Home arrow The Blogs arrow News/Commentaries arrow Altantuya's father to challenge A-G's decision

Altantuya's father to challenge A-G's decision PDF Print
Thursday, 01 January 2009 11:06

SHAH ALAM: In an unprecedented move, the father of murder victim Altantuya Shaariibuu has filed a judicial review leave application to challenge the decision of the attorney-general who failed to appeal against the acquittal of political analyst Abdul Razak Baginda.

Shaariibuu Setev wants the A-G to apply for a warrant of arrest for Abdul Razak Baginda

Shaariibuu Setev also wants the A-G to apply for extension of time to appeal against the ruling of trial judge Datuk Mohd Zaki Md Yasin in setting Razak free on Oct 31 without calling his defence.

Razak, 48, is said to have abetted two policemen in the murder of the Mongolian woman.

The A-G, who is also the public prosecutor, did not file a notice of appeal when the deadline expired on Nov 14.

Setev, who filed the application at the Shah Alam High Court yesterday through his counsel Karpal Singh, also wants the A-G to apply for a warrant of arrest to detain Razak or offer him bail pending the outcome of the appeal in the Court of Appeal.

Karpal said Setev, who named the A-G and Razak as respondents, needed to only show that his application was not an abuse of court process to obtain the leave.

He said this was the first time an aggrieved party was taking on the A-G head-on as in the past, the court had ruled that the powers of the A-G could not be questioned.

"But we are doing it now because of new judicial pronouncements in other countries."

Karpal said Razak's lawyer, Wong Khian Kheong, would be served the papers as the counsel wanted to participate in the proceedings to object that the court had no jurisdiction to hear the application.

"I don't mind. He can come in," Karpal said, adding that usually the court only heard the submission of an applicant seeking leave for judicial review.

Karpal, who held a watching brief for the victim's family and the Mongolian government during the trial, said the A-G would be served the papers three days before the hearing, even if he was not party to a matter.

"The A-G has direct interest in this case and I believe he will participate in the proceedings."

Karpal also said he would also file a certificate of urgency for the High Court to hear the matter as soon as possible.

Karpal, in his affidavit to support Setev's application, said the A-G, as the public prosecutor, had the discretion under the Article 145 (3) of the Federal Constitution and section 376 (1) of the Criminal Procedure Code to institute, conduct and discontinue any proceedings for an offence, other than matters in the syariah court, native court or a military court.

He said his firm on Oct 31 wrote to the A-G to file the notice of appeal against Razak's acquittal.

Karpal said five days later, the A-G replied to state reasons why he (A-G) should file an appeal against Razak's acquittal.

Karpal said he responded to the letter on Nov 12, but two days later, deputy public prosecutor Tun Abdul Majid Tun Hamzah publicly stated that the A-G would not appeal Zaki's decision.

Chief Inspector Azilah Hadri, 32, and Corporal Sirul Azhar Umar, 37, are charged with murdering Altantuya, 28, in Mukim Bukit Raja between 10pm on Oct 19, 2006, and 1am the following day.

The two Special Action Squad members are scheduled to enter their defence on Jan 15.

Comments (39)Add Comment
written by binarytan, January 01, 2009 11:11:57
who is the puppet master of AG? UMNO
who is the president of UMNO in making? Najis
Who is then controlling the decision of AG? Damn clear.
Dr. Shaariibuu, never bow down to the sinful person who has murdered your lovely daughter.
The justice will prevail one day and let us send the murderer of Altantuya to hell.
Najis, do you sleep well these days? Hope your days in 2009 are full with nightmare.
agree 189
written by Msian Idol3, January 01, 2009 11:17:35
Heeeya. Way to go Sharibu. The mongolian prince of justice is back. What you are doing is not just from your heart for your beautiful daughter that was murdered by well connected goons but for the sake of all Msians that justice should prevail in this country. Thanks. We need Genghis Khan blood line to show these crooks what genghis khan can do.
agree 130
written by by2020, January 01, 2009 11:20:07
It will be a great shame to our beloved nation when someone tainted with murder allegation is leading the country!
agree 137
written by justice, January 01, 2009 11:22:03
agree 218
written by densemy, January 01, 2009 11:45:33
Whoops... Does this mean that the Malaysian judicial system will have to come into line with the moral and ethical standards maintained by the civilised world

I'm afraid its gonna be another case like the University Comparisons... Malaysia will be way off the scale
written by InEffective, January 01, 2009 11:45:35
It appears like our A-G needs to be brought to justice, for aiding and abetting crimes and criminals.

