Home arrow The Blogs arrow News/Commentaries arrow Japan acts to raise fluency in English

Japan acts to raise fluency in English PDF Print
Friday, 02 January 2009 10:27

TOKYO, Jan 2 — The Japanese government has set an ambitious goal of making the Japanese fluent in English, by recommending that all English classes for those aged 16 to 18 are taught mainly in that language from 2013. The inability of most Japanese to speak English, despite compulsory classes from the age of 13, is well known and a source of embarrassment for Japan.

In Stockholm last month, Professor Toshihide Masukawa, a co-winner of this year's Nobel Prize in physics, insisted on delivering his lecture in Japanese.

Despite being able to read scientific literature in English, the 68-year-old academic cannot communicate in English and is known to dislike the language. But one thing he regretted was not being able to converse with other Nobel laureates.

The revised curriculum guideline recently announced by the Education Ministry is aimed at avoiding such situations.

English teachers at senior high schools in Japan will teach their classes in English and limit the use of Japanese only to the explanation of complicated grammar.

Senior high school students will also be required to master 1,800 new English words, up from the present quota of 1,300, while those aged 13 to 15 at junior high school will have to learn 3,000 new words, an increase of 800.

The new quotas will put the Japanese on a par with the level of English taught at schools in China and South Korea.

Tsutomu Shiozaki, head of a national federation of English teachers, welcomed the new guidelines.

“People say that if we teach entirely in English, students will not be able to follow the lessons. That's not true. Language is to be used. If we use it often, students' awareness will change,” he was quoted as saying by the Asahi Shimbun.

Shiozaki is the headmaster of a senior high school which was one of several chosen by the ministry a few years ago to teach English classes entirely in English.

But for most of Japan's English teachers, the new curriculum guideline is bad news, especially for those in their 40s and 50s who generally do not speak English well and are often terribly embarrassed by their pronunciation.

Yo Hamada, 26, an English teacher at a school in Yokote city, Akita prefecture in northern Japan, feels it is pointless to teach in English if the format of university entrance examinations remains unchanged.

At present, English classes at high school focus on helping students to pass these examinations, which test only reading and comprehension and include a listening section. This is why, while most Japanese leave school able to read and write English to some extent, few end up being able to speak the language.

“Unless the requirements of entrance exams are changed, in fact unless the whole system of English education is changed, I do not see the point of trying to teach in English. I myself am reluctant to do so,” said Yo.

He is proficient in English, having attended graduate school at the Tokyo campus of an American university.

Professor Matsuo Kimura, an English language education expert at Aoyama Gakuin University in Tokyo, believes that with the right training, it is feasible to teach in English. But he stressed that an integrated English curriculum from primary to senior high school is necessary to produce students who can speak English.

“At present, such a curriculum does not exist,” he said.

From 2011, 11- and 12-year-old Japanese children in primary schools will spend an hour a week using simple English for “international understanding”.

But many think that is not enough.

Getting the pronunciation right is a problem for most Japanese and when the typical Japanese speaks English, it is often barely intelligible to a foreigner.

Most Japanese learners use the Japanese script to notate English sounds — something which virtually guarantees that what comes out of their mouths resembles Japanese more than English.

- The Straits Times

written by krising1, January 02, 2009 10:56:29
A country with 5000 years of unadulterated history wants to learn English! They are one of the most technologically advanced country in the world without English. Yet they are pursuing fluency in English. Does this not surprise our UMNOputras? Please be surprised and find out why. Kerismuddin, are you reading?
written by Rainbowseahorse, January 02, 2009 11:05:13
Maybe someone should tell the Japanese that they got it wrong and should make their Nationals more fluent in Bahasa Malaysian. smilies/grin.gif

Or perhaps our Malay youths should stage a protest at the Japanese embassy to demand that the Japanese learn Bahasa Malaysia instead of the English language.smilies/grin.gif smilies/grin.gif
written by Motherchell, January 02, 2009 11:15:02
When Japan fell in the indexes as no more a big tech wonder, --when China spends more time and money to get its citizens to master English as to make their Nations strong and cohesive with the World order in a Globalized Village---

