Home arrow The Blogs arrow News/Commentaries arrow As Hindraf spat worsens, a new Anwar ally emerges

As Hindraf spat worsens, a new Anwar ally emerges PDF Print
Thursday, 01 January 2009 17:56
By Baradan Kuppusamy (The Malaysian Insider)

KUALA LUMPUR, Jan 1 — When the bushfire of Indian dissatisfaction in the PKR threatened to turn into an inferno, party supremo Datuk Seri Anwar Ibrahim, holidaying in the Middle East, called from Dubai and urged a man he trusted to investigate what was really going on, how big it was and why it was happening.

Shadowy businessman Datuk Ravi Dharan, chairman of the Daya group of companies, has always been in the shadows of the PKR, serving only Anwar before and after the March 8 polls and during the run-up to the abortive Sept 16 plan to topple the Barisan Nasional government via defections.

He was close to Anwar when the latter was the finance minister and like other tycoons in Anwar's circle, he suffered after Anwar was sacked and jailed in 1998.

Ravi, 59, went abroad and soon settled down in Indonesia where he has interests in several areas, including coal mining in Kalimantan.

However, unlike Anwar's other former friend Datuk K.S. Nallakaruppan, Ravi remained loyal to the former and was a big supporter — personally and financially — of the opposition leader during the March 8 general election campaign.

Anwar has now become worried that Indian dissatisfaction with his party, centred on the resignation of Kapar MP S. Manikavasagam as the party's Selangor deputy chief, will flare up, and he has sought out Ravi to quell the rebellion.

This will be the political coming out for Ravi who had always remained in the shadows.

It is significant that Anwar did not task any of the more senior party leaders such as deputy president Dr Syed Husin Ali, vice-president S. Sivarasa, seen as the nominal Indian head of the party, Selangor Menteri Besar Tan Sri Khalid Ibrahim, Selangor exco member Dr Xavier Jeyakumar or even PKR Padang Serai MP M. Gobalakrishnan.

"It was to Ravi that Anwar turned too," said a PKR insider, adding that Anwar was worried that a "hidden hand" was manipulating the "rebellion" and splitting the party especially in light of speculation reported in online news website Malaysiakini that PKR rebels together with Hindraf leader P. Uthayakumar and chairman P. Waythamoorthy were in alliance with MIC rebels to oust embattled MIC president Datuk Seri S. Samy Vellu.

Manikavasagam's relationship with Sivarasa and Dr Xavier and possibly Khalid, whom he has accused of betraying the people's trust by not fulfilling election promises, is now beyond repair, PKR insiders said.

Under these circumstances Anwar relied on Ravi as a trusted ally, in the same role once played by Nallakaruppan before their dramatic falling out, to help contain or extinguish the Manikavasagam fire.

Ravi attended a meeting of over 100 Indian supporters of Hindraf/Makkal Sakthi yesterday that discussed the problems raised by Manikavasagam and former PKR deputy secretary-general P. Jenapala.

Both Manikavasagam and Jenapala also attended the closed-door meeting.

"Ravi listened carefully, watched their body language and never uttered a single word," said a PKR supporter who attended the meeting.

Later at the press conference Ravi moved in to take charge, admitting there were differences over issues among the PKR leaders. "This is a democratic process, we meet, we discuss, tell our differences and we seek consensus," Ravi told The Malaysian Insider after the meeting.

"We all have one aim — to make Anwar prime minister — and until then we should remain committed and united," said Ravi.

He was worried PKR's political enemies would exploit the differences.

"We should not give them that opportunity," he told the people gathered. "I don't think there is a hidden hand behind the open airing of differences in PKR."

The meeting resolved that Manikavasagam and others would meet Anwar on his return and lay their unhappiness at his feet for a resolution of the differences.

Nevertheless the discontent is too fundamental to be resolved without upsetting the PKR's delicate racial balance.

The animosity between Manikavasagam and the rest of the PKR Indian leadership cannot be ignored.

The others — Sivarasa, Dr Xavier, Khalid and others — control Selangor PKR and are big names in the PKR setup although at the Makkal Sakthi grassroots level they are lightweights compared with Manikavasagam.

