look like I had been bought over."

Manikavasagam reiterated that he had decided to remain in PKR even though he had yet to meet party de-facto leader Datuk Seri Anwar Ibrahim.

He said certain leaders seemed to have a hidden agenda against him as they had turned the Klang Sentral bus station issue into a racial issue.

"I just don't know how a bus station issue became an Indian issue. I am lost."

He said he had also been raising Indian issues as he was an Indian leader but he had been serving his constituents without regard for race or religion.

"It just happens that there are many Indian issues in Kapar."

On the gathering by a group of Indian PKR members in front of PKR headquarters in Petaling Jaya, he asked why a group of Indians from Kedah should come to show support for Anwar as this was a Selangor issue, and they did not know the issues under contention.

He said he would be leaving for India today to attend a conference. He said he would be meeting Hindraf chairman P. Waythamoorthy there and they would jointly meet Indian ministers.

"We will seek their assistance to ask the Malaysian government to release the five Hindraf leaders detained under the Internal Security Act."

The meeting yesterday was held to explain current events to the people in Kapar and his position on these issues.

written by DreamLady, January 05, 2009 08:40:46
Manik, stick to the goal: the responsibility you promised the rakyat who voted for you, nothing else matters !!!!
written by ahmadneil, January 05, 2009 08:43:15
I won't be surprise if umno did this but I won't be surprise also if Manikavasagam is been tested with this RM30 million.This might be offer number one.The next offer will be coming soon.When there is smoke there is fire!
written by pinsysu, January 05, 2009 08:59:29
wat a load of crap & contradiction. 1st, u said u were approached to join BN. next u said a BN leader "jokingly" dangled a RM30 offer price tag in ur face. so who is twisting wat?! we all work for $$$ bcos we nid meet our nids. sometime easy mani is way too tempting. ever wonder Y da long Q for TOTO 4D etc? in da end watever principle a man possesses can vapourise into thin air with a snap of da fingures ... where's Bala any way?
written by Lembing, January 05, 2009 09:37:42
$30million JOKE??
I remember EZAM with his boxes of secrets and has switched sides..Then there is U-Turn BALA who has disappeared from the face of this earth. I can only presume both deals are multi-millions transactions.
Now Manik with this so-called $30 million joke. Do i believe this POLITICIAN??? Answer this first...You are a seasoned politician, then why did you have a press conference on your threats to resign....surely you know that will cause certain damage to Pakatan. Is there any misreporting about your trip to India...to consult Hindraf about whether to leave Pakatan?
There are too many doubts about your integrity and character, and somehow this reminds me of the saying "DON'T TRUST ANY POLITICIANS".
written by Lembing, January 05, 2009 09:42:03
ALso, either someone or you have been nominated yourself as the Next VELU SAMY.....that sounds incredible and we all now what VELU SAMBOY stands for.
written by Rainbowseahorse, January 05, 2009 09:50:01
that Mani guy is circulating that rumor himself lah to tell the BN UMNO that is his price for joining the BN.
Bold statement indeed, reminiscent of MM statement in the mid 1980s “We will sink or swim with Party BERJAYA”, referring to the Sabah ruling political party then. BERJAYA promptly got trounced at the polls by Party Bersatu Sabah (PBS), but MM didn’t sink nor swim with them.
written by cheekhiaw, January 05, 2009 10:32:36
You are popular but do far popularly known more as an idiot. Why don't you write an article on how you have served and what you have achieved for those who voted for you so far before you claim popularity? We have yet to hear of any one coming out with that for you. So popular or you are living in Bollywoodland?
written by Awaken64, January 05, 2009 11:56:30
Does Poverty have a passport?
Is it owned by a single race?

Get real POLITICIANS serve the voters without differentiating people.

