Home arrow The Blogs arrow Letters/Surat arrow Kuala Terengganu by-election

Kuala Terengganu by-election PDF Print
Friday, 02 January 2009 17:04

Issue at stake is whether the changes started by the March 8 political tsunami last year should be pressed on or be blocked and  even reversed

DAP National Deputy Chairman Dr. Tan Seng Giaw, who was at the Kuala Terengganu stadium last night representing DAP, was as surprised as anyone when it was announced that the PAS candidate for the forthcoming by-election is four-term Wakaf Mempelam State Assemblyman, Abdul Wahid Endut and not anyone  of the two leading contenders -- Batu Buruk assemblyman Dr. Syed Azman Nawawi and  PAS Terengganu chief Datuk Mustapha Ali.

The Kuala Terengganu by-election on January 17, the second parliamentary by-election after the March general election last year is no less important than the Permatang Pauh by-election four months ago, which saw the triumphant return of the Pakatan Rakyat leader, Datuk Seri Anwar Ibrahim to Parliament after an unjust enforced absence for a decade.

The Kuala Terengganu by-election is a crucial and critical one as it will have a major influence on whether the changes started by the March 8 political tsunami last year should be pressed on or be blocked and even reversed.

The issue at stake in the January 17 by-election is not so much about the PAS candidate or even PAS, but the larger question whether after over half-a-century of Umno political hegemony, the voters of Kuala Terengganu would endorse greater changes and democratization in all aspects of Malaysian national life to take full advantage of Malaysia's multi-racial, multi-lingual, multi-cultural and multi-religious diversity to build a united, harmonious, progressive and prosperous Malaysia guided by the principles of justice. freedom, accountability and integrity.

The Kuala Terengganu by-election will be a tough and closely-fought contest for both the Pakatan Rakyat and Barisan Nasional where every vote counts.

Lim Kit Siang

written by Super Admin, January 02, 2009 17:34:11
binarytan, no beer? Bullshit! Please don't lie. Since you support neither opposition nor ruling party what do you do then? Maybe you not even a registered voter like 5 million other Malaysians of voting age.
written by Motherchell, January 02, 2009 17:55:03
YB LKS, no matter how hard UMNO fights , we will confuse them to take a detour. All good wishes to Pas . The people are with you all the way --- go for it PAS!
Thank You YB. for your efforts .Change we can!!
written by savemalaysia, January 02, 2009 17:59:48
All these talk about Hudud, no gambling, drinking and womanising are mere dirty tricks propagated by UMNO's comrade MCA and MIC. Don't fall for their cheap propagandas as the reality of the situation is that Malaysia can't be an Islamic nation due to the supremacy of the constitution and the very nature of the racial composition of the country. Please note that there is a huge difference between mooting Hudud and implementing Hudud.

The modest houses of PAS' spiritual leader Nik Aziz and president Hadi Awang as compared to the grand mansions of BN's politicians will tell any sane person the level of wealth being amassed by BN at the expense of the rakyat. In the name of justice, my vote goes to PAS.
written by mykantree, January 02, 2009 18:08:13
Perhaps binarytan has failed to see the woods for the trees!PAS is just doing some political posturing for the benefits of their more ardent followers.We must look at the larger picture.........change!The by election should not be about beer,hudud or gambling. It should be about the next step towards achieving a more democratic,non racial,non (less) corrupt,non (less) repressive government.I hope the actual voters in KT is able to see and will act accordingly.
written by ahmadneil, January 02, 2009 18:26:52
umno is trying to corner PAS and using PAS to frighten the chinese into voting for umno.Those were the day when this tactics worked but not now.This time the chinese are fully informed through alternative medias.umno will fail and this time they will learn it the hard way.Undi PAS!
written by mikewang, January 02, 2009 18:29:06
Voting PAS is a lot different from voting UMNO. For starter, this party is not corrupt like UMNO. That means in PAS run states, our ringgit can be better used for everyone. If you want to know how PAS will behave in future. Look at Perak, Kelantan and Kedah. Compare those today with their UMNO predecessors. Don't look at PAS behaviour in states where they do not have executive power.
written by ahmadneil, January 02, 2009 18:34:35
I'm not a PAS supporter but I will not hesitate to ask all the voters in KT to vote for PAS becos we must hasten the downfall of umno.The sooner the better!We all must kick out umno at all cost.We need change!That's all I'm asking for!
written by ahmadneil, January 02, 2009 18:35:53
umno must not be allow to survive another day.We must cut the roots ,not the branches.
written by ahmadneil, January 02, 2009 18:39:53
If you vote umno,the nation's coffer will be dry in no time.Sice we have already denied them 2/3 majority during 308,a massive win in Permatang Pauh ,why can't we hantam umno another time to cut off the air.Finish umno off!
written by ahmadneil, January 02, 2009 18:42:34
I'm have completely lost faith in umno.They have failed us completely.The constant abuse of power really get on my nerves.
written by ahmadneil, January 02, 2009 18:44:51
If you voted for umno ,you are indirectly supporting the killing of Aminah,the mongolian model who was C4.Ponder for a second!
written by Dragon888, January 02, 2009 19:34:21
Ladies and gentlemen & binarytan, there is no way any govt can hudud laws based on our constitution. It is history that any party can garness two third majority to change our constitution. But we need to boot this present corrupted government out as soon as possible even if we give our votes to PAS..
Citizens of Malaysia, we all call for a BIG CHANGE...
written by Ken Liew, January 02, 2009 19:38:06
I dont care PAS or NO PAS....

