Home arrow The Blogs arrow The Corridors of Power arrow An open letter to Pak Lah

An open letter to Pak Lah PDF Print
Tuesday, 30 December 2008 16:05

Pak Lah, how would you like to be remembered? As the man who abandoned the nation in its hour of need or as the man who stayed and fought and who completed the job?

Yang Amat Berhormat Dato' Seri Abdullah bin Haji Ahmad Badawi
Prime Minister of Malaysia
Prime Minister's Office
Main Block
Perdana Putra Building
Federal Government Administrative Centre
62502 Putrajaya
MALAYSIA

Dear Pak Lah,

First of all, allow me to address you as Pak Lah, as you prefer your friends to address you. I may not be your friend in the real sense of the word -- seeing that I am bent on cutting Umno and Barisan Nasional down to size, plus your government has detained me under the Internal Security Act and is still trying to appeal the court’s decision to free me so that I can be sent back to Kamunting, not to mention the four criminal charges I still face which, if I am found guilty, can result in a total of more than ten years in jail if the sentences were to run consecutively.

Nevertheless, this open letter is not about me. It is about the future of this country. And my opposition to Umno and Barisan Nasional is exactly that, about the future of this country, nothing more and nothing less. My aspiration is to finally see the emergence of a two-party system where no one party has a hegemony that has been the political landscape of this country for half a century since Merdeka.

I regard you not as the Prime Minister of Umno, like how the Umno members seem to think, but my Prime Minister as well. Maybe the Umno members have forgotten that you are the Prime Minister of all 26 million Malaysians and not just of the 16 million Malays, or worse, the three million Umno members. This is why I take it upon myself to write you this open letter seeing that you are my Prime Minister as well.

I know this may sound puzzling. Why do I still write to you and regard you as my Prime Minister when I oppose you so violently? Well, I also opposed Tun Dr Mahathir Mohamad when he was Prime Minister for 22 years, plus Dato’ Seri Anwar Ibrahim when he was number two to Mahathir. This is no secret and is, in fact, well documented. Under Mahathir I was also detained under the Internal Security Act plus taken in by the police a couple of times. But ever since Mahathir retired I treat him as a friend and did not carry any grudges about our past animosity. I would go so far as to say that I treat Mahathir with the respect due to an elder statesman and one-time Prime Minister of this country -- hand kissing included.

Political maturity means we must be able to set aside our personal differences for the greater good of the nation. And we must be able to agree to disagree in a respectful and civil manner. This is what education means and going to school does not mean you have received an education. It just means you went to school. Education is about what you become after you leave school. And I would like to believe that I did not just go to school but received an education as well.

Pak Lah, your paternal grandfather, Syeikh Abdullah Badawi Fahim, was one of the founding fathers of PAS. This means PAS exists today because of your family. And the fact that Syeikh Abdullah went on to become the first Mufti of Penang is no small achievement. This proves your grandfather was able to set aside his political differences and serve the government he opposed for the sake of Islam and the nation. Today, how many are able to do this?

By the way, your grandfather served under my grandfather, Raja Sir Tun Uda, the Governor then, and Puan Seri Endon Mahmood’s family was close to my family even before you married her. So, in that sense, we are ‘family friends’, although political adversaries, and maybe you should be my Abang Lah rather than Pak Lah.

Your maternal grandfather, Ha Su-chiang, was a Chinese Muslim from Hainan. Your late wife, Endon, is said to have Japanese blood while your current wife, Dato’ Seri Jeanne Danker a.k.a Jeanne Abdullah, is of Portuguese descent. Have we ever had such a multi-cultural Prime Minister before this (notwithstanding the four Prime Ministers before you were also not ‘pure’ Malays, if we really want to get technical)?

I feel your family background is unique and can serve as the best example of what a multi-cultural Malaysia should look like. If I had my own way I would ban same-race marriages. Malaysia should pass a law that you must marry outside your race and not marry someone from your own race. Anyway, that would certainly not be realistic and is just my wishful thinking.

If there is something Malaysia really needs is an end to racism. What is currently happening is alarming. What’s with these demonstrations by the ultra-Malays protesting the non-Malays questioning ‘Malay rights and privileges’? Are these Malays trying to push Malaysia to the brink of race riots like what we saw in May 1969? Have they forgotten the concept of freedom of opinion? Are they implying that only Malays have the right to speak and all others must shut up?

Pak Lah, you must no longer keep quiet. You must call for an end to all this racist rhetoric before the fire burns out of control. Have you forgotten that you too have Chinese blood and that the non-Malays are as Malaysian as you and me? Malaysians, Malays or otherwise, have equal rights and this means the right to speak their mind, without fear or favour.

Anyway, back to the purpose of this letter. I am of the opinion that you should not retire in March 2009 as you had planned to do so. When you made that decision to retire, Malaysia had yet to face a severe recession, which we can’t deny is going to hit our shores like a Tsunami and earthquake both rolled into one in the months to come. Since you made that announcement to retire, the situation has changed so drastically that it may be prudent for you to reconsider your earlier decision.

Pak Lah, how would you like to be remembered? As the man who abandoned the nation in its hour of need or as the man who stayed and fought and who completed the job? A captain is never the first to abandon ship. He must be the one who leaves last and goes down with the ship if need be. That is the mark of a good captain and is what you should also strive to be.

The recession is not your fault. It is a global thing and Malaysia is merely a victim of circumstances. But it will be your fault if you do nothing to address the impending doom. There are times we can’t avoid crashing. But the captain should not keep the passengers in ignorance while he seeks the safety of retirement. You, Pak Lah, can afford to retire. You have the financial means to do so. But I can’t say the same for the rest of the 26 million Malaysians who are surviving from hand to mouth.

You have never been to jail, Pak Lah, not even to a police lockup. I have, more than once, and the reality of the suffering of this nation is very prominent behind the high walls of a prison. Do you know that prison warders and policemen earn less than RM1,000 a month? How do they survive? How will they survive in three months' time when their Ringgit will be worth less than half the value today? And I am not yet even touching on the life of the most unfortunate prisoners who are in prison because they had to steal just to fill their bellies that had not seen food for days.

You will probably be jet-setting around the world by the time all hell breaks loose next year. The rest of us, however, will be forced to stay back in Malaysia, pondering on where our next meal will be coming from. And many will be forced by circumstances to resort to a life of crime just to stay alive. And Malaysians will remember and curse you, the Prime Minister who abandoned them and retired to an easy life while they tighten their belts to ward off hunger or go steal from their neighbours if they can’t stand the pangs of hunger.

