Home arrow The Blogs arrow No Holds Barred arrow Opening the door to your heart

Opening the door to your heart PDF Print E-mail
Tuesday, 30 December 2008 10:35

In the run-up to the 8 March 2008 general election, PAS, PKR, DAP, PRM, MDP, PASOK and PSM endorsed the People’s Declaration or Deklarasi Rakyat, which was launched by the civil society movements at the Blog House in Bukit Damansara in Kuala Lumpur.

The title of my piece today is 'borrowed' from the book, ‘Opening the door to your heart’, by Ajahn Brahm, a Buddhist monk. In the first chapter of the book, called ‘Two bad bricks’, Ajahn talks about how he built his first wall. It is very difficult, of course, for one with no bricklaying experience, Ajahn lamented, and he challenged the readers to try building one. Nevertheless, he finally completed the wall and stepped back to admire his handiwork.

To his horror he noticed that two of the bricks were crooked and he felt these two ‘bad bricks’ spoiled the appearance of the wall. He then asked the abbot for permission to tear the wall down and to start all over again. The abbot, however, told him to leave it as it is. Since then Ajahn felt ashamed of his shoddy workmanship.

One day, a visitor visited their monastery and expressed admiration for how the monks had built it from scratch with their own hands and without any outside expert help. Ajahn pointed out that the monastery was actually far from perfect because one of the walls had two bad bricks. The visitor replied that he did not notice it because all he saw was the 998 good bricks, not the two bad ones.

It suddenly dawned upon Ajahn that all this while he was upset about the two bad bricks without noticing the 998 good ones. And to think he actually wanted to tear the wall down because of these two bad bricks while not realising he would be destroying 998 good bricks in the process.

Yes, many see half a glass of water as being half empty rather than half full. And that is also how we see people and situations. We only notice and become concerned about the two bad bricks while totally overlooking the 998 good ones.

And how do we see PAS (the Islamic Party of Malaysia)? Do we see it for the blunder that Husam Musa made during his recent debate with Khairy Jamaluddin or do we see the 998 good bricks in PAS? Husam blundered big time with his retort on Hudud -- thanks to the very clever Khairy who trapped Husam into a corner that resulted in the latter blurting out without thinking. Not only was Husam wrong in saying that Pakatan Rakyat has not dropped the Hudud issue, when it is PAS and not Pakatan Rakyat that is propagating Hudud, but he was also wrong in not repeating what he had said so many times in the past on the matter of Hudud and the Islamic State.

And what was it that Husam and many of the other PAS leaders said so many times in the past? They had said that while the Islamic State is still very much the ideal of the party, PAS, however, is prepared to drop it from their agenda as they realise they will never have the two-thirds majority in parliament to turn Malaysia into an Islamic State.

PAS is pragmatic. Without a doubt they are an Islamic party, so they can’t but talk about Islam. This must be expected just like how the Christian Democrats would never stop talking about Christianity or a Hindu party stop talking about Hinduism. But turning Malaysia into an Islamic State would be a tall order if you do not have at least 150 seats in Parliament. And, as has been pointed out many times in the past, how to get 150 seats when PAS contests only 60 seats and wins not even half those seats?

In other words, I would like to do it but will not because I just can’t do it. I suppose the same goes for many Muslims who would like to marry a second wife but will not because there is no way they can marry a second wife without their first wife skinning them alive -- and we are not talking about foreskin here. Wanting it in your heart but actually doing something about it is a separate matter altogether.

So, PAS has two bad bricks, maybe even ten. But there are one million PAS members, grass-root leaders and national leaders. Are we going to judge and sentence PAS because of two bad bricks, or even ten? Are we going to tear the wall down because of two bad bricks? What about the 998 good bricks, the one million other PAS members and leaders? Do these count for nothing?

Let us look at just some of the 998 ‘good bricks’ in PAS.

In 1990, when PAS first formed the government in Kelantan together with Semangat 46, Nik Aziz Nik Mat, the Menteri Besar, summoned the Hindus for a meeting and offered them permission to build a temple in the state. The Hindus were delightfully surprised. For more than a decade they had tried to get the Umno government to approve their request to build a temple but with little success. Suddenly, even before Nik Aziz could warm his seat, he summoned the Hindus for a meeting to grant them permission to build a temple -- even though they had not approached the new state government to ask for it.

In the past, pigs could not be slaughtered in ‘Umno’ Kelantan and pork had to be brought in from the other states. Now, under the new PAS-led government, the Chinese can slaughter pigs in the state.

Yesterday, the Umno-backed Malay NGOs sent PAS a petition protesting the slaughter of pigs in ‘Umno’ Melaka. Hello, why protest to PAS about what is going on in an ‘Umno’ state? And why does the PAS Youth Movement not also send a petition to Nik Aziz to protest the slaughtering of pigs in Kelantan since PAS is supposed to be more radical and intolerant than Umno?

