Home arrow The Blogs arrow News/Commentaries arrow Kapar MP's issue not party-related, says Tian Chua

Kapar MP's issue not party-related, says Tian Chua PDF Print
Friday, 02 January 2009 10:24

(NST) KUALA LUMPUR: The bust-up between Kapar MP S. Manikavasagam and the Pakatan Rakyat-led Selangor government is over the new Klang Sentral terminal and is not party-related, PKR information chief Tian Chua said yesterday.

"He made it very clear that his issue is with the administration of the Selangor government.

"It is a legitimate issue that deserves serious attention but it has nothing to do with the party," he said.

Manikavasagam, who has been protesting against the relocation of the Klang bus station to the Klang Sentral terminal in Meru, resigned as PKR Selangor deputy liaison chairman on Wednesday.

Tian Chua claimed that Manikavasagam had been grossly misquoted by an English daily, blowing the situation out of proportion.

"They are simply playing up an issue to make it look bigger than it actually is ... what had been published are total misquotations and his comments published are not accurate."

Tian Chua said the matter was racialised by the newspaper's reports.

He said there was no rift between leaders in the PKR or the Pakatan coalition government in Selangor.

"This matter has nothing to do with Indian issues. Again I reiterate that it is about the bus station."

He said the state government had its hands tied on the Klang Sentral terminal.

"We are in a dilemma because the decision to move the station was made by the previous government.

"This project cost RM300 million and we are not in a position to back down from the decision, although we also understand that there is a lot of infrastructure that is not completed.

"He (Manikavasagam) as the MP raised the issue as a reflection of the discontent of the Klang folk, and again I stress that this is a legitimate concern that we will settle accordingly."

On Manikavasagam's plan for a meeting with PKR adviser Datuk Seri Anwar Ibrahim to air his grievances, Tian Chua said he was free to do so.

Anwar is expected to return from leave on Jan 6, after which he will go to Kuala Terengganu to join Pakatan member Pas in its campaign for the by-election.

Manikavasagam said in his resignation letter, he was disappointed with some Pakatan state government leaders.

While he maintained his membership with PKR, the Kapar MP said he was prepared to leave the party, claiming that he had received invitations to join other parties, including MIC.

Manikavasagam said if he were to leave the PKR, "the Indians in PKR will follow him. They are all behind me and want me to be the next Samy Vellu".

written by alarcarte, January 02, 2009 10:59:50
Not sure why this Mani guy made such a big fuss about moving the bus terminal away from the Klang town center. He may have other hidden agenda!

I think the previous BN Gomen was right in this issue, the town center is really very congested, I try not to go to Klang town center to do my banking there though I have a bank account with a major bank there, I go to USJ branch instead.

Take Johor Bahru as an example, some years ago the bus terminal was also at the congested town center and has since moved to Larkin, no J.B. residents complained today as most of them view it as the right move.

written by loosecannon, January 02, 2009 11:20:34
The issue is not about Indians. It's all about Manikavasagam. He seems to have some personal agenda. If MIC has an offer for him, I suggest that he join MIC and see how far he can go. He's nothing but a pain in the ass anyway. If he stays with PR you can be assured that he will go amok again. He seems to think PR will fall without him.
written by Wudan, January 02, 2009 11:27:36
Manikavasagam said if he were to leave the PKR, "the Indians in PKR will follow him. They are all behind me and want me to be the next Samy Vellu".
----------------------------------------------------

Dear Mani, don't be the next Samy Vellu, just be yourself la.
written by Democrats, January 02, 2009 11:41:05
Mani should look at tian chua as an example....

Never have tian chua ever complained that the chinese are sidelined by the government. He speaks on a national level on elevating the lifelihood of all malaysian regardless of race and religion. Tian chua is not in Pakatan to eleviate the livelihood of Chinese, nor does the chinese expect that of him. The only way to elevate our standard of living and proetect our rights as Malaysian is through a national rise of living standard - i.e. kick out the rich greedy minority who abuse their power by stealing the people's resources for personal enrichment.
written by Dualties, January 02, 2009 12:09:53
Kapar MP;

You will be the dead duck when you move to take over Samy Velu throne. You could only have fumes of bad politics in your career. Don't be labelled as the one who betrayed the Rakyats whom have given you the mandate to be the MP of Kapar. Think before you leap.....remove your ego and come to your senses to serve the public irrespective of any kinds of criticism.