In this times let us UNITE with Voltaire's prayer for tolerence:
O! Thou God of all beings, of all worlds, and of all times,
We pray,
that the little differences in our clothes,
in our inadequate languages,
in our ridiculous customs,
in our imperfect laws,
in our illogical opinions,
in our ranks and conditions which
are so disproportionately important to us
and so meaningless to you,
that these small variations
that distinguish those atoms that we call men,
one from another,
may not be signals of hatred and persecution!
written by Msian Idol3, January 05, 2009 12:19:54
Hey, take the $30 million, cross over to BN & then resign & migrate lah. Then we have a by election & nightmares for BN.
written by adan, January 05, 2009 13:03:23
MP MANIKA is apparently a freshie in politics. He was easily led up the garden path to make press statements ,and probably lost his sense and direction with all the cheap publicity that the MSM was readily providing him.
WE hope that he is wiser and avoid trusting people with ulterior motives. DO NOT rock the boat when you are in deep water infested with crocodiles and sharks.
written by mountainking, January 05, 2009 13:04:56
take the RM30m lah mani. cos in PR, you won't get RM30m as PR is not corrupted. if you want to be MIC Chief, go ahead and no one will stop you. plus if you want to take a group of your members out of PKR, go ahead cos those who follow you either they are not interested in a bigger picture struggle or they are exactly like you, one who betrays for position and money. better to have this group out as they are a liability to the PR govt.

i wish you all luck in getting out of PKR. and let me assure you, with all these things you have created, better for you to leave PKR and will take you in the next GE.

resign and i hope Hindraf chairman P. Waythamoorthy will give you 2 tight slaps on your face. i am sure Waythamoorthy is writing a letter to inform Malaysians that what you do is heinous to the core.
written by exzonerator, January 05, 2009 13:56:14
Going to India to collect the 30 milion. Is it rupees or RM?
written by sydput, January 05, 2009 14:54:43
Last time BN offered 30 million ringit was to abu sayaf to bring in illegals from the phillipnes into sabah. That money went missing and caused abu sayaf to go furious and kidnapped several tourist on sipadan.
Same will happen to this RM30 million.
written by Milo, January 05, 2009 15:25:15
If you have not recieved the money, then just deny it, period. Why must you escalate the issue other party leaders say this because they are threaten? All PR party leaders SHOULD feel threaten by your EXTREME behaviour over what is at best a minor issue; and to protect the party, every party leader should look at you with caution and suspicion as a precaution. You expect with any degree of reasonableness that BN won't make offer? Or is it a fact that there are no cases where these offer are accepted? Ezam? Saiful? Prove yourself by keeping quite as a start, in time, you may have clear your name. That you keep talking in such tones further increase the suspicion that you are on the take, has become a sleeper waiting for the right time to strike!
written by Zapper, January 05, 2009 16:06:37
Can someone please tell this Kapar MP and the seat belongs to the rakyat and not his personal asset. Tell him to stop shotting from his hips. We have enough cowboys and we do NOT need another one.
written by exzonerator, January 05, 2009 16:12:24
Maybe the MCA MPs should follow his footsteps by flying off to China to have meetings with Chinese ministers everytime there are issues affecting the Chinese community here.
written by carribeanking7, January 05, 2009 16:19:11
Mike said the BN leader had jokingly asked him to join BN for a payment of RM30 million.I have very little doubt that this person is Ezam, if I am wrong my apologies.

YB Manickavasagam, bribery is an offence,not reporting it is also and offence
are you not aware that karpal is in the process of impeaching Chief Justice Zaki on the very same principle?

Here you go again shooting yourself in the foot.Please YB be careful with what you say, dont give UMNO anymore fodder.
written by loosecannon, January 05, 2009 16:26:05
Did he change his mind because the RM30 million did not materialize? This guy keeps changing his story so how to believe him now? He's acting exactly like a BN clown.
written by kksam, January 05, 2009 17:02:46
Aiya see carefully la, it read Now Saya Tipu!! Don't believe the lies!! Boycott the MSM!!!
written by Aming, January 05, 2009 21:34:26
This MP has very big ego. His behaviour is thick with typical MIC flavour. Pity PKR and PR having to stinking personality in their midst.
written by SiHangChai, January 06, 2009 01:14:48
RM30m, if I am Mike, I will kiss bye-bye to PKR. Take the money, move to BN, then quit and have a by-election again. RM30m is a golden retirement.
written by peace lover, January 06, 2009 06:30:26
See.... end of the day, it is all about money and NOT serving the ppl. I just knew it.... when this guy started blaring about serving the rakyat and not enough money lah.... then he had to fork out his own lah.... Yes, Lembing, you are right... DON'T TRUST POLITICIANS.
written by lobster, January 06, 2009 15:56:26
Mani from Kapar huh? okay, we'll remember you. Good luck in next GE A-hole.