Looks like our taxpayer funds are financing criminal elements.(maybe our tax-payers should stop paying taxes or else they also will be charged with aiding and abetting criminals)
written by DreamLady, January 01, 2009 11:58:08
Wahai manusia, Never to underestimate the POWER OF GOD. He will not warn you when He punishes you, He will not tell you when we are going to die..

It does not matter whether the late Attantuya is a kafir. But whoever is (are) responsible for her tragic death shall be confronted with the right and deserving amount of punishment when the unseen hand is there to drag him (them) out into the open, not a second late, and not a second too early!!!

After so many months of tug of war in the court, thinking that it is an undeserving good ending for Razak. Most people more or less lapse into flash-backs of yesteryears and get on with their lives masing masing. Out of the blue, the aggrieved father of late Attantuya stirs up old dust of revenge by appearing on malaysian soil again..

The invisible hands are seen at work again, just when the human court fails to bring justice for a non-Muslim soul. God is there everywhere, when you least expected, His power of light shall blind the guilty ones into submission of truth!!!
written by Counterpointer, January 01, 2009 12:07:54
Yes, it's also time to put Najib back into the spot light. We all would want to know how he could achieve being so excellent in breaking down complex issues into manageable parts as reported by the STAR.
written by Dualties, January 01, 2009 12:19:18
Mohd Zaki Md Yasin:

We have recently witnessed the ex-President of Taiwan was sent to prison for corruption deliberated by Taiwan judiciary system. Is it going to happen sending murderers of Altantunya to the prison cells too? Can we see this happening in year 2009????
written by Angela Ooi, January 01, 2009 12:35:41
Dear God please let the truth be revealed and the perpetrators get their dues.I pray Altantuya's soul rest in peace and her family cope with their painful loss.
written by densemy, January 01, 2009 12:46:42
Dream Lady you are scare mongering again

Maybe, while you are at it, you can tell us when "god" will punish Mahathir for all his wrongdoings or maybe explain why the Americans had to intervene cos god was so slack in dealing with Saddam Hussein. And perhaps a few words on the wrongdoing of innocent children who are punished by YOUR/THEIR god. That might help us to understand Its apathetic attitudes of people like you which allows evil doers to get away with their crimes and worse still keep on repeating them.
disagree 27
written by ahmadneil, January 01, 2009 13:00:51
If you are reading this,let me tell you ,Shaariibuu Setev,we are all with you in your pursuit of justice for not only your daughter but for us all Malaysian and those around the world.Let this be a reminder that those who have done this injustice shall be brought to justice and crime pays.We want a punishment to fit this crime and that all we are asking for,no more no less.
As we have long said that without authority from above,this crime wouldn't have happen.The long arms of law must not be shorten.It must be allowed to reach justice .
Mr. Shaariibuu Setev,do your utmost and never stop this pursuit of justice.Justice must prevail.
written by Zym Zym, January 01, 2009 13:02:47
Our politicians are making us malu. My New Zealand friend who happened to be in town asked me what 's the outcome of the Atlantuya's trial after Razak has been acquitted lately. She told me it's so obvious that this trial was not fair and many could see there is something fishy going on between all those parties involved. She then asked, "How could you have such a politician to be your PM comes next year?" I replied, "Malaysia is heading for Zimbabwe Ride." So and so will be ASEAN's Mugabe!
written by ahmadneil, January 01, 2009 13:04:15
With the release of Razak Baginda,the whole world knows that there are kangaroo courts in malaysia.
written by macaufan, January 01, 2009 13:11:24
M'sia Justice >50years under control by corrupted regime racist umno:
- Tambi Cik Rahim rogol gadis melayu bwh umur tapi LGE masuk penjara & gadis tahan di rehap. ctr !
- JJ molested waitress di KL Hilton, tapi JJ masih free to go !
- Zakaria bina illegal palace tapi dihalalkan oleh regime & ACA "it's ok, e'thg is halal"
- MM Taib Australia money laundering, ACA: "it's ok, e'thg is legal"
written by cheekhiaw, January 01, 2009 13:16:08
2 small time police-trained murderers may be able to blow people away but they can make immigration records and PIs disappear while in jail too? One gotta be a super idiot to think so.
written by arazak, January 01, 2009 13:16:41
Was the AG being directed by Najis not to file the appeal? The AG should resign for bringing shame to the country. He should not be on the high office of our judicial system!

written by DreamLady, January 01, 2009 13:16:56
I beg your pardon, densemy?? What have I done to offend you this time? Inorder to get the contents right: take in deep breath and read with an open mind...