While Manikavasagam sees himself as a Makkal Sakthi founder, he accepts Uthayakumar and Waythamoorthy as his real mentors, and he also has the highest regards for Anwar.

It is left to Anwar to see how best to balance the demands of the big names in the PKR who are all for sacking Manikavasagam and satisfying the Makkal Sakthi grassroots who have adopted PKR as their new political home but want a bigger slice of the largesse.

What Ravi recommends to Anwar will play a crucial role in the balancing act.

written by raven1958, January 01, 2009 18:18:24
What's this...Kapar cry baby Manicka, Waythamoorthy and Uthaya sneaking back to a racist party like MIC......these buggers better come clean on this....if they are out to con voters ....tell us now......
written by budakindia, January 01, 2009 18:26:27
No matter what UMNO, MIC and MCA tried to play with us, we will make sure they'll never win in this elections. You think the hudud, pig farming issue will break us? Think again! smilies/wink.gif
written by temenggong, January 01, 2009 18:31:31
Don't buy Baradan's bullshit of Makkal Sakti teaming up with MIC. There is no such thing going on.

Don't buy the media's spin and selective reporting of Mani as an 'Indian leader' and 'Indian issues'. The Kg Beremban issue Mani raised is a malay issue. The Bus Stand issue involves malay and chinese and peoples' issues.

The problem is Khalid along with Xavier have cornered the Selangor state govt. Khalid is retaining the old umno bureaucracy and little napoleans and passing contracts to the same old umno cronies. The sand extraction contract was given to Khalid's relative. Mani is hesitant to bring up more issues and rake up the dirt. Currently the Selangor govt is the same old umno govt with a new mask.

disagree 19
written by Just Gan, January 01, 2009 20:18:40
The Indian community should realize that their hope, just like the hope of the ignored Malays, Chinese and East Malaysians, for a better future is dependent on Pakatan Rakyat taking over the federal government. While it is possible that the Selangor menteri besar may have ignored some legitimate issues relating to the Indian community, this is no time to undermine Pakatan Rakyat's efforts. PR is facing the full might of BN/UMNO and their evil and unscrupulous tactics. There are many battles to be won before winning the war against BN/UMNO. The war is still in the early stages. Manikavsagm and the other Indian leaders in PKR, if they are really interested in the future of their community, should assist PR to win the many battles ahead to win the war. Then and if they feel that the Indians' concerns are not being fairly addressed by the PR government in power, they can do what is necessary in the interest of the community and Malaysians, including withdrawing support. It is stupid to weaken your ally and strengthen the enemy at this stage of the PR-BN war. Defeat BN/UMNO and win the war so that you can be in a position to negotiate for a better deal for the Indian community. Just remember that if PR looses in its efforts, the Indians will be ones who will be the biggest loosers.
written by ahmadneil, January 01, 2009 20:43:18
Nothing ,absolutely nothing can supersede that aim of making Anwar PM.
written by rajaphillips, January 01, 2009 20:46:15
Got to be careful ABOUT MALAYSIAN INSIDER. Real spin masters
written by carribeanking7, January 01, 2009 20:48:06
While Manikavasagam sees himself as a Makkal Sakthi founder, he accepts Uthayakumar and Waythamoorthy as his real mentors, and he also has the highest regards for Anwar.

Also not mentioned- Manickavasagams(Mike) other mentor is Ezam, thus his activist streak and I daresay undesirable influence. Also cause for concern is Ravi Dharans close ties with Nallakaruppan, Nalla formed MIUP (malaysian indian united party) before the permatang pauh by election, I would watch Ravi very carefully.

It is also very ironic that one of the demands is more positions for Indians, when Mike quit his exco position, and Jenapala lost his position by virtue of being a bankrupt, strange indeed. I have unconfirmed information that tells me Samy velu's hidden hand is in this. At the moment only Sivarasa , xavier Jaya kumar and gobalakrishnan have shown maturity in coalition politics.
written by Ron, January 01, 2009 21:01:57
Baradan for STAR happily spinning away day in and day out,hoping they can bring down indian support for PKR.We dont want opportunist Leaders who want positions for themselves.When PKR can appoint all of them to some post they claim PKR is neglecting the Indians.The Hindraf fellows are the same.Some were in PKR before but they fail to get "positions" they condemn PKR on TV3 and STAR claiming that the Indian interest is being ignored by PKR.These "leaders" should join MIC and suck-up to samy and UMNO.The INDIAN community will always be with PR and not racist UMNO.
written by Macrophage, January 01, 2009 21:18:50
Who owns MalaysianInsider? Who is funding the site? Their articles are getting very dodgy... the drama with the N9 royals and now this.

