Home arrow The Blogs arrow Letters/Surat arrow For Our Citizen Patients, Not for Profits

For Our Citizen Patients, Not for Profits PDF Print
Monday, 29 December 2008 16:20

The study to privatise public heath care services and hospitals by the government began in the late 80's and it came into the open when the 7th Malaysia plan was unveiled. There were 12 major entities/projects earmarked for privatisation and 8 for corporatisation (*see list below). One of the eight were Hospitals.

Apparently the government had studied many health care systems in the world but could not find any system that fit what the government is looking for until today. This is because no where in the world that we can find a system that completely divorce the government from the responsibility to provide health care coverage to all its citizens.

Even in Britain where privatisation was the main political trust during the heydays of Margaret Thatcher's administration, health care surprisingly still remains within the realm of socialised medicine. Many hospitals are still own and operated by the government.

In Canada, although most of the hospitals are private own, provincial governments get block grants from the federal government to cover every patient with the same package of benefits to ensure universal and comprehensive coverage. Thus what Canada is practising is socialised insurance and Britain, socialised medicine. 1

After all the studies made by the government in the 80's to privatise hospitals, the only solution that it is able to come out is, instead of privatisation, it opts for corporatisation. Even then, the issue of corporatisation is yet to be debated and many still do not know its form and function let alone answer the nagging question whether sufficient long term safeguards to protect the poor are built into it.

The haste to corporatise stands as a hallmark of the government to renegade from the responsibility to provide universal health care for the people. The crux of the question is not whether corporatisation in its initial form has sufficient safeguards, but will these safeguards be sustained indefinitely without falling prey to the 'slippery slope' principle which would begin to operate when cost escalates.

According to this principle, the involvement of the government in the corporatised health care system would surely and slowly shrink and in the end slips into a state where the government is totally divorced from it. Inevitably corporatised health care would transformed into privatised entities. This had unshamefully happened to INSTITUT JANTUNG NEGARA

Sad to say, the slippery slope principle has already begun even before corporatisation. According to the then Director-General of Health Tan Sri Dr Abu Bakar Suleiman, the cost of health services would inevitably rise once government hospitals were corporatised and the government which spent RM4 billion a year on health care could "not afford to subsidise fees as is being practised now." 2

We do not need to corporatise or privatise our hospitals on the account that it is too expensive to maintain. The policy makers must be enlightened to the fact that Malaysia is not burdened with the kind of social security (e.g., unemployment security, old age pension and etc) or with a comprehensive health care safety net that we see exist in Western Countries.

Western Countries spent around 10 percent of their GDP for their health care services, Malaysia only spent 2.30 percent of its GDP on health care services. According to Dr. Chan Chee Khoon, "the health care expenditures has been declining, from 3.53 percent of GDP in 1980 to 2.30 percent in 1995, well below the WHO recommended norm of 5 percent." 3

The policy makers are fond of arguing, in fact, too liberally that the government had allocated too large a sum on health care services and could not continue doing so. To dominate societal thinking with this argument is morally wrong. Must we devalue public health care on the account of this or let ringgit and sen to dictate the accessibility to health care?

Conspicuously if one supports the issue of privatisation of government hospitals in Malaysia, one must be prepared to face the immoral issue of having thousands of poor common people excluded from proper medical care. Needless to say that it is like withholding medicine to those who cannot afford and it is likened to the practise of Passive Euthanasia.

The government had privatised a few of its services namely, hospital equipment and facilities maintenance, laundry and clinical waste disposal but instead of decreasing operational cost, it increases to five times as much. (Sun 20-6-1999)

The American example offers the best indicator of a privatised health care merits and demerits.

