Home arrow The Blogs arrow News/Commentaries arrow Dr M, The Insider’s Malaysian of the Year

Dr M, The Insider’s Malaysian of the Year PDF Print
Thursday, 01 January 2009 10:40

(The Malaysian Insider) KUALA LUMPUR, Dec 31 — Equally loved and loathed, Tun Dr Mahathir Mohamad might have retired from public life five years ago but 2008 has seen his greatest impact on Malaysian life for him to become The Malaysian Insider’s “Malaysian of the Year”.

Mahathir’s shadow looms large despite having retired from public life five years ago

In a year of change, many could have easily taken that accolade — ranging from Datuk Seri Anwar Ibrahim who capped 10 years of political wilderness with a hair’s-breadth chance of finally becoming Prime Minister to the Malaysian voter who reminded the politicians “who’s the boss”.

But Dr M — he of the sarcasm and smirk — made 2008 all his own. Revered or reviled, he recovered from illness last year to remonstrate the government, regain his momentum against successor Datuk Seri Abdullah Ahmad Badawi, resign from Umno, revive Mahathirism, repudiate his critics and rejuvenate his son Datuk Mukhriz’s chances of being Umno Youth chief.

Beyond the pulpit of public office, Mahathir is still widely popular despite being without a party. Legions of fans and supporters have continued to praise him for his stand, thoughts and ideas for the country and the world.

His eight-month-old www.chedet.com blog has received some 10 million visitors with more bouquets than brickbats. Others have simply dismissed him as an old man whose time has gone by and he should just retire in peace.

But his influence has grown even beyond the Pakatan Rakyat (PR) electoral pact put together by his one-time protege Anwar. He told people to vote in a strong opposition but later blamed Barisan Nasional’s unprecedented election losses on a weak leadership. He has castigated, criticised and cut down Umno leaders and former political allies to size, without fear or favour.

Proving that age has not dimmed his memory nor withered his caustic tongue, Mahathir has single-handedly and single-mindedly hounded Abdullah out office prematurely — using a combination of his wildly popular blog, public appearances and media interviews that finally prompted Umno to ungraciously unseat his somnambulist successor.

His reasoning is simple, underscored by the second blogpost — “As for my criticisms of the leaders of the present Government, I believe I have every right to do so. Retiring from the Government simply means giving up authority and power. It does not mean I must abdicate my role as a citizen.”

The second last posting said even more when Mahathir commented on a stretch of public holidays which for some is a happy confluence of the Islamic and Gregorian calendars.

“It shows that we really don’t need a Government. It will just coast along even if no one is steering it. That is how good we have become at governing,” he said with his trademark sarcasm without even referring to Abdullah.

His tireless tirade against Abdullah culminated with his May 19 resignation from Umno Baru, which he founded in 1988. Mahathir has yet to rejoin Umno despite Abdullah set to hand over Putrajaya to the party’s president-elect Datuk Seri Najib Abdul Razak, whom he has also called a weak leader.

Focusing on the ruling coalition and accusing the opposition of collusion with Abdullah, Mahathir’s constant carping and criticisms helped to chip away support for Barisan Nasional and awakened the people to the possibility of change in the country.

Not quite the result that he wanted but the ends justified the means.

Although he, like many other Malaysians, has complained about the lack of freedom of expression to criticise the government, Mahathir has personally stifled dissent, brooking no opposition to his thoughts and ideas — the short side of Mahathirisim where prosperity flourished while freedom decayed.

For him, the change should be towards Mahathirism which a growing number do believe is the salvation for the country, fondly recalling the steady hand and calm mind in both the 1987/88 and 1997/1998 financial crises.

For others, dismantling his legacy cannot start soon enough although it has proven difficult against this man who ruled for 22 years and united people for and against him, even beyond the pale of Putrajaya, where he sits in his Nehru jacket in an exact replica of his Prime Minister’s Office — writing, reading and reiterating his way of life.

All said and done, Mahathir’s shadow looms large and he continues to exert a great influence in Malaysia, for better or worse, and has no equal as 2008’s Malaysian of the Year.

