Home arrow The Blogs arrow Letters/Surat arrow To: The Federal and Sabah State governments, TNB and SESB

To: The Federal and Sabah State governments, TNB and SESB PDF Print
Friday, 02 January 2009 22:38

TNB and SESB are trying to convince Sabahans to accept a coal-fired power plant on the East Coast of Sabah. Not just in any part of the East Coast but a location with infrastructure in place; that is nearest to the electricity grid, fresh water supplies, road and sea frontage where they can land their coal and use the sea water for cooling purposes and waste disposal. That was why they chose Silam before and in their failed bid previously, are now targeting SANDAKAN.

The inherent risks and unconvincing arguments for such a plant, especially considering the alternatives which we, in Sabah, possess, just make it irresponsible and unreasonable to accept as a viable solution for our people's energy needs.

We, the people and friends of Sandakan, do not want to put our families, friends, environment (air, land and water) and livelihoods now and in the future at risk because of the choices of a few reckless decision makers. We therefore voice with strong emphasis our ANTI-COAL PLANT stand.

Go to http://www.savesandakan.com for in-depth info.

Sign petition here: http://www.petitiononline.com/acpac08/petition.html

Anton Ngui

written by Sabahfan, January 02, 2009 22:57:45
All those so-called conservationist and environmentalist who are only againsts the coal fired in Sabah have either been BULSSHITTED by some lying politiicians with ulterior motives OR are YOURSELVES bullshitters of the highest degree. I CHALLENGE YOU TO ANSWER THE FOLLOWING QUESTIONS bearing in mind that I also believe in clean energy BUT at least I dont BULLLSHITT the people. Now here are the real questions.

1. why is there such a BIG fuss about the comparitively small coal fired station proposed in Sabah but there is not a hoot or a whisper against ALL THE OTHER COAL FIRED station in Semenanjung and Sarawak? DOES THIS NOT SOUND SO SUSPICIOUS?
2. ISNOT it true that the CM of Sabah cancelled the proposed power station in Sabah because he was not consulted before hand (and there him or cronies would have no share in its business and profits? Isnt it true that this Pustuni's nickname is "ALL MINE"???)
3 Now all of sudden another proposed company by the name of Lahad Datu Energy blah blah with majority Sabahan shareholders (meaning the UMNO cronies) suddenly dont have much violent opposition from the Sabah Enviroment Protection Asss (SEPA) let by someone call WONG TAT?Is it possible that Wong has a share in LDE?
4. What kind of car is this WONG and the rest of the environmentalist in Sabah driving? do they drive energy savers Kancil or they all drive volvos, mercedes and high powered 4 wheel drive?
5. Do they practice energy savings everyday in their lifes to minimise carbon emiissions?
If not then that shows what kind of people they are. Really I rather trust Lucifer himself.
written by Futurist, January 02, 2009 22:57:54
With the might of the ruling party, can the voice of the masses be heard? When Silam can say no, why should Sandakan be targeted? The risk is for everyone, be they be in Silam or Sandakan or any other place for the matter.
written by Motherchell, January 02, 2009 22:59:16
What would UMNO have done if there were no rivers , and Sabah a desert?? With UN help Egypt build the Aswan. Today with minimal environmental damage they irrigate thousands of hectares of cultivable land. Egypt is a tourist haven!

Here!!UMNO would have told Sabah to buy 5 million bicycle dynamos or car batteries , because --- 3 rd party commission cronies hang around like scavengers . After all who cares about who lives in Sabah , all they are interested in is the handful of pencil pushers who cant read or write like Patail and the Speaker of Parliament---All crony Sabahans.
To the scavengers in Power--- Sabah is like an offshore bank for their wives , children , cronies, friends, uncles , aunties mafia pals , etc !! In time they may sell human blood in liters! This is Bolehland . What is not surprising here!
written by Sabahfan, January 02, 2009 23:08:33
one more thing monthercell, UMNO has plenty of money to buy scorpene and lavish on National service but cannot even invest in clean hydro energy when Sabah has plenty of potential and if developed properly would hardly damage the environment. In fact hydro power needs jungles and trees to function efficiently so the two are mutually complimentary in protecting the environment,

