Home arrow The Blogs arrow News/Commentaries arrow RM5.8m earmarked for KT development

RM5.8m earmarked for KT development PDF Print
Saturday, 03 January 2009 21:42

KUALA TERENGGANU, Jan 3 — The state government plans to spend RM5.8 million to repair drains and roads and carry out several small projects in the state capital after the upcoming Kuala Terengganu parliamentary by-election.

“However, it is difficult for the government to continue its development agenda if the constituency falls to the opposition,” said Menteri Besar Datuk Ahmad Said.

He said the development projects would also be implemented in Wakaf Mempelam state seat in the Kuala Terengganu parliamentary constituency.

“See for yourself how Wakaf Mempelam (represented by Pas) is lagging behind,” he said.

The by-election is necessitated by the death of the Kuala Terengganu Member of Parliament, Deputy Education Minister Datuk Razali Ismail, on Nov 28. The by-election will be held on Jan 17 and nomination is on Tuesday.

Ahmad said plans were afoot to turn Kuala Terengganu into a tourist district to woo more investors to the state.

Meanwhile, BN candidate for the parliamentary by-election, Wan Ahmad Farid Wan Salleh said he planned to continue various projects started by Razali.

“If I am given the mandate, I will ensure that the voice of the people will be heard not only by the state government but also by the federal government,” he said. — Bernama

Comments (39)Add Comment
written by ibabonma, January 03, 2009 21:45:08
After 52 years of Merdeka? Bloody haprak UMNO.
written by Arubin, January 03, 2009 21:58:52
As usual, they only bring out the money just before the elections. The usual cheap tricks.

Want to have a few million thrown at your area for development? Go spook the local BN MP and hope he gets a heart attack. smilies/grin.gif
written by potblack, January 03, 2009 22:09:34
Hello MB, thats the rakyats money you are talking about.Not yours for goodness sake. Remember how many Mercedes you bought with taxpayers money? How can you say that new roads and drainage will be upgraded if BN win the by election?Are you MB for BN supporters only?The rakyat will throw you and your cilakas supporters into the sea this time.
written by uxzee, January 03, 2009 22:14:18
The death of Razali led to a call for a by-election. This fear of a by-election forced the BN to pay up the Trengganu oil royalty immediately.

Please do not cheat the people of Trengganu.
written by DreamLady, January 03, 2009 22:18:10
UMNO goons are seducing the Trengganu voters by hanging carrots infront of them, hoping these voters would take the bite!!

Why now, after 51 years, the UMNO regime become overly zealous in improving KT's development??

Apa lagi, segala rancangan baru untuk membena dan memperbaiki jalan raya dan longkang sembunyikan niat tertentu....'UNTUK MEMANCING UNDI'!!!! Engkau ingat orang Trengganu bodoh ke? Selama ini, sama ada kita lapar ke, kita tak mempunyai electricity ke, anak-anak kita tak berkasut ke sekolah ke, engkau orang tak ambil tahu langsung. Tapi hasil dari minyak engkau orang rampas semua. Tak tahu malu ke???
Sekarang, kenapa sebuk sangat nak ambil tahu hal kita orang???? Orang Trengganu tak ingin tengok muka tembuk engkau !!!
written by penangboi, January 03, 2009 22:18:28
Everytime there is an election, the same type of 'pork-barelling' happens....

It is very simple. What BN/UMNO is saying is that if you guys vote them in they will spend more money to reward you. If not, then you people of KT will be punished. What does it mean? Don't need to be a rocket scientist to see that it is in the first place a form of bribery, and second it is a blatant threat.

By threatening that KT will suffer the same fate as Wakaf Mempelam in 'lagging behind' UMNO is saying that even though the folks of KT do not commit any crime, but by not voting UMNO they will be punished by not having any 'development'. Money will not be spent on the area.

Come on KT folks. I don't know how you read this but for me it bloody cheeses me off. For me, it doesn't matter whether KT is under PAS or UMNO; the state government still has a responsibility to repair drains and roads which are not working. This is the responsibility of governing, to make sure that everything runs smoothly. What UMNO is saying to you KT folks is that you are not entitled to looking after even though you pay your cukai pintu and cukai tanah because if you vote for PAS then you will be punished.

We need to get rid of government with such childish and vindictive mentality. And to kick out UMNO in KT is the first step to achieving our ultimate objective of ridding a government which foundation is based on bribery and threats.

