Home arrow The Blogs arrow News/Commentaries arrow Church wants ban on Herald's Bahasa Melayu section revoked

Church wants ban on Herald's Bahasa Melayu section revoked PDF Print
Saturday, 03 January 2009 11:03

Tan Sri Murphy Pakiam

Archbishop of Kuala Lumpur Tan Sri Murphy Pakiam has asked the Home Ministry to revoke its ban on the Bahasa Melayu section of the Herald --  The Catholic Weekly, on the ground that this permit condition constitutes a "serious violation of our constitutional freedom of expression and speech".

The prohibition on the Bahasa Melayu section was contained in a ministry letter to Pakiam on Dec 30 which approved the weekly's annual publishing permit subject to three conditions. The other two were that the weekly could only be sold in churches and that the cover must carry the words "Bacaan ini hanya untuk penganut agama Kristian sahaja" (this reading material is only for Christians).

In a letter hand-delivered to the ministry today, Pakiam, who is also the publisher of Herald, said the ministry should reconsider its decision and revoke the ban within seven days, failing which which they will seek legal redress from the court.

Earlier, at a press conference in Putrajaya, Home Minister Datuk Seri Syed Hamid Albar declined to field questions on this matter.

Pakiam said they were "totally perplexed" over the ban pending the decision of the court concerning the use of the word "Allah".

"We are unable to see how these two matters are related. Even if the courts dismiss our application for judicial review in respect of the use of the word 'Allah' in the Herald, that has no bearing on the publication in Bahasa Malaysia," Pakiam said.

He said aside from the violation of the constitutional freedom of expression and speech, "it also prohibits and/or diminishes the rights of the citizens of this country to express themselves and communicate in the national language, in clear contravention of the spirit and intent of the National Language Act 1967".

He said the condition also serves as "a form of retribution or punishment on account of our filing of the pending judicial review proceedings in the High Court", and is thus "grossly unreasonable, irrational and illegal".  He added that it also reeked of ill-will and bad faith.

He said the High Court had granted them leave to pursue the issue of whether they were entitled to use the word "Allah" in the Herald, especially in the Bahasa Malaysia segment. Therefore, they ought to be allowed to use the word until the High Court decides otherwise.

As for the other two conditions, he said they had always sold the Herald only in churches, and that there was no need to further state in the cover that the publication was only for Christians as the words "The Catholic Weekly" denoted that it was meant for Catholics.

In a separate statement, MP for Seputeh Teresa Kok urged Syed Hamid to review the decision made by the Publications and Quranic Text Control Unit, as it contravenes the Federal Constitution and creates resentment against the government.

She said the decision is unfair to those Christians who only read Bahasa Malaysia, and only worship God in the national language. - The Sun Daily

written by Bandit, January 03, 2009 12:07:34
Simple answer lah. Muslims will read the BM version and convert to Christianity. Isnt that the true reason. While they stop others, they shove Islamic studies down our children through Form 4 & 5 History subject. Have anyone read the SPM questions on History? Only one word is sufficient to discribe these Hypocrites. COWARDS!!!!.

For years the shuff Islamic studies down their own children from the time they are born and we can all see which race and religion makes the biggest culprits we have today. Yes, the muslim youths themselves. Mak Rempit, Minah Rempits, Bohsia, Sex Parties, University Orgys on and on and on. Which group form the largest rapist? Hypocrites, pergi jaga rumah sendiri lah. The others are very much well off inspite of all the so called rules and regulations that the muslims have imposed. When muslims have any ceramah all are invited but when others (non muslims) hold any gatherings, absurd rules sucg as "only for non muslims" must be observed. Cowards to the End.
written by ahmadneil, January 03, 2009 12:21:35
We must not let Syed Hamid practise 2 sets of rules,shift goal post and bend rules.
He is insulting the intelligence of the malays.
written by Sudahlah tu, January 03, 2009 13:10:26
jelas sekali lagi umno mempermainkan agenda keagamaan mengikut cara mereka.
bahasa sekali lagi menjadi medan pertelingkaran yang umat Allah akan 'dihina' jikalau dibenarkan dalam agama lain.
barangkali umat Islam sendiri akan terperdaya dengan percetakan dalam bahasa.
Adakah umno sekali lagi cuma membuktikan yang umat Allah selemah ini dan akan terpesong ke kepercayaan lain melalui bacaan sahaja ?
Adakah bangsa sendiri sebenarnya hanya bergantung penuh kepada umno untuk menunjuk kekuatan beragama Islam dan jikalau bukan umno Islam mungkin tersesat ajaranNYA ?
orang melayu di Malaysia yang diwajibkan beragama Islam semenjak dilahirkan tidak mungkin begitu mudah diperdayakan oleh kepercayaan lain jikalau umno benar-benar mementingkan kepercayaan ini dengan kesucian menggunung tinggi.
Itupun kalau umno sendiri dapat mengerjakan Suruhan Allah dengan betul.
Kesian..lah orang melayu selalu diperalatkan oleh umno untuk mencetus isu perpaduan dan isu kenegaraan yang sebenarnya bermotifkan perpecahan bangsa dan negara. Mengapa begitu ?
written by cruzeiro, January 03, 2009 13:27:13
This order is unconstitutional!What has the "Allah" case got to do with the whole issue of publication in Malay? They are flouting the constitutional rights of every Citizen to use BM as the national language for intergration!

