Home arrow The Blogs arrow Guest Columnists arrow Fear not the big, bad world

Fear not the big, bad world PDF Print E-mail
Thursday, 01 January 2009 10:47

A WRITER'S LIFE By DINA ZAMAN (The Star)

When we close ourselves to the world, we miss the good things. Our ancestors weren’t scared. They charged into the world.

IT DOESN’T matter whether it’s local or overseas. Travelling for work or pleasure has afforded me many insights, and I have been privileged to have been given insights by the people I meet.

One doesn’t have to be chatty; just being at ease with the environment is enough.

However, I have noticed that when Malay(sians) travel abroad, whether students or adults, they tend to congregate among themselves and create their own ghettoes. “We’re in a foreign land, we must band together! This is not our culture and religion!”

Nothing wrong with that, I suppose, but doesn’t this stop a person from learning about another culture, and find that we – us and them – share the same values and dreams?

The few press junkets I have been on I see similar behaviour: a group will huddle in a pack and do everything together because they share the same religion and language, while everyone else gets to know everyone else. When they do mingle, it’s superficial.

It’s the same with Malaysian

students. They go all the way to a foreign country and live among themselves.

I know it is unkind but I

always think why bother going abroad for an international experience when you can just at stay home?

It’s a lot cheaper for the Govern-ment and there’s less crisis of faith: you don’t have to worry about halal food and all things haram.

I’m a great believer that if you have iman and deep faith and confidence in yourself, there’s really nothing to worry about.

Your faith and values will carry you far. But, I guess, with some people, that’s not enough.

When I was a graduate student I heard of the problems that other Malaysian students had to face. Petty thefts in their student digs, immoral behaviour among friends, to name a few.

When I suggested to a colleague to move to the graduate hall, she refused. “I’m afraid if I live with the kafirs, my aqidah will songsang (my values will erode).” Okay-lah, I said, you go suffer-lah.

(And to readers who have emailed me to admonish me and said I should be grateful to the NEP for educating me, I’d like to put on record that I’m not a product of the NEP. My studies were funded by a foreign government. Whew. Got that off my chest.)

This is true not only of students, but of the many adults who have gone out to the world and not come back enriched.

I hear of corporate executives, senior ones too, who, when on foreign soil, refuse to venture out of their hotel rooms.

A friend told me about this senior employee who boiled Maggi Mee in his hotel room. The next thing he knew, he had started a small fire in the room. All because he did not trust the food in the hotel restaurant. This happened in Dubai. The Middle East. The food is kosher.

My point is that when we close ourselves to the world, because we fear so much, we miss the good things.

We miss learning about the histories of the world, kafir or not. We lose out on challenging our minds and hearts.

And for us Muslim Malaysians, this is a chance for dakwah too: dakwah is not just about spreading Islam to other countries, but also to exhibit our goodness, our ways and how we live.

Why are we so intent on being negative about The Other?

What can be done to correct this, so we become global citizens?

By becoming less fearful. Remember our history: we come from an interesting lineage. Pirates, traders, missionaries, warring heads of fiefdoms, adventurers, writers, romantics.

The Malaccan dynasty was one of the most fruitful and colourful eras Malaysia ever had. Our ancestors weren’t scared.

They fought back. They used keris, tombaks, canons, guns; and they explored other worlds and enriched us when they came back with stories and trade.

These boys weren’t scared. They charged into the world and returned as heroes.

How do we begin?

Easy. By befriending your neighbour. Yes that Uncle who always wears his toupee lopsided and tries to sell you his latest MLM gimmick.

By learning about your Indian neighbour’s religious rites even though you’re scared of idols. By asking why Muslims don’t eat pork, and why they pray five times a day.

No, that open house does not count. I figure open houses are superficial, as the guests are more concerned about eating and less about establishing relationships. It’s a cultural PR exercise (and it’s also bad for the waist).

Get to know people who do not share your faith but do share the same hopes and dreams. Fall in love with a man of another faith and culture. You’ll discover that you are the same.

It’s as simple as that. Oh yes. Read. Read, read, read as many books as you can. You get to travel the world from your armchair.