I am not a soothsayer as you implied. By the way, if you have done nothing wrong, why should you be scared of 'scare-monger'?

If you don't like what I write, DON'T READ IT!!!
written by kingelvis, January 01, 2009 13:39:52
How relevant and correct Bala was as to the contents of the SMSs. All being played out so publically! Najis hands all over this as he promised in the SMS received at the lawyers office. UMNO a den of thieves and murderers. GOD HELP US.
written by savemalaysia, January 01, 2009 13:57:23
After the Kangaroo court declared Baginda acquitted,Tun Majid said the "war not over yet". I guess what he meant was the war with Hamas terrorists not over yet.
One person needs only standard one IQ to know that the Najis regimes is manipulating the case to let Baginda free of murder charge.
I really dont know how Nabi Mohd SAW will going to punish this murderer when he go back to Ramatullah.
written by ahmadneil, January 01, 2009 13:59:27
The playboy and his gang must be brought to justice.They can run but cannot hide.
written by Kopi37, January 01, 2009 14:48:26
Didn't they send 14 MPs to Taiwan before 916, on our bill a junket to learn from Taiwan whatnot?! Then why didn't they learn the judiciary system of Taiwan, even the ex-President was without impunity and their AG had appealed for the culprit of alleged corruption, the ex-President to be locked up without bail until the case of rampant vices is mentioned in Court!

With prima facie evidence in place and so many witnesses and SD, our AG still found it irrelevant to appeal against the court verdict of releasing Razak Baginda scot free, wasn't that clear indication that it's a political charade even a school boy will find it fishy, not to mention others including the global citizens! This is a blatant abuse of our judiciary system and trampling of impartial justice that Malaysians deserve to have enjoyed in a truly democratic Country?!

As it is now, not even the Mongolians are satisfied that the true justice have been served and how about others in the global village look at us? Where is Malaysian civilization and dignity? All have gone into the drain because of a political plot to smother justice for the defense of the evilly politicians - they are the perpetrators?! Is this what the Nation can offer to the world, an accolade or a lampoon?! Malaysia Boleh????!
written by ahmadneil, January 01, 2009 16:41:23
Prime Minister of Malaysia
Prime Minister's Office
Main Block
Perdana Putra Building
Federal Government Administrative Centre
62502 Putrajaya
MALAYSIA

Dear Pak Lah,
Tell us, Mr Prime minister!How can we not be ashamed if our judiciary system have been made a laughing stock of the international community!How can we all be so thick skin and not feel this shame ,inflicted upon us by these so call 'The Playboy and his gang',consist of non other than these 'high ranking officials'!Can't you as PM,whose integrity is at stake,use your high office to order a full probe into this massive abuse of power!Can you not help us to regain out dignity and our pride!
The murder of Altantuya by your bodyguards ,aided by the high ranking officials and the release of Razak Baginda have all contributed to the down grading of our international standing.I know you are innocent of all these allegations but as PM of Malaysia your good name and that of ours are all in shit.Would you not regret ,when you resign in March,that you have failed in your duty as PM for not ordering a full probe into this gruesome murder,which directly affected all of our reputation.
I,hereby, make a personal appeal to you ,as you are still my PM,to order a full and transparent probe and close this darkest hour in our judiciary history.
May you come to your sense and let this be added to your colourful legacy.
With the first day of 2009 breaking,I think it's still time to wish you and Jeanne and healthy New Year.

Thank You

Yours truly,
ahmadneil
Bukit Tinggi
Kuala Lumpur
1 January 2009
written by Motherchell, January 01, 2009 16:45:42
The peoples verdict has been said --nothing can change this verdict. Baginda, and the rest in the corridors of power will be brought to book.The winter at Oxford if going to be a blizzard!!!
written by adan, January 01, 2009 16:51:03
It involves the gruesome murder of a foreign citizen in our own soil.
written by miwaki, January 01, 2009 17:38:54
I believe kangaroo can perform better than malaysian judiciary.Our judge and prosecutors of Altantuya's murder case are playing the fool all these while as if only UMNO people are human in this world.Kangaroo of Australia are laughing at our judiciary !
written by KingSolomon, January 01, 2009 17:45:00
The Rakyat of Malaysia demand these :

