Home arrow The Blogs arrow News/Commentaries arrow Catholic paper fights Malaysia gov't language curb

Catholic paper fights Malaysia gov't language curb PDF Print
Saturday, 03 January 2009 11:04

A Catholic newspaper warned Friday it might take Malaysia's government to court for allegedly violating the rights of religious minorities by refusing to let the publication use the national Malay language.

The Herald, the main Roman Catholic weekly in Muslim-majority Malaysia, received a letter from the Home Ministry on Tuesday restricting it to English, Mandarin and Tamil for its multilingual editions. The newspaper typically uses four languages including Malay.

The Rev. Lawrence Andrew, editor of the Herald, said the newspaper sent a letter to the ministry Friday to appeal the order. If there is no response in seven days or the decision is not retracted, the Herald will consider legal action against the government, Andrew said.

"The prohibition amounts to persecution," Andrew told The Associated Press. "It curtails our freedom of expression and diminishes our rights as citizens. ... We are perplexed and we do not think that the prohibition is on solid legal ground."

The ministry has said the language curb would be in effect until a court rules on a dispute between the Herald and the government over the use of the word "Allah" as a Malay-language translation for "God." The Herald has sought a court order to challenge the government's ban last year on its use of "Allah." A hearing is scheduled for next month.

The government has said the use of the word could confuse Muslims, while the Herald insists "Allah" has been used for centuries to mean "God" in Malay.

Abdul Razak Abdul Latif, an official with the Home Ministry's publishing unit, declined to say whether the latest language restriction might be lifted.

He added the Herald has the right to pursue further legal action, but stressed that the ministry "does not consider the decision to be a violation of any rights."

The ministry's letter to the Herald this week was meant to confirm its publishing license would be extended for another year. All publications must renew a license approved by the government annually, but the newspaper had feared it would be banned for continuing to use "Allah" and highlighting political issues instead of only religious ones.

The Herald's troubles illustrate concerns among many minority Christians, Buddhists and Hindus in the multiethnic country that their rights have been undercut by government efforts to boost the status of Islam.

Dissatisfaction among minorities over sporadic demolition of Hindu temples, court rulings about the right to leave Islam and other religious disputes contributed to the government's poor performance in national elections last March. - AP

Comments (37)Add Comment
written by ylcc, January 03, 2009 11:08:34
I have accompanied my Indonesian helper to church, and the service was in Bahasa Indonesia ... I don't understand why the ban? These Indonesian helpers speak only Bahasa Indonesia, and it is a form of communication. So what does the government expect the church to do - use sign language?
written by panca, January 03, 2009 11:27:47
When I heard Christmas carol was sung(played) in bahasa Malaysia then I realised the majority were Christians that spoke in this language - Sarawak.

When I drove along Jalan Tun Razak toward Jln Bukit Bintang, the Christmas greetings were displayed in bahasa Malaysia - Peninsular

What do one sees in the two? Isn't language used as a communication tool on the former? And the latter, similar purpose or political administrative policy? Who are we greeting here in Bahasa Malaysia? Perhaps Malaysia instead of Hari Krismas should just wish in english, MERRY CHRISTMAS!
written by Motherchell, January 03, 2009 11:37:07
The sick UMNO planners want to take on the world with Bahasa? Nationalism at its rot !! UMNO is so sick a creature that it has to be buried in concrete! are there any Bahasa scholars who can take on their Indonesian counterparts?? But ll these dropouts have a string of PHDs! the formula just dont tally!
written by PangurBan, January 03, 2009 11:59:11
Please fight this all the way Rev Lawrence Andrew. It is an attack on your fundamental right to communicate with your readers in their own language and it is also an attack on our civil liberties by a muslim-dominated Establishment that seems to suffer from a deep seated sense of insecurity and a warped inferiority complex. Or maybe they're just a bunch of irrational somethingorother.