Remember Mother Theresa? She gave everything she had to the destitute and poor whom have no blood relations with her and yet the public criticized her social contributions. Did SHE ever complained and wanted to quit !!!!!
written by Susanna, January 02, 2009 12:26:10
If Mani wants to be the next Samy Vellu I can only pity him for his poor choices. What does Samy represent? Corruption, self importance, greedy and arrogant. Are these the leadership qualities of so called Hindraf so called people protectors? Mani's name should be MONEY instead. Those who want to follow you then are just as blind as those who follow Samy for money sake
written by Milo, January 02, 2009 12:40:42
Mani wants to be the next sami vellu? That tells alot about what is happening, isn't it?
written by karyeowl, January 02, 2009 12:55:46
Mani is the MP for Kapar, and not Klang.

If he serves his people is Kapar well, the Klang Sentral Terminal is more convenience for the people from Meru and Kapar. Why is he complaining?

The people in Klang are those who are affected by the location of the terminal. Anyway, due to the lousy planning of those BN-runned MPK previously, there is no more strategic place in Klang Town Center to cater for the new terminal.
written by fireduck, January 02, 2009 15:38:31
While he maintained his membership with PKR, the Kapar MP said he was prepared to leave the party, claiming that he had received invitations to join other parties, including MIC.

There you go. No need for further comments. It is not possible for comments by Mani to be continuously misquoted..... without any protest from him. Tian Chua is just trying to cover his backside.
written by mykantree, January 02, 2009 17:26:36
Fireduck has "hit the nail on the head" on this matter.Tian Chua is just being diplomatic about Mani and his outbursts. Mani himself should refute any misquote by the MSM, if he has really be misquoted by them.

And if the Indians in PKR is really behind Mani, and wants him to be the next Samy Vellu, then I must say that they have learned nothing after 50 years of MIC "representing" them.They would have marginalized themselves, without any help from others.Good luck Mani and gang.
written by mountainking, January 02, 2009 17:48:48
just let this mani go lah. if his heart is not with PR and for the people, no point keeping him. if he wants to be the chief of MIC and the next samy vellu and only thinking about position and his status, let his followers follow him. because those who follow him all becos of position, they are no different from the existing UMNO, mCA and MIC. all concern about position , position , money and not from earning it.

i am not against power and money. you need to earn it not "threaten".
written by lynn, January 02, 2009 20:14:25
"""We are in a dilemma because the decision to move the station was made by the previous government."""

It took less than a year for Mani to reveal his true colours. I say, good riddance to bad rubbish if he wants to leave.

Indians shld think with their heads & keep cool: don't anyone out there ever put the blame of Klang's disorganised state on the current state government & don't you dare blame Khalid. All the blame shld be put on Khir Toyol & his predecessors who were in power for decades. They are the ones who screwed-up Klang town. In the same manner, don't anyone ever blame Pakatan Rakyat for the Bt Antarabangsa tragedy or the D'ra hillslope project! Am sure more tragedies will happen in the near future; just remember to give thanks to the bn govt.for these tragedies incl. the highland tower case!

I wouldn't venture into Klang town on any day or night;it's one of the most cluster-fcuked places on earth. Zero town planning. Typical umno-led bn govt style.
written by apa jadi, January 02, 2009 21:27:07
Very simple, plain and logical explanation by Tian. I hope what he said is true, as the Chinese says that PKR has the "dead cat to swallow" from the debris of KToyol regime.

If Manicka cannot see this predicament PKR is in, then he is not fit to stay.

Btw, there were rumours a few months earlier that HINDRAF was infiltrated after the arrest of the HINDRAD 5. Time to ponder what's cooking.
written by Wave33, January 02, 2009 21:58:39
Manikavasagam career in politic will end soon. Well, Indian will follow you. How about the Malay and Chinese? Low IQ and EQ MPs do not serve the rakyat well. Even if, Manikavasagam is right about it till he goes to his grave, I do not support the way and the attitude he creates to demand attention. Manikavasagam might have a legitimate issue to fight for, but his attitude do not deserve to be called a respectful YB. smilies/angry.gif
written by Richfyf, January 03, 2009 01:36:13
emm Sami Velu, A party president who cant get elected as an MP, a politician who get booed while making speech during election time and yet there are some people who think they want to be the next Sami Velu, well I want to be the next Mahatir Mohammad then....... but I just dont like all the curse and "sumpah" of my neighbours and rakyat. So Mike better be a RESPONSIBLE elected MP and stand for the people. If you have been misquoted by the spin media of BN then come to the open and make you stand once and for all, convince the votes that you are an MP of all races. If you can do that then stay, If you cant then please leave and let other capable people do the job, I dont care if the next person is Malay, Chinese Indian or what ever race as long as the person can stand for the Rakyat I will vote for him
written by mikewang, January 03, 2009 09:22:58
It's another NST spin piece.
There is always a one liner somewhere that's detrimental to PR/PKR even if the report is selectively factual.