Mr Shaariibuu Setev’s appeal must be allowed.
Rojak Baginder must be hauled back to the court.
Najis must be subpoenaed to the court for questioning.
Bala must be brought to the court to answer for his two SDs.
Raja Petra must be subpoenaed to answer the accusations stated in his SD.
Najis’s ADC must be subpoenaed to the court for questioning.
The Director General of Immigration must be subpoenaed to the court for questioning.
Photos of the two accused policemen must be published.
written by Sudahlah tu, January 01, 2009 18:04:47
kisah seorang budak a/l.
dulu m a/l m takut akan kehilangan peluang menjadi terkenal di Malaysia.
jadi semasa di bangku sekolah , m a/l m sudah berazam untuk emndaki gunung politik untuk berjaya.
semasa di u , dia berpeluang menemui pasangan yang berpengaruh dan pasti membolehkan dia mencapai cita - citanya.....
maka bertukar namanya menjadi m b m supaya dapat memasuki aliran utama politik.
selepas berjaya mengatasi halangan demi halangan , m b m pun menjadi ketua kumpulan.
dia mengubahkan segala perundangan hingga menjadi dia begitu kebal,perkasa dan tamak.
demi mengawal segal kuasanya daripada semua orang , m b m pun mencuri peluang apabila seorang ketua negara melakukan kesalahan pembunuhan dan terpaksalah ketua negara merelakan diri menjadi anjing kepada m b m. selepas itu semua ketua negara pun jadi pak turut sahaja.
disebabkan kekayaan negara begitu banyak hingga melimpah tidak berhenti , m b m pun mulakan impian membina istana dan empayar untuk anak - anaknya lalu terciptalah DEB yang dikatakan untuk membantu orang-orangnya tidak ketinggalan.
selepas 22 tahun pimpinan , ramai 'orang=orangnya' yang berjaya dan menjadi ushawan diatas perundangan... tetapi orang-orangnya terus hidup sekadar mampu dan berpinjam dengan ahlong-ahlong.
ceritanya aneh dan berperangai betul sebab oragn-orangnya yang tertipu selama ini masih senang ditipu lagi seolah-oleh mereka ini tidak berdaya berdikari sendiri.
oleh kerana itulah tercipta lagi satu dasar orang-orangnya masih lemah dan malas yang diucapkan oleh m b m tetapi mengatakan bangsa lain akan mencuri hak orang-orangnya jika mereka tidak menyokongnya untuk memepertahankan ketuanan mereka.
sekali lagi orang-orangnya diperdayakan untuk bertindak mengawal kubunya yang dikatakan kubu mereka yang akan dirampas oleh bangsa lain. Bermulalah satu isu negara yang begitu pahit apabila tuntutan yang tidak mencerminkan perpaduan berlaku. m b m pun ketawa besar kerana helahnya berjaya mendorong orang-orangnya bermusg sesama rakyat sedangkan 'orang-orangnya' berjamu besar dengan kekayaan negara. mereka semua menjadi jutawan yang kebal dan mempunyai pengawal peribadi kepolisan yang gaji dibayar menggunakan wang rakyat. gaji kepolisan yang sengaja dipinggirkan agar mereka terpaksa mencari wang tambahan melalui rasuah ... maka rasuah itu menjadi pedoman utama dalam kepolisan untuk hidup bergaya.
memandangkan kepolisan sudah rela mengejar pingat darjat untuk lebih bergaya , m b m pun mengawal ketua kepolisan dengan begitu senang.
selepas kepolisan , kehakiman , perubatan , perdagangan , pelajaran dan akhirnya semua agensi berkanun menjadi agensi berlanun.
rakyat tetap menderita walaupun gaya kehidupan sudah maju ke depan , mereka kini hidup berhutang besar dan tidak bermaya bersuara sebab malu dengan tanggungan bank - bank. oleh kerana amruah dan gaya hidup menjadi subjek kehidupan rakyat maka berjaya m b m mengawal segala kuasa di Malaysia.
rakyat bagaikan mesin pencetak wang kepada m b m dan keluarganya.
rakyat pun tidak boleh bersuara mahupun bersatu menentang m b m selama-lamanya.
keturunan m b m menjadi keluarga yang paling berkuasa di Malasyia selamanya. Sekian.
cerita dongeng m a/l m menjadi m b m.
written by Qcumber, January 01, 2009 19:32:06
God has sent the American to punish Saddam Hussien. (Of cos u cant expect God Himself comes to get Saddam, right?)as for Mahathir.. err.. err.... not time yet. and densemy, remember you and me too are not of any exceptions you know? smilies/wink.gif
written by Bloodhound, January 01, 2009 20:05:26
Shaariibuu Setev,

You must never give up in your quest for justice for your daughter! Never shall anyone be allowed to make a mockery of the justice system in your pursuit of closure for your daughter's unfortunate death.