Liquor and beer can still be purchased and consumed in Kelantan, contrary to what is being reported. (The same thing happened in Terengganu when PAS ruled the state from 1999 to 2004. Liquor and beer were not banned). Furthermore, the Chinese can now do business without any hindrance and they no longer need to pay bribes to get things done or approved like in the days of ‘Umno’ Kelantan.

And so on and so forth, the list goes on.

These are but some of the ‘happy stories’ that people relate and there are certainly many, many more. But people do not want to look at the 998 good bricks. They would rather focus on the two bad ones and keep harping on them till the cows come home.

Can we look at PAS’s 998 good bricks and then compare the party to Umno with its so many bad bricks? Sure, Umno does have some good bricks. The party is not 100% bad. But the Umno bad bricks far outnumber its good bricks and you need to use a fine toothcomb to look for these good bricks.

It appears like Hudud is the main and only issue for most to reject PAS. Actually, Hudud is not even an issue any longer. It was a stupid slip that Husam made and which the mainstream media is going to town with. But is life only and all about Hudud, a law which can never be implemented anyway? Surely there is more to life than just Hudud.

What about good governance, transparency, the independence of the judiciary, restoration of the rights of Malaysians, plus an end to corruption, racism, abuse of power, wastage of public funds, and much more? Are these no longer important? Do these 998 good bricks become irrelevant because of the two bad bricks, which were not really that bad in the first place but was a mere perception issue?

In the run-up to the 8 March 2008 general election, PAS, PKR, DAP, PRM, MDP, PASOK and PSM endorsed the People’s Declaration or Deklarasi Rakyat, which was launched by the civil society movements at the Blog House in Bukit Damansara in Kuala Lumpur. These are the 998 good bricks that we should focus on. These 998 good bricks overshadow the two bad bricks -- the blunder Husam made in his debate with Khairy.

Maybe during the Kuala Terengganu by-election campaign PAS should reiterate its stand and reinforce its support for the People’s Declaration. Let the voters, in particular the Chinese, Indians and liberal Malays, see that PAS is committed to reforms and to the propagation of a civil society (masyarakat madani). PAS needs a makeover. It is suffering from a serious image problem. And it is a victim of mainstream media propaganda. PAS needs to correct public perception about what it stands for.

I challenge PAS to prove its critics wrong. Re-endorse the People’s Declaration and prove, once and for all, that a civil society and not the cutting off the hands of thieves is the priority of the party. In response to the move by PAS to, again, endorse the People’s Declaration, the civil society movements, even those whom PAS labels as ‘deviant Muslims’, will go down to the ground to explain the issue to the voters. This, we promise PAS.

I can assure you of one thing. Even those who are not Muslims plus those, Muslims and non-Muslims alike, who are opposed to the setting up of an Islamic State and Hudud will be campaigning for PAS in the Kuala Terengganu by-election. Re-endorse the People’s Declaration and see whether this happens or not.

Comments (67)Add Comment
written by peacemaker, December 30, 2008 10:49:55
i'm a Malaysian chinese and i support PAS's 998 good bricks and there are still many good bricks in PKR and DAP as well. I fully support Peoples's Declaration that Pakatan Rakyat endorsed earlier.
agree 356
written by Bentoh, December 30, 2008 11:05:14
PAS, DAP, PKR, PRM, PSM, PASOK and MDP endorsed the people's declaration. None of them are quite walking their talks which bring to the point that it's easy to endorse and just endorse without actually doing it. PSM has a parliamentarian but is seen mostly affliated to PKR. MDP also has a parliamentarian but he identified himself as PKR MP which makes you wonder if MDP exists. I think it's time to ask these parties to really tell us How are they going to make the people's declaration REAL.point to point.
disagree 58
written by Zym Zym, December 30, 2008 11:13:36

I truly respect you for taking your time to read Ajahn BRAHM's (Buddhist, Roman Catholic, Anglican, Hindu and Muslim) writing of the 2 bad bricks and share it with us. If only all of our Muslim brethrens are as open-minded and tolerance as you are, Malaysia could have been a better country to live in. I'm reconsidering my stance of not voting for PAS.
agree 216
written by Democrats, December 30, 2008 11:15:34
Tok Guru himself is worth 500 good bricks. I support PAS 100%, even its bad bricks, as i do not beleive there is anythings such as perfection.

I also like UMNO's 998 bad bricks. It really makes PR's wall look like a fortress compare to their own fragile shack.
agree 158
written by clarity, December 30, 2008 11:24:18
Go for it, PAS. We are all behind you. Fifty years of corruption is enough. At least we all know you are hoest. Vote for PAS. Yahoo!
agree 125
written by savemalaysia, December 30, 2008 11:25:10
PAS is a wall with 998 good bricks and two bad ones but UMNO is a wall with 1,000 bad bricks. I am a Chinese and let me tell all Malaysians that PAS openly declares that it's an Islamic party, at least it is honest about it. Naturally PAS is pro Islam but PAS doesn't segregate, hypocriticial, autocratic and indulge in heinuous crimes and corruption unlike UMNO. Worse come to worse, I prefer to deal with the devil (PAS) I know than the devil (UMNO) that I don't.