In the first instance, private health care in the United States is more expensive to maintain then that of the government, for an example:

Americans paid the 1.500 private insurance companies $241.5 billion for premiums during 1991. Those companies paid out $209.2 billion in benefits. The remaining $32.3 billion, more than 13 percent of every premium dollar, went for overhead - claims processing, marketing, building and furnishing insurance company offices, executive's salaries, and, of course, perks and profits. In contrast, Medicare spent about 2 percent on administration , and Canada's public insurance system pays less than 1 cent of each premium dollar to insurance overhead. 4

Furthermore, according to the Rand study which concluded that "free care would avert 106,00 deaths per year." 5 In 1987, the National Medical Expenditure Survey found "that a million Americans who needed emergency attention never got it." 6 An increasing proportion of Americans are "avoiding care because of cost - up from 27 percent in 1981 to 36 percent in 1987." 7

According to the National Health Interview Survey, about one-third of all Americans are either uninsured or underinsured. "Many of them face grave difficulties getting needed care, and they are sicker and die younger because of this poor access." 8

In his paper, Privatisation and the heath care sector - Re-negotiating the Social Contract, Dr. Chan Chee Koon, brought the question of inaccessibility of the poor to reasonable good health care: one is reminded that the Longwood Medical Area in Boston, home to some of the most sophisticated medical technologies at the Harvard Medical school and its affiliated hospitals, exists cheek by jowl with the Roxbury neighbourhood, a deplorable urban ghetto reputedly having one of the highest infant mortality rates in the North Eastern United States.

During the early 70's when the American health care policy shifted to cutting costs:

private insurers raised deductibles and co-payments, expanded exclusions from coverage (e.g., refusing to pay for "pre-existing" conditions), and intensified efforts to avoid insuring people with high risk of illness. State governments threw people off Medicaid rolls and reduced coverage.

While these policies have not contained costs, their toll has been high in terms of restrictions on care and inequalities in health. Decades of improvement in health standards have been halted, and in many instances, reversed. 9

Thus when the government dabbles with the idea of privatising or corporatising public hospitals, it must first prepare to discard the very universal principle which is part and parcel of our moral values that if a person should die from an illness, it is because there is no cure rather than the fact that he or she has no money.

If somehow this universal principle applies, then privatisation and corporatisation of health care services and public hospitals should not have any place in our society.

Morally the government had spent an enormous sum of public fund through the years to build these hospitals and health facilities. How can the government now, without consulting the people, contemplate in corporatising all these health facilities?

The Ministry of Health or the Cabinet should not have the final say on the issue of corporatisation. What should rightly happen now is to have a referendum so that the people can have a direct say on whether they want corporatisation or not.

We must remind the government that the institutions of health care must rest on the foundation of a caring society and not in the clutches of the profit driven companies.

The whole idea of the need to have a caring non-profit health care can be summed up eloquently by the Massachusetts physicians and nurses.

We are Massachusetts physicians and nurses from across the spectrum of our professions. We serve patients rich and poor…Mounting shadows darken our calling and threaten to transform healing from a covenant into a business contract. Canons of commerce are displacing dictates of healing, trampling our professions' most sacred values. Market medicine treats patients as profit center. …Public resources of enormous worth - non-profit hospitals, visiting nurse agencies, even hospices - built over decades by taxes, charity, and devoted volunteers are being taken over by companies responsive to Wall Street…10

1. John Canham-Clyne. "A Rational Option"

2. Utusan Melayu. "Government To Ensure Healthcare Remains Affordable." (July 4 1999 Press Report)

3. Chan Chee Khoon. "Rrivatisation and the Healthcare Sector." (Sept 1996)

4. John Canham-Clyne. "A Rational Option"

5. ibid.

6. ibid.

7. ibid.

8. ibid.

9. ibid.

10. "For Our Patients, Not for Profits." Dec 1997 (Internet)

* The major entities/projects earmarked for privatisation during the 7MP include:
- Bank Bumiputra
- National Solid Waste Management
- Bintulu port
- Kuantan port
- Pos Malaysia Bhd
- National Printers
- Housing Loans Division, Finance Ministry
- East Coast Highway
- Southern Coastal Highway
- Northern Coastal Highway
- LRT in Penang and Johor
- Perwaja Steel

The entities for corporatisation are:
- Sirim
- Mimos
- Tourism Promotion Board
- Handicraft Board
- Hospitals
- Bank Simpanan Nasional
- Public Works Department
- Sabah Electricity Board