If fundings or finance is a problem in your pursuit of such justice, then, call upon Raja Petra through Malaysia Today to help you set up a fighting fund to seek contributions from the cyberspace contributors and those who values justice!

I am quite sure that your appeal would be well received and a tsunami of donations will flood into your account to better assist your current fight against injustice done to your daughter.

Just make sure that the fund is set up in Singapore or a foreign country so that those who seeks to destroy our justice system in Malaysia are not in a position to fiddle around with your financial support.

Justice must not only be done, it must also be seen to be done without fear, favour or malice! I am sure every Malaysian who loves the nation will contribute to your cause.

There are also those overseas readers who are fed up with the injustices and betrayals that had befallen you and they too will contribute to ensure that you will never be denied justice because of lack of funds.
written by wood, January 01, 2009 22:53:49
Mr.Shaariibuu Setev, we wish you well and hope 2009 will be a better year for you and your family. May you succeed in what you undertake and God help you .
written by Almighty, January 01, 2009 23:02:24
RAKYAT MAU KEADILAN KEADILAN KEADILAN KEADILAN KEADILAN KEADILAN KEADILAN KEADILAN KEADILAN KEADILAN KEADILAN KEADILAN KEADILAN KEADILAN KEADILAN KEADILAN KEADILAN KEADILAN KEADILAN KEADILAN KEADILAN KEADILAN KEADILAN KEADILAN KEADILAN KEADILAN KEADILAN KEADILAN KEADILAN KEADILAN KEADILAN KEADILAN KEADILAN KEADILAN KEADILAN KEADILAN KEADILAN KEADILAN KEADILAN KEADILAN KEADILAN KEADILAN KEADILAN KEADILAN KEADILAN KEADILAN KEADILAN KEADILAN smilies/angry.gif smilies/angry.gif smilies/angry.gif smilies/angry.gif smilies/angry.gif smilies/angry.gif smilies/angry.gif smilies/angry.gif smilies/angry.gif smilies/angry.gif smilies/angry.gif
written by Australian Malaysian, January 01, 2009 23:42:21
Well done DreamLady for you have obviosly experienced the hand of God as I have as well! I feel sad for densemy at your dig at DreamLady as you will only know that a God exists & He is very just in all His ways. To those who know how He works, you will be rewarded with the justice meted out to the perpetrators of justice, the ones who blatantly flaunt the law, the corrupt ones etc. etc.
Please don't blame God for what we see as injustices in this world as there is a lot of evil in this world we live in but there is a lot of good & as history has it, GOOD WILL ALWAYS PREVAIL OVER EVIL.

Judgement day will come whether you like it or not, on this earth or beyond & we all have a part to play & one day we will be responsible for our misdemenors. Get your life in order now that you will not regret later.

Densemy, don't be narrow minded but instead have a good look around & make up your own mind. Don't you think we will do something if we can? What we can't do, God can & He will as He never fails to deliver. My prayer for 2009 is that the world would be a better place than what it is at the moment...especially in Malaysia!

Long live DSAI, long live PKR & long live RPK!!!
written by cllim123, January 02, 2009 16:49:57
The charge against Baginda Razak was only "a tentative charge. All is cool." Please see SMS between Najis and his lawyer Shaftee.
written by DreamLady, January 02, 2009 21:12:40
Australian Malaysian, I thank you from the bottom of my heart for understanding how I feel. A timely moral support means so much to me. When I first noticed densemy's response, I could not believe my eyes, and I was speechless for a few seconds before I replied...Obviously I was too naive to think that everybody is like me, who believe there is a divine Creator who provides for and protects us..

It was indeed a slap on my face when a faceless soul reprimanded me in such an outrageous manner! Little does this person knows that I am very much well over the other side of the hill. Maturity- wise, I am more than qualified as a responsible person than to blindly hurl accusation for no apparent reason.. To confide in you, it hurts....

Well, I shall leave the dust behind me, and move on, hopefully to meet more good souls like you.

Thank you once again, and have a blessed new year. May God bless you always!!!