PKR's own website SuaraKeadilan reports a situation which is totally different to that portrayed by MalaysianInsider! Pay extra attention to the very last paragraph of this article in the link below.

http://www.suarakeadilan.com/sk/berita-utama/2009/01/1837

written by captmarco ramius, January 01, 2009 21:53:42
Mr Baradan Kuppusamy,

Can I ask you a simple question ?. What gives you the rights to link up HINDRAF and Kapar MP issue ?. Did Mr WMP told you that ?. Listen here, you fork tongued lizard. The issue here is between Kapar MP and the Selangor state government. It is not between HINDRAF and the state government. HINDRAF IS AND WILL ALWAYS BE APOLITICAL.

Granted that Kapar MP have made statement that he will consult Mr WMP on these issues but that DOES NOT AUTOMATICALLY MEANS THAT HINDRAF is involved. It is just a statement from Kapar MP. So till the THINK.TANKS or Mr WMP himself gives a statement on this...you might as well STOP YOUR SPIN. The way I said it, you are just riding on the mighty waves of HINDRAF's popularity to improve your readership or as your personal launch pad.

For the rest of the readers who were so free with their words in demonizing HINDRAF as RACIST's movement and so on...Have a long hard think of what I have just written before you embark on HINDRAF bashing comments.

capt marco a ramius
written by captmarco ramius, January 01, 2009 21:55:10
The way I said it, you are just riding on the mighty waves of HINDRAF's popularity to improve your readership or as your personal launch pad.

sorry typo.... (the way I see it,....) should be the correct one
written by Jit Dharma, January 01, 2009 22:25:30
I am behind HINDRAF's struggle 100%. The struggle of marginalised
people. Don't let power go to your head, Manikam.Look at the big
picture.Everything depends on the removal of the BN first.I am so
disappointed with all this immature tom-foolery. That said, for
the love of God., please stop all this bickering and go forward
with respect for ALL Malaysians. We must all grow up.So sad to
see this.
written by cruzeiro, January 01, 2009 22:26:29
Although there are elements of truth in this, Kuppu has done it again .... he has blown it out of proportion!!
written by DreamLady, January 01, 2009 22:28:07
Leave everything for Anwar to handle the complex issue. He is skillful in human relationship and his pr is superb. I am sure when he comes back from overseas trip, he will certainly be able to iron out all the squabbles...

My dear all, do not get worried unduly, all shall be fine with Pakatan and the by-election in Trengganu, if God willings!

Let's pray together for a successful take-over of Putra jaya by Pakatan !!
written by cruzeiro, January 01, 2009 22:29:21
Anyways, the very fact that Mahathir is MI's Malaysian of the year says a lot, I guess ...
written by Jit Dharma, January 01, 2009 22:30:14
Please remember our brothers who are rotting away in
Kamunting. How is this going to help them? So
disappointed, yet hopeful that DS Anwar will patch
things up.DSAI we need you to put Selangor in order.
Then it's on to KT, Sarawak and Sabah.Makkal Sakti!!!
written by Motherchell, January 01, 2009 22:39:52
So far all the news that's been out is thro the demon's mouthpiece. There are differences and the modular thought that all is not well is mistaken. So pl let us give DSAI some leeway before we jump the gun and make absolute decisions about all the fiasco. The more we try, out here , the psychos in the corridors will make hay!
Lets be patient!
written by captmarco ramius, January 01, 2009 23:55:35
A few months back, a friend of mine spoke to this Baradan fellow and requested him to do a write-up on the true struggles of the HINDRAF and the plight of the H5 currently incarcerated in Kamunting. The motive for this is so that Malaysians in general will have a better picture of what HINDRAF is all about. It is so that the general public would be able to see that HINDRAF is not a RACIST movement.

This Baradan fellow just said that "You Indians can be passionate about HINDRAF but you can never win this thing, going against umno government".

