Home arrow The Blogs arrow News/Commentaries arrow Finally, Pas chooses Syed Azman for KT

Finally, Pas chooses Syed Azman for KT PDF Print
Thursday, 01 January 2009 17:57
By Adib Zalkapli (The Malaysian Insider)

KUALA LUMPUR, Jan 1 — After weeks of deliberation, Pas has decided on Dr Syed Azman Nawawi as its candidate for the crucial Kuala Terengganu by-election scheduled for Jan 17, said party sources.

The selection of the Batu Burok assemblyman is the clearest sign yet that the two rival factions in Pas, the conservatives and the Erdogans, have declared a ceasefire following the death of Kuala Terengganu MP Datuk Razali Ismail from the Barisan Nasional.

"Datuk Mustafa Ali has told the president that he does not want to be fielded to avoid being accused of exploiting his close relationship with Hadi (Datuk Seri Hadi Awang), but the president is not telling anyone who the candidate will be. At the last minute he may insist on Mustafa, but it is very unlikely," said a Pas insider.

State party chief Mustafa, who caused a stir in the opposition Pakatan Rakyat coalition for saying Datuk Seri Anwar Ibrahim's plan to take over the federal government through defections would not materialise, is said to be leading a faction in Pas which favours fostering a closer relationship with Umno and is aligned to party president Hadi.

Hadi, who will announce the party's choice to run against BN's Datuk Wan Ahmad Farid at a public rally in Kuala Terengganu tonight, had met party spiritual adviser Datuk Nik Aziz Nik Mat yesterday in Kota Baru to brief the Kelantan Menteri Besar on the selection of candidate.

Nik Aziz had earlier endorsed Mohamad Sabu, who contested the seat in the last general election, but was rejected by Terengganu party leaders who prefer local leaders.

Meanwhile, Terengganu Pas deputy chief Datuk Wan Mutalib Embong, who was also speculated to be nominated, had endorsed Syed Azman's candidacy, said another party official close to Hadi.

The selection of the candidate for the Kuala Terengganu by-election has been a contentious issue in Pas, resulting in the party commissioning two independent surveys. Both revealed that Syed Azman is the best candidate for the party.

A British-trained political scientist, Syed Azman had served in Indiana State University, the Japan Institute of Tokyo, University of Malaya and International Islamic University before winning the Kuala Terengganu parliamentary seat in 1999.

He lost the seat in 2004, and was fielded in the Batu Burok state constituency in the last general election.

Comments (25)Add Comment
written by Dualties, January 01, 2009 18:18:57
Dr Syed Azman Nawawi:

Congratulations! The people of KT will be behind you. Every successful has a painful story. Every painful story has a successful ending.

Accept the pain in 2004 and get ready for success in 2009. HAPPY BY-ELECTION YEAR 2009!
written by budakindia, January 01, 2009 18:22:34
Congratulations to you! All the best in the coming elections! smilies/grin.gif
written by Dualties, January 01, 2009 19:04:44
Dr Syed Azman Nawawi:

Congratulations! The people of KT will be behind you. Every successful man has a painful story. Every painful story has a successful ending.

Accept the pain in 2004 and get ready for success in 2009. HAPPY BY-ELECTION YEAR 2009!
written by Kerajaan Rakyat, January 01, 2009 19:23:42
Angkatan Muda Parti Keadilan Rakyat (PKR) mahu Senator Datuk Wan Farid Wan Ahmad, yang akan mewakili Barisan Nasional (BN) dalam pilihan raya kecil Kuala Terengganu,
agar menyahut cabaran Pakatan Rakyat menjelaskan "ketirisan wang royalti minyak RM1.6 bilion."

http://kerajaanrakyat.com/
written by mikefonz, January 01, 2009 19:55:00
I don't think it's important who is fielded to contest.
Actual contest is between PR and BN.
Everything else don't really matters.
written by ahmadneil, January 01, 2009 20:37:39
Now with this candidate been chosen,it's time to unite and focus on winning KT.
UNDI PAS(X).
written by tuankujuki, January 01, 2009 20:43:54
A humble and down to earth person and academically sound. If he is the man, then it will be a hands down winning for PR.
written by SamSan, January 01, 2009 20:49:49
UMNO / BN is definately facing another by election setback in Kuala Trengganu. This time the cause is their choice ofSaiful a wrong candidate. It is still not too late in making last minute changes before nomination date. is their best bet and he can take this opportunity to explain to all KT electorate to show how Anwar infiltrated his dobor by casting a jampi on him. The police can also attest to this by clarifying how this consensual sodomy occured. Saiful as BN candidate is the right person to convince the KT voters to continue voting for the able and super efficient new leadership of Najib who is the only one qualified and capable of saving Malaysia from the World Financial tsunami.
written by Ben, January 01, 2009 20:57:46
Yes, certainly much soul searching have been done before this excellent choice. Intellectually and spiritually sound politician with his head in the right place. Tested, fallen and remained to fight the good fight. It shows PAS can work smart when it wants to. Now, let's massacre the opponent, God willing. Let it be loud and clear that come next GE, they are out for sure.
written by DreamLady, January 01, 2009 22:02:19
Congratulations, Dr. Syed Azman!!! Good luck to you for the coming challenge at Trengganu's by-election. All the rakyat are behind you to champion for a good cause, keadilan for the people, justice for all, and abolition of corruption.