It is time politics is set aside for the good of the nation. You need to bring in to your government people who know what to do in times like these. Your Finance Minister said that Malaysia is not facing a recession and never will. This is like a pilot telling his passengers that all is well while he slowly creeps to the back of the plane with a parachute strapped to his back. Come on, Pak Lah, the country is sliding down a slippery slope. Please tell the people this and ask them to brace for the crash. And, at the same time, get the government to do something about it and not keep announcing good news to lull everyone into complacency. 

It is your patriotic duty to stay and fight the recession, not to abandon ship. But you can’t do it alone. And the nincompoops you have in government can’t do it either. If you are not prepared to ask the opposition for help by forming a ‘unity government’, at the very least bring in people from outside Umno to do the job like how Singapore normally does. Why do you think Singapore is much better run and its Dollar is stronger than the Ringgit? Singapore doesn’t care if you are a PAP member or not. They bring in the best brains for the job even if you are not a ruling party member.

The people you have in government are archaic and outdated. They are goods with an expired shelf life. And the only reason they are in government is because they are Umno warlords. This must end. We need to see some meritocracy. People must be given the job because they are capable and not because they are Umno gangsters who can rouse 10,000 people and get them to march on the streets. That would be the only way to save this country when the Tsunami cum earthquake hits our shores around the time you want to leave in March 2009.

Barisan Nasional won the election on 8 March 2008 because you are the Prime Minister. If you had announced, before 8 March 2008, that you would be retiring a year later and would be handing the country to your Deputy, then the results would have been very different. Barisan Nasional would have been kicked out and, today, Pakatan Rakyat would be running this country. You would be betraying the voters by leaving in March 2009 when they gave you the mandate to rule till midnight of 7 March 2013.

If you want to leave then dissolve Parliament in February 2009 and call for fresh elections in March 2009. Let the voters decide if they really want Najib Tun Razak as their Prime Minister. This is the right of all Malaysians. Who are you to choose the Prime Minister on our behalf?

Mahathir retired on 31 October 2003 and handed the country over to you on 1 November 2003 -- just before the election, which should have been called by November 2004. He gave you one year to get a fresh mandate from the voters. And you held the elections five months later where you received your mandate, the best ever in the history of Malaysian elections. Then you obtained a fresh mandate in March 2008 and, one year into your second term, you leave without consulting the voters as to whether they agree to the change in Prime Minister.

If you want to leave, then either hold fresh elections first, or else wait one year before the next election, say sometime in 2012, and then call for elections a few months after that. This way the people can decide whom they want as Prime Minister. The way it is done now is like the people were tricked into voting for you as Prime Minister and suddenly they discover they are getting someone else they never chose. As I said, it is not up to you who becomes the Prime Minister. It is up to the voters. And the voters chose you, not Najib.

You can retire as the Umno President. That is your prerogative and is an internal Umno matter. But you need not also retire as Prime Minister even if you are no longer the Umno President. The Federal Constitution of Malaysia does not stipulate that the Prime Minister must also be the Umno President.

Article 4 (1) of the Constitution says: This Constitution is the supreme law of the Federation and any law passed after Merdeka Day which is inconsistent with this Constitution shall, to the extent of the inconsistency, be void.

This means the Constitution takes priority and precedence over all other matters, such as what Umno desires. Umno does not appoint the Prime Minister. The Agong does. And the Agong appointed you and not someone else as Prime Minister. Who are you, therefore, to decide who becomes Prime Minister? Are you above the Agong? On this matter Article 40 of the Constitution says as follows:

2) The Yang di-Pertuan Agong may act in his discretion in the performance of the following functions, that is to say:

(a) The appointment of a Prime Minister;

(b) The withholding of consent to a request for the dissolution of Parliament;

This means it is not up to you whether to dissolve Parliament and whether to appoint a new Prime Minister. You can only request this but the matter is entirely up to the Agong. So you need to first consult the Agong and see whether His Majesty is okay with your idea or not. And if the Agong says, “Beta tak pekenan”, then you go back to your home in Putrajaya and continue running this country until, the latest, midnight of 7 March 2013.

Most people have had enough with Umno throwing its weight around to the point of even ignoring the powers of the Rulers. We need you to restore the independence of the four branches of government that we used to have up to 20 years ago -- the Executive, the Legislature, the Judiciary and the Monarchy. That should be your first task and you should stay until you get that done.

Next, we need to reform both the general election system as well as the Umno party elections. The gerrymandering is ridiculous. How can an ‘Umno’ seat be just 5,000 voters while an ‘opposition’ seat is as high as 120,000 voters? If the gerrymandering is eliminated and the variation between seats is not more than 15%, like how the Reid Commission recommended, then the opposition would not need to garner 60% of the votes to form the federal government. Even back in May 1969, when the gerrymandering was not that bad yet, the opposition garnered 55% of the votes and was still not able to form the federal government.

The 58 nominations to qualify to contest the Umno Presidency and Deputy Presidency is another ridiculous ruling, which makes a mockery of democratic elections. And we are yet to touch on the corruption in Umno, which has erroneously been called ‘money politics’. Even the Umno Disciplinary Board is sighing and lamenting and is saying that Umno is in its death throes all because of corruption. Umno is on self-destruct mode and no one dare deny that.

You see, we from the civil society movements do not want to see Umno dead and buried, as what the opposition would like to see. What we want to see instead is an Umno minus its arrogance and high-handedness and a strong opposition in Parliament and the State Assemblies. Who that ruling party may be and who is the opposition is not of too much concern to most of us, as long as they are almost equally matched and both respect the wishes of the voters. Currently, the ruling party that you lead has no respect for the voters and treats the voters with contempt. You insult the intelligence of the voters and think that we are all fools. And we are worried that your anointed successor will be even worse.

Sure, you are not the best Prime Minister we ever had, that I do not deny. But you are also not the worst. And we believe it can get worse if you hand the reins over to Najib. Let’s not pretend that Najib does not have any baggage with the many allegations of corruption made against him and that huge question mark of the Altantuya murder hanging over his head, which has yet to be satisfactorily settled.

It is not that we want you so much. It is more that we don’t want Najib. And we resent the fact that you are deciding on our behalf that Najib is going to be our Prime Minister. Let the voters decide this in 2012 or 2013 during the next general election. If the voters still give Barisan Nasional the government, knowing that Najib will be taking over soon after that, then I rest my case. If that is the voters’ choice then I have no quarrel with that. But, as it stands now, the voters voted on 8 March 2008 on the basis that you, and not Najib, would be the Prime Minister.

I think I have already rambled on far too long and maybe I should stop here. Anyway, my friends don’t call me ‘cheong hei’ for nothing, so forgive my long-windedness. I hope you will seriously consider what I have said. This is not just my personal opinion. This is the feeling of most Malaysians.