Comments (30)Add Comment
written by InEffective, January 01, 2009 10:54:55
His success and accomplishments was built on the sacrifices of others.
Smart and capable man, but disgusting values and ethics nonetheless.
Sure knew how the leverage religion, racism, and division to the max.
We do see many such managers and politicians nowadays in all nations - and at the end, they fall, and they are loathed.
written by CPY, January 01, 2009 10:57:12
Mahathir who get Malayship in our country. His policies worsened the economic positions of the Malays as he made them 'addicted' to NEP, in order to ensure the Malays full loyalty to UMNO. But its gradually changing. The Malays started to see clearer the need of meritocracy.
written by rajaphillips, January 01, 2009 11:08:41
I have always been suspicious of this "Malaysian Insider" and now looks like my suspicion has been confirmed. The so-called "middle path" which they claim to thread on is actually designed to do maximum collateral damage to the Malaysian Opposition cause.
written by raven1958, January 01, 2009 11:16:28
Is this Kalimullah's goodbye present to Mahathir.....
written by onnetline, January 01, 2009 11:39:51
If ' Malaysian Insider ' does not paint a rosy picture of that 'living dead' carTUN from Kedah, how else to be given more interviews or news coverage?
written by alarcarte, January 01, 2009 11:50:30
Malaysian of the Year? OK its up to you-lah. Malaysian of the year can be a Pig, Hero or Villain, it does not matter to most of us, all we care is if we can find a job that pays quite well for us to “cari makan”. Its too far fetch to equate Tun Mahatir with Harry Lee Kuan Yew. Intellectually they are poles apart. Lee Kuan Yew was one the the best students from one of the best Universities in the World, Mahathir was not. Lee Kuan Yew transform Sigapore into squeky clean and green city, Mahathir turn Kuala Lumpur into Snatch thieves and Mat Rempit infested and polluted city.

Lee Kuan Yew transform Singapore into having world class Public transport system, Mahathir can only transform K.L. into having inefficient and disjointed Public transport system despite pouring in Millions of Ringgit. Lee Kuan Yew has transform Singapore into First World status by importing the best brains around the world, Mahathir import million of low grade brains to in order to offset the population ratio which proven to be a liability to Malaysia.

No wonder most Singaporeans look down on Malaysians, despite the fact that most Singaporeans are so damn average intellectually.
written by Counterpointer, January 01, 2009 11:59:10
That accolade should have gone to BADawi had he locked up this mm under the ISA for mm's protection. Media like Malaysian Insider are one of the factors why big time crooks like this mm can escape the arms of the law by propagating the illusion of grandeur of this hypocritical mm. In my books, Malaysian Insider has just did itself a springboard dive into the media cesspool which the STAR, NST and Bernama have always been swimming gleefully in.
written by fireduck, January 01, 2009 11:59:44
Actually, yes, he can be called 'Malaysian of the Year' but a few keywords are left out. Should be 'Malaysian Royal Pain In The Azz of the Year'.

It is sad, very sad situation indeed if we continue to glorify and idolize Mahathir as that just shows that we, as a nation, are suffering from a dearth of capable leaders. When will we have the resolve to move on and away from his shadows? He is an 80 plus year old man, and while we appreciate the tenacity of his mind at that age, he cannot possibly be in tuned with the younger generations of Malaysians. He has baggage from the past and the past generations and these may not be the baggages that the new generations would want to carry.

Mahathir should do us all a big favour by letting go and letting God (and our younger generations) find our own footing in this ever more global and borderless world. And parochial interests are not so relevant anymore.
written by Krepot, January 01, 2009 12:06:20
Only time will tell, how great or how stupid Mahathir was. Look around - how many INDEPENDENT and CREDIBLE Malay businessman did he groom? Did he really help the Malays or by his doings, put the Malays back 50 years?

Time will tell. Don't hold your breath and wait. its already happening.
written by DreamLady, January 01, 2009 12:39:10
A happy new year, Mahathir!!! It is the assessment time for our present and past leaders..

As for you, you did remarkably well as a statesman, of course, with an iron fist! But your till of justice is seen leaning heavily towards the wayward..it indicates your legacy as a PM has left much to be desired!!

I do hope you still have time to do some soul-searching before it is too late!!
written by mikewang, January 01, 2009 12:46:37
Adolf Hitler was Time magazine Man of the Year in 1938.
Joseph Stalin made it in 1942.
Even Ayatollah Khomeni was added to the list in 1979.