The Establishment seems to be hitting out blindly and irrationally. On the one hand, they object to the use of the Arabic word Allah on the grounds that it might 'confuse Muslims'. I'm not quite sure what they are trying to suggest: that the Roman Catholic Church has an insidious agenda to sow confusion by using devious words? Or that Muslims in general or that Muslims in Malaysia are not sensible or rational enough? On the other hand they insist that the publication must be for circulation to Catholics only. Does that mean I would be committing offence or causing the Herald to commit an offence if I were to furtively pick up a copy of the publication and read it clandestinely in some dark corner of my non-Catholic world? If the publication is for Catholic readers only, how can the use of the word 'Allah' in anyway confuse a Muslim? Is the Establishment concerned that word would get round to Muslims in this country that there was a Catholic publication that psst psst uses the word 'Allah' and that they would promptly be tempted to try to get their hands on a copy of this publication which they're not supposed to read and lo and behold read the word 'Allah' there and be utterly confused as a result?

On the one hand we have the Establishment urging us all to use Malay in all domains, championing its role as a means of communication for all Malaysians, putting it on some plinth with a plaque that reads 'Bahasa Kebangsaan'. On the other hand, they are now saying YOU CANNOT use Malay in such and such a case.

OK, I've got it. The Establishment are a confused lot, so they think other Muslims are just as easily confused and they want to spare them.
written by cheekhiaw, January 03, 2009 12:23:22
2 gods fighting over the right to use a language. A bunch of thieves, liars and murderers acting as referee.

NOTE: While MT welcomes your relevant thoughts and views on the topic, repeats are not encouraged. Thank you - nk
written by Krazee, January 03, 2009 12:48:37
it'll do these ppl good to actually read the herald whether in english, bahasa, mandarin or tamil and pick up from it how to really live as people who believes in God....basically, tolerance and love thy neighbour and hey...isn't that what the muslims are suppose to believe too....love and tolerance ???
written by cruzeiro, January 03, 2009 13:29:12
Repeat posting removed
written by mikewang, January 03, 2009 14:08:55
I think BN should propose an amendment in parliament unmaking Bahasa Malaysia the national language in this country where religious publication is concerned.
written by Angela Ooi, January 03, 2009 14:18:30
Another example of pea-sized brain Malay bureaucrats who constantly insult their own kind by rationalizing that this will make the Muslims in Malaysia migrate to another faith. What other reason can there be for this unreasonabsle ban? Malaysia boleh provide constant laughter for the world with their numerous amazing stupidity.
written by jonath66my, January 03, 2009 14:25:31
(Is this not going against the national language policy of using BMelayu? Can the Ministry be ISA-ed for making a mockery of the use of BM? Isn't this condition a ridicule to BM belittering it that it has no place in any religion except Islam? Is using BM now considered a sensitive issue? So why the hue and cry over degrading or sidelining BM when the BN government itself is banning it's use by the church? Is this double standard? Is there a law banning who can and cannot use BM.? What crap condition is this.. a mockery to the national language at best! Isn't it seditious to mock the national language that it cannot be used or should be used? Does the BN government has the power to decide who can and cannot use BM?Can the BN government dictate and control who and where or when BM can be used? Will the church stoop to such bully threats by the BN government and Ministry? see 'WTF the Herald' www.jonathan66-my.********.com
written by SiHangChai, January 03, 2009 15:24:25
Yes, I agreed that legal action to be taken against the Govt of Malaysia. I think the decision by the Govt is an act of discrimination and have mala fide against other religions. If such decision is made, then, all Muslim literatures in Chinese, English, Tamil, Kadazans, Ibans etc language other than Bahasa Malaysia and Jawi should be banned as well. Lets be fair to others. people are not stupid to decide what religion is best for them. Govt can't force anyone to embrace a religion as no religion is superior than others. I can't beleive what our govt is doing when in Singapore, a lot of the Christian associations are donating for the well-being of Muslim associations without any condition attached. Why can't the Malaysians Govt will more grow-up in thinking?
written by mawi, January 03, 2009 15:24:51
Repeat posting removed
written by peace, January 03, 2009 15:52:25
To evil umnok, STOP bullying the minority in Malaysia especially in religion issue. Our country is going to jungle law soon with a bunch of evil umnok goons leading our nation. Kick evil umnok out and Malaysia will be a very safe and peaceful place to live in.
written by Fart Fart Wah, January 03, 2009 17:04:54
Dear Citizens of Malaysia