How can they ban the publication in Malay? I thought they want Malay usage to be popularized! They want all Malaysians to unite in language. They want us to study in Malay. Some even suggest Malay be the sole medium of instruction in schools. But all of a sudden, we cannot publish in Malay when it comes to our religious matters? What's the problem? You don't want Malaysians to love the language? Or is it that your faith is so flimsy, and you suppose that all Malay Muslims are like you? Maybe it is just another way to divide the people and encourage mutual suspicion.

Don't they know that many Catholics/ Christians in Sabah/ Sarawak and also immigrant workers who are in Malaysia use Malay to worship? Are they preventing us from communicating with our Malay speaking co-religionists? Next they will tell us that we can only worship and communicate in languages that are not spoken in Malaysia! All you guys from different religions/ denominations who choose remain silent/indifferent on this travesty of justice and unconstitutional action by Mr. HM - your day will come!!

Ban on Bahasa Malaysia - is it Constitutional?
http://cruzinthots.********.co...is-it.html
written by CheGUvera, January 03, 2009 13:53:00
Malaysia is a GREAT democratic country smilies/grin.gif...?? we can say what we wan..(at a certain limit),write as we like (to a certain limit), Now this GREAT democracy even tells us which language to write in.WOW!!! WAT a GRAY country
written by exzonerator, January 03, 2009 13:56:26
Whoever slaps you on your right cheek, turn the other to him also.
written by cruzeiro, January 03, 2009 14:03:03
exzonerator,
You've got a nasty fetish for spanking masochism or something? Make sure you don't suggest spreading it like saiful, okay
written by borneoman, January 03, 2009 14:08:43
all christian missionary schools must revert back to english as a sole medium of instruction because it is a sin to use bahasa malaysia...according to tuan melayu umno law of the jungle.bahasa malaysia is not even the official language for us Sarawakian as enshrined in the 20pts agreement.
written by Fart Fart Wah, January 03, 2009 16:44:29
ritten by mawi,
"I would totally disagree if it uses a languange that is of no practicle use to its effort to spread the words of Christianity".

Mr Mawi,
there are two clear issues here. (1).Can the non-Muslims use BM to write for those of who don not understand English matters relating to their faith..be Shanism or Hiduism or whatever -ism

2) the second more "disturbing one is , Can the word Allah be used by Christians in Malaysia??? ..both are interlinked.

For the first issue ..I think the Home Minister is a capital Moron. It can be seen that the government is trying to promote BM. This than defeats the purpose of the making of a Bangsa Malaysia. By not allowing the use of Bahasa in explaining faith matters to its people the church has no other means because a large number of its followers are Malay speaking..mostly from Indonesia( by the way they the Indons do not have a problem like what we have here now created by these capital morons. This
effectively takes away the fundamental rights of a human being. The right and freedom to express, read and write in whatever language for worship or other matters. The stupid and bungling 1st blunder(not wonder) of the world Home Minister should just state..ok..you can write in BM but ..because because Morons like me do not like you all to use the word "Allah"..skip it..and use Tuhan..which means God and not Allah..but you can write and explain to your people in BM other matters relating to your faith but..no touch Islamic matters....