I would like to end my open letter by wishing you a Happy New Year and hope that, next year, when I again write to you on New Year’s Eve, it will be still as Prime Minister and not as ex-Prime Minister.

Yours truly,

Raja Petra Al Haj Bin Raja Kamarudin
Bukit Rahman Putra
Sungai Buloh
30 December 2008

Comments (70)Add Comment
written by Democrats, December 30, 2008 16:23:43
This is what Pak Lah would reply.....

"Zzzzzzzzzzzz.......sorry, you were saying something?"

On a more serious note, Pak Lah should go out with all guns blazing. Change his cabinet ministers who are worth nothing yet giving him a torrid time. Introduce REAL revamps on the judiaciary, the police, the ACA, and UMNO itself, etc.... If it is good, your ground supporters will back you up as will the opposition for that matter.
agree 259
written by commonfolk, December 30, 2008 16:29:53
Dear Pete, I think you are playing piano to an ox.
agree 157
written by Rainbowseahorse, December 30, 2008 16:32:42
Your forced exit this coming March’09 by your own party UMNO is similar to shoes being thrown at the US President Bush in Bagdad. Both equally disrespectful and a great insult to Head of States. You are still our Leader, the Prime Minister of Malaysia and we the people prefer and support you over that low lying suspected criminal Najib.

Is it so difficult to give good governance to the people, Pak Lah? Do you want to be remembered as the Prime Minister who was shooed into early retirement by his own party and fellow UMNO members?

Yes, the New Year is just a couple days away, and maybe you might take the time to reflect and to consider the well beings of all Malaysians over your own! Have a Happy New Year my Prime Minister!
agree 166
written by cheekhiaw, December 30, 2008 16:36:24
Pak Lah,

Mahathir chose you as his replacement and then treated you like 'clogs' (as the Chinese saying goes). Show people like that what your pair of clogs are capable of kicking up before you retire can? And show to those millions that put so much hopes on you just a few years ago that they had been right to at least some extent?
agree 124
written by Rashid, December 30, 2008 16:38:37
You have written an open letter to Pak Lah, I too have one for the Indian PR leaders in this country and it goes like this:

Part One

"I wanted to write this open letter to PKR Supreme Council Member and one of the 3 Deputy Liaisons for Selangor and also Kapar MP, YB S. Manikavasagam who has been in the news recently over his "quit threat" to his party listing a litany of complaints and throwing childish tantrums giving MCA leaflet The Star an ample opportunity to run down his party, the leadership of his party, PAS Selangor leadership and some Selangor DAP leaders as well. Of course, MCA is grappling with a leadership crisis where the new elected leader and Transport Minister (Dictator) Datuk Seri Ong Tee Keat is fighting his Deputy Datuk Seri Dr Chua Soi Lek. The party is also facing an extinction having lost its allure and its rallying call of "Chinese representation" is no longer viable. PAS (let alone DAP) is offering the Chinese much more than a "Chinese" party like MCA is even ready to give to the Chinese. So any opportunity that will deflect attention from the party and (its violent husband) UMNO will be 'highly appreciated', but now that the Indian PR leaders in PKR and DAP are complaining and airing their grievances in BN media and talking about "Indian marginalisation" in PR led states makes me write the open letter to all Indian PR leaders (YBs, DUNs, Councillors and Party leaders).

Dear leaders, everyone knows the Indian community has suffered marginalisation and utter neglect, not because of the Malay people but because of UMNO and its hapless wife-MIC. For 50 years, your people stuck with UMNO (forget about MIC because it is basically UMNO). However that marginalisation and neglect led to a lot discontent. Hindraf was formed to air the grievances of the Indian (Hindu) community but UMNO (with the support of MIC) answered in batons and ISA and even refused to rceive flowers from some of the protesting children. Then March 08 came and as they say the rest is history. In other words, the Indian community explored other options and massively voted for the PR coalition.

Today we hear some disconent, though it is only from certain disgruntled PR leaders and not from the Indian community itself. We hear about "Indian marginalisation" "Indian representation", "Indian GLC posts", "Indian threats to quit PR parties", "Indian press conferences", "Indian Alliance", "Indian party" and "Hindraf permission" and etc.

Granted, the Indians may have wished for more by supporting the PR platform but some of the utterances and threats of some Indian leaders and their discourse is not only counterproductive, utterly misplaced but unacceptable. Rather than helping the Indian community, such leaders and their discourse alienates the community from the Malay people on either side (Umno vs PR) and also the Chinese who also supported the PR platform.

Take from example Kapar MP YB S. Manickavasagam. YB Manickanasagam is behaving as if he was elected by Hindraf and the Indian community in Kapar. Malaysiakini journalist K Kabilan quoted him in his article: 'Moves underway to oust Samy Vellu' as saying:

“On Dec 31, I will give up my party posts. After that, I will be heading to India. There I will meet Hindraf chairperson P Waythamoorthy and seek his advice on what I should do. Once I am back, I will reveal my decision whether to remain in the party” he said," expressing his bitter disappointment with PKR for failing to keep the party’s pledges to uplift the Indian community. Manikavasagam said he was in discussions with Hindraf leaders, including Waythamoorthy, as they are “the real community leaders”.

agree 117
written by justice, December 30, 2008 16:40:18
agree 220
written by non conformist, December 30, 2008 16:41:54
The URGENCY of the matter is most appropriately expressed.
May our Prime Minister come to his senses, and act accordingly.
May the God of heaven rouse him from his slumber!
written by Rashid, December 30, 2008 16:42:03
part Two

Now I want you to digest that statement very well and see how immature, irresponsible and simply unacceptable it is. YB Manickavasagam represents Kapar which has 88% non-Indian voters yet he has no feelings whatsoever for the non-Indians who made him an MP. He is talking as if the Indians alone made him an MP. He is talking as if the Malays and the Chinese in Kapar weren't involved in his elavation. He is talking as if Kapar is made of Indians alone and thus speak on their behalf. He is talking as if he was elected by Hindraf and not by Malaysians of all races mainly Malays who form the bulk of Kapar voters (50%), the Chinese (37) and finally Indians who form only 12%.

Hindraf and PAS and PKR Malays

YB Manickavasagam thinks he is an MP because he is popular with the Indians. He thinks he is an MP because of their vote. He is ungratafeul and immature. It is well known that Hindraf was demonised by the UMNO media in the run up to the March 08 elections. Even UMNO prepared thousands of CDS accusing PKR leader Datuk Seri Anwar Ibrahim of being Hindraf sympathiser and financier. This was done to scare the Malays and sway them from voting for the Indian candidates on the PR platform. It was PAS and PKR Malays who countered this by 'explaining' Hindraf to the Malays.

