Home arrow The Blogs arrow Guest Columnists arrow ZUBAIDAH ABU BAKAR: A matter of divine inspiration

ZUBAIDAH ABU BAKAR: A matter of divine inspiration PDF Print E-mail
Monday, 05 January 2009 08:12

BN component parties, such as the MCA and Gerakan, are likely to exploit the issue of hudud among the Chinese, who make up about 11 per cent of the Kuala Terengganu electorate.

ZUBAIDAH ABU BAKAR, New Straits Times

CONTROVERSIES over religion are once again rearing their ugly head in Terengganu.

Amid the sparring between Umno and Pas for the hearts and minds of the Malay voters, the politicians are sounding like a broken record.

Political observers said this was bound to happen when two Malay-based parties fight for support from the same community -- as they are now in the run-up to the Jan 17 Kuala Terengganu by-election -- they would inevitably resort to religion.

Such is the tendency in the Malay-belt states -- Kelantan, Terengganu, Kedah and Perlis -- to mix religion and politics.

It started out with hudud and qisas and now has expanded to sin, and heaven and hell.
It was the revered Tok Guru -- Pas spiritual leader Datuk Nik Abdul Aziz Nik Mat -- who set off the accusations and counter-accusations at the launch of the Kelantan Pas machinery for the by-election at Masjid Hiliran in Kuala Terengganu last week.

Umno leaders quickly joined the chorus by rebutting the Kelantan menteri besar's claim that voters who chose Pas would be rewarded by God since the party was fighting for Islam.

Terengganu Menteri Besar Datuk Ahmad Said is fighting back and told Wanita Umno vote canvassers on Saturday to counter the claim of religious endorsement "nicely".

"Nik Aziz says God will reward those who vote for Pas but he didn't say voting for Umno is a sin.

"Explain nicely. We want to woo voters to our side, not scare them."

Ahmad's rejoinder came after Barisan Nasional candidate Datuk Wan Ahmad Farid Wan Salleh hit out at Pas for intimidating voters.

Nik Aziz is denying that Pas is using religion out of desperation, insisting that party leaders are merely informing the public about Islam.

For decades, Pas leaders have been baiting voters with promises of heaven if they voted for the party.

Former Election Commission chairman Tan Sri Abdul Rashid Abdul Rahman warned that using religion for political purposes was an offence under the Election Offences Act 1954, which could cost victors their seats.

Whether religion is successfully politicised before Kuala Terengganu's 80,229 registered voters go to the polls remains to be seen.

Religion can influence voting, especially when it is couched in the pronouncements of respected scholars.

Nik Aziz had, in 2002, declared Kelantan people who voted for Pas in the 1990 general election stood to gain pahala (rewards) as they had freed the state of riba (usury).

Pas won the state in 1990 and Nik Aziz, appointed the menteri besar, ordered the state government to withdraw its funds from commercial banks and deposit them in Bank Islam.

The party remains in control of Kelantan, although it nearly lost to BN in 2004.

When Nik Aziz was asked in an interview with the New Straits Times before the March 2008 general election whether he would woo voters with religion, his reply was: "In Islam, every good deed will be rewarded, what more in helping an Islamic party form a government?"

But BN component parties, such as the MCA and Gerakan, are likely to exploit the issue of hudud among the Chinese, who make up about 11 per cent of the Kuala Terengganu electorate.

Malay voters, however, are likely to ignore the issue as Muslims are obliged to respect the laws of God.

But the electorate, wiser for having seen it all before, will not be easily fooled by the political games.

It won't be long before they decide what their champion should stand for.

written by mypanida, January 05, 2009 08:31:10
The GOOD PAS against The Evil UMNO
written by hjab, January 05, 2009 11:24:54
Please don't insult our intelligence Zubaidah! To suggest that we the people vote for PAS because we've fallen for PAS's promises of heavens are downright insulting. EVERY good deeds will be rewarded.

Can't accept corruptions - Good deed
Can't accept abuse of power - Good deed
Can't accept double standards - Good deed
Can't accept hypocrisy - Good deed

If you can't differentiate between the good and the bad, the you are not worth to be a human, just a spineless journalist willing to sell her soul for a pittance. PAS is not perfect, PAS politicians are not perfect. But given the choice between UMNO and PAS, I'd choose PAS anytime, for one single reason: They don't insult my intelligence. Like you and your masters do.
written by densemy, January 05, 2009 11:41:41
What a way to run a country
written by Rainbowseahorse, January 05, 2009 11:47:37
This type of tussle for who is holier brings to mind the woman suicide bomber who blew herself up in a Bagdad mosque full of Iranian Shiite pilgrims and killing 35 of them (including women & children).

The question arises as to who goes to heaven? Will it be that suicide Muslim Sunni woman or the 35 Shiite Muslims killed by the explosion?
written by Democrats, January 05, 2009 11:57:29
No its not a sin to vote for UMNO. But I think its a CRIME AGAINST HUMANITY to vote for them.
written by Msian Idol3, January 05, 2009 11:58:20
Chinese are not afraid of hudud laws. It would not happen for at least 50 yrs. The chinese are more concern about cari makan & UMNO,MCA,MIC brand of crony business & politics affecting their livelihood & standard of meritocracies. As it is MCA is dead duck & 99% chinese knows MCA is UMNO's woof-woof.
written by DreamLady, January 05, 2009 12:06:08
Zubaidah, I do expect you to pay heed to my advice, obviously you are adamant to be
the traitor to your own people, and continue to spin shit for UMNO during the peak hour of campaigning.

In short, YOU ARE INCORRIGIBLE to the core !!!!
written by DreamLady, January 05, 2009 12:43:45
Zubaidah, a challenge for you: I dare you to write an article on the effect of scandals has on a country's Prime Minister in-waiting and mention a few effective ways to counter the smeared image before the takeover as a scandal-free PM....

If you accept the challenge and the article is just and fair, I believe the rakyat all over Malaysia shall embrace you with overwhelming love and respect. A legacy shall you leave behind for your loved ones to cherish!!!

Go for the challenge to make your existence in this world more meaningful..more satisfying...
written by carribeanking7, January 05, 2009 14:04:05
As far as I know the elections act 1954 does not mention the word "religion" even once, care to point out which section /schedule says this ?

The election act 1954 however says this says this :
4A. (1) Any person who, before, during or after an election, directly or indirectly, by himself or by any other person on his behalf, does any act or makes any statement with a view or with a tendency to promote feelings of ill-will, discontent of hostility between persons of the same, race or different races or of the same class different classes of the population of Malaysia in order to induce any elector or voter to vote or refrain from voting at an election or to procure or endeavour to procure the election of any person shall be liable, on conviction, to imprisonment for a term not exceeding five years or to a fine not exceeding ten thousand ringgit or to both such imprisonment and fine.

So tell me Dear Zubaidah, Ahmad Ismail clearly went against the act during the Permatang Pauh by elections by using deragatory terms against the chinese,
tell me, why isnt he doing 5 years behind the slammer as provided under the act ?
next time before you glibly quote any act , do your own research, not just quote by an Ex EC chairman who pathetically had his tenure extended by a year via constitutional ammendment.

As a writer you are entitled to your opinions, but do your bloody homework and get your facts right.