So forget about Tun, the sore racist.
I think Malaysian voters should be made persons of the year especially after delivering Mar 8.
written by ahmadneil, January 01, 2009 13:08:28
He should be awarded 'The True Racist of the Year'.
written by macaufan, January 01, 2009 13:16:06
2008 TDM has killed off :
- Bodohwi
- Patrick Badawi
- Kalimulah
- KJ is d next?
written by cheekhiaw, January 01, 2009 13:18:38
Even among thieves, liars and murderers there are heroes. Same with idiots.
written by eloofk, January 01, 2009 14:06:47
Dr. M, the Outsider Crook of the Year.
written by ST ALI, January 01, 2009 14:16:00
you must be joking. even if u say so, i am of the opinion he is no where near to the man of malaysia Tuanku Abdul Rahman, Bapa Malaysia. Its a shame to talk of mahathir who at the expense of bringing some good, not "full glory", to malaysia has indeed robbed malaysia in so many ways together with daim zainuddin. me call this article a piece of shit on someone who is nothing but shit. can u imagine a man who blamed soros & the jews for the 1988 financial crisis, can reconcile with them and praise them. so who's the culprit. a man who cannot accept himself for what he is cannot be a man for the nation & thats what is mahathir.o wonder he took the malaysian for a ride, raped & robbed malaysia wholesale. can justice be done & bring back those that were stolen. to me mahathir is a pariah
written by Jit Dharma, January 01, 2009 15:39:42
Load of bodek.
written by krising1, January 01, 2009 16:38:51
Now I can understand how he fooled Malaysians for 22 long years as PM of Malaysia. If he is the man of the year, the dog should be the hero of the year. In the course of the year he tried to make the races fight and he gets named man of the year. No wonder in this country Ministers praise shoe throwers! I feel like throwing mine at Samy Velu and the Man of the Year!
written by ahmadneil, January 01, 2009 16:52:15
Another award that Mahathir will have to be given before he dies
This award is most suitable.."The Father of all Racist".
written by borneoman, January 01, 2009 16:58:13
there is nothing to love in mahathir.i dream to have his skull as a trophy for my rumah panjai.
written by Fuminari, January 01, 2009 17:13:03
do u believe this kerala crab can teach all the other crabs how to walk straight??
written by Kerajaan Rakyat, January 01, 2009 19:32:43
Showbiz present
Here come a hero

http://international-showbiz.********.com/
written by Lim Lim, January 01, 2009 23:19:34
if this hamkachan kerala crab doesn't die faster,malaysia would be heading for big trouble.
written by merchant222, January 02, 2009 00:58:12
Malaysian Insider I think does not really know about Malaysia except about
Balls Bloating. Eh! Malaysian of THE YEAR 2008 is the one and ONLY RPK!

Who the F@%ks is Maamaaak Kutty Kurat???
written by adan, January 02, 2009 07:14:31
If MI considers MM the MALAYSIAN OF THE YEAR , then by the SAME STANDARD OF YARDSTICK, MI should proclaim that MUGABE IS THE MAN OF THE WORLD FOR THE YEAR. Both are renowned for the DELIBERATE AND SYSTEMATIC MAXIMUM DAMAGE done TO ALL THE DEMOCRTAIC INSTITUTIONS OF their respective countries. The only difference is that one still thinks he is still in power and has the right to continue to cause confusion and havoc in this country...
written by asguard, January 02, 2009 09:48:57
That no use mamak.... !
written by sonofmalaysia, January 02, 2009 11:09:30
Dr M, The Malaysian of the Year, my foot !! MI, you are the shame of MAlaysia for continuing to propagate lies!! Fortunately, with Internet, the young generation will not buy the lies any more !!

Mahashit head, is the most evil man that ever live in Malaysia !

MAhashit head, is the Father of corruption of MAlaysia !!

MAhashit head, is the Father of hypocrasy in Malaysia !!

MAhashit head, is the Father of destruction of Malaysia !

MAhashit head, is the root of decadence of Malaysia !

MAhashit head, is the sourge of Malaysia !

MAhashit head, is the shame of Malaysia !

This evil man will burn in hell for all the sin and harm he had done to MAlaysia and Malaysians !!
written by Rainbowseahorse, January 02, 2009 14:08:04
Yes, I fully support the Malaysian Insider proposal vote that Tun Dr Mahathir Mohamad to become “Malaysian of the Year”.

Congratulation Tun Mmamathir!

The prize is a one way trip to the planet Jupitar. smilies/grin.gif smilies/grin.gif smilies/grin.gif
Please pack your bags for immediate departure. You may bring all your immediate families along if you so desire!
written by Fart Fart Wah, January 03, 2009 02:45:50

WHERE DID HE PUT OUR 800 BILLION OIL MONEY..INSIDER MALAYSIA???