UMNO told the Malays that Hindraf was a terrorist organisation financed by foreigners and made up of harcore Indian criminals to forment violnece and challenege the Malay people. It was PAS and PKR Malays who have explained to the rural voters what Hindraf was. We explained that Hindraf was simply an Indian NGO to air the grievenaces of the Malaysian Indian Community and it wasn't a sinister organisation hellbent on destryong the Malay oeple as UMNO was preaching. We convinced the old people that Hindraf was fighting to end poverty which itself was Islamic.

We told our people that UMNO had negelected the Indians and non-Muslims in the country beleive Islam is an unjus religion because of UMNO and therefore they should vote for PR Malay candidates and the Indian PR candidates. Something was achieved and spectacular results obatined. YB Manickavasagam is a result of that behind the scenes campaign and that's why he got the Malay vote in Kapar. Unfortunatley today he talks as if he doesn't need us, as if we didn't invest in him, as if we didn't capiagn for him, as if we didn't support him. I remember PAS campaigners in Kapar telling him to concerntare on the Indian vote (14,140 voters) while Pas concentrates on the Malay vote (55, 325 voters). Today he blames PAS Selangor Leader (commissioner) and PKR Malay leaders. He brags that he is his own who needs no one.

agree 129
written by Rashid, December 30, 2008 16:44:11
Part three

He doesn't need to come back to us (majority of the voters) and consult us. He says he will only consult Indians. I want to ask: what about the 88% non-Indians of Kapar? Or what about our leaders who convinced us to vote for you though you weren't known to us? Arrogance and pettiness has gone into head and he doesn't know he is doing. By behaving in an iimature, irresponble way, he strengthening UMNO and hurting the same people who voted for him. He is humilating us and exposing us to UMNO's derison.

Yesterday, I had a chat with a good friend of mine who is an Umnoputra. "You see, when we tell you Indians are snakes and snakes can be controlled either by hitting their heads or forcing them to reteat to their holes, you complain" he said. I was offended by that and answered that it was immoral and no one likes sweping condemnation of an entire society. He laughed deliriopusly and said that I was naive. Basically he was referring to the childish tantrums of Manickavasagam who says he will only seek Indian consulotation and doesn't need PR supporters. While in my anger, I wanted to agree with him, I felt it was immoral to lampoon an entire society because of the nefarious ways of few people.

What I want to say is this: Hindarf is both positive and negative. Positive in the sense that it has united Indians to look for better options. Negative in the sense that it has given UMNO enough amunition to scare the Malays and hit hard at PAS and PKR Malays for aiding "violent, terror organistaion" that wants to rob the Malay people. That's why we had campiagned hard to "humanise" Hindraf to rural Malays but when someone whom we elected like Manickavasagam doesn't even talk about our plight, (have you heard him complaining of Malay neglect) and doesn't feel indebted to his voters but talks cock and tribal rant, then it is here that UMNO people feel proud and say 'badan muka' (It serves you right). We told you, they are snakes and you don't papmer snakes.

Manickavasagam represents Kapar which is unique in many ways. First, it is the Indians who have the least number of voters (12%) yet it is they who produced the MP. Secondly, it is truly multiracial and thirdly all PR parties have representation. DUN Meru by PAS, DUN Sungai Pinang by DAP (State Ass. Speaker) and himself as the MP (PKR) while Dato Abdul Rahman Palil of UMNO (DUN Sementa) got a walkover after he bribed the PKR candidate to withdraw. But Manickavasagam puts the Indian community in a difficult situation by being insensitive and tribal. He neglects his multiracial voters and reteats into tribal cocoons. He gives UMNO enough ammunition to shoot at PAS and PKR. UMNO now accuses the two party of being hijacked by Hindraf and Indian 'snakes'.
agree 127
written by Rashid, December 30, 2008 16:52:44
part four

Indian PR leaders should behave and not put the community in difficult position. They should know they represent all Malaysians and not Indians alone. If Kapar MP wants to represent Indians, then he should quit PKR today and leave the party so that a Malaysian can be elected to represent all Kapar-ians who are Malays, Chinese and Indians. Since he is ungrateful and doesn't understand the pple who made him an MP, he should quit the seat and we want elections today and in every seat that has Malay majority should be represented by a malay in the future so that those who don't want love and working together will know much more than they know today. Karpal singh told Mike to leave the seat bcoz he was won due to PKR. True. He should quit today and not 2moro. Enough with his tribal rant and humiliation. Enough with his stupidity and failure to know much. Tan Sri Khalid has done a lot for the Indian community and gave Tamil schools money and PR states have give Indian better representation and higher status. What more should have been done done in 6 months? Why not talk about poor Malays, poor Chinese too since you are an MP bcoz of them? You have no respect and your stupidity is unequalled. Quit the seat. We don't care about your party. Enough! For the rest of dignified Indian leaders, I hope you prevail upon the stupid ones and teach them few basics in respect and true representation. Wishing you well and may all evil perish!
agree 174
written by ylcc, December 30, 2008 16:56:38
Since Raja Petra has made this personal effort to address PM Badawi on the issue of Malaysia's future, I hope PM Badawi will stay on as Prime Minister after March 2009. I agree that PM Badawi should bring in the best talent to help him manage the country, even by seeking help from the opposition.

Great letter, Raja Petra ... and a Very Happy New Year to you and your loved ones!
written by pinsysu, December 30, 2008 16:56:55
how wud pak lah remember how he would be remembered?! unless tonite a kind-hearted angel whisper to him softly da divine message. we all are desperately praying for a miracle as time is running out
written by sueteh, December 30, 2008 17:02:55
Pak Lah..gua sangka kamu ini bagaikan ular..senyap sahaja, selalu sengih-sengih, tapi mana lah tau..sekali zing.habis lah. Apalah..yang kamu fikirkan ya. Adakah kamu seekor ular ataupun kamu dikelilingi ular ular berjenama UMNO??
written by savemalaysia, December 30, 2008 17:06:15
RPK. you're off the mark by not an inch but a mile. Asking Pak Lah to stay, even if he deserves the premiership, will only invoke a revolt that borders on spilling blood. Najis has a load of baggage and he can make all of them disappear when he becomes the almighty PM. How will Mud-yiddin take it when your call will scuttle his deputy premiership. With two abusive, corrupted and draconian heads at the helm, the rest of the cabinet can go wild with financial and material enrichment and fear no repercussion because they can easily tell off Najis and Mud-yiddin as brothers-in-arms or sailors-in-the-same-ship. After all, what are they in politics for? To enjoy the fringe benefits rather than serve the rakyat.
written by Rainbowseahorse, December 30, 2008 17:07:16
ssathia....hehehe..
"...new broom must clean well.."? I think we all know Najib is more like a dirty mop which has been used in a very dirty toilet and dragged through used oil. No amount of cleaning can make that mop clean lah!