So all you KT people, vote for PAS who at least shows its honesty and caring attitude and reject UMNO, the party that fleece you of wang ehsan, spend millions on the Monsoon Cup but not on the development of Terengganu, buy Mercedes to show off instead of spending on the poor.
agree 135
written by Zapper, December 30, 2008 11:29:39
I am 100% ageeable to RPK. Most of us like to see perfection in others but chooses to ignore their own faults. We are too quick to judge and critical over trival issues and losing sight of the the big picture in the process.
written by ahmadneil, December 30, 2008 11:35:19
What about the decaying bricks of umno/BN!These bricks made all the Malaysian bricks look bad becos it's rotten liquid smear all the good ones.
written by cahaya, December 30, 2008 11:40:19
What an inspiring article! The People’s Declaration has been a labour of love. Let us open the door to our hearts and show everyone our love for God, the country of Malaysia and all its people.

The documents are lengthy, but please take the time to read and understand them. You can download a copy at this website:

http://harismibrahim.wordpress...claration/

Please tell your family and friends about The People’s Declaration.
written by krising1, December 30, 2008 11:42:19
Even if PAS has 500 bad bricks, they will be my choice against any BN candidate! IN my life time, I want to see BN consigned to the dust bin of history. At 65 years, there isn't much of a life time!
written by Rainbowseahorse, December 30, 2008 11:44:35
Why demolish the whole wall just to get rid of those 2 bad bricks?
If they are such an eyesore, hack out these 2 bricks and replace them pronto!smilies/grin.gif
written by malaysianohope, December 30, 2008 11:46:08
Hear Hear! Abang is now in the thick of campaigning... using an unusual analogy of 2 bad bricks as against 998 good ones.
To my KT Chinese friends at least PAS is upfront about their idealogy which is expected coming from an Islamic party but Abang has already said so many times 'Hudud" will not be implemented even if PAS wanted it given the status quo. So show us that you have the fortitude, vote out the bastards and give C4 the marching orders.
written by sorosapril, December 30, 2008 11:58:58
RPK, I see that you alway support the good works done by PAS, yes PAS did a lot of good things in Kelantan, and I hope since you are close with those in PAS, can you please pass this message to them-- tell them instead of open their mouth every thing ISLAMIC, why can't they just promote what you said and I quote --What about good governance, transparency, the independence of the judiciary, restoration of the rights of Malaysians, plus an end to corruption, racism, abuse of power, wastage of public funds, and much more?- unquote.

Knowing very well people in Malaysia are very sensitive where religion and race are concerned, so for politicians who are sincere in governing a country, all PAS need to do is to say how they want to govern the country, i.e. just, trasparent and so on and cut off the word ISLAMIC or whatever they are so used to say, why want to bring religion or race into governing?

We are not selling a product here, so don't use the word HUDUD or ISLAMIC or whatever like talking about branding!!!
written by KingSolomon, December 30, 2008 12:02:14
I respect Tok Guru Nik Aziz for everything he stands for, except his wisdom on implementation of the hudud laws.

I had expected that him to have the wisdom not to support these controversial laws since he already knew that the majority of parliamentarians and citizens are against them. He ought to understand that a law that puts fear in an honest person is a bad law.

Tok Guru is a good man and a good leader.
written by Rhan, December 30, 2008 12:09:57
But we have a duty to tell PAS which two pieces of brick is bad brick and we will continue to do so. Here we say again, Hudud law doesn’t make sense in a multi-racial and multi-religion nation. I hope the Malay is wise enough to reject PAS.
disagree 75
written by Janaka, December 30, 2008 12:15:10
I am surprise that you do REad Buddhist Monk's books? What a nice surprises! As for me I read all kind of books included all major religions in this world! I do realize Ajahn Brahm's books are one of the best way to understand what life is all about. I am fully agree with you 101%. Many of us EXPECTED PERFECTION on OTHERs! while we ourselves is not perfect at all. How on earth is this? When we look for marriage partner, we also look for perfect SOUL MATE!!! How on earth will the perfect SOUL MATE accept us when we are far from the "PERFECT" ..Pete Thanks for the lovely understanding enlightening articles. I will try to get this book asap. Keep it up and keep it rocking it up as well. btw Tok Guru is one of the most humble man that I know of.
written by johntyc, December 30, 2008 12:29:17
Even with 499 bad bricks and 501 good bricks in PAS, I still vote for PAS because compared to Umno's 99? bad bricks and just a few good bricks, it would be silly if I vote for Umno.

Kuala Terengganu, undilah PAS. smilies/smiley.gif
written by Milo, December 30, 2008 12:40:49
YB RPK,

If I may, allow me to complete the picture for you.