Choo Sing Chye

Comments (25)Add Comment
written by binarytan, December 29, 2008 16:31:58
IJN - if you want it to be successful, remove those goons inside out. There are so many corrupted people in IJN, right from their staff to the top management. Everyone knows except themselves.
written by pixieface, December 29, 2008 16:33:39
Evil hands at play should IJN be privatised. The whole nation might as well be privatised, if its not oledi!
written by patriotic1994, December 29, 2008 17:59:12
How can government tried to divorce itself from caring for people? Healthcare is one of the reason why we need a "government". There are many ways to reduce loses. One is the corruption. That's the biggest hole to patch, not healthcare.
written by clarity, December 29, 2008 18:10:54
I cannot beleive a country that professed to be Islamic can be so heartless to its people. Privatisation ofhospitals actually means, when you grow old we'll throw you to the wolves. Of course those in power cannot be included in this category. Just like national schools are best, but we'll send our children toschools and universties overseas.
written by ahmadneil, December 29, 2008 18:15:29
How can umno not be hungry for privatisation.The king of privatisation is Racist Mahathir and he make billions from privatisation.He is doing this at the expense of the rakyat.He fiddles while we suffered! smilies/grin.gif smilies/grin.gif smilies/grin.gif
written by KUMON, December 29, 2008 18:15:44

Malaysia Kamus Dewan Bahasa:

Word: Meaning
Privatisation Corruption
Corporatisation Corruption
Corruption Corporatisation and or Privatisation

No Deal Please! Enough is enough.

http://ezyblogging.********.com

smilies/grin.gif smilies/cheesy.gif smilies/cool.gif
written by KUMON, December 29, 2008 18:17:42
OOps sorry..

Malaysia Kamus Dewan Bahasa:

Word = Meaning
Privatisation =Corruption
Corporatisation= Corruption
Corruption= Corporatisation and or Privatisation

No Deal Please! Enough is enough.

http://ezyblogging.********.com
written by mykantree, December 29, 2008 18:55:13
In Malaysia, there seems to a trend to privatise every government department that is doing well and that holds some form of monopoly in what they do for the rakyat.It is a sure way to enrich the selected few with the right connection and influence.Malaysians must help to reverse this government propensity to do so....... by changing the current ruling government.
written by KetamPadang, December 29, 2008 20:04:02
Sime Darby should build a better Sime Heart Hospital Malaysia rather than buying IJN. IJN has been good in servicing the simple public. For Sime has plenty of money to build a better Heart Hospital. People are now thinking that Sime and IJN has business going on behind backdoor and smell fishies.
written by lovemalaysiarakyat, December 29, 2008 21:22:44
KetamPadang, you have made a good suggestion. This will show the truth behind the SIME DARBY offer to purchase. Building their own and offereing better services will be the right step to take. Leave IJN to the govt. Look the poor and the citizens need medical care.

In every urban and rural poor family there are OKU kids and there are many diseases or sicknesses that they have which should be preventable but they happen because they cannot afford the medical treatment and follow-up. It is going to be worse once health care is privatised. I can forsee our rural poor getting the brunt of the privatisation and also the urban poor and lower income groups.

Malaysia's leaders can fly here and there to receive treatment but the majority can't even afford trips up and down kampung to KL. They usually just die in the kampung. Have a heart.

It does smell fishy this deal.... smilies/shocked.gif smilies/shocked.gif smilies/shocked.gif
written by wood, December 29, 2008 22:32:57
Privatisation is a joke. Imagine Govt have to pay compensation to the toll operators, and also to the IPP for any reserves or excess in power supply ! I wished I had a corporation like this doing business with the govt. No risks at all ??? Unlike all other businesses where the owner have to take all the risks???? What is the use of having all the reserves and then need to privatise further ????? Did the rakyat really benefit? How come our electricity rates did not come down in tandem with the drop in oil prices????