Now the amount of money UMNO has spent on the NS is more than enough to build Sabah one storages hydro scheme which could power the state for more than 20 years
written by Motherchell, January 02, 2009 23:40:05
I absolutely agree with you SABAFAN. I feel for you brother,and all my sisters , mothers , fathers out there -- because ive seen the same old stories coming out of them for the past 40 years. Let us see if they will ever carry on this plunder in the next decade .. We have this responsibility to create this awareness for the people mate!
Im with you all the way in the fight for justice!
Cheers mate !
written by Fart Fart Wah, January 03, 2009 01:58:41
they have to pay the CEO 1 million a year so the rest of you Sandakans have to end up paying for this freeloader.that is the name of the game in privatisation. THEY destroy the environment and take away people's lands justifying the end by the means and nothing is free.you keep paying while those on top shuttle around helicopters and paid holidays somewhere at a beautiful locations way by a blue OCEANED seaside..while you people wallow around in the mud and thatched huts until some politician promises better infrastructures and housing and by the time he finishes it you end up paying the banks and while he laughs his way to the bank.sorry Sabahans and Sandakans and Sarawakians.
written by Tompios, January 03, 2009 06:29:38
My food comes! UMNO people never know how to say enough and stop when talking about money-power-women. Sandakan and east coast of Sabah, you must voice out your concern and protest. This Pustun man will use "Shock Theory" to punish you but enviroment is something to do with our next generations.

Don't cry for me Sandakan!
written by OilMan, January 03, 2009 07:33:11
I have friends staying in Sandakan that says the power cuts in Sandakan happens on a daily basis. What nuisance. If we can make use of the coal that is in abundance and employ the latest technologies then what is the worry in terms of pollution? The only important thing is the monitoring by the government authorities to ensure that all environmental emissions does not exceed the set international limits.
written by Ken Liew, January 03, 2009 08:33:22
coal fired power plant VS hydro energy

hydro energy - is a one time investment, where only maintanance needed for after sals services. OK enviroment may be damaged, BUT only a small sector and a short season.

coal fired power plant - is a long term investment. where no coal = no energy. And an AGENT is a MUST to supply the coal to this power plan. And it MUST be an UNMOral's brother company. It will still damage the enviroment, BUT its a Long term damaging and pollution.

Dont we have wnough GLOBAL WARMING already?? The UN is coming out with a Co2 limitation plan. Will this Coal burning produce Co2??? and we have to pay a fine/service charge for Co2 Expose. Good thinking UMNO. You will further damage Malaysia inside out and outside in~!!
written by Proud_2b_Malaysian, January 03, 2009 09:47:31
Wouldn't it be better to stay transparent and publish the environmental report of the Coal Plant as well as airing the pros and cons of such a plan so that Sabahans and all Malaysians can either support or reject it intelligently?

Certainly, thoughts about why not other means of power generation as well as how to counter international opposition will spin in everybody's heads and we need to be 21st Century Malaysians to show the way forward.

Malaysia cares for Malaysians and the environment too.

http://proud2bmalaysian.*********.com/
written by SocratesI, January 03, 2009 09:48:12
We should convert this coal-fired plant into an incinerator and throw in all the useless, shameless, Barisan Najis rubbish in there to improve the environment for future generations to come! Enough talking time to kick out all those greedy, self-serving politicians who abet the Barisan Najis in Sabah to pillage and plunder your land!

Give the opportunity to Pakatan Rakyat and test them for a term and see the difference and measure it, then decide again in the next election. After all, you have been plundered for the last 50 years by Barisan Najis, why would you want to continue being raped and sodomised by them! Doesn't make any sense to any human being who can think!
written by Rainbowseahorse, January 03, 2009 13:45:08
UMNO government should just buy a huge bicycle like dynamo and order the 2 million plus legalized migrants to take turns peddling to generate electricity. This is to pay for citizenship; you know!

Haiyah! As long as UMNO is the “big brother”, they’ll do what the hell they want and we rakyet just have to swallow their bullshit!

Work towards a new PKR government and then, perhaps, we might have our voices & opinions heard.