2) You can see because of the challenge in court over the word Allah..the bungling Home Minister is angry and has made a sweeping prohibition of the use of BM for the other religion's use. What a moron and what a reasoning!!.Now every man on the street and every coffee shop talk including the prostitutes know this..but the bungler will not admit to his blunder and expects the rest of the population to be like "kerbaus di tarik hidung"...
Now the word Allah is special to only UMNO ISLAM note..even PAS has not complained. The public knows that UMNO and PAS are at war to prove that they are more Islamic than the Arabs..UMNO members go their own mosque for prayers while PAS members go theirs..(For me it looks like they are praying to 2 separate Allahs.)..fine we are not going to argue this one...but what perplexes the common man's mind is the word Allah has been use from the time of the dinosaurs( sorry for the pun) but it is generally accepted by Muslims and Christians in Arabia and a large part of the Muslim world( an Indonesia being the largest Muslim country does not even bother to make this an issue)
So we are having a group of UMNO MORONS who think that they have the answers to this and their knowledge even surpasses that of those in the country where ISLAM was born.( no wonder the most prestigious Islamic University in Egypt threw our students out ..probably forseeing they might be future terrorists or issue Fatwas condemning the same University.)
Now if you look back..this was never an issue. If this bungler moron just continued to let everthing to as normal it would be ..just keeping an eye..issue..however now it has taken a turn for the worse...and again the Islamic world and the Western World are looking at Malaysia as having leaders who are backboneless and completely
ignoramuses..(idiots)(..remember the hue and cry on the yoga issue??)

My question to you Mr Mawi...ARE THE MALAYS SO STUPID AS THE ARROGANT HOME MINISTER MAKES THEM OUT TO BE THAT THEY WILL BE CONVERTED READING THE HERALD????What A HOGWASH!!!CAN THE MALAYS BE THAT STUPID AND WEAK IN FAITH????
As you can see this is just a political agenda to play to the gallery for Malay support as usual ON race, reLigion and the Ketuanan Melayu bullshit.

So it is not whether the others can use Swahili or Bahhili or Gahili..for their faith. It is a consistency in application of a policy. Do you want them to use Bahasa or not????..If you do not want then..the whole school system too should be changed.
A good lawyer like Karpal can tell you this is precedence set for Zhong Dhong to take as an example..." You see ah..the gomen pun tak mau kita pakai bahasa woh"""
written by kclim2, January 03, 2009 16:48:43
We have to fight those those thieves, muderers,hypocrites for our rights as enschrine in the constitutions!
written by Qcumber, January 03, 2009 17:05:09
In one hand, we are asked to martabatkan Bahasa Malaysia, on the other hand we are asked not to use Bahasa Malaysia. What kind of brain is in the working? Dah la di pentas antarabangsa nobody want to use the language some more in our own country we are discouraged to use it.

In this case, it is clearly shows the superiority of Christianity over Islam. The Muslims are scared of the influence of the Christians. They always feel that if given a choice, most Muslims will convert to Christians. They need to use all means to prevent this even to the extent of preventing the people to use of our national language in their religious publications.
written by Pangkis Pangazou, January 03, 2009 18:08:27
Mawi wrote:
As for the East Malaysians, they have their own languages that they are comfortable with. So then, why harp on the Herald to be in Malay when it becomes not practicable for it to in that language as unpracticable it is to be printed in Swahili here in Malaysia.

This is one glaring example of the ignorance of West Malaysians to the situation of East Malaysians. The majority of East Malaysians speak Malay (Maybe not your dialect... but Malay nonetheless). We converse in Malay... and we have been having our prayer services in Malay too. There is nothing sinister about all this, there is no ulterior motives (as most of you West Malaysian Malays feel that way..)and there are no ill intentions. The crux of the matter is the majority of us only speak and understand Malay. Are you going to deny this right to your fellow East Malasyians? There are more than 50 local tribes/races in Sabah alone. These people don't converse in English... they converse and understand ONLY Malay. So, why deny them this right to worship in whatever language they are comfortable with?