Indeed, it is because there are "998" good bricks (to borrow your analogy) in the Pakatan Wall that I still support voting for PAS in KT despite their often blunderous statements. And it is true that many of these "998" bricks belongs to PAS of which Tok Nik Aziz must be considered be one of the highest quality bricks there because of his morals. However, much as it is painful to say so (especially at this critical hour with the by-election), the chief reason why supporter like me stated our critisism against PAS so strongly is because what we have is not 2 "bad bricks", but 2 "time bombs"!

To outsider like us, the Hudud and the Islamic State concept are the "time bombs"! Each time PAS states their Islamic stand, they send the clock ticking. We have seen how these "time bombs" have exploded in the Islamic community since the period after Prophet Mohammad and in the process destroyed BOTH those who own the "bombs" as well as those living around them. Islam has not been able to recover from those golden years since, have they? Why? Because there still muslims who are setting the clock ticking today. They are both exploding (with the outside world) and imploding (e.g. Shia v Sunni). No one can stop them, why? Because Muslims feel that "outsiders" should interfere. Sounds familiar?

Now, back closer to home. UMNO and the Alliance parties(as you pointed out many times)too have "998" good bricks at one time. But because no one was able (or have the courage or sufficient ability) to stop them when the UMNO time bombs send the clock ticking, it finally exploded and imploded in 8 March. Why can't the leaders of of UMNO (including strong leaders like TDM) stop the rot in BN? It is because the non-muslim leaders of the other component parties, opposition parties (e.g. DAP) and non-political leaders CANNOT INTERFERE in Islamic affairs! "Insiders" (muslims) who can see the danger are TOO SMALL in numbers to stop the tide and some even got themselves "killed" along the way. Look what happen to you and Zaid Ibrahim when the both of you tried?

So all the statements against PAS is not about Ccomplaining about perfection for there never will be; it is about stopping the clock from ticking or reversing it so as to prevent future explosions in Malaysia. The potential impact of implosions are for the MUSLIMS alone to care; the explosions are for EVERYONE to be concern with. Hence, it is their right to interfere despite being "outsiders". From the comments I read, I don't think many people get it yet!
disagree 21
written by wartank, December 30, 2008 12:41:44
We should not be nit-picking as nobody's perfect but always weigh the pros and cons before concluding.
Then, do we we want things to remain or do we want change?
As a non-muslim, I'll still go for a more truthful, honest, straight-foward and transparent govt rather than one that is corrupt, deceitful, racist, arrogant and wasteful anyday.
I'm comparing PAS to UMNO, if you know which is which..
written by Motherchell, December 30, 2008 12:45:24
In the same logic of half door open -half door closed. UMNO had closed many doors with the way they demonised PAS . Mar 8 has brought about that 998 bricks of a wonderful good foundation that PR should make full use to their advantage.

Digging into the points to ponder to give that stand for the benifit of the people who have been warped into despair for so long. This!! PAS must adhere! and i im confident they will ride this wave foams once and for all and stand to be strong at KT. I wish them the best ! We the people know who you are -- you are good for us .You are good for PR. So pl give UMNO a blow into history!
http://sjsandteam.wordpress.com/
written by AngryTaxpayer, December 30, 2008 12:56:44
As far as I'm concerned...no trap laid by the SIL or his friends in UMNO/BN will ever change my support for Pakatan Rakyat.
written by Milo, December 30, 2008 12:58:36
Of course, I am not blind to the fact that there are also many time bombs in the secular world. As with the 2 bad bricks analogy, it is not a perfect world we live in. In Malaysia, the ISA is a good example.

Despite equally having flaws, the chief reasons why non-muslims can easily accept secular civil laws is because of its neutrality in dealing with issues and there are mechanism for correction if the any of the laws are flawed. Wrongdoers are punished based on standards that are generally accepted standards set by society, not by a set of laws that is biased towards a particular religion. In addition, Islamic laws not only have many unacceptable tenets to non-muslims and modern society, they CANNOT be changed no matter how flawed they are in reality (because they are perfect in the eyes of muslims)!

If there are any open-minded PAS leaders at all, I am sure they can get my point.
written by Milo, December 30, 2008 13:01:18
Correction: Because Muslims feel that "outsiders" should NOT interfere.
written by ASK4u, December 30, 2008 13:05:17
I think PAS makes many political slurs which shows politically immaturity (well it's inevitable because they are simple minded people) but they are actually good at heart. Whatever RPK mentioned about PAS and kelantan is true. There are also non-Malay "penghulus" in Kelantan. BeAnn is just the direct opposite (180 deg). Only sweet talk followed by disastrous action or inaction at best. "Thick face, black Heart" discribes BeAnn aptly. Probabaly, the only mistake Husam made was to engage a debate with the sly, cunning opportunist KJ. Didn't their parents teach them to stay away from bad people. Anyway, my vote will go for PAS, with or without Hudud, because BeAnn's venom is more deadly and disastrous for future generations than "missing limbs".
written by Milo, December 30, 2008 13:08:58
Why do we support Pakatan? Because there are flaws and "time bombs" in our system that the current BN government is either too impotent or to indifference to correct. But in supporting, we must never be lured into a sense of complacency that blind us to see the dangerous flaws within the party we support. In the long-term, we want a permanent choice provided by a two-party system. So much as we dislike the BN for what they have done, we are not here to destroy them. Otherwise, all our struggle will be in vain.
written by arnab76, December 30, 2008 13:33:53
PAS PAS PAS...here we come...