I the Home Minister actually want you all to practise understanding and tolerance among the various races as far as religion and racial issues are concerned as said by Abdua dua Allah however there is a FEAR FACTOR OF THE Abdu.dua allah Administration. Although in his Christmas message he said let all of us work together and understand each other..and let there be more religious understanding and tolerance) he only meant this for other religions..but Islam is one step backward in catching up with the others so the others have to wait...that is why we do not want the Herald to print anything in BAhasa. You see my people are so stupid that the word Allah written in your Herald and Bibles will actually confuse them to think the Allah is also with the Christians and they might end up going to the Churches and pray there too. This is my fear that your books might confuse them and that is why I am protecting them for the time being from being confused. I will have to explain to them that Allah was used by Christian Arabs and Muslim in Arabia from the time of the dinosaurs and they are not confused but have learnt to accept also are intelligent in seeing it. However my people are stupid they cannot understand why two religions are using the same word Allah for. I have to stress to them that our UMNO Allah is not the same as the Christian Allah and the PAS Allah..
You see we want to make sure that they really worship the real UMNO Allah. As such to prevent them from asking us too many questions as this will give me less time to allow my UMNO members to cheat,rape, cover up murders , give and receive bribes, to lie, to steal Malay land and money from orphans, to manipulate other the MCA and MIC and to create racial tensions..and I also need to pray 5 times a day and make sure my people go for Friday prayers..I HAVE DECIDED THAT I WILL TEMPORARILY ( maybe permanently) stop them from distributing anything with the word Allah or use BM. You see although Bahasa Malaysia is encouraged to be used by the citizens of Malaysia and we want it so and we know that you also pray in BM..we still want to deny you this for fear that the Malay people might get converted...because they have very weak faith..and are easily cheated and manipulated as I have successfully done..

So allow me to end this appeal for understanding and tolerance as we really want to make this difference to ensure that our Ketuanan Melayu is upheld and together we can live happily ever after

Thank you...HAPPY NEW YEAR 2009..

THE HOME MINISTER OF DUNGULAND
BOTAK AL AZAHAR SYED

written by Goodbites, January 03, 2009 17:19:29
If you can't ban the use of one word, then ban the whole language. I am very concerned of what's next. BM is the national language, as provided in the constitution. All Malaysians have the right to use it as a means of communication. We know who will win in the end!
written by Hope4all, January 03, 2009 17:45:36
Pak Lah lifted the Malay bible ban in 2003, even using of the word "Allah". Read the link below. Guess this confirms how much power he has now.

http://www.ucanews.com/2003/05...-minister/
written by Pangkis Pangazou, January 03, 2009 18:14:20
Mawi wrote:
As for the East Malaysians, they have their own languages that they are comfortable with.

This is one glaring example of the ignorance of West Malaysians to the situation of East Malaysians. The majority of East Malaysians speak Malay (Maybe not your dialect... but Malay nonetheless). We converse in Malay... and we have been having our prayer services in Malay too. There is nothing sinister about all this, there is no ulterior motives (as most of you West Malaysian Malays feel that way..)and there are no ill intentions. The crux of the matter is the majority of us only speak and understand Malay. Are you going to deny this right to your fellow East Malasyians? There are more than 50 local tribes/races in Sabah alone. These people don't converse in English... they converse and understand ONLY Malay. So, why deny them this right to worship in whatever language they are comfortable with?