All I want is NO UMNO.... As long as UMNO is not winning, thats good enough for ALL MALAYSIAN....
written by Msian Idol3, January 02, 2009 19:49:43
Send a strong 'NO'message to UMNO. Vote PAS.
written by Samanyan, January 02, 2009 20:24:58
//Perhaps binarytan has failed to see the woods for the trees!PAS is just doing some political posturing for the benefits of their more ardent followers//.

I do not agree with PAS and will not vote for them. But, I have great respect for their sincerity of purpose. I think PAS is the party that is most honest in what they proclaim publically. They mean what they say. And say what they mean. Having to add the occassional 'spin' to their public proclamation, for their non-muslim supporters must surely be a very difficult thing for these people. But, nevertheless as a non-muslim, I am somewhat apprehensive about their ability to go beyond hudud, beer, gambling etc. to the arena of enriching the country, creating job opportunities for the ever expanding population, development in all other areas beyond the religious and so on.

Of course one can argue that they must be given a chance to show what they can do. But here is the irony - "while you judge yourself by what you think you can do, others judge you by what you have already done".

Samanyan
written by righttruthspeaks, January 02, 2009 21:47:35
Election Workers: Please watch out for and report anything unusual soonest. Plans are afoot by umno to fix the elections by switching and stuffing ballot boxes in their favour! And phantom voters voting more than once!
written by alarcarte, January 02, 2009 22:28:26
The enemy of my enemy is my friend. Our number one enemy is UMNO! therefore please vote for PAS and think about HUDUD later!

written by batsman, January 02, 2009 22:50:57
Samanyan -
.. others judge you by what you have already done"
. I don;t know who said that, but he is not a very bright or able leader. These days the most competitive businesses or activities employ talent scouts to look for people with potential. Judging a person by what he has done is only an indicator of a person's potential. It is not the only one. There are more such indicators.
written by Jayvin, January 02, 2009 22:56:58
It is a matter of showing the BN that the wind of changes is digging a grave for them.

PAS need to have a victory in the coming election, forget about HUDUD or anything else. VOTE for PAS.
written by Spear Bing, January 02, 2009 23:22:57
To: Ahmadneil,

Good job on your postings. For every comment that "binarytan" hosted on this MT blogsite, countered him with more and more postings. Looks like this guy is a wolf in sheep's clothing.

Carry on with your relentless support for PR.
written by patriotic1994, January 02, 2009 23:23:55
To all Hudud-kiasi friends, PAS must say "yes, we will push for Hudud" when you ask them "will you support Hudud?". This is required by their religion, Islam. If I ask Christians, "will you spread Gospel?", their answer definitely "yes". Similarly to Buddhist Monk, "will you tell people to do good?", the answer is also "yes".

No one publicly betray their religion! So that hudud issue is really a no-issue!

The main issue is, in every democratic country, majority decides. But it is only 50% correct. The other 50% answer is whether it is done in a real democratic way.

You know BN won't allow true democracy (UMNO is minority but they decide for the rest of us). So the only choice here is PR.

And while parities fight (BN vs PR), people win. We the people has People's Declaration. The party that going to win and rule the country will follow People's Declaration, which follow our vote!

So vote wisely. Vote the one that promise you the real democracy.
written by taishan, January 02, 2009 23:27:45
OTH:
Uncle LKS, mind if you break up your writing a little.
You manage to write an entire article in 5 sentences.
And get off the superlatives - the most, greatest, worst etc etc is getting your message muddled.
Perhaps your message might get through a little better then.
written by Super Admin, January 03, 2009 10:06:56
ismhakim, stop spamming.