The silent majority is praying of the collapsed of BN. As I have heard, 2 pillars will come down.....One pillar is already down - ( Badawi )next will be down soon after March....

Its two pillars.....Malaysia will have a change when this 2 pillars is down...thats the Godly news.......
written by sampalee, December 30, 2008 13:51:03
I was there on that historic occasion and witness PAS endorsed the people's Declaration.Long live PAS.
written by asguard, December 30, 2008 14:07:32
RPK words is simple...don't just look at two or three bad bricks but look at it what is has done good... this apply to all opposition party ...
written by coolandy, December 30, 2008 14:43:05
With UMNO, it is 2 good bricks and 998 bad bricks. Same with MCA, MIC, GERAKAN and other BN components.
written by Ben, December 30, 2008 14:43:54
Boss, I tried to solve the problem above by googling but to no avail. So I went to ask the expert brick layer in a housing project. Incidentally, he is an Indonesian residing here for more than 15 years.

So he says if you lay the bricks incorrectly which his new apprentices sometimes do, he just chips at it until the facade is even. So PAS, likewise, needs to chip away at their weak link and bring them into shape. Any gomen or political party is as strong as their weakest link.

Husam has made a double bad judgment call played to the hilt by current gomen. Maybe Sheih has helped to build his ego and image up too fast. It is obvious he is not ready to swim with crocodiles.
written by pinsysu, December 30, 2008 15:07:59
well, it depends on wat u equate da 2 bad bricks to. if these are 2 aching teeth in ur mouth den ur whole world sort of come to a standstill; u can't eat, u can't sleep, u can't tink, u can't tok & juz abt everything will irritate da hell out of u. if these are 2 drops of rat shits dat dropped into ur perfectly brewed broth den u hv a pot of completely spoilt broth. if these are juz 2 unsightly warts den u can probably ignore them. but beware of da saying: an unruly horse jeopardising da safety of da whole herd ... be warned.
written by Angela Ooi, December 30, 2008 15:33:07
Dear Raja Petra, thank you for reminding those doubting Thomases regards PAS's hudud issue. Now let's put our shoulders to the wheel and on on to KT.

written by kksam, December 30, 2008 16:56:27
I went to the Mansuhkan ISA talk last night at BBB. Half way there's this Pewaris who demo outside, but they are such stupid, wear shirt said YES TO ISA, but hand memorandum said mansuhkan pig farms. All inside the halls laugh like no tomorrows, only those moron can act like that, now even kampung folks also know the BN antics.
http://kkitsam.wordpress.com/
written by sueteh, December 30, 2008 17:06:21
Let us not assume about the Hudud laws ok..do not simply say you support PAS or implementing Hudud laws. It is because we have never tried yet to live under the Hudud laws. If we cannot even live together as Malaysian regardless race and religion, do not even talk about Hudud laws..Belum Cuba Belum Tahu.

written by sueteh, December 30, 2008 17:12:57
Religion has always brings out the best and worst of human actions and deliberations. Can and cannot live without relgion. Cakap pasai..batu bata (bricks)..the multi racial/cultural Malaysian races cannot even cement together, what more having Hudud laws..I believe having Hudud laws will be very trying for the non Muslims..I dunno..ask some of them living in Kelantan, boleh accept kah, boleh tahan kah? Peoples in Selangor/Penang will be very hard to adjust. Imagine..no more clubbing (business tutup)..Hard Rock Cafe owned by this Malay guy..forgot his name but look very gatal type. No more arak/beer, Genting Highland shut down casinos..(Genting shares habis lah), good thing would be hopefully less crime..(robbery, rape, not sure about this either). By 730pm..sembahyang Maghrib..semuanya quiet down. All go home and watch tv.
written by hellosunshine, December 30, 2008 17:45:35
RPK, I've always had a suspicion on your allegiance to PAS since you were an ex-member. I'm sorry I can't help being suspicious of your hidden agenda when you keep harping on the improbability of PAS getting 150 seats in Parliament..
You argue that PAS cannot get the 150 seats in parliament to change to hudud and Islamic state, how about PAS having secret talks with UMNO recently to form an alliance? That'll be more than 150 seats, don't you think? I respect Tok Guru very much as he's truly a man of principle but I do not trust the others who had acted in bad faith. The objections to PKNS' Mdm Low, to concerts etc to name a few.
Unfortunately, these few bad bricks are in power in PAS and they call the shots while the majority of the other good bricks are just blind followers.
disagree 16
written by DontPlayGod, December 30, 2008 18:41:07
As far as I am concerned, and whether we like it or not, it's only a matter of time that Malaysia will be a full-fledged Islamic state, with hudud, etc. as the core of the Government policies.