I’d like to wish all my readers and detractors a good new year and future. May wealth, health and love be with you.

written by rajaphillips, January 01, 2009 11:04:10
Dear Dina Zaman,

The Malays have always been friendly, easy going and open minded throughout history. Only since Umno perverted and bastardised the good education system that we once had that the Malays reacted and became narrow minded and clannish like "katak dibawah tempurung." The Malays have always been misled and abused by Umno but they are now begining to "sedar diri" and started breaking the Umno monopoly.
written by binarytan, January 01, 2009 11:19:11
rajaphillips,

I too have many malay friends who are very friendly and hard working. Only their chances being robbed away by a small group of people connected to UMNO. Who is the culprit actually created the racial tension? Answer is the ugly and racist political party such as UMNO and PAS. Their agenda is full with racist act and they have been all the while enjoying the moment with their ketuanan ideology and furthermore UMNO is well protected from all angle. If you need better tomorrow, vote UMNO out and vote PAS out! PKR a multi-racial party is the ideal party as far as we are concern.
written by DreamLady, January 01, 2009 11:25:24
Hi, Dina, that is indeed an enjoyable piece of reading, thanks !! I do agree with you in regards of the 'weird' behavior of some of us who venture into foreign lands.

I do not totally blame them for behaving thus. It definitely has got to do with their upbringing, and the constant brain-washing being drummed into their system at a tender age by ignorant adults including some of the religious teachers who are themselves very much in lacking in terms of religious knowledge..the sad thing is that: nobody cares to know the effect it has on the young mind who is exposed to inaccurate information and doctrine of the religion.

Some of the school teachers who themselves are not exposed to the various information regarding cultures practised in other parts of the world, has created a distorted pictures of the world outside their own, and unconciously impart the
half-baked knowledge to their charge.

Education does not mean acquiring paper qualification alone. There are heaps of things involved to make a person an all rounder. An educated person is refined in many aspects to cope amicably with the people he deals with, and the down to earth manner he or she overcomes adversity. On the other hand, a person who acquires a bagful of paper qualifications does not qualify himself as an educated person when his behavior and social etiques fail miserably....
written by Msian Idol3, January 01, 2009 11:31:29
Hey guys, my son is marrying someone out of my race & I am happy for him. He is well accepted by white, black, brown & yellow brothers and sisters in his adopted home overseas where he grew up. His friends never see him by colour but as a human being & I am glad he had such a blessed education that we are all human beings trying to make a difference to help the less fortunate. Can UMNO do it. Recently our PM & PM to be made boohaha X'mas remarks about the significance of national unity but yet unwilling to legislate laws to check racial discrimination. Isn't this a slap to their own face. Say one thing but do it differently and depends on who they are talking too. Msia race relations is at all time loooooow. Blame it on those who can effect change, who else but UMNO.
written by Futurist, January 01, 2009 11:45:25
It's not everyone like you, who wants to broaden your knowledge while in foreign surroundings. Many just do not want to open up their minds. When we think of having the same things we have at home, there is no need to venture out. Might as well stay home.

Although I'm a vegetarian and like to travel to other countries, I have adapted myself to having vege food even in a non-vege shop. It's all in the mind.
written by Angela Ooi, January 01, 2009 13:09:03
Dina, how sad but true many Malays keep to themselves whereever they go, whatever they do. I think it is because they have low self-esteem/confidence, so they feel safer in groups, going about their activities. These are the jagoh kampong, katak di bawah tempurong and they can thank UMNO for keeping them bodoh and plain stupid.
written by DreamLady, January 01, 2009 14:12:10
Hi there, Angie! Long time no see! How are you and leng Chai?? it is funny that we should meet each other faceless many a time on MT site, except with our mind that speaks on our behalf through writing..

Anyway, my regards to you and son always. Take good care, will you!!!
written by singam, January 01, 2009 14:57:19
Dina, well done!

You are right, our ancestors had the courage to seek out new lands and meet new people. Prophet Muhammad (PBUH) told Muslims to travel to China, if necessary, to seek knowledge. China was a metaphor - he was speaking of travelling to the most alien lands and encountering the most alien cultures. Not travelling there and living in ghettoes.

As has been said, the Malay people have been mentally crippled by the UMNO education and information systems. This is because only when they are thus crippled will they continue to blindly support UMNO.

There are many kinds of hijrah. On this New Year, the Malays of Malaysia should resolve to free themselves from the mental and economic bondage that UMNO has placed them in. Free yourselves and discover that it is a beautiful world out there.

written by densemy, January 01, 2009 15:49:59
Different people see different things through different eyes. I see your ancestors as fearful men who hugged the coastline in their pursuit of wealth whether they came from Africa or China. I see your brave Malay warriors as being driven into wars out of fear and greed. And as soon as a bigger adversary came along they crumbled also in the name of greed

But that's all history and can be interpreted in many different ways. What isnt history because its still with Malaysians today is the Psychological Wall that Mahathir built around Malaysia. A wall that was so well built that even today many Malaysians cringe behind its protection.