Just as we are making some headways with the struggle, this LIZARD of the highest order capitalises on it. Almost everything he writes now is something or other about HINDRAF.

You be the JUDGE !

And for Mr Baradan,

Have some balls and dignity on your own. Have some decency to contribute positively if you have to invoke the name HINDRAF in your articles. If you can't, just shut the FCUK UP !.

Have some balls of your own.....Don't be a ball carrier to tyrants.
written by renoir, January 02, 2009 00:28:36
Some brief comments:

>bushfire of Indian dissatisfaction in the PKR threatened to turn into an inferno]]

If some differences between an MP and his party leaders could be described in terms such as "bushfire" and "inferno," how to portray the massive march by Hindraf that resulted in the imprisonment of 5 Hindraf leaders under the ISA? Armageddon?

Advice: Don't exaggerate. If you want some credibility, say something like "When Indian dissatisfaction in the PKR threatened to turn into a public spectacle, etc."

>party supremo Datuk Seri Anwar Ibrahim ... urged a man he trusted to investigate what was really going on, how big it was and why it was happening.]]

This statement, without proper citation, is just pure speculation at best and baseless rumor-mongering at worst - something the writer's political masters often liked to accuse the Opposition of.

Advice: If paid hacks want to talk the talk, BN leaders must first walk the walk.

>Shadowy businessman Datuk Ravi Dharan, chairman of the Daya group of companies, has always been in the shadows of the PKR, serving only Anwar before and after the March 8 polls and during the run-up to the abortive Sept 16 plan to topple the Barisan Nasional government via defections.]]

Obviously the long-winded sentence is designed to somehow tie Anwar's "abortive Sept 16 plan" with what's happening between the Kapar MP and other PKR leaders. However, it's badly written because of its length and poor choice of words. How else could one explain the "SHADOWY businessman Datuk Ravi Dharan ... has always been in the SHADOWS of the PKR, etc.???

Advice: Try not to tie totally unrelated events together, unless you're a master of the English language, which you obviously aren't.

>Anwar has now become worried ... will flare up, and he has sought out Ravi to quell the rebellion.]]

Another baseless, over-imaginative attempt: Anwar might indeed be concerned, but why should he be "worried" about a "flare up"? How much can the situation flare up? Would the Indians seriously march against the new-born state government when they took over 50 years to rise up against BN? For PKR and Pakatan, it would be bad enough if the Indians were to dissociate themselves with the Opposition. There's no need for the Indians to flare up. But since BN is STILL the federal government, they might indeed conduct another intensive, international campaign against UMNO/BN. THEN, you'll know what "flare up" means.

Advice: Leave hyperboles for grownups.

>This will be the political coming out for Ravi who had always remained in the shadows.]]

Third "shadows" in this short piece. Sigh ...

Advice: Someone buy him a thesaurus?

To be continued
written by renoir, January 02, 2009 00:29:10
Continued

>It is significant that Anwar did not task any of the more senior party leaders such as ....]]

Another sigh...Can't think of other reasons, such as leaving senior party members to solve more urgent matters, and use someone with more time on his hands, like Ravi? Is your vision really that limited? Or perhaps you just cannot think logically?

Advice: take a course in elementary logic.

>"It was to Ravi that Anwar turned too," said a PKR insider, adding that Anwar was worried that a "hidden hand" was manipulating the "rebellion" and splitting the party especially in light of speculation reported in online news website]]

The use of unknown "sources" such as "a PKR insider" and the admitted "speculation" in Malaysiakini to conclude that Anwar was "worried" about an alleged "hidden hand" and "rebellion" is again too tenuous to excite the reader. It's like telling your girlfriend/spouse that you'd "been with Casanova" and was "liked by Hugh Hefner" to impress upon her that you've a big schlong. It won't work.

Advice: Don't use a trick everyone knows.

> the discontent is too fundamental to be resolved without upsetting the PKR's delicate racial balance.]]

Ah? How is it "too fundamental"? Regarding "upsetting the PKR's delicate racial balance" - just worry about your BN's racial balance. Wasn't too long ago when Gerakan was talking about pulling out, MCA disagreeing with UMNO about the ISA, and PPP threatening to quit over that draconian Act.

Advice: People with glass houses shouldn't throw stones.