Janganlah bah kamurang takut bayang-bayang sendiri. Kuatkan iman sendiri baru tidak lari ke mana. Sya nampak kamurang sendiri ndak "trust" orang-rang kamu sampaikan bila ada risalah dalam Bahasa Malaysia kamurang takut ada orang kamu terpengaruh. Why so little faith in your own people Mawi?
written by ylcc, January 03, 2009 18:20:16
Hi, Mawi. Happy New Year!

I know how you feel when it comes to your religion, but I sincerely believe it is no longer a question of religion but politics here. Of course, we do not publish our material in Swahili in Malaysia ... in Rome do as the Romans do.

The Christian Indonesians are presently using the bible, hymns and literature in a language they understand. Is that so wrong, Mawi? There is no agression here, just peace. Do you know how difficult it is for me when I attend church in France ... I hardly understand anything? Can I tell the church not to use French, but English? Does it state anywhere in your religion that one is not allowed to use BM for other religions?
written by ylcc, January 03, 2009 19:12:16
Pangkis Pangazou, my sister-in-law is a Kadazan Christian. When she came over to Malaysia, she could hardly speak a word of English. My brother was working in Sabah, so I am aware that the people there communicate mostly in Malay. It is not the ordinary Muslims. I think it more of political persecution.
written by ylcc, January 03, 2009 19:37:33
Hi Mawi ...thanks for the good wishes. Had a quiet New Year myself. Prefer spending more time with family ... getting old!

I do agree with you that the East Malaysians do speak a language we do not understand, as so often I hear my sister-in-law communicating on the phone with her parents. I would associate it with the dialects of the Chinese (teochew, cantonese, hakka or khek, hokkien, shanghainese, hainanese, hockchiew, fuchiew ...). I am a hakka, and even this is broken down into different provinces of hakka. So not necessary that I can understand another hakka! To overcome this problem, we use a common language - Mandarin. If you can get hold of a Quran in Yingxia (muslim-dominated China) you will find it printed in Mandarin, and not dialects! So are the bibles.

Likewise, for East Malaysia, they use Malay as a common language.
written by alpha100, January 03, 2009 21:25:33
Maybe one day we malaysian chinese or others cannot use BM loh! But no worry! Next election we change the Goverment!
written by PangurBan, January 03, 2009 22:18:00
I think the next logical step would be to forbid Muslims from learning English. After all, there is SO MUCH out there in English language media and broadcasting that would potentially 'confuse Muslims'.
written by Pangkis Pangazou, January 03, 2009 22:43:12
mawi wrote:
Sorry for my ignorance, but my frequent trips to East Malaysia lead me to believe that most of the natives there has their own language as I could never understand a word when they converse with each other

If you say you had frequent trips to East Malaysia... then my friend you learned nothing from your trips. Perhaps you should stay awhile and see for yourself that what we converse in is indeed Bahasa Melayu... Sabah style... understood by all Sabahans... whether they are Christians or Muslims... whether they are Kadazans or Bajaus...or Chinese and I am sure my brothers/sisters in Sarawak also do speak Malay...but loghat Sarawak. I think you are also well aware that colloquial language is different from written language... so, you will find that our Church literature/articles in Malay are written in proper Bahasa Malaysia and not written in "our loghat Sabah" as there are no such thing as "written" Sabah Malay dialect. One of the things that unite Sabahans is the common Malay language we converse in... we do not converse daily in English. Even some of the younger generations don't know a single word of their mother tongue. So, our lingua franca is the local Sabahan Malay dialect and you cannot have that in written form for official Church articles, it must be written in proper Bahasa Malaysia. There is nothing sinister about this. I just don't understand why you West Malaysian Malays are really wary of this. Our Sabahan Muslims brothers/sisters have no problem with this (Church Articles in Bahasa Malaysia). Have you ever read in the media that Sabahan Muslims are converting by the thousands because of such articles? NIL...NEVER.... We have been living peacefully all this while... our Muslim friends here know that there are Church services conducted in Bahasa Malaysia... and they have no problem with it. Why are you so distrustful? You don't even trust YOUR OWN PEOPLE to hold on to their faith. Do you think that The Bible in Malay will covert them? Do you think that Church articles in Malay will make them question their religion? I don't think so. Furthermore... those articles written in Malay are not meant for you... it is for our usage... for our own purpose. Let's live peacefully please.
written by OVERLORD, January 04, 2009 00:24:18
ya "allah"..like that also can ar?...so sue me for using these words....what is even worse when cops get involve in tearing down an innocent banner displaying the word allah in a church.this incident occured a couple of years ago. freedom my foot!!please stop bastardizing the malay word that contains sanskrit, portugese,english influences while we are at it.
written by Sabahfan, January 04, 2009 01:15:27
Father Andrew is only half correct. He missed or is prevented from saying the other half of the facts....