Cheers!
written by ahmadneil, December 30, 2008 17:09:34
I too have to write this short letter to Pak Lah before he retires...

Yang Amat Berhormat Dato' Seri Abdullah bin Haji Ahmad Badawi
Prime Minister of Malaysia

Dear Pak Lah,
I'm just a ordinary citizen of malaysia but I don't think you know all your citizen personally.So may be you just burly say you don't know me but I know you.
When you just took office as PM, I was overjoyed,so happy that we have a new PM and on the other hand ,leaping into the air to hear that Racist reign comes to an end.But after 3 years,all my hopes vanished when your promises to us all evaporated into thin air.But then this is still peanuts when comparing to your handing over power to Najib without a fight.After all you are a elected PM and to give it to Najib,who is tainted ,shows that you don't have rakyat in mind when you make decisions.
As for your successor,he have so many allegations for which he will have to answer before he takes his place on the highest office of this land.As PM you are fully aware that he is accused of having a affair with that Mongolian model,Altantuya,who was later pass to Rosak Baginda and was later C4ed.For all this bad publicity,we the Malaysian have been living in sakit and malu.I hereby,make a personal appeal to you to set up a royal commission to investigate and answer all these allegations before allowing Najis to take his post as PM.We must not allow anyone who is tainted or said to be tainted to be our PM.I ask for no more or less.
Thank You.

Till then ,I wish you all the best of health and say hello to Jeanne Abdullah.

Yours truly,
ahmadneil
Bukit Tinggi
Kuala Lumpur
30 December 2008
written by usurper, December 30, 2008 17:10:25
Great way to tell a serpent not to attack the people and to shed its skin. It will never happen! Why? becoz this PM is as morally corrupt as any UMNOPutras and the many Malaysians crooks.
written by malaysianohope, December 30, 2008 17:12:17
Dear Pak La,
I have not voted for you in the last GE but since your party won the majority I accept the results & since you are the PM of the day I shall respect you as such but to abandon us midstream & pass on to someone else with a colorful past especially with an unsolved murder hanging under him, is totally unacceptable to me & all fair minded Malaysians. The reason to retire may be due to pressures from within & beyond but who are they to question your position especially when you have been given the mandate till 0313. Just listen to what Raja Petra advice in his letter to you which I think is fair & succinct to a pin before you decide to retire… Have a Soul searching New Year!!!
written by ahmadneil, December 30, 2008 17:20:11
AAB won't finish reading this letter for at least 3 days becos he is too busy celebrating New Year which will be his last in Sri Perdana.
written by harmanamri, December 30, 2008 17:29:51
The four-part open letter to the Kapar MP by Rashid should be taken up by MT and posted under a separate heading. I agree wholeheartedly with Rashid. By the way, since being elected as a Member of Parliament, Manickavasagam has hardly spoken in the Dewan Rakyat -- not on national issues, not even on matters affecting his voters in Kapar. I say, let's campaign for him to resign from PKR and from Parliament as well.
written by kent chong, December 30, 2008 18:00:25
It;'s True, Pak Lah continue as PM much better than NAJIS!
written by aplus, December 30, 2008 18:00:31
I remember way back in 2005 when he ascended the prime ministership post whenon his mother gave him 3 lines of advice for him to ponder. I can't remember exactly the other two but what stayed clearly in my mind, crudely translated from Malay, is the one that goes something like this: "when you are up there, please remember those down there". In retrospection now Pete, those words of his mother were much more than a mere advice and it strikes a chord with some of what you have just said. It was an omen.
written by prsupporter, December 30, 2008 18:00:37
Well said, bravo!
written by told u, December 30, 2008 18:08:48
dear Rashid,

as an indian i do feel frustrated with the way kapar MP champion himself.MP should look at them self thru the mirror.They selected by whom not by your self i suppose.
written by Mirage, December 30, 2008 18:12:56

Some family tree you have there with your buddy opps Abang Lah. I will state my stand before commenting further as I do not want to give the wrong idea to you. I agree to a certain extend of your letter becoz the future PM does not give me the confidence that he will be telling us the truth during his future tenure and picking to retain his (Pak Lah's) service would be a better option. At least when the boat is sinking we would know rather than if Najib with his fluent smooth talk which we will not know what hit us. On another note however, knowing Pak Lah for what he is and his no consistency and "not sure" stand to issues, we can't expect any changes to happen. He will foul up again. After all with the chances he has been given for reform, no change has been seen after 5 years.

In fact the last 1 year was the most he has done...can you expect more??
written by Motherchell, December 30, 2008 18:30:48
Dear Pete ,
You have said very pertinent facts , periods and acts. He is so mixed that he fails to see the colour of blood and the tears when we are sad and disappointed!!
I'm despaired at the way he has let us down so bad . I wonder if he realizes how many lives he had ended, -- the hopes , the aspirations in the last 8years as PM. Many many ways he gave us nothing but the appeasement to all his cronies and ones who wanted him to give more and more . He failed to see the elephant right in front of his reading glasses.The Country is in tatters! The biggest mistake and foolhardy in keeping all the imbeciles in his cabinet!! Especially the AG, IGP, And Albar!!!
To end this with a little encomium --- i would prefer him to Najib. The only good he can now do is to stall that fellow from ever becoming PM .

written by JUST, December 30, 2008 18:34:06
Justice Bao? Father of Reform? Defender of Malaysians? Dream on ...... smilies/grin.gif
written by clarity, December 30, 2008 18:45:14
Dear Pak Lah, What ever you are, you have certainly shown that you are a person with dignity. How can you allow TDM and his cronies treat you so badly. There comes a time in every man"s life where he's got to make his stand. A lot of us would like to see you do that and not be trample over anymore.
written by maverick, December 30, 2008 19:08:05
oh..pls, do you really think he have the balls to stay on? he'll probably flee the country with his wealth to 'enjoy' the rest of his life else where, don't forget that he have his own jet and overseas mansion.

don't count on him to stay on, it'll be better to have fresh GE
written by Ali Cordoba, December 30, 2008 19:11:21
PM must not just quit, thats right. But he cannot do anything with such an opposition against him. Opposition in his own party, in the BN and of course the Opposition itself. He need some strong support from the 'civil society' to get things cracking and that can only happen if the blogosphere and independent journalists/media join forces and supports the reform that he intend to bring. Otherwise, welcome Najib Tun Razak as the 6th PM of Malaysia!
written by Kopi37, December 30, 2008 19:19:25
Just across the border, we have a Country call Thailand. When peoples of Siam felt that they dislike the corrupted Government that be, they formed the yellow shirts army, the so-called Democratic Alliance to topple the Government elect via people's power and their judiciary system worked for the peoples!