VOTE SMART, VOTE PAS !!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! And down with UMNO !!!!!!!
written by Raizzen, January 03, 2009 22:20:34
They're scared that the by-election will turn out to be a Bye Election.
written by michaelT, January 03, 2009 22:20:45
The MB is still not awakened. Developement is the BN responsibility and is on going. Whenevr there is a by election BN is always trying to buy support in this manner. For RM5.8million to repair roads and drains and you want the support of the people? You got to be joking. This is low class mentalllity MB. If there is no byelection dont tell us that there is no repair? KT people must say enough of this crap. Go for a tsunami change like March 2008. If they offer money take it and vote PR. Demand for more than they can give and put up challenges for them to open up their eyes.
written by Motherchell, January 03, 2009 22:21:04
Yeah! yeah !UMNO--- for 5M you can buy 10 bags of cement at todays prices plus 3rd party costs.
EZAM's rewards were higher for his house repairs when he ran away from Keadilan to the tunes of Najib.
Mx2's house alone may cost 10 M,
Toyol's gardener may be earning 5m /year . UMNO will never change so we have to make this change - wipe them off of KT!!
written by The Hammer, January 03, 2009 22:26:58
What, RM5.8 mil to spent for repairs? Hardly 0.5% of the oil revenue siphoned away to your coffins coffers! Is this all you can afford to give to the people of KT if they voted for you? Do you know what you get for giving out peanuts? Monkeys!
Yes a lot of stupid BN monkeys will take your peanuts while the rest will wait to take the coconuts! So to to people of KT choose peanut or coconuts!
written by seethinkact, January 03, 2009 22:49:04
Ooo boyy....Here they go again. Just can't change can they?..They can't help but simply must tickle the voters' balls. Ohh come on...Go get a life.

written by johanssm, January 03, 2009 22:49:42
This is the first element of corruption and black mailing the voters.
Where is that newly install election fella?
According to the election rules, bn/umno effectively disqualified from contesting.
written by malsia1206, January 03, 2009 22:51:27
This sort of 'news' used to sell well with the electorate in elections of the by-gone years. This time, the news gonna backfire on the present State Government.
written by eloofk, January 03, 2009 23:05:09
Admad Said,

This is money-politics. PAS will lodge a report with the MACC.
written by Tompios, January 03, 2009 23:12:56
Lagu lama dan gula2 lama terus dimainkan oleh UMNO. Bagi peruntukan konon!! Poorah!! Janji2 mu sudah terkenal di seluruh dunia!! Sangat sedikit yang ditunaikan!!

Sedarkan diri mu UMNO dgn Vodka Sabah!!
written by johntyc, January 03, 2009 23:21:53
Adalah menjadi tanggungjawab kerajaan negeri untuk menjaga setiap kawasan DUN termasuk yang tidak dimenangi partinya.

Kuala Terengganu, undilah PAS.
written by johntyc, January 03, 2009 23:29:26
Adalah menjadi tanggungjawab kerajaan pusat untuk menjaga setiap kawasan parlimen termasuk yang tidak dimenangi partinya.

Kuala Terengganu, undilah PAS.
written by Richy, January 03, 2009 23:55:02
Every time when comes to election BN will pour millions into the constituency in the name of development. This is obvious bribery to constituents by politicians merely to win votes. If this happens in any other country, the party concerned would be heavily punished under the law. In Malaysia it seems to be an accepted practice.
What a shame?
written by clarity, January 04, 2009 00:44:23
Hey BN, I suppose if the constituents want the moon you'll promise them that also. How many times we hear all this bullshit a few weeks before election. How come Kelantan can survive honestlt for 29 years even when you deprive them of their budget?
Say something new lah. Fed up of hearing the same thing.
written by PAKRAK, January 04, 2009 01:13:05
This is downright bribery and corruption. It always happens when there is an election. The UMNO/BN treat us, the rakyat, like little children by giving us candies but at the same time take the lion's share by giving out the projects to their cronies. The final cost will eventually come to RM58 million with unnecessary variation orders. Bloody suckers!!!
written by Daryl, January 04, 2009 01:42:48
Remember if you stop development than wat about those that voted for you. Don't be a stupid politician because that is what happened for 50 years now. FEAR, DIVIDE and CONQUER is no longer acceptable. To HELL if you use this tactic again
written by freedom to speak, January 04, 2009 02:17:54
Wow!
When can we have by-election in my town? Looks like thats the only way to get funds for development on fast-track.
To the people of KT, Play-on, sapu habis brother and vote wisely.
written by Fuminari, January 04, 2009 02:34:14
this is daylight bribery!!clear cut,it shows that umno is a totally corrupted triad,to these thieves n bandits.... money is only what they believe in,their god is money not allah!!
written by Dualties, January 04, 2009 02:47:52
Ahmad Said:

In a nation, there’s only one king, one queen, some princesses, some princes, one president and one prime minister: very few leaders, compared to the multitude of this world.