It is not just prohibition cum persecution.

The other half is forcing conversion to ISLAM.

You know very well that Language is a medium of instructions and propagation of any religion.

You also know well that since Malaysia day, UMNO has been slowly trying to kill all the other language and forcing Bahasa.

You all know well that a vast majority of the citizens especially natives have lost their mother tongue, not vell verse in English and other language except Bahasa.
Now if Bahasa cannot be used to teach christianity, it is proof that UMNO is trying to KILL all other religions and since Bahasa is the only languages that these youngsters can speak, THEN they can ONLY be exposed to ISLAM... therefore this is unchallengable proof that UMNO moslem leaders are FORCING conversions of our children since there is no way they can convert the confirmed Adults.

I saY to father andrew and all the rest of the religious leaders.... Apart from challenging this in court, YOU should also sent an URGENT appeal to the United Nations Charter of HUMAN RIGHTS since there is obvious a SUBTLE attempt by the Moslem leaders in Malazutland to FORCE conversions on our youths and young children....

There is no doubt about it.
written by freedom to speak, January 04, 2009 02:12:50
FEAR makes a big man - a weakling.
First it was the use of "Allah",
Now they hide behind the use of language.
What more do you FEAR?
CARTOONS maybe?
(malu la, they are running with their tails between their legs)
I think THE HERALD has "checkmate" the government.
Malaysia is/going to be laughing stock all over the world.
written by ylcc, January 04, 2009 07:16:58
Mawi, a few points:
1)"rights of our Chinese Muslims wanting to have a Chinese Muslim mosque where the sermon will be in Mandarin but was not allowed by the Federal government."
2)"sermon in Thai and distribute the printed sermon also in written Thai"
3)"So likewise, stop it I say if you are in West Malaysia since its not appropriate or practical to have sermons or publications in Malay but by all means do it in East Malaysia or Indonesia."

So it is a political decision.
Church services in Malaysia can be in Thai (for Thai workers,), Myayamar for the Burmese, in BM for the Indonesian workers, Cantonese and Mandarin for the Chinese/mainland China, English for the English speaking, and Tamil for the Tamil speaking. This is not easy, but the church does make this effort for all Christians, regardless of race/nationality. You cannot ask them to go back to their country of origin and attend church there and come back for work. As you have said "So what is so wrong for them to deliver it in Chinese when they are largely Chinese?" I attend the service I am comfortable with. I accompany my Indonesian helper to her BM service. As Christians, we are a tolerant and respectful of other religions/races.

We still carry on with our services even if a handful turns out. It is not the size that counts, but when we gather in the presence of God. This practice is worldwide for the Christians.

4)"By the way, I would welcome it with open arms if the Christians here master the Malay language as it would be much easier for them to understand Islam better"

I believe this is the reason why Sabahfan said "The other half is forcing conversion to ISLAM. You know very well that Language is a medium of instructions and propagation of any religion. You also know well that since Malaysia day, UMNO has been slowly trying to kill all the other language and forcing Bahasa."