Over here, we have the same corrupted Government that be, even more corrupted, yet they are despots, hypocritical democrats whom they have put laws in their own hands, the judiciary system here works for them, their stooges, not for the peoples! The peoples are virtually down-trodden and human rights being trampled! Two thousand odds nincompoop, idiots of low mentality and high mediocrity are deciding for 26-millions people and their futures, all to be doomed in no time!

No point wasting time to prod and to preach a decayed wood to become a crafted idol for worship! It's cut and dried now a fact that he has achieved his self-seeking agenda, his family is ok, the hey that they made are more than sufficient for them to enjoy lives that they were aiming for, for generations! What is going to be suffered by the rakyat is toto immaterial to him, and to them, for he is no father like Nelson Mandella, he's only a hypocritical crook, opportunist who has enriched his family with the position the hillbillies and nincompoops erroneously entrusted on him, willingly granted to him, who to blame, if not blaming ourselves?!

Only RPK is shrieking out the alarm and depicts the death knell, many others are still numb in senses, they still have chances to make whoopees, to revel in New Year's countdown, until the earthquake of Richter scale-10 hits, they will only feel the tremor and they will shits out in the pants and cry for helps - too late! Woe is the pathetic Malaysians!!!! smilies/sad.gif
written by cheemengwong, December 30, 2008 19:19:28
Maybe this is a good chance for me to write to Pak Lah as well.

Dear Pak Lah,

I am a Malaysian born Chinese and has lived here for the past 50 years. All these years I resent BN's policies of racial discrimination and especially against the education's ministry of not giving poor chinese a chance to study in universities even though their grades are better than their counterpart Malays.

Because of this Malaysia has lost of its best people. Do something anything but don't keep sleeping.
written by PRman, December 30, 2008 19:41:04
It would be really surprise and nice if our PM registers an account with Malaysia Today, and posts his comment on this article. Better yet, may our admin sends an id to our dear PM, to ask for a reply? I believe it would only be polite by our PM to provide feedback to questions being asked to him.

written by ASK4u, December 30, 2008 19:49:15
I have my doubts. Pa lah doesn't seem like a man with a backbon*. He will go away without a fight.How I wish I'm wrong on this. Allow me to digress here. The latest happenings in Thailand is worthy of our attention. Probably, Thailand is the only country in the world with true people's democracy power. That's how it should be. The PM must be clean, free from corruption and blemishes because he represents the peoples will. Otherwise, the PM will be ousted out by force and the people can even disband the party. Now Thaksin is out and very soon it will be Abhishek. Don't f*ck around with the will of the people who elected you to represent them. You are their servant and not the other way round. Otherwise, face their wrath. This is true people power. This uprising will inevitably effect the countries economy but in the long run, having been cleared of all the 'pest', Thailand is going to emerge as a powerful Nation because than, corruption, mismanagement, cronyism, nepotism, criminal intimidation etc will be a thing of the past in Thailand. The struggle and sacrifice of this people will make Thailand a better country for their children and grandchildren. The King and the arm forces are for the people in Thailand and not for the executives. Where else can you find true democracy, not in America, not in India and certainly not in boleland.
written by Eskay Lim, December 30, 2008 20:08:54
YES, Pak Lah. I fully agree with Raja Petra.

It's time you show your Umno-people the "man-side" of you.
Make a firm stand and don't allow others, especially the Umno-warlords to push you around, because I think you have had enough of their nuisance.

Remember!
You couldn't even get them to declare their assets although it was a priority.
What about passionate reforms that you promised? The MACC and the JAC really didn't meet the rakyats' expectations due to too much strong opposition & objection from your own comrades. Even Zaid Ibrahim had to throw in the towel for the same reasons.
The Malaysian people voted you to be the PM for a full term. How can you just give this post away to anther person?.This person should seek the rakyats' mandate in a general election if he wants to be PM. There is no easy way for him.
written by medicshan, December 30, 2008 20:17:22
Dear Jeanne Abdullah,
Merry Christmas and a Happy New Year, 1304. I have a New Year wish. I hope that you will fulfill it. If you do, many thanks from me and, I am sure, countless other Malaysians. And the wish is:

PLEASE READ RAJAPETRA"S LETTER TO YOUR HUBBY TONIGHT AND MAKE SURE THAT HE'S AWAKE! Thank you most graciously.
written by educationist, December 30, 2008 20:44:47
If Pak Lah will heed RPK's call thus denying Najib the PM's post come March 2009, that will really be his legacy worthy of note.
But, sadly it will not happen.
He has not shown since he became PM that he has the material to be such a statesman.
written by Msian Idol3, December 30, 2008 20:48:56
Thanks Pete -- good piece of factual writings as the way concern Msians see things within the country. I came across a foreign report this month on corruption in Msia and the writings were like what you said "patronage abuses" leads to corruptions & more abuses, less meritocracies. I hope the PM gets to read your letter as well as members of all political parties. Hopefully something will impose those in power & those who can influence and effect changes to do something for the nation.
written by panca, December 30, 2008 21:51:59
Thank you YM Raja Petra Al Haj Bin Raja Kamarudin for speaking for all of us for a progressive nation.

A well articulated letter to the our Prime Minister and Mr. Prime Minister, this is a once in a lifetime thing that you can do to right the wrongs of the past, present for the future. Don't lose it for it never will come again!

Say your prayers, do the rightful and good which is beneficial to the country, Malaysia and fellow Rakyat, Malaysians!
written by EYFF, December 30, 2008 23:37:10
RPK, please be very clear that AAB did not give the order to detain you under the ISA!

But sure as Hell he let you and DAI out!

Also please be reminded that Malaya was the 17th Vassal State of China! Why do you think every little news on Malaysia would be on the Chinese TV?

Do not be surprised if China would buy all Malaysian Palm oil and petroleum in the coming recession to help Malaysia from going under!
smilies/grin.gif smilies/grin.gif smilies/grin.gif smilies/grin.gif smilies/grin.gif smilies/grin.gif smilies/grin.gif smilies/grin.gif smilies/grin.gif smilies/grin.gif smilies/grin.gif smilies/grin.gif smilies/grin.gif smilies/grin.gif smilies/grin.gif
written by Mickey, December 30, 2008 23:50:39
my new year wish is to see the impossible become possible, good triumph over evil, justice overcome injustice. there's just so many sores which i wish will heal. god bless all malaysians who believe in themselves
written by joeawk, December 30, 2008 23:53:12
I want to say just one thing. Najib, I do not want you to be my PM and I believe at least 75% of Malaysians are with me.