We non-Muslims can talk openly against it for the present, but for how long?
written by carribeanking7, December 30, 2008 19:09:48
It was said several times by various writers on the blogosphere that when UMNO fails at inflaming racial issues they will start using religion to create disunity.

It appears that irrational fears make some think that PAS can garner the requisite minimum 148 lawmakers to ratify hudud.
In the miraculous event that PAS (23) had convinced UMNO (79)into a secret pact, and a further miracle that ALL their members agree, that would only be 102 lawmakers.
Not only will hudud not get ratified, UMNO will be cooked goose as all BN component parties will pull out, PAS will also suffer in the next election as many non muslims will withdraw support dwindling current 23 seats to only a dozen or so.
It would be mutual suicide for both parties who in the first place combined dont have the numbers to pull it off.

Let me put it in perspective-
Lets assume that there is a remote 1 in 100,000 chance nuclear missile will strike the vicinity of your home, at the same time there is credible info to say that your home has a 7 in 10 chance of being hit by floods.
You instead out of your irrational fear build a nuclear shelter but dont do anything about flood mitigation.
You would be rightly called crazy if not worse names.

I simply cannot believe that some commentators here are falling for the MSM spin.

No less than Khalid Samad has said in the Harakah that it was a faux pas by Husam who had no mandate to speak for the entire Pakatan alliance.
To those who have not buy a copy of the Harakah to get PAS side of the story.
Incidentally the Harakah has an English section with quality thought provoking articles that surpass that of the MSM anytime.
No, I am not paid to say this by the Harakah marketing team.

So instead of becoming chicken littles and crying the sky is falling, we should be putting pressure to repeal the ISA, seditions act, and various other arcane and patently unfair acts....some that the general public are unaware of....some that are scarier than the hudud in principle.

And to those who are threatening not to vote PAS, come next elections, please note that without PAS it will not be possible to deny BN two thirds majority.
UMNO will love you for it.
Think about that.

written by AhLiew, December 30, 2008 19:16:49
Excellent work dear Pete!
Wish someone can help to pass the message to Kuala Trengganu.
written by HeeHaw, December 30, 2008 19:40:28
Well written indeed,Pete. PAS suffers from the occassional bout of foot-in-mouth disease,where its' leaders say politically-silly things, but when it comes to actual deeds their actions have invariably been good and commendable.

Most non-Muslims are wary and even somewhat afraid of PAS' Islamic agenda, but almost all Malaysians have family/friends who are in their own way conservative and 'overly' religious too, so we are not destroyed by such religious talk: what we judge upon is how such conservative thinkers deal with real-life situations, and frankly, for whatever Islamist talk PAS does, its' fairness towards other races and religions is highly commendable and appreciated. This is a reality that the stupid UMNO/BN people cannot understand: PAS has, despite whatever is said by anybody, NEVER done one single bad thing to any non-Muslim, while UMNO/BN has time and again arrogantly attacked other cultures and religions (e.g in destroying Hindu temples, brandishing keris against Chinese).

Non-Malays are not stupid, nor are they ungrateful. PAS will therefore get a solid 100% non-Malay support in this election.
written by michaelT, December 30, 2008 20:12:59
I hold RPK with high esteem for the mentioning of Ajahn Brahmavamso book. Ajahn was here for 8 days last week and his nightly deliverence cover topics like: Mindfulness, Energy, Joy, tranquility Concentration and Equanimity. He also talk on How to counter the Global economic turbulence. It was full house with people of different walk of life. I urge people to hear him the next visit for a richer understanding of Harmony Peace and Happiness.
written by sonofmalaysia, December 30, 2008 20:23:47
Calling the PAS leadership, pls for the sake of the future of Malaysia, do what RPK has said, re-affirm the People Declaration !!

It is such a fortunate thing we have RPK who put things in the right perpective and clear the dark cloud ! I am sure many ppl in KT will be in anguish when the time come to crossing the ballot paper, if this dark cloud is not cleared up. Now with this cleared up, ppl of KT, and all those who feel passionatley for our country, go all out , show no mercy for the mafia, lanuns, bandits, maggots, crooks , thieves, con-men , bury them !!

Do it for the children of Malaysia !!
written by Eskay Lim, December 30, 2008 21:07:40
YES, the PAS leadership should seriously make an effort to re-endorse the People's Declaration and we will definitely see a repeat of the Permatang Pauh election results.

And to hellosunshine,
You can rest assured that the Umno-warlords will never, never, never dare to support an alliance with PAS on this Hudud Law issue, less the 98 of them being bad-bricks may have to end their political careers minus a limb or two.
written by Semut Jantan, December 30, 2008 22:03:57
Those so called good bricks in UMNO are in the walls encircling the Jamban.

