Home arrow The Blogs arrow News/Commentaries arrow No phantom voters, says EC

No phantom voters, says EC PDF Print E-mail
Monday, 05 January 2009 08:17

Reports by SAODAH ELIAS, R.S.N MURALI and NG SI HOOI (The Star)

KUALA TERENGGANU: The Election Com­mission has refuted allegations that the strong police presence in the city is an indication of phantom voters appearing on polling day.

Commission deputy secretary (operations) Datuk Nordin Che Ngah said only those listed in the gazetted electoral roll would be allowed to cast their votes.

“Political parties are always making this allegation. We have repeatedly explained it would be next to impossible for non-registered voters to take part in the by-election.

“Anyone who is registered can vote, irrespective of where he or she comes from. This person is not a phantom voter as he or she has been given the right under the law to vote,” he said at a briefing for the media yesterday.

He said based on previous experiences, tho­se accused of being phantom voters by political parties were just outstation supporters of a certain candidate or party.

PAS had claimed that the strong presence of the police force in the city since late Saturday was an indication that Barisan Nasional would be bringing in phantom voters on polling

day.

Speakers at PAS’ ceramah in Ladang said the police, which had set up observation posts at key points in the city, were there to protect the outsiders expected to be brought in by Barisan.

Nordin said the number of registered voters for the Jan 17 by-election was 80,229, or 96 fewer from the roll used in the March general election. Nomination day is tomorrow.

He said the smaller number of voters was due to deaths or change of voting constituencies by some.

Nordin said the commission would bring in more than 800 staff members for the by-election.

written by DreamLady, January 05, 2009 09:04:34
Nordin, to make sure you are truely honest, follow najib's way to prove his innocence by swearing in the masjid that you will not mess up the votes diluted with phantam votes, failing which you shall be punished by God!!!!
written by ahmadneil, January 05, 2009 09:20:34
I for one won't believe a word he say.They are like umno and are birds of the same feathers.
written by Ken Liew, January 05, 2009 09:25:17
EC, do you think the rakyat is a FOOL? Who will listen? For every time, there are always HANTU, cos The UNMOral Devil very close friends with HANTU, and you EC are an Imp in the Devil family.
written by karyeowl, January 05, 2009 09:55:39
Are we Malaysian so easily fooled? Why are we buying their stories? Phantom or not. Come on, Bangsa Malaysia at KT, please do us a big favor. Please vote out UMNO from KT.

written by unomalaysia, January 05, 2009 10:23:42
Yes, and umno is also nor racist and corrupted and we were all borned yesterday and all non-amno Malaysians are stupid. Good joke to start the new year...
written by Motherchell, January 05, 2009 10:55:29
1)This is reported by the STAR. Great microphone of the Powers!

2) This tailless EC hyena with jaws dripping with blood is telling us it didn't kill the quarry.

This is Bolehland!
http://sjsandteam.wordpress.com/ smilies/cheesy.gif
written by campuras, January 05, 2009 10:56:33
come on people give him a break, there are no phantom voters. The EC deputy has said so and so it must be true.

No phantom voters OK, only eligible voters and a "number" of 100 years plus old voters lying around somewhere in the roll. These are very healthy voters, doing good work pro creating.
written by Rainbowseahorse, January 05, 2009 10:58:03
Yes, there are no phantom voters, no corruption in UMNO, BN, and the Civil Services, there are no abuse of power by the police and the ISA, and Malaysian Pigs most definately can fly.
written by Democrats, January 05, 2009 11:53:34
THe only way to elimnate phantom voters syndrom is for PAS candidate to win two out of every three votes like Anwar in Permatang Pauh.
written by Msian Idol3, January 05, 2009 12:05:09
Only the mentally challenged & corrupted would believe the EC. I am not in those categories, so the truth of the matter is "it is an insult" to our integrity to accept EC claims.
written by mountainking, January 05, 2009 13:08:59
i pray Nordin (if he is planning for phantom voters) and all phantom voters will be strucked down by Allah for their sins. and the punishment will go beyond them and to their family.

unless, all these ppl are not fearful of Allah and not a muslim in practice.
written by Garend, January 05, 2009 14:14:41
Once again you see ppl with nothing much up there in their head talking again. No Phantom Voter. of course there aren't any phantom voter because they are just Fake Voters nothing phantom with them. and suddenly you see a lot I mean A LOT of police person voting with the postal votes. To all phantom voters, I am sure you have your own reasons to do this. maybe you are a die-hard UMNO fan or maybe you need the money or you have a lot of stake to lose if UMNO lose but then again i implore you to do what is right. If you really have to, just take the money and vote PAS after that.

Btw, mountainking, I partially disagree with you here cause I don't think the punishment should go to their family cause many some of the family members of the phantom voters are PR supporter. just let them receive their well-deserved punishment and spare the rest.
written by kent chong, January 05, 2009 14:44:51
Come ON MALAYSIA... vote PR-PAS at KT.
written by carribeanking7, January 05, 2009 15:08:16
Quote-
PAS had claimed that the strong presence of the police force in the city since late Saturday was an indication that Barisan Nasional would be bringing in phantom voters on polling day.

They say the crime rate is high in Klang due to a shortage of police -about 700 cops to a population of 1.4 million...yet they can deploy 6000 police personnel for Pernatang Pauh and KT by elections.
As for the "no phantom voters" statement, its akin Robert Mugabe declaring no cholera in Zimbabwe.

written by Milo, January 05, 2009 15:38:07
There are no phantom voters in KT just as there are no corruption in UMNO.

The people must come out in doves to exorcise these phantoms, JUST INCASE THEY EXISTS!
written by loosecannon, January 05, 2009 16:30:35
I believe him. I also believe there is no such a place called Mongolia.
written by USJ 6, January 05, 2009 16:41:16
DreamLady, you should't challenge him to swear in Masjid, it does't make him a more innocent person...for these people like Najis & Saiful, swearing in Masjid is like " eating a raw vege " .
written by othman hitam, January 05, 2009 16:41:26
Haiya EC, kalau olang bukan olang, hantu bukan hantu...apa ya...oh I know, raSHIT
written by USJ 6, January 05, 2009 16:57:00
the bottom line is, we need to have at least every 2 votes out of 3 in order to offset the phantom votes brought in by EC...cheers KT voters.
written by eloofk, January 05, 2009 17:20:36
Datuk Nordin,

Can u then explain why do u need to have so many policemen to descend into KT by the thousands? Are you anticipating that KT will turn into a war zone or is it that the police will ensure that no untoward will happen to the UMNO supporters? Or is it that you are instructed by your UMNO paymaster to provide protection to all those phantom voters?
written by ekt tan, January 05, 2009 19:11:20
EC is lying through it's teeth.
written by hjab, January 05, 2009 19:42:42
judging from what happened in Permatang Pauh, it won't surprise me if the actual turnout given out by EC at 8pm will greatly differed from the estimated turnout given by EC, as well as by observers at 5pm when polling stations are closed.

it didn't do much damage to Anwar, but in a closely-contested seat like KT, anything can happen. smilies/cry.gif
written by asguard, January 05, 2009 20:27:29
EC ...we don't trust you...it makes no different...if one has been replaced by another stooges...
written by rosso, January 05, 2009 21:52:21
Ha Ha Ha. What a big joke ! What a clown this guy turns out to be ! So anxious to protect his Masters. Podah !
written by azee72, January 05, 2009 22:20:28
ha? no phantom voters..wow!, I shall be wearing bikinis to work tomorrow.
written by meilui, January 06, 2009 16:05:54
Yes that's true and people aren't born from sperm ovum. smilies/tongue.gif