Janganlah bah kamurang takut bayang-bayang sendiri. Kuatkan iman sendiri baru tidak lari ke mana. Sya nampak kamurang sendiri ndak "trust" orang-rang kamu sampaikan bila ada risalah dalam Bahasa Malaysia kamurang takut ada orang kamu terpengaruh. Why so little faith in your own people Mawi?
written by cruzeiro, January 03, 2009 19:22:14
Mawi,
I sympathize with your ignorance about Malaysian cultures around you.
While there may be Kadazan, Muruts, Ibans, Indonesians (of various ethicities) who have their own languages - when they worship as a group, they do so in Malay. As a matter of fact, I have children of Indian descent in my parish who contribute to articles in Herald in Malay.
The reason for is is becos they have all been educated in Malay, as per our Education Policy.
If they are going to ban Malay publication, they should also ban Malay education!
They read the Malay bible, and the Malay section of the Herald. Moreover, many of us relate to them in Malay, although you may be oblivious to this fact.

You may not know this, but worship in Malay has been going on even before Merdeka!
Maybe it would be good for you to get to know the real Malaysia around you, instead of harbouring the delusion that Malay is only meant Muslims, as many an Umno warlord would desire.
written by cruzeiro, January 03, 2009 19:44:30
BTW Mawi,
Don't go on a tangent and ask that Murphy start fighting for Hudud - that's swahili you're speaking, friend! That's a totally different ballgame lah - next you'll say why he isn't a gun toting palestinian fighter, fighting for justice.
He's got his hands full in just defending the church from many a subtle persecution, repression and suppression lah, friend. Moreover, the church forbids "patriarchs" from participating in mainstream politics.
But never fear- we always pray that wisdom will prevail for all muslims every single week.

Those who fight for Hudud don't seem to understand that the majority are quite happy with the common law in place - and it has served well in many nations.
Laws are only as good as those who wield the power to enact them.
It isn't that the laws are inadequate, but that the NEP and Mahathirism, (with the help of BTN) has successfully bankrupted the current crop of leaders and their supporters quite successfully- intellectually, morally and spiritually. So much so, they look for bogeymen all around them to put the blame on.

Moreover most of them who fight for Islamic Jurisprudence to be the law, have not endeared themselves to the non-muslim (and many muslims too) with what is perceived as their chauvinistic stance, and often warped sense of justice.
Just going out saying that it is the best law in town and it is divine in nature doesn't help one bit.
They need to show that they can be fair in meting out justice to one and all - not just from the perspective of Muslims. So far, they have been a miserable failure worldwide!

Mawi, sometimes it is quite important that you learn to understand before demanding that you be understood.
written by borneoman, January 03, 2009 20:06:00
mawi,please do not make comparision without indept study or research on other religion because frankly speaking you are talking from under your coconut shell.i think you should help us fight for the independence of sarawak and sabah from the federation after all our religions,traditions,cultures and languages are totally alien to the people of malaya.
written by borneoman, January 03, 2009 20:16:29
from today onward i will tell my children,my non malay friends,their families,relatives and friends to stop speaking in bahasa penjajah malaya because it is tuan malaya exclusive god given birth right to speak bahasa melayu.to all Sarawakian and Sabahan ,let us boycott bahasa tuan malaya.
written by cruzeiro, January 03, 2009 20:17:32
It may not be relevant here to you, mawi - but it is very relevant for all my Sabahan and Sarawakians brothers who use the language for worship and communication.
As Malaysian citizens, brought up under the Government policy of "Utamakan Bahasa Malaysia", they have a Constitutional right to have publications that cater to their needs, even if their numbers are small. Whether it is worth the money spent on a small population, is something that the church can worry about - not the Home Ministry, or any Muslim.
Next you'll tell me that in a chinese neighbourhood, they shouldn't have Malay signages or schools or even functions!

What is the problem with Malay publications?
Is the faith of Muslims so flimsy that they'd convert? Has there been one incidence of conversion as a result of such a publication in the past? How many Muslims were caught reading it?
So what's the problem?

Remember one thing mawi - Democracy isn't just about having elections.
The true test of a democracy and the rule of the majority, is in its ability to protect its minorities' rights.
written by Sabahfan, January 04, 2009 01:20:19
As i said, the whole thing reeks of force conversion to ISLAM....

dont bother to debate because the proof is right in front of u.

And as Angel Teresa said .. it is in contravention to the federal constitution which will create resentment.