Abang RPK, you are too stingy when you said there are about two to ten good bricks in UMNO; I will put the numbers at twelve to fifteen.

Correction: Now that Datuk Zaid was out of UMNO, I will put the numbers at eleven to fourteen.

Also, abang RPK, you are too generous in calling the other 998 bricks in UMNO, bricks. I think they are more like straws, made with cow dungs.
written by chiongguo, December 30, 2008 23:07:31
It is quite interesting to note that only the non-muslims in BN who had issued threats and silly challenges to the non-muslims in PR to make their stand clear. Why are the muslims in BN so quiet....like a church mouse ?

written by hellosunshine, December 30, 2008 23:08:25
"PAS has, despite whatever is said by anybody, NEVER done one single bad thing to any non-Muslim"

Excuse me, heehaw but I beg to differ. I can easily name not one but two bad things. Have you so easily forgotten Ms Low of PKNS? How about the PAS demo to ban the female foreign artistes from performing here?
written by chiongguo, December 30, 2008 23:12:52
Opening the door to your heart

The heart do not have a door. It had always been opened - it is the natural state of being. The chinese word for happiness is "hai sin" or open heart. Normal mortals have their hearts covered up by delusions, by greed, by fear, by hatred and whatever views and perceptions we allow into our mind. Guard your mind first and the heart will take care of itself.

Btw. Ajahn Brahm was an idiot smilies/grin.gif. Ajahn Chah would turn in his grave 8-).

disagree 20
written by apa jadi, December 31, 2008 01:24:46
RPK, another gem to open the door of people's heart. The next moment you may be accused of going astray into Buddhism....hehehe.....

This world will be in a state of harmony if everyone do not shut the door to their hearts. This is the essence of buddhism. Buddhism has no virgins waiting for the martyrs, but a willing heart to give and forgive.

But then when we look at the human side, there is a Chinese adage that says "if the upper strut is not straight, the lower strut will be distorted". This is the predicament we are in under the BN rules. On the PAS side, we cannot just look at Husam and Hadi as the 2 bad bricks out of the 100 or so good bricks. They form the strut to the structure.

So for people to choose to live in such a house, he/she has to make a choice to see if the strut is putting a strain to the structure or not. There is no right or wrong, but personal choice.

My choice is still take them for the time being until we see the strut starting to crumble.
written by Spear Bing, December 31, 2008 02:47:41
Dear Zym Zym,

You are very crude and vulgar. The next time before you pen such expression, think of not putting MT in such a distasteful mode.
written by teohchye, December 31, 2008 07:59:23
What a wonderful piece from RPK! Most people will agree with me that a great number of non-Muslim Malaysians generally possess negative views of Islam; maybe because all these years the political leaders have been behaving in such a manner as to project that image about it. Having read the numerous articles on Islam by RPK, both positive and negative ones, I have now a greater understanding for the religion and develop a greater respect for it. You are an exemplary Muslim and a great Malaysian, YM Raja Petra Kamarudin.
written by DontPlayGod, December 31, 2008 09:53:45
Yes, PAS, being an Islamic party, will always stress on Islam, etc., but why can't PAS stress also on good governance, equal opportunities, non-racist approach to government policies, an independent judiciary, a corruption-free government, re-drawing constituencies to reflect the population of each area, instead of basing them on race, tender system for projects so that corruption is removed from such procurement practices, instead of the present mother-of-all corruption "negotiated tenders", etc. etc. Arent' all these in line with Islamic principles, too?
written by DezMalaysia, December 31, 2008 10:00:15
BOYCOTT "The Star", Utusan, NST & China Press ! Malaysia's Greatest Spin doctors

VOTE | PAS | X | !
written by Milo, December 31, 2008 10:17:01
DontPlayGod got the main point right. PAS is too much on displaying the Islamic Brand; not enough demonstration of why people should choose that Brand. Let's hope PAS can modify their approach after winning the KT.
written by Almighty, December 31, 2008 11:11:20
Very well said, RPK. I support PR because of their 998 good bricks. I dislike BN because of their 998 bad bricks.

NO to ISA = VOTE FOR PAS
written by unomalaysia, December 31, 2008 11:33:52
That is why I will remain a PR voter as I see the 998 good bricks. In any election I will vote PAS over amno any time, any day, even if PAS put up a monkey as the candidate as I think a PAS monkey is far better than an amno man, any time, any day.
written by Rozlan, December 31, 2008 12:52:34
well there are still many non malays who felt PAS was more devil than UMNO despite after more than 50 years of its formation,it did nothing to hurt or discriminated non malays..
written by Spear Bing, December 31, 2008 12:59:29
To MT admin:

Perhaps you are not aware that the comments of "Zym Zym" and "Sueteh" are extremely profane and vulgar. You should delete their comments from the MT blogsite or issue them a warning that freedom of speech and expression does not entitle them to stoop so low in their mentality for blarring such vulgar remarks.