MCA, MIC, Gerakan etc etc can you all please explain to the rakyat? Why all the silence????

smilies/shocked.gif
written by octobercheese, December 29, 2008 22:57:18
dear ketamPadang and lovemalaysiaraykat
UMBC - Sime Bank - Rashid Hussein - EPF bought over still use RH name

choo sing chye
written by NRR, December 29, 2008 23:32:00
Something is definitely fishy if the Chairman of IJN can come out and say that IJN should be sold to Sime, when all the senior staff of IJN are against it. Has the Chairman come down from his ivory tower and seen the massive crowd in IJN outpatients department who are well received, processed orderly and treated well by the doctors. Can IJN Chairman see this happening at the SJMC where he claims that SJMC has set aside RM3 million (pittance) for poor patients? I have been to and experienced the service offered at private hospitals. There it is all about money, cash deposit or credit card prior to any service being provided. So I would say that privatisation of IJN should not even be given any consideration by the govt. Classic example where promises by those taking over privatisation were never seen are TNB, Syabas, TM and many others. Rakyat are saying no, is govt going ahead?
written by TwilightYears, December 30, 2008 08:19:24
I was indeed shocked to read that even Musa Hitam was of the opinion that Sime Darby would continue to IJN's social responsibility once IJN comes under its control. Musa Hitam must have been too long in the private sector to realise that Sime Darby and, for the matter, SJMC is nothing but a profit generating machine, lack of human kindness, incapable to understanding the plight of the poor.

Just take a walk into SJMC, and have a treatment with the doctors. The foreheads of the doctors, staffs and administrators of SJMC are printed with its logo - profit, profit and profit. They have become mercenary.

As it stands, the question is not whether the present IJN patients would continue to receieve subsidized treatment once it is privatised. The present number of patients is irrelevant to the argument. It is the continual access to IJN for the poor after it is privatised. The door to IJN would be slammed shut to the poor who just cannot afford to pay the deposit for treatment. As it stands, the poor finds it tough to get reference to IJN as it has to be referred by a specialist from a govt hospital. And appointment to see IJN doctors would take weeks, if not months, if you are from the poor. IJN's present policy is still made with a bias towards the poor as it's preferential treatment is to the rich. I have a friend whose father was referred to IJN for open heart and the waiting time was 5 months, but once he decided to go as a fully paid patient ( and not from a subsidized govertment hospital referred patient) , the operation was brought forward to a short waiting time of two weeks.

Think of the scenario if Sime Darby takes over IJN. The poor can wait forever to be treated in the SJMC-IJN . Most of the Division I officers, the mInisters, the Policy makers have never experienced the difficulty faced by the poor in seeking specialised treatment as they were always be welcomed to any private hospitals as their treatment would be fully paid.

If Sime Darby is a corporation with a conscience, it would NEVER, NEVER think of buying over IJN. It's attempt to do so, and the support given by Musa Hitam shows how Malaysian corporations and its well known citizen have stoop to such a low level unfit to be called a true Malaysian.
written by adan, December 30, 2008 08:33:58
POLITICINS ARE THE REAL 'BUSINESSMEN' WHO USE THEIR MILLIONAIRE/BILLIONAIRE BUSINESS ASSOCIATES AS A COVER UP FOR TEHIR INSATIABLE GREED FOR WEALTH .Once such politicians come into real power,they scheme and conspire to PRIVATISE EVERY THING THAT IS THE PROPERTY OF THE RAKYAT ... EASIEST AND SHORTEST WAY TO RICHES. PUBLIC PROPERTY IS WITH A STROKE OF A PEN TRANSFORMED INTO PRIVATE PROPERTY ...to be shared out amongst the crooks.! A MAGICAL BUSINESS FORMULA DISCOVERED BY OUR MAHA EX-PM.

The same formula for IJN should work out for the new batch of 'businessmen- politicians'
written by pixieface, December 30, 2008 09:46:50
Nincompoop leaders is what we have. The whole world is facing an economic crisis
and there you have greedy politicians sucking the blood of the poor. All the elite
live in their ivory towers and when disease strike them, they get the best treatment
because they can afford it. The schemer of this plot is heartless to the core.
Wait till you are struck with an incurable disease and all the money in the world
will not help. Just look at onasis, the naza chairman, etc etc.
God have mercy.
written by octobercheese, December 30, 2008 14:58:39
dear evaangel

socialised medicine is a utopian ideal which is a reality in many western countries, can't Malaysia have this ideal? But "At the end of the day it's always - SHOW ME THE MONEY". (Is'nt what private hospitals use to say and do? "And it (sure is) that's the inconvienient truth".

