Home arrow The Blogs arrow News/Commentaries arrow Mohd Abdul Wahid Endot is PAS candidate for the KT by-election

Mohd Abdul Wahid Endot is PAS candidate for the KT by-election PDF Print
Thursday, 01 January 2009 23:39
(TheStar) KUALA TERENGGANU: Four term Wakaf Mempelam assemblyman and state PAS treasurer Mohd Abdul Wahid Endot has been chosen by the party take on Barisan Nasional heavyweight Datuk Wan Ahmad Farid Wan Salleh in the Kuala Terengganu by-election on Jan 17. The much-awaited announcement, made last night by Datuk Seri Abdul Hadi Awang, took many by surprise as even the PAS president said there was a “last-minute change”.

Abdul Hadi, who made the announcement at the packed Stadium Negeri in Batu Burok here, said it had been difficult to choose the PAS candidate, saying: “All of the ones we had in mind were highly capable people.”

In the end, he said, he made up his mind after adhering to the “Islamic methods”.

Thousands of PAS supporters, gathered at the stadium, broke into thunderous cheers when the announcement was made.

Party stalwarts, and leaders from DAP and PKR also attended the event.

Mohd Abdul Wahid, 52, is a four-term assemblyman, Kuala Terengganu PAS chief and state PAS treasurer. He is a Fisheries and Marine Science graduate from the Universiti Putra Malaysia.

His name had not even been on political observers’ list speculating about who would be the PAS candidate to face Wan Ahmad in the by-election.

Several names had come up including Batu Burok state assemblyman Dr Syed Azman Ahmad Nawawi, who is also the former Kuala Terengganu MP. Others were state PAS commissioner Datuk Mustafa Ali and his deputy Datuk Wan Muttalib Wan Embong.

It is learnt that some 72 PAS members had been tasked with obtaining feedback from the grassroots on whom they felt was the most appropriate candidate.

Views had also been sought from non-Malay voters.

The death of incumbent Datuk Razali Ismail of Barisan triggered the by-election.

Comments (33)Add Comment
written by macaufan, January 01, 2009 23:48:06
i was confused by M'sia Insider has reported Syed Azman was chosen ! i've check Harakah Daily.net & ADUN Mempelam Wahid was chosen !
what happen to M'sia Insider news? it's part of d PAS strategy in KT kempen?
anyway, Kongsi kongsi YB Wahid ! Rakyat is fully behind u to topple calon dr corrupted rejim racist umno 'd man behind d polis 'killing' of Bersih supporters in Bt.Boruk' !
written by johanssm, January 02, 2009 00:03:35
Irrespective if you like it or not , i wants PAS to win the KT seat. Take this as a revenge on bn or at least to support DSAI . Support the Anti ISA movement.
At least PAS do not like to have the ISA. PAS people never label me as "Pendatang Anak Haram".
More Malaysian must understand Islam and what it is about.And what we see and listen in Malaysia are not really the real Islam. Do read Jeff Ooi's >>>http://www.jeffooi.com/2008/10/abu_dhabi_a_rude_culture_shock.php
written by malaysianboy, January 02, 2009 00:05:01
i think binarytan had alot of drinks on New Year Day... smilies/grin.gif Cheers...
written by temanmu, January 02, 2009 00:09:10
Hope the KT Chinese will solidly back PAS like what they did in Selangor!

All the best to kick corrupt UMNO out of KT!

written by Motherchell, January 02, 2009 00:39:50
Good --- once decided ---- Pas go for it .No more faltering on choices. All the best to you Abdul ! You know the changes we need . pl work on this fast,- time is running out as the govt machinations move in .
Work for the people --- and you will always be our hero as Honorable Zaid is ! Take Tok Guru too as role models ,you will succeed !put aside all the race and creed content fixed by the powers. Go for a win now and teach them what a True Malay is !
written by eloofk, January 02, 2009 00:44:55
Dear Brother Pete,

Can you please confirmed whether its PAS Treasurer Mohd Abdul Wahid Endot or Dr. Syed Azman Ahmad Nawawi?

I got different names from different sources.
written by R020998, January 02, 2009 00:53:01
binayartan just got a contract from Najib? smilies/shocked.gif
written by azee72, January 02, 2009 00:59:21
binarytan
I observe you. You only exist when commenting(i mean screwing) both PAS and UMNO.
What are you trying to achieve?
To Wahid Endut..who ever you are and with good track record,we will support you all the way.You have my support. Congratulation!!!!
written by azee72, January 02, 2009 01:14:09
I chatted with my brother who work as teacher in KT.
This Wan Farid is not likened expecially those kampung people.
I hope it is true and if no main kotor,Wahid Endut win.......
Lets pray for that.

written by renoir, January 02, 2009 01:15:48
Go, PAS!!! Fight the good fight and WIN!!!

God be on you!!!

written by Rashid, January 02, 2009 01:36:21
He was elected since he established himself in KT even when all PAS leaders, MPs and DUNs in KT tumbled in 2004 including Dr Syed. In 2008, he increased his majority though as the single remaining DUN seat in KT held by PAS, MB Idris Jusoh has set his eyes to reclaim and started initiating programs in Wakaf, but Endut survived by increasing his majority. So, maybe they see him as the best pet. I hear that Dr Syed was rejected on the basis that he was once "rejected" by KT voters in 2004. UMNO would have told the KT voters: "YOu rejected him b4, why return him"? It would have proved useful. So, a man who established himself by winning the seat when UMNO snatched back the KT seat in 1995 from Semengat, and increased his majority during the Reformasi and retained his seat (when others failed) during Abdullah's euphoria in 2004 and again survived Idris Jusoh deliberate onslaught is somehow more established than all others and that's why he wa chosen!

written by Msian Idol3, January 02, 2009 02:16:48
My chinese relatives in KT says hardly any chinese wants UMNO/BN. Its PAS they want. The chinese rather have a clean guy(PAS) than a 2 face snake.
written by Dualties, January 02, 2009 02:20:48
Mohd Abdul Wahid Endot :

Whatever it is, a surprise! as a candidate for the KT by-election, we will still support PAS.