Such commentators are reflections on their inability to appreciate the generosity of the owners of MT in extending them the platform to express on the healthy level of decorum and sobriety.

If this continues unabated, MT will lose its popular image and be shunned by the majority of the readers.
written by Jit Dharma, December 31, 2008 13:01:30
Bro. RPK, thanks for this clear and truthful explanation.
PAS, is an Islamic Party. So it is no surprise that it
wants to implement Islamic Law. That is consistant with
it's foundations. But it accepts that it is not possible
to implement it fully in Malaysia and that the applicable
parts are only binding on Muslims.
More importantly, it is a part of the only political
coalition capable of ending the one-party tyranny of
the Barisan Nasional and ushering in a new Malaysia.
So let's not nit-pick and let's throw our full support
behind them in our bid to change this country for good.
written by admiral Tojo, December 31, 2008 13:09:19
Vote PAS in Trengganu, this coming by election, if the endorse the People's Declaration, as they did in March. UMNO and its BN cohorts have shunned the People's Declaration big time. I will be one of them who will come to the ground to campaign for PAS, provided they again endorse THE PEOPLE'S DECLARATION.

PAS over to you.

Salaam
written by mikewang, December 31, 2008 18:04:52
There cannot be a good brick in UMNO.
Like Zaid, all of them must leave UMNO.
written by ChiangKT, January 01, 2009 04:44:06
Pete, I am heartened to see not only that you borrow the title from a Buddhist monk's book, but are also open to share it in your blog. I have no doubt in mind who will be ruling the country after next election. What is more remarkable is your effort in getting Malaysians to be more aware of politics and what are happening in Malaysia as well. Not that long ago Chinese Malaysians, alongside with other ethnic minorities, have almost submitted to the fate of becoming 2nd class citizen in Malaysia under UMNO, and concluded that by and large those involve in politics are in it for the money. But not anymore, and Malaysians are more actively participating in politics than at any point in time in Malaysia's short history. Despite the financial crisis, year 2008 has given a lot of hope to people around the world, Malaysians in particular, with the March election results and Barack Obama becoming the president of United States. Reforms in Malaysia is long due. Whilst we campaign for PAS in this by-election, people need to understand that we campaign not out of hate in UMNO. As responsible citizens, we campaign, and vote, for PAS because of their commitment to People's declaration. Emotions tend to run high at the time of turmoil, so we need to vote wisely, and not make it easy for any party, including all PKR member parties, otherwise voters will be taken for granted, and everything repeats itself. Be wise, and not just blindly follow.
written by Dreamlander, January 01, 2009 11:53:27
Malaysian is right next to INDONESIA, populated by the world's largest number (196 million) of Muslim converts.
We do not often hear or read much about:
(1)Religious Issues because Pancasila, the State Ideology, subscribes to One True God (TUHAN not Allah)
(2)Racially Biased Articles because its first President, Soekarno has the foresight to dictate that its non-indigenous citizens take up indigenous sounding names (this same rules applies to most of our ASEAN neighbours in Cambodia, Laos, Myanmar, the Philippines, Thailand & Vietnam)
(3)Racial Discrimination because the Indonesian House of Representatives has unanimously passed a bill that regards ethnic and racial discrimination as serious crimes in October 2008.
Why can't we observe and learn from them? Just compare the TV programs between an Indonesian and a Malaysian channel to realize the difference.
written by ROBERTNGTG, January 02, 2009 12:11:52
Can we look at PAS’s 998 good bricks and then compare the party to Umno with its so many bad bricks? Sure, Umno does have some good bricks. The party is not 100% bad. But the Umno bad bricks far outnumber its good bricks and you need to use a fine toothcomb to look for these good bricks.

RPK, AGAIN YOU COME TO THE RESCUE. I AGREE THERE ARE MANY DUNGGU CHINESE WHO ARE SO EASILY CONNED OR BLINDED BY THE BEEND'S SPIN MEDIA. DONT WORRY AS I ONLY SUPPORT ANY MOON - BLUE OR GREEN OR EVEN A ROCKET ORBITING AROUND.
written by rainmanpj, January 02, 2009 21:01:23
You are truly amazing considering you are from royal blood which are supposed to be more "muslim' than all those hypocrite ( correct spelling ?).
By quoting from non islamic book , looks like you are truly across-religion
guy.
I read a lot of bible during my primary years but never cross my mind to read any thing about the Koran.
You have my vote wherever you are.

Pity we do not have more of you , else you could form a party.
written by kclim2, January 03, 2009 18:54:58
I am a chinese and a christian and would urge my fellows to vote for PAS as they are fair to all races and not corrupt like those UMNO monkeys
written by CatV5, January 04, 2009 11:32:35
Lol just vote the opposition from the ruling party no matter what. Aim for the change of government.. simple... what the fuss then voters? Hudud or not... DAP and Keadilan is there to balance out...
written by VIPER, January 05, 2009 15:52:48
Well said bro.