I knot of one govt clinic some time ago, as usual they deal direct with a pharmacy and later when this service was privatised all dealings had to go through this enity. The joke is that this private entity also source its supplies from the same pharmacy which the authorities had been dealing all time. Does this not add cost to the price of medicine?

choo sing chye
written by octobercheese, December 30, 2008 15:00:28
correction: I knot = I know

choo sing chye
written by evaangel, December 31, 2008 08:52:28
Dear Choo Sing Chye,

I believe Malaysia should have this ideal. But with such a system there has to be responsibility and awareness - that while the services are there for people who need them, they should not be squandered and used as though they are infinite (as is happening with the NHS). Right now malaysians plow all their hard earned cash into private medical insurance and private hospitals and get into debt to pay for hospital bills. Also as you get older and when you need insurance the most - that's when the insurance companies don't want to insure you anymore.
I am not advocating any of this. Having worked in both the generous NHS system and the more carefully rationed australian Medicare system - the NHS system with all it's flaws is an ideal one - if you need treatment, you get it. No questions asked. That includes visitors to the UK (first visit to hospital only though)! The health budget is partially funded through national insurance payments which are part of income tax. I have never worked in Malaysia so I don't know how much income tax people pay. I do know that mum says Eek you have to pay 25% of your 1000 ringgit annual income in malaysia because you are not a resident. And I think - that's a lot? I pay 40% overseas plus a medicare levy for a health care system I am not allowed to use.
All I am asking is. Where is the funding coming from? I agree IJN should not be privatised - the ethics of having a corporate national institute of health is dodgy. But we should ask ourselves. Where will the money to run such a place be coming from? Perhaps a revamp of our health sector is in order? Perhaps a review of the rakyat's contribution to a sustainable and socialised health care system is in order - so instead of of paying stupid amounts to some insurance company that will just find a loophole NOT to pay you when the time comes, you make a contribution for your future when you are old and needing treatment and also to subsidise people who are poor and cannot afford it.
written by evaangel, December 31, 2008 09:08:57
Sorry - to clarify a point i made on the previous post
Perhaps a review of the rakyat's contribution to a sustainable and socialised health care system is in order - so instead of of paying stupid amounts to some insurance company that will just find a loophole NOT to pay you when the time comes, you make a contribution for your future when you are old and needing treatment and also to subsidise people who are poor and cannot afford it.

I meant a contribution to the government health budget in the form of healthcare levy that is proportionate to income.
written by octobercheese, December 31, 2008 14:46:31
dear admin

didn't see the "admin" read first before appearing in the comments..
sorry to post a few times over.

choo sing chye
written by octobercheese, December 31, 2008 14:48:04
dear evaangel,

Your point taken.

Where do funding for our Healhcare comes from? A pertinent question . From each and every citizen in our country, every dime of it as I know it. In Canada, they'll tell you that the "service tax" that they are collecting goes to social services and in Malaysia, one wouldn't know whether they go to paying the amount promised to BIG CORPORATIONs because the CONTRACT says it or to the people. And these BIG CORPORATIONs are owned by BN cronies.
Insurance companies where my thrust on them is very thin because their ultimate aim is profit, the more the better. Insurance companies only pay once for critical diseases and if a person needs a next two or more heart operations, hard luck. Many patients fall into this category, they had to dig in into their savings, if they had any left.
If we add all corruption and kickbacks in Malaysia, you will be surprised that it is mind-boggling and it can finance our healthcare system 2 or 3 times over. Our tax money is misused.

Dear evangel here’s my email: This e-mail address is being protected from spam bots, you need JavaScript enabled to view it It will be for only one week and it will be changed after this. Please email me if you want to discuss further.

Choo Sing Chye
written by Century Patriot, January