We have our Idiots flashing racial cards and refusing to study --"I want to speaka Enlande"! With the kind of VP's in UMNO they find it easier to carry money out of the Country and declare they-- don't speaka Englande!They are more secure with Mat Rempit tecnology!

written by Saint, January 02, 2009 11:19:05
Malaysian Education Ministers - Please read this article.
written by ylcc, January 02, 2009 11:39:46
Hello Rainbowseahorse, don't be cheeky! Buy you dinner if Malaysia ever accept English as medium of instruction. Buy you 'nasi lemak' if we still stick to BM!
written by Rainbowseahorse, January 02, 2009 11:52:54
Hye my ylcc,

...hehehe..smilies/grin.gif..we all know the state of our UMNO government mentality and stupidity; right? Until the PKR becomes the new government, I don’t think any of us can do much to change UMNO’s mindset.
Just look at what they have dangling on offer as the next DPM of Malaysia; An "ikan busuk", a dead chicken, and an OKU as UMNO party deputy president candidates, with the winner becoming Malaysia's Deputy Premier. I am not sure of that Nestum felle, but the other two can hardly speak proper English!

Ok...I might just hold you to your "treat" yah! smilies/wink.gif

Cheers!
written by ylcc, January 02, 2009 12:06:12
OK RBSH ... bet is on ... you might have to fly to Penang though (accommodation provided), i.e. if English! Can't blame them though, just in case they need the excuse again at the Sydney airport of "no speaking englisse" .....
written by borneoman, January 02, 2009 12:08:34
what happened to our look east policy? Arent we supposed to emulate the japanese n d koreans? Perwaris please denounce the tuan umno look east policy because the japs are denying your bahasa ketuanan melayu a chance to be an international language or maybe you should boycott anything japanese.
written by Milo, January 02, 2009 12:26:33
borneoman,

haha...our politicians cannot look too far because they are short-sighted. So, look EAST means look at what is the best in the East Coast. That's why we emphasise on Bahasa Malaysia.
written by densemy, January 02, 2009 12:42:49
127 million people with the 3rd biggest economy in the world... Seems tho they know a thing or two about the future

Meanwhile, back in Malaysia, fumbling, bumbling and squabbling continue unabated and rabid nationalism is fast condemning the country to a future as a has-been third world country
written by apa jadi, January 02, 2009 13:14:06
There is no conducive environment in Japan to speak English. They are trying hard to learn. We had a very fertile ground for English two decades or earlier. Yet we are loosing ground. Thanks UMNO for your blind racialism. When we realise our mistake, it will be like Japan trying to catch up.
written by Rainbowseahorse, January 02, 2009 13:30:34
Hoi, my ylcc, I only have to fly to Penang and accommodation provided with dinner?...heheh...sounds "naughty" lah!smilies/grin.gif But somehow I think it's going to be a long, long, and yet again, long wait!

Malaysia had a head start in English, but the school system was changed by the Education Minister in the mid 1970s; kan?...hmmmm, what’s his name that guy….oh yah, it was DSAI wasn’t it? smilies/wink.gif
written by savemalaysia, January 02, 2009 13:48:58
Japan is going to give more attention to English, the Chinese are rushing in droves to learn English, the Koreans think it is economically sound to learn English and the Taiwanese are doubling their English lesson hours BUT Malaysia is contemplating of reversing the teaching of Science and Mathematics to the mother tongue language despite official statistics showing that more students are using English instead of Bahasa or the mother tongue language to answer the two subjects. Instead of being progressive, the language chauvinists seem to take pride in being retrogressive.
written by ASK4u, January 02, 2009 14:02:51
What happen to our nationalism? I thought, some 30 years back when we switched to teaching Science and Maths in BM, we wanted to also come out with technical manuals in BM(Look East Policy), just like how Japanese car's technical manuals are in Japanese language. Semangat tak membara lagi ke? Don't dream for the skies when the fundamentals are not taken care of; one important fundamental being good work ethics-the opposite of laziness, torpor, lethargy. Admit it, because of 'bad blood', we will never be able to compete with the Westerners. In fact, we have been sliding further since Science and Maths were taught in BM because technology changes very fast and before we could translate manuals from English into BM, it has become obsolete. Why not change back the mode of instruction of the two subjects into BM again, so that we may slide back into the Dark Ages irrevocably.