May God be with you constantly to fight the demons in the battle field!!! You shall triumph with fireworks for all to see!!!
written by Motherchell, January 01, 2009 22:31:47
Dr Syed Azman Nawawi you have the peoples blessings ! Go for it with full steam , your win is crucial to tell the ogres and despots that we mean business. We need PAS out there in majority to clean up the 51 year old filth.
Look out for moles ,"postal workers" and Saifuls who will come to sabotage and distract your perseverance!
written by KTRaj, January 01, 2009 22:40:53
It's almost the same as P.Pauh by election whereas BN placed Arif Shah ( existing Seberang Jaya DUN). He lost huge number of votes.

I do not know what the hell PAS is playing. If people of KT have the same thinking of P.Pauh. Then Dr. Syed Azman will loss huge amount of votes too.

written by Kerajaan Rakyat, January 01, 2009 23:08:40
Kepada pengundi di Kuala Terengganu sila ambil
perhatian terhadap pesanan Tun Dr. Mahathir:

UMNO yang ada sekarang hanya wujud untuk menyokong
Dato Seri Abdullah Ahmad Badawi, keluarganya dan
tindakan serta dasar yang tidak secocok dengan
kepentingan bangsa, agama dan negara.

http://kerajaanrakyat.com/
written by Almighty, January 01, 2009 23:09:16
"KT Has 143 Voting Streams with Uneven Sizes, in 36 Voting Stations
8,388 or 10% of KT Voters Have No NoRumah
1001 Police Voters in KT
1001 Police IC Changes = 1001 Potential Confusions"

Rakyat KT perlu bersatu hati & Bekerja keras untuk menolak sebarang penyelewengan & manupilasi BN. UNDILAH PAS.
written by nana tanjung, January 01, 2009 23:09:35
It's confirmed - the candidate is Hj Wahid Endut
written by nana tanjung, January 01, 2009 23:33:27
Article From NST 15 Nov 2008
Know your State Rep: It's about willingness to work with others

KUALA TERENGGANU: No man is an island. This is one of the first lessons that Wakaf Mempelam state assemblyman Abdul Wahid Endut learnt when he got involved in politics about 30 years ago.

The 52-year-old five-term elected representative has managed to survive in politics because he believes in working with others."Early in my first term as an assemblyman, I learned that you need people to help you. You need a good team. "As I'm overseeing a constituency with 99 villages, I set up a network to keep me updated on the latest happenings, like deaths, the welfare of villagers, or a tragedy in my constituency."My wife is also an integral part of my team, helping me with women's affairs," he told the New Straits Times.

Wahid counts himself lucky because he has served with both the government and the opposition.In the opposition, he learnt to be independent as it was difficult, at times, to get help from the Barisan Nasional state government.Things got a lot easier when Pas ruled Terengganu, from 1999 to 2004. "When I was part of the government I got to know the officers and built contacts. Now, even though I am in the opposition, if there is anything I need to know, I know who to contact," the former state entrepreneur development, consumer, youth and small medium enterprises committee chairman said. Good public relations is one of Wahid's strengths.

Compared to some of his political compatriots who are known for name-calling and hitting opponents below the belt, Wahid stands in stark contrast.He receives media representatives warmly, despite the tendency among opposition politicians to distrust the mainstream media.He stays out of the skirmishes between BN and the opposition in the state assembly.Wahid makes it a point to visit all 60 mosques in his constituency to meet constituents and join them in the Friday prayers.But despite spending more then 16 years in the political arena, the former Universiti Pertanian Malaysia fisheries and marine science graduate said there was always something new to learn every day.

"My job gets easier with time as the experience makes me more mature. This is the kind of experience you don't obtain from university. And that (the experience) helps a lot," Wahid enjoys the sense of satisfaction that he gets from helping people."At times we can't contribute much, but it is good to know that we are helping to ease their burden a little."As long as we help without fear or favour. In the end it is not about the colour of the flag (political alliance), but the individual."
written by Milo, January 01, 2009 23:49:57
People, vote for PAS based on the big picture. The choice is either PR or BN to govern us.
written by malaysianboy, January 01, 2009 23:56:04
I think the information here is incorrect..
PAS has nominated Wakaf Mempelam Assemblyman, Mohd Abdul Wahid Endot to contest for Kuala Terengganu Parliamentary Seat.

Read STAROnline
http://thestar.com.my/news/sto...sec=nation
written by fireduck, January 02, 2009 00:32:56
I think this writer Adib Zalkapli better go into hiding for the next few weeks. It is so embarrassing to have his article juxtaposed just below the real thing. The Malaysian Insider ..... written by an Outsider, obviously. smilies/cheesy.gif
written by temenggong, January 02, 2009 02:10:17
So many disorientated and misinformed losers!! One can see the informative quality of the bloggers. There goes Malaysian Insider, a BN vehicle.

Endot is a good choice. Endot will win!
written by Rozlan, January 02, 2009 21:10:55
yala..Zul..You better be careful next time...