>The animosity between Manikavasagam and the rest of the PKR Indian leadership cannot be ignored.]]

Wow! This guy probably knows more about the "rest" than perhaps Mani himself. Again, it just escapes him that Mani could disagree vigorously with one or two, less with others, and on good terms with all other PKR members, whether they're Indians or not. And unlike the ruling party whose animosity could result in the use of the ISA or molotov cocktails, PKR people are too civilized for that. They would stick to serious discourse, with as little verbal jousts as possible.

Advice: Stop being the pot that calls the kettle black.

>The others — Sivarasa, Dr Xavier, Khalid and others ... are big names in the PKR setup although at the Makkal Sakthi grassroots level they are lightweights compared with Manikavasagam.]]

This of course is another feeble attempt to drive a wedge within PKR, hoping against hope that Indians wouldn't remember about the continued detention of the Hindraf Five.

Anything can happen in politics. But it's still possible to write meaningful and objective articles so long as one think professionally, and not as a wannabe propagandist.

written by captmarco ramius, January 02, 2009 00:38:28
Renoir / L Chuah,

I salute you. No one could have said it any better.

Thank you Brother.

capt marco a ramius
written by Raizzen, January 02, 2009 03:59:07
Why does all the issues and quittings have to surface now ? Why cant you wait for PR to take over the govt. FIRST ?

NO, we're not asking you to sweep things under the carpet. Ever heard of the word - PRIORITY ?

Suckers.
written by Tompios, January 02, 2009 07:49:39
Bersyukurlah kita orang Sabah. Berapa teman Malaysians di Malaya mulai merasakan bagaimana perasaan kita orang Sabah. Lantikkan Ketua Kampung di kampung majority India belum ada apa-apanya jika dibandingkan Pejabat-Pejabat tertinggi di Sabah disandang oleh orang Malaya bukan di tangan orang tempatan. PENGHINAAN.

Why don't you UMNO brings back your people back to Malaya? Ke mana PPNnya PKR Selangor? Sila bertugaslah dengan penuh tanggungjawab!!
written by 1st2stay, January 02, 2009 10:21:26
Uh, come on!

Sure this is spin doctoring.
I can only hope that PKR does not succumb to those snakes in their ranks who bring back the old-style racial components, like 'giving the Indians their fair share'. BN hasn't given, since independence. And the Indians have supported their own exploitation by MIC/SemiV for generations.
Would they really want to go back there?

written by ckone, January 02, 2009 11:07:12
this is BS.... all to weaken the PKR/PAS in the KT election... careful guys/gals.
written by ROBERTNGTG, January 02, 2009 11:49:07
By Baradan Kuppusamy (The Malaysian Insider)
KUALA LUMPUR, Jan 1 — When the bushfire of Indian dissatisfaction in the PKR threatened to turn into an inferno, party supremo Datuk Seri Anwar Ibrahim, holidaying in the Middle East, called from Dubai and urged a man he trusted to investigate what was really going on, how big it was and why it was happening

IF EVER THERE IS A REAL SERPENT IN HUMAN FORM, IT IS THIS WRITER WHO SPINS STORIES FOR HIS MASTERS. HE HAS ALMOST PERFECTED HIS SKILLS IN MANIPULATION OF THE HUMAN MIND AND BACKBITING.
written by Susanna, January 02, 2009 12:38:58
Why reinforce the perception that Indians are trouble makers? I have no belief in such statement until now when Mani starts his selfish, childish complaints, after complaints. A person's character is defined by his actions. Certainly his actions are not complimentary and so revealing of a immature, inexperience self important leader. If for years there is no Indian MP except Sami and now we have so many Indian MPs, instead of being grateful and give time for the PKR party to gain strong footing, instead of supporting and understanding, complain, complain only. A house will be divided in no time with family member who finds trouble working with everyone except his own interests. Look at the bigger picture, We want a change in the government and we want AI our new PM. Why harp on small petty issues when the big picture is the focus? If the right focus is in place, isn't it obvious all other things will fall in place?
written by renoir, January 03, 2009 00:31:42
captmarco ramius wrote:
>Thank you Brother]]

My pleasure, Captain. All of us share the same goals, so we must try to hold together what the other side has tried to split asunder.