As a psychological wall it was more impenetrable than any physical wall, because it was built of blocks of Ignorance, Lies, and Misrepresentation, the inner side of the wall was clad with a very slippery surface called Malay Superiority which prevented anyone from wanting to climb out and the top of the wall was littered with the broken glass of Radical Religion. There was one small exit gate where anyone with enough money could escape, rarely to return. The purpose of the wall was to isolate Malaysian and prevent them from seeing what could be possible. Meanwhile they were gorging on a diet of "You've never had it so good" and were all perfectly happy
written by Angela Ooi, January 01, 2009 16:10:51
hey Dream Lady, Happy New Year! I got your mail address from Robert but apparently, it was wrong cos mail was returned. If u are free, let's jom in KT. I'd love to catch up with you.
written by borneoman, January 01, 2009 16:39:42
dina,if all malays are like you i really dont mind being part of the federation but unfortunately in reality it is just a very distance dream.
written by borneoman, January 01, 2009 16:41:55
Happy new year to all mt readers.
written by Motherchell, January 01, 2009 17:05:05
Happy New Year to all !

If you ask me UMNO destroyed the Malays.Respected Bakri Musa, Azly Rahman, Farish Noor etc are a handful who knew what was happening in Malaysia. UMNO totally destroyed the sense of confidence with their bigotry and wolve stroies to taunt the young . They did this to prepare the Country for a new generation of UMNOPUTRA children who will come back to drive Farraris, Porche ,rule us , and speak with a twisted tongue to activate their sentries at highway ends called Mat Rempits.
Time for the true Malays to open their eyes and see the plunder!!!
http://sjsandteam.wordpress.com/
written by SocratesI, January 01, 2009 22:07:42

Much of what densemy has said is painfully true and Maha-Shithead is the Devil's Scion in architecturing such a WALL, although what he said of our Malaysian forefathers may be his own opinion to which he is entitled but I hate generalisations. There were "heroes" of yore which can be singled out to refute his views, but why bother.

True, most Malaysian students when they go overseas always flock together, and they wonder about Malaysians who don't want to join the flock ... like me. My closest friends when I was overseas were 3 - 4 Brits, one of whom is Scottish and another Irish, and a Hong Kong chap as well as a black African from Ghana.

Although I did join in the Malaysian Society activities etc. and of course kept in touch with some fellow Malaysians, I must say I learnt a lot about other views and cultures then which made me hunger for more when i started working.

There is no better way out of the WALL than to open up your senses and your mind to hear, see, learn and sense without first judging, then only judging when you have the full picture, and making your choices then. no WALL built by Maha-Shithead or anyone else can keep us in, if we just open up our minds and get rid of our insecurities which are mostly born of ignorance in the first place.

written by DreamLady, January 01, 2009 22:48:05
A Happy new year!! Socratesl, have not heard from you for a while. How is life treating you??

I wonder if anybody hear from Michael Chick, who owns a fabulous " Michael Chick's Art Gallery" at MT site? I truly miss the captivating pictures he posted. Without the colors at the site, it looks bland and gloomy...

A Happy new year to you, Michael Chick, wherever you may be!!
written by Rainbowseahorse, January 02, 2009 11:41:49
DreamLady,

Happy New Year to one and all!

Where is Michael Chick??? smilies/grin.gif...hehehe...Ask that Ahmadneil ! Wherever he is, there he is!

Cheers! smilies/grin.gif
written by teo siew chin, January 02, 2009 14:10:19
"Read. Read, read, read as many books as you can."
--------------------

yo, the new-age do is ****** ****** ******! smilies/grin.gif
HAPPY 2009 one and all.
(btw me suspects michael chick is now in stealth-mode smilies/cheesy.gif so dont even bother googling for this character!)
written by DreamLady, January 02, 2009 20:02:40
Rainbowseahorse, Ahmadneil, Teo siew chin, and socratel, will you all be there in Trengganu to witness the election? I thought of joining Angie Ooi, the chance is 50/50. I have not contacted her yet, and she does not have my number. I want to give her the number right away, but on second thought, it will not be appropriated to do so at the site, I rather find some other way to contact her...for all you know, I will just meet up with her when I see her in Trengganu!!

Rainbowseahorse, this one is specially for you: You are a wonderful, and a happy-go-lucky guy!! keep up with the good spirit, and a happy new year!!!
written by SocratesI, January 03, 2009 09:53:03

And a very happy New Year to you too, DreamLady ! No, I can't make it to KT, I am afraid. Need to work extremely hard to make ends meet this recession.