But fewer even still are brave leaders, courageous leaders, righteous leaders and wise leaders.

Why dish out RM5.8 million development allocation for the KT by-election by the BN Government. This is an indirect inducement for corruption in buying KT voters.

BN Government should have allocated more than RM5.8 BILLION instead in millions. Obviously this allocation should have been provided after the 2004 GE. BN Government is holding the KT voters at ransom !!
written by Lim Lim, January 04, 2009 03:49:06
give first n later rob u teruk teruk!
let u hav an inch,later rob u for a foot!!
KTs,is this what u want???
umno is a filthy word to be aligned with!!!
written by mucking fuddled, January 04, 2009 03:54:03
yet another low caliber politician from zimbabwe making a shameful and out of touch statement, such blatant inducement is totally unacceptable in a knowledgeable and more mature political envirolment anymore, such contemptuous statement will do more damage to your own party, what on earth were you thinking? oh sorry, i forgot, you guys don't think
written by Lim Lim, January 04, 2009 04:04:18
KTs!please show to the rest of malaysian that u are righteous to keep the change momentum going n resist this sort of god forbidding bribery!tell the corrupted n rotten umno enough is enough! n make this by election as the bye election to the evil umno be end.pass the message to the corrupted n rotten umno tribe that KTs n malaysian today are not the spineless n stupid creature which umno still naively think we are!vote Pas to tell them off n shut their thievery face!!give then a tight slap n tell them straight,bribery is forbidden by god!!!!!!!
written by KARMANNGHIA, January 04, 2009 04:58:22
This is desperate, 400 mil bought in by Najis and they can only spare 6 mil for the people? where did the gravy train lead to?
written by AsamLaksa, January 04, 2009 05:22:38
5.8 mil? Kechik! Bagilah itu royalti minyak.
written by Susuit, January 04, 2009 07:01:11
Jangan termakan umpan UMNO lagi, itu hanya sendiwara saja.
written by ahmadneil, January 04, 2009 08:18:45
This is what umno love to do,last minute window dressing to please the rakyats.Don't ever be fool by all this bullshit,KT.This are lies that umno have been using over the country, but never follow up.Just vote for PAS and you will get more from umno.
written by borneoman, January 04, 2009 08:33:29
bn is back with its old obsolete tricks again.didnt they also promised some projects in the 5 states that they lost to PR?bn have the habits of using the monetary value of their project to make it sounds big.5million is nothing compared to thcost of organising the monsoon cup which only benefited a few umno robbers.take what ever bn throw in but dont vote for bn.
written by ahmadneil, January 04, 2009 08:35:48
umno lagi bohong.Jangan undi umno!Stop all this using carrot.umno will lost more votes with this tactics.Kick umno out!
written by ahmadneil, January 04, 2009 08:37:22
Umno can promise you the moon but in the end you get nothing,absolutely nothing.Don't listen to Ahmad Said,He is just another liar!
written by ahmadneil, January 04, 2009 08:39:11
For 52 years we don't see any development and now even with this money ,it's not enough to wipe the KT people's ass.Outright lies!
written by densemy, January 04, 2009 09:14:00
Anywhere else the 'government" would be offering tempting innovations as a pre-election sweetener

In Malaysia they tempt you with routine maintenance which should have been done ten years ago
written by Msian Idol3, January 04, 2009 11:17:28
Suddenly got money for maintenance. Don't the municipal even have a plan for maintenance. Or is the head of Dept in the municipal sleeping on the job & taking gaji buta. Perhaps Contract goes to the Wan clan cronies or associates.
written by SiHangChai, January 04, 2009 12:26:53
TAHNIAH! Satu lagi projek KORUPSI Barisan Nasional nak umpan undi.
written by lynn, January 04, 2009 15:11:58
"""“However, it is difficult for the government to continue its development agenda if the constituency falls to the opposition,” said Menteri Besar Datuk Ahmad Said."""

Ahmad Said treats Kuala Trengganu folks as simpletons or fools. After 51 years, he came out with this statement abt repairing roads & drains? So what have the state govt been doing with Trengganu's billions after so many decades? What is RM5.8 million compare to RM300 millions wasted on Monsoon Cup entertainment? Well, for yr info, 5.8 million is a mere 1.93% of RM300 millions. That is the ultimate insult to all Trengganu folks.

If no by-elections, no repairs. If BN loses governing the state, more threats from the BN govt against Trengganu folks is assured.

I think we all have had enough of threats, lies, corruption, cronyism, nepotism, wastage of good funds, mismanagement, stealing, extortion by BN govt. KT folks, if you care about the future of Malaysia, please vote out the bad govt. VOTE FOR PAS!