If you are in Malaysia, Mawi, you speak BM whether you like it or not. Christians are Malaysians and they attend schools here. I am a bit different as I left Malaysia for 30 yrs, married a "orang putih" and lost all practice of BM. My family speak excellent BM (my sister speaks Jawi, being a retired teacher).

Christians are multi-racial. The Chinese/Indians can be Buddhists or Muslims too. When some readers on "MT" protest about Islam and the hudud laws, etc, you do not know their background. I have good Muslim friends (from JB to Penang!). One of them is a Kelantan princess. Her mother is exceptional, and whenever I visit them she would tell me I am welcome to join them in prayers. I stay respectfully with them, although I do not participate. Do I need to master BM to do that? Likewise, would the Muslims try to understand the Christians better? I can tell you my friends do. Respect begets respect.

Why should Christians be afraid of the hudud laws? When the readers protest about this, are you sure they are Christians? You yourself, told me you came from a missionary school. Did the father there teach the students to be bad or intolerant of other races/religions?

Mawi, if my painful explanation still does not carry any weight here ... then I am totally at a loss to say anything more. I am going to take a walk up the hills to unwind. A good exercise would do me good physically and mentally!
written by borneoman, January 04, 2009 08:44:44
let us boycott bahasa tuan melayu umno.remind your childrens,relatives and friends to stop speaking in bahasa tuan melayu because it is a crime to do so.
written by borneoman, January 04, 2009 09:01:25
mawi,why are you discriminating the christian of malaya?since when did "number" became the legal benchmark to decide if the need of 1 individual is less important compared to the need of 10 individuals.do you think your GOD would have allowed you to do that?does it also mean that the "Majority" have the absolute right to decide for the minority?your arguement is shallow and childish.why are you so bend into stopping the christian from using something which is universal? what about if the early arab christians banned your prophets and especially the muslim malays of malaya from using the word "allah"?
written by ylcc, January 04, 2009 09:15:51
"So likewise, stop it I say if you are in West Malaysia since its not appropriate or practical to have sermons or publications in Malay but by all means do it in East Malaysia"

BTW, Mawi ... you cannot have two sets of rules for East & West Malaysia. This is something that I can never understand - East Malaysia, West Malaysia. Either you let Sarawak & Sabah break away or we are Malaysia for all Malaysians!
written by borneoman, January 04, 2009 10:42:44
u r right ylcc.mawi should send a petitiön to the pm office requesting for sarawakian and sabahan to decide if they still want to be part of malaysia through a referendum. BTW...Mawi,muslim are minority in sarawak therefor they have no right to use the word "allah" because you said "east malaysian" is an exception.
written by ylcc, January 04, 2009 11:50:11
Hello, borneoman ... nice to know you. Thanks for your support.
written by panca, January 04, 2009 12:31:27
written by borneoman, January 04, 2009 10:42:44
u r right ylcc.mawi should send a petitiön to the pm office requesting for sarawakian and sabahan to decide if they still want to be part of malaysia through a referendum. BTW...Mawi,muslim are minority in sarawak therefor they have no right to use the word "allah" because you said "east malaysian" is an exception

Yes, don't let these two states get worsened by the same of umno that have themselves caught in their own time warp in Peninsula(like the time shift by M.Kutty, pun intended. Moving away would also help Sabah and Sarawak free from these bogus NEP and 'ketuanan crap' at the same time I get to travelling overseas after that. Perhaps that would have made PR form the Federal govt too after last March election, without the BN voters sympathisers while the voters get short-changed by crap politicians like Bung KinaBATANGan!
written by Sabahfan, January 05, 2009 00:38:44
As far as i know, Sabahans and Sarawakians would be more than happy to cede from malaysia...

But why is it that the BLOODY malazut UMNO govt sent some Sabah leaders to ISA for purportly trying to bring Sabah out of Malaysia? what were they afraid of?

Or they worry of losing some sabah votes for UMNO leaders? ha ha ha, or afraid we will have our own ALLAH??

puiii tak pandai malu betul