Like RPK said, it is not that we like Pak Lah but we loathe Najib.

Pak Lah, you must stay on and Najib, you must stay off.
written by Mickey, December 31, 2008 00:27:56
dear temenggong, the Mp Kapar needs to realize that the Malaysians future is bigger than him and he should refrain from being overly emotional. the bus station is centrally located in klang and if you have been to klang of late, you would dread the endless traffic jams. many of my klang friends avoid this stretch of road everyday and unless you live there, you don't know the daily torment they go thru.
written by LFLee, December 31, 2008 00:45:33

I finally know the major difference between you and me:
You will go as far as kiss 'the old M' hand;
but I will bite his hand and give him a punch in his cock and crush his balls for what he did to this lovely country!

written by sonofmalaysia, December 31, 2008 00:57:49
Pak Lah,

RPK spoke for all of us 26 millions Malaysians, we totally abhor the idea that a highly tainted man, a high murder suspect will become our PM ! Stand up and fight ! If you don't want to fight for the good of our country, at least fight for your honour and your ancestors' honour !! If you just drop and leave like you plan to do, don't ever have the illusion that you are retiring honourably. Far from it, you are actually being humiliated and beaten down, you are running away with tail between your legs, don't be the most pathetic and pitiful PM !!

If you just drop and leave the PMship to NAjis, not only it is the greatest dereliction of duty, the greatest betrayal of ppl hope and trust on you, it is also the greatest sin on your part and you will forever be living in infamy !!

If you just drop and leave the PMship to NAjis, the Rakyat and the future generation of this country will condemn you for your great irresposibility and dereliction of duty !!

You have everything to loose by just abandoning and running away now, you could only gain by fighting to do your last bit for the good of the country !

The easy choice is in your hand, as the Chinese saying goes, you either leave behind your fragrant name for a hundred generations, or leave behind your legacy that stink for ten thousands years !!
written by Lim Lim, December 31, 2008 01:18:43
pete,moving a mountain could be much more an easier task to talking civilized senses into the umno brain,they are jus too narrow n barbaric!!what to expect??they are having educational minister n a PM to be waving knife while deliberating state man kind of speeches!!n they regard it as noble n most probably mighty proud about this as part of their civilization.
written by Dualties, December 31, 2008 01:33:55
RPK:

You are the only apolitical Malaysian citizen who sees and has the courage to reveal the reality of Malaysian's politics .
God Bless Malaysia.
written by Fart Fart Wah, December 31, 2008 01:42:51
DIIIIIIIIIIIIIIIIIIIIIIISOLVE PARLIAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAMENT!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

WE WANT TO CHOOSE OUR OWN NEW PM......WE DO NOT WANT A PM WHO IS A BIGOT...BIGOT BIGOT OR A RACIST RACIST RACIST...A WOMANIZER AND AN ALLEGED MURDERER...

UMNO has been making the MALAYS BLOODY FOOLS... by making them like kerbaus..kerbaus..kerbaus..di tarik hidong..hidong hidong...and using race and religion to control them..

FREE THE MALAYS TO THINK INDEPENDENTLY!!!!!!!!!!!!

WE CANNNOT..CANNOT ..CANNOT HAVE A COUNTRY DIVIDED BY THE BARISAN

WE WANT ALL MALAYSIANS TO THINK MALAYSISANS!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

LET US CHOOOOOOOOOOOOOOSE OUR OWN NEW PMMMMMMM!!!!!!!

LISTEN TO RPK...HE HAS A SERIOUS ISSUE..... LISTENNNNNNNNNNNNNNNNNNNNNNNNNNN!!!!!!

LISTEN!!!!!!FOR ONCE ACT LIKE A MAN!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

written by Fart Fart Wah, December 31, 2008 01:51:20
AYOH AYOH AYOH...

ORANG MELAYU..LIHATLAH BETAPA PEMIMPIN2 KAMU YANG KINI ADA DIPUCUK PIMPINAN

PEROGOL....PERASUAH..PENCURI WANG RAKYAT...PENZINA...PEMBUNUH???

DALAM MASA 2 BULAN LAGI NEGARA KITA AKAN MENGADA SUATU KERAJAAN YANG DIPIMPIN..
KEMUNGKINAN....PEMBUNUH...PEROGOL, PERAUSAH..PENCURI..PENZINA..PEMBOHONG..

PATUT KAH ORANG2 SAPERTI INI MENJADI PEMIMPIN ORANG MELAYU?????PATUT KAH MEREKA INI JADI TAULADAN KEPADA ANAK2 KITA????
INI KAH BUDAYA ORANG MELAYU????

PAK LAH...BUBAR PARLIMEN...!!!!!!!!!MEMBERI LAH KITA PELUANG UNTUK MENGUNDI PM BARU.........!!!!!!
written by InEffective, December 31, 2008 08:59:22

27 mill soon-to-be victims at the mercy of filth and evil.

The unimaginable will become reality.

Hard to fathom how any sane leader would do this to his nation - but then again we have lots of examples here, and around the world.
written by temenggong, December 31, 2008 09:17:58
Mickey, I lived in Klang for years. I am in Melawis, Teluk Pulai and the Coast Club every other week.

There is a street there named after me. smilies/grin.gif
written by BORN FREE, December 31, 2008 09:31:08
Yes, very well written. What RPK wrote is true, Pak Lah should stay on as PM
and manage the country through bad times. He is the captain that we choosen and
we do not want anyone choosen by him. If he wants to resign as PM then he should
dissolve Parliment and let us Malaysians decide who we want to choose as the next
PM of Malaysia !
written by Fight4Justice, December 31, 2008 09:31:34
I think someone needs to translate this page for our 'beloved PM'..
From Wikipedia - "After failing to enrol into his first choice course, economics, Badawi opted for a less to pursue a Bachelor of Arts in Islamic Studies from the University of Malaya in 1964."
written by SCM, December 31, 2008 10:17:35

I think Pak Lah (your Abang Lah) just want to be remembered, that's all. Come April 2009, very few people will remember who he is. He is like Zorro. He just blazed through the night and disappeared.