PAS is there to give a fight-for-political life against BN candidate, Wan Ahmad Farid Wan Salleh who already has a record of tainted issues with the Monsoon Cup, Oil Royal and a proven ineffective Senator while with the Home Ministry.

Wan Ahmad Farid Wan Salleh WILL NEVER support the abolition of ISA. KT 'rakyats' ........... Do you still need ISA for the State of Terengganu and Malaysia? If you do not ISA vote for PAS only.
written by Godflesh, January 02, 2009 02:22:03
Malaysian insider is an AAB set-up. Ex chief editor from NST is now heading MI. He was and still is a Badawi sympathiser and cronie!
written by Janaka, January 02, 2009 02:51:18
Whatever happen for now! we all the way will SUPPORT PAS.

KT, please help us to win over and get rid of the corrupted devil of Barisan Najis.
Mohd Abdul Wahid Endot, I want to wish you best of luck and God Bless.
We knew you all from KT will create another Permatang Pauh victory ..
written by The dragonheart, January 02, 2009 02:56:50
binarytan,

Your words is good enough to say your racist and selfish... you hate Islam and Malay but are u defending ur own race?... if u do then definitely ur racist too..
written by arazak, January 02, 2009 08:57:16
Was that another stunt by Hadi? Did he gets the approval from PAS top ranking officials? Or, is this his personal opinion/choice just as when he said about DSAI before the Permatang Pauh by-election!

Anyway, he should fully disclose to PAS members the result of the so call "grassroot" feedback! We want to see the numbers!
written by budakindia, January 02, 2009 09:09:02
No matter who PAS has fielded, he'll get our support! We want to see BN loose another seat! smilies/wink.gif
written by asguard, January 02, 2009 09:47:46
All the best wishes to pas candidate...
written by oceanuz, January 02, 2009 10:33:30
No to BN.

PS: I'm just wondering if it's possible to hide comments (with possibility to still expand them if reader so what to read them...) that hit a certain threshold of disagree/agree ratio...
written by Msian Idol3, January 02, 2009 12:08:18
Binarytan -- UMNO/BN have rule the nation for more than 50 yrs and their administration proweness is not getting better but worst. With PAS, even my educated 6th grade mother-inlaw knows theres no way they can impose islamic hudud laws or be more racist than UMNO/BN even if PR were to be the ruling power. What we need is a different govt to lead the nation. Even an inexperience PR govt is better than an experience crooked UMNO/BN. Let the people be the judge of PR and if they are really a bunch of boneheads, they can only be around for 5 yrs. Do we have that much to loose. Its also for your own good unless you rather preferred to be screwed by the devil who already knows how to do the C4 & saiful thing to U.
written by ksmaniam, January 02, 2009 12:16:28
Gentleman and Ladies,
The choice is clear. Do not cloud the issue for the uninitiated. Between BN and Pas, Pas is definitely a better choice. Secondly, as MT has informed Pas cannot force hudud laws down the Malaysians throat. (so Hudud is a no issue, except for BN to fan our hatred to PAS...pls do not fall into that trap and make the issue big...it is a non issue..). Thirdly, if we have a 2 party system BN will do the check and balance for us...Pas will be put on check by UMNO too. So please vote Pas and move towards the 2 party system. KT is another nail in BN/Umno coffin. Make sure it happens. Don;t cloud the issue and lose our perspective.
Please.
written by POKKU, January 02, 2009 12:19:48
binarytan,

What vote for PAS. You vote for BN IN last March ELECTION.
You were planted here to create mistrust amongst PR supporters.
People had been observing you and your true colour is showing.
Dont suka-suka mengaku you vote for PAS.
written by macaufan, January 02, 2009 13:15:19
Binarytan,
if what u said abt PAS is true, so what? if rakyat can topple d most corrupted regime racist umno who r in power >50years, what is PAS then?
what rakyat wanted now is to give regime umno & their lap-DOGS a DEATH BLOW !!!!!
written by amoker, January 02, 2009 13:45:08
We support PAS. Let us go beyond the small quarrels and work together. We, the rakyat will again break UMNO down.
written by harmanamri, January 02, 2009 15:44:34
If 1795 voters who voted for Pas and PKR candidates for DUN on March 8 had also voted Pas for the Kuala Trengganu Parliamentary seat, then Pas' Mohd Sabu would have won. Instead, 1076 of them gave the vote to the late Datuk Razali, 685 to granny Maimun and 34 spoiled the votes. This resulted in Razali winning by a majority of 628 votes. Perhaps they did so because Mohd Sabu is not a local man. Let's now hope that they will now give their votes to YB Abdul Wahid Endut.
Allahu Akbar! Allah Akbar! Allahu Akbar.
written by renoir, January 03, 2009 01:46:44
I wrote:
>God be on you]]

Dunno how that came about. Should be "God be with you."

Rashid, thanks for the info on Endot. Very enlightening.

Go PAS!!!