Malaysia boleh, Malaysia truly bolelaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaa!
written by InEffective, January 02, 2009 14:21:25

Why bother to learn english - we got Oil lah.

money will come easy...no need to study, no need to work, no need for english, - just relak lah.
written by Rhan, January 02, 2009 14:22:30
How could they let a chauvinist like Toshihide Masukawa to win the Noble Price?
written by ylcc, January 02, 2009 14:25:47
RBSH ... from cheeky to naughty ... yep, it was DSAI (my sister, a retired schoolteacher, even had to learn Jawi during that time!) ... long wait, yes ... probably this nenek will have to welcome her guest with a walking stick, if she is not yet "6ft underground" by the time you visit.

Wow, ASK4u, pretty strong words indeed!
written by born2reign, January 02, 2009 15:10:54
Hey everyone! Give BN a break lah!! I believe that all govt schools should be conducted in BM and nothing else.

Whatever the educ minister decides, the Chinese & Indians will still send their children for private tuition to improve English and oth international languages.

And the Malays-who-worship UMNO will continue to only master BM like "Jom", "ketuanan Melayu" and know nothing else.

And history will repeat itself: Minorities get the good jobs in MNCs and Malays get rusty and racist in govt jobs. And UMNO-worshipping-Malays will continue to complain WHY WHY WHY the MNCs and Chinaman-cos are not hiring bumiputeras. (If you want to work in MNCs-master English, if you like working in Chinaman cos-master Chinese)

So the minorities will tell them to master English, but again the UMNO politicians will play the racial thingy and the UiTM saga, and BM stays in while English stays out. Minorities progress, UMNO-worshipping-Malays digress.

I get it now. UMNO and BN is REALLY REALLY REALLY anti-Malay. Believe it!
written by pinsysu, January 02, 2009 15:18:54
Y japan, Y? since u r so technologically sophisticated u shud make it more efficient for ur ppl by providing each non-engrish speaking citizen a c3po dat can translate all da languages in da galatical federation .. oh, u hv learned da lesson from da russians their smart way of using a dinosaur pencil to write in space instead of da american's multi-million dollar researched ball-point pen dat can write w/o da ink flowing out to da space craft ...
written by lynn, January 02, 2009 17:21:14
Between Japan and Malaysia, one must bear in mind, the Japanese are a homogeneous society.
Whereas we are so diverse in cultures and so many races if you include the natives in East Malaysia.
written by truthbespoken, January 02, 2009 18:24:31
Malaya/Malaysia was born with an international asset with the medium of instruction in English. Due to political shortsightedness, it was unceremoniously changed to BM in the 70s. Since then, we have witnessed the gradual and steady decline in our spoken and written English together with new our education system.

Now after 35 years or so some of us are now fighting tooth and nail just for two subjects to be taught in English again when the non-English-speaking big countries are going all out to learn and make use of English as the global information and commercial language. What a real pity!

The thing is Malaysia always seem to have a head start in many areas regionally, like the usage of English, multi-super-corridors, good administrative government machinery, etc.. but unfortunately but also consistently, due to idiotic and misplaced parochialism, lag behind other regional countries after some time. Worse, the country now seems to keep falling further and further behind with time.