Najib is a different matter. He will be remembered for ever. Malaysia's first PM to have blown an innocent girl to bits, and let his fat wife watch the explosion.
written by ibabonma, December 31, 2008 11:07:43
Looking at his his face and beruk Kairy body language, Dollah will stay put.
written by AngryTaxpayer, December 31, 2008 11:09:21
Whether Badawi or Najib takes over the PMship in March....Malaysians are still as good as gone.......both have their unique way of killing the economy.....
written by The Iceman, December 31, 2008 11:15:49
Rashid my man, brilliant piece. You hit the nail on the head. At a time when we are talking and thinking about Malaysians as a whole one idiot has to go and talk racial as if he is the only one who cares for his community. Resign and we will elect someone who will care for ALL his supporters irrespective of race, religion or creed.
written by temenggong, December 31, 2008 12:17:38
Rather than Paklah continuing in office, which is remote, there is still a chance that the Agong will impose an emergency this week to stem the deteriorating political situation. It may be a happy new year after all.

Bangladesh handled it very well and that is not lost on the rulers!
written by arazak, December 31, 2008 16:08:52
Pete!

We read the whole article, but . . ., Pak lah could not keep his eyes open after reading the third paragraph! Perhaps you should personally see him. . .!
written by Just Gan, December 31, 2008 21:50:24

Your are asking Badawi to stay on as PM, but wouldn't that go against your newly-found good friend Dr. Mahathir's wishes and plans? Now that you have made peace with Dr. Mahathir and appear not to go against the ex-PM in all matters involving him (e.g. you have never commented on the the racist and ridiculous statements made by the ex-PM on a number of occasions - please correct me with recent evidence if I am wrong), it would be best for you to check with Dr. Mahathir first on your request to Badawi. It is ok to withdraw this request to Badawi in the interest of what Dr. Mahathir is planning for Malaysia.
written by Vasily, January 02, 2009 04:56:43
Dear Uncle Pet,

Very good article....ttp FCUK Lah bkn lah sub spesis mamalia yg suka membaca....dia suka tido & berjimak ajer....too bad...so sad
written by ROBERTNGTG, January 02, 2009 11:28:08
If you want to leave then dissolve Parliament in February 2009 and call for fresh elections in March 2009. Let the voters decide if they really want Najib Tun Razak as their Prime Minister. This is the right of all Malaysians. Who are you to choose the Prime Minister on our behalf?

RPK, I DONT LIKE ONE DAMN BIT OF THIS BUT I HV TO AGREE WITH YOU. AND I MUST ADD IF YOU SHOULD EVER REFUSE TO ACCEPT A GOMEN POST IF YOU ARE OFFERED ONE TO STEER THE NATION FORWARD, THEN YOU ARE A HIPPOCRITE FOR WRITING THIS ARTICLE. WE NEED LEADERS LIKE RPK TO PUT THE NATION ON THE RIGHT FOOTING FIRST BEFORE YOU RIDE INTO THE SUNSET LIKE NELSON MANDELA. SO IF PAK LAH ACCEPTS, RPK, THEN U TOO MUST NEVER ABANDON US, YR DIEHARD SUPPORTERS.
written by Caesar, January 02, 2009 18:10:13
Great piece about what is wrong about this (previously, before Mahathir)great country. Also, reminds us of the cardinal flaw in having a leader of a political party (albeit one with 10% of the country's population)becoming the PM Constitutionally it should be the one with backing of majority of MPs...that is what parliamentary democracy is!

I am convinced that Badawi was forced out by UMNO and the big portion of the submarine scandal 'kickback' (linked to Altantuya) was for UMNO's coffers...you see, this occurred during Mahathir's time and his executive style would have ensured EVERTHING which happens in Malaysia, he would be in the loop! The murder was 'uncovered' by the nosy 4th floor boys to 'neutralise' the incoming PM but UMNO being what it is, would want to bury the scandal and continue to run the country with destructive policies and cronyism (as you need billions to stay in political power as evidenced by what is happening in Thailand.)
As to Altantuya's murder (not by the incoming PM but by someone very close to him), the powers to be, would not be bothered as it was only 1 dead while the Tianamen massacre (also defended for prolonging China's political continuity and party system) claimed hundreds. But Tianamen was 20 yrs ago and we are now in the 21st century! How would the incoming PM stand up on equal terms with his formidable and unstained counterparts like Obama, Rudd and Lee Hsien Loong on the international stage.
written by sueteh, January 03, 2009 10:09:23
Pak Lah, kamu ni ular sawa kah, ular tedung kah, you ni major punya ular ataupun ular kocik?? Si UMNO member tu pulak, ular kenit ke, ular tak tentu arah ke, ataupun ular bisa in the making nak telan Ular Si Pak Lah?
written by aspiring blogger, January 03, 2009 17:21:55
Dear Pete "The Boss",
I agree with every single thing you wrote in your letter. However, I'm also a realist, and as one, I think itwas also merely wishful thinking. It would take nothing short of MANY miracles for all those to become reality.... and even if it was not wishful thinking, I think Pak Lah's pride (as a human being, he is after all a mere human being, like all of us) will not allow him to take your advice. Perhaps,if you had secretly written to him and him alone, a "FOR YOUR EYES ONLY" letter, then he might, just might take up some of your ideas, cos' no one else, save you and he, will know that those ideas were not his, and do MALAYSIA some good after all.
written by nincumpoop, January 06, 2009 09:49:29
Bravo Pete, wonderful letter..take the words out of my mouth..and mind you...you are not "cheong Hei' but just reminding him to defer the step-down.
Let's see what's next
written by rpremkumar2u, January 07, 2009 08:25:06
Dear Pete, Much has been written about Pak Lah's sojourn to the Zzzz Land whilst maintaining a vertical posture. I really think he ought to get it checked. He could be having excess blood glucose. Its a real health hazard if left unchecked and can harbor life threatening issue. Pak Lah is definitely being 'cajoled' to leave. One cannot be PM and sleep on the job, literally. I cannot help it but imagine his obvious successor assuring us that all is well come 2009 and even 2010. He is assuring us that the leak on the boat is only on one side and that he whilst helming the boat,is in an unsinkable position. Lim Keng Yaik and Chan Kong Choy were aware of the big wave, of a different form heading towards them and they jumped 'ship'; otherwise they would have had to bear the colossal dismal performance of election votes. Samy, true to his form stayed on but not long enough to snuff out his birthday candles. He is still belly aching as usual. Isn't it obvious that some have chosen to 'retire' on 'well deserved self serving' retirement plans? Now Pak Lah goes at an opportune moment when the country faces a fundamental Depression, leaving his heir to weather the storm with unrealistic assurances. Let the man retire with his ability to enjoy endorphins related pleasures with a comparatively good as new (recycled) spouse. Surely you wouldn't want him to literally sleep on that score too. After all his heir is touted to be full of libido and hardly sleeps on the job. He is all too anxious to helm a sinking ship.