NOW if UMNO continues with this course of action, then if they are inviting resentment... THEN LETS RESENT THIS DEVIL OF a govt.... and vote them out starting with KT by election....
written by Fart Fart Wah, January 04, 2009 02:07:18
tks for the reply mawi...

question 1 has been answered by Pangkis Pangazau and Cruezio very well.
the issue is if you do not want the Christians using Allah..ban the word for the time being from the BM portion of the Herald until the court case. Kenapa bakar kelambu kerana nyamuk ?? Are you going to ban the Star, Straits Times and all other magazines ( zillions of them in every street corner in prostitute dens) that uses the word Allah in their articles??? In fact there are many articles using this word.
And then how are you going to clear the air for whom it is written..are these for the Malays or the others???

And what about the Sikhs??? They also claim that Allah is their God...Am I now to assume that the bungler Home Minister is anticipating that the Malays will rush in to become Sikhs???

You see my friend..the bungler just does not want to talk..All you have to do is make a 10 sen call to the party concerned and have a friendly discussion and dialogue.(THAT IS THE MARK OF A TRUE MUSLIM).UMNO never practises what it preaches..it wants to bash other religions and control the minority groups because it is arrogant.

Christians do not mengada ngada.(it is their faith as much as the Muslims claim it to be their faith..SO FRIEND SEE IT IN THEIR LIGHT..THAT IS CALLED ENLIGHTENMENT AND LOVE FOR YOUR NEIGHBORS RIGHTS)...you have not done your homework..and you said the Malay people said mengada ngada( you are assuming this (it is not all Malay people).. many educated and enlightend Malays disagree with you ( you might call them kafirs) but as some say ignorance is bliss just like the ostrich burying the head in the sand...just like UMNO trying to change the history books that Yap Ah Loy was not the founder of KL and many other historical facts to confuse the children of our today. Even Hang Tuah was bashed.

You cannot change the history of the word Allah and its users.

The issue again is why is this not a problem in country like Indonesia??? And it is never an issue in any part of the world.Are they more educated than the UMNO Malays???or are they more tolerant than the UMNO Malays?? nO IT IS NOT A PROBLEM IN ANY PART OF THE WORLD..ONLY FOR UMNO MUSLIMS THIS IS A PROBLEM...A BIG PROBLEM...
for they want to control the Malays..squeeze them and make them bow to them.
UMNO Malays like to mengada ngada...that they are more Islamic than PAS..or the Arabs..it is a political game..and they think Malays are stupid..in fact they were given a surprise on March 8 and still you see they are in a state of denial. RPK is right they are MUNAFIQUES
In addition, their lives do not fit a good Muslim or a true Muslim..look at the leaders...enough said.( if you have the guts go listen to sermon in BM in a church in KL every Sunday)yes..my friend..sermons are conducted in BM in many churches.they do not mengada-ngada.
written by Shiva, January 04, 2009 06:39:39
just a quote from someone -
As the different streams having their sources in different places all mingle their water in the sea, so, O Lord, the different paths which people take through different tendencies, various though they appear, crooked or straight, all lead to Thee.

what happening in most parts of the world is when my god is greater then yours, we tend to look at the superiority and we beg to be arrogrant. let us have the options and let the individuals make the choice.
written by Hope4all, January 04, 2009 09:08:38
Mawi,

Go to visit the orang asli villages from Johor all the way to Kelantan. And then tell me what language do they speak during church mass, English? Chinese?

These folks are non-Muslims, their IC names have no "bin", but "anak". These folks are actually the most frightened folks during puasa month because they look exactly like Malay but they are not Muslims. The Christians from Sabah and Sarawak also do not like to come to Semenanjung during puasa month because they too will be harassed when caught eating. I don't want to even start talking about Indonesian Christian tourists.

And now you want to take away their rights of existence as well? Just because they are minority and it's okay to send them into extinction because you already take away their land and impose your own conditions??
written by Whatif, January 04, 2009 15:21:43
Hi Mawi,

I really admire your persistence in defending your stance, I really do. But it is difficult, if not impossible, to defend the indefensible in this case. No matter how you look at it and from all angles, the Herald has every right to use BM and the word Allah in their newsletter.

What you are trying to justify is for the Herald to print in English in West Malaysia and BM in East Malaysia, right? What about those East Malaysians who come to the peninsular to study, work or visit? So, you would probably suggest allocating some BM copies for these people? Don’t you think it is a little silly to do that? That is back to square one.

Just let them print as before with a section in BM. It is so convenient and also, it helps the readers to catch up on both languages. It makes sense, don’t you think?

Peace.