Korea, Taiwan, Singapore, perhaps China, have all overtaken us. Let's see, for those who can still see then, if Malaysia will be better-off than Vietnam, Thailand or Indonesia within the 10-30 years. The bad thing is Malaysia, under UMNO, has not learnt and still does not want to learn from the past and the charts. It's better we change UMNO at the polls.
written by AsamLaksa, January 02, 2009 20:37:20
Savemalaysia, show me where Taiwan, Japan, China and South Korea intends to teach science and maths in English then I would agree with you. The way to teach English and be globally competitive is with... (wait for the surprise)... teaching good English in English lessons. Wow!

In fact Japan has no real trouble in the science and maths front even with what is described as a global embarrassment. Go find out what is their real objective in increasing English fluency. I am sure it is about using it as a language for wider communication. This is fine because their fundamentals are sound, they just need to better communicate with outsiders.

But what of Malaysian teaching of science and maths in English? What is the aim? To improve science and maths standards? Don't bother as the rote learning and syllabus not suited for this won't help you much. To equip students for further studies in English speaking academia? Questionable benefit as if the syllabus is lacking it makes little difference. To prepared students for participation in mainly English speaking world? You will still get embarrassing moments as science and maths is ill-suited to teach grammar.

So what is this policy to teach science and maths in English really trying to do? It's trying to do too many things all at once without much hope of achieving any. If it's purely communication skills you are looking for, then improve the English language syllabus like the Japs and Chinese are planning to do.

I have a Malaysian Chinese friend who said that her younger brother found science and maths easier to learn under the English medium. This is because he's in an English medium private school. No brainer here. My friend herself studied under Mandarin medium. I can see why many Chinese would like science and maths be taught in Mandarin in Chinese schools. What really matters is that science and maths be taught in a language that is easily accessible to the students. Malaysia has majority BM speakers thus imposing English universally is not suitable. Just try telling Indonesia to teach science and maths in English.

I can see the point in letting parents choose what language they want their children to use. This works up to a point. The point is that it slows down implementation of changes to the syllabus as there's multiple language to consider. Thus it works for the students and parents but not very sound for long term education policies. Singapore took a conscious effort to eradicate vernacular schools and it wasn't done on a whim. What Malaysia lack is a policy that goes along similar lines to create a better system that would draw everyone to it and slowly abandon the vernacular system.

The problem is that English and BM are taught very poorly in school. The students are further burdened with science and maths in BM with their weak BM. Thus the idea to teach the subjects in English. Sounds great but the English syllabus is very poor too, especially in majority BM medium schools. Malaysia have forgotten the fundamentals of mastery in language. Dewan Bahasa dan Pustaka has been sleeping on the job for BM while the pro-English side simply let English slide because they lack political will.

Some commentators previously made fun of modern appliances in BM such as a joystick which would translate directly to batang gembira, a not too subtle term with unintended innuendo. However look at the non-English majority countries where new terms are created for new objects. For example languages which uses icons rather than using letters for representation of syllable like Chinese often mix and match characters that on it's direct translation bears little reference to what the object really is but still works because the user understands that the combination of characters represent the particular object. There is not a problem to call a joystick a joystik in BM. The language ain't the issue. You can get around it.

I agree with Truthbespoken that politics have messed things up. Like most things which characterise Malaysian politics, the ideas may be with good intent but poor implementation let everybody down. This can be seen when English was made a compulsory subject to help strengthen it but without a major changes in how it is taught. Same goes with History which was made compulsory but it remained a memorisation of facts rather than analysing the cause and effect of past events. Now you hear some parties suggesting for history to be taught in earnest. Sounds about right but you have to change how it is taught as well. If the powers that be wanted to make BM the uber language in Msia, they are not wrong. They only become wrong when they fail to develop BM to be of great use in everyday lives of Msians. KBSR, KBSM, bahasa baku, etc... all could work but all ended up with what you have today.
written by Sabahfan, January 02, 2009 23:03:26
Meanwhile in MaLAZUTland... Muhammad x2 dont know australian english...

he he he he... is australian english different from British and US english.... or a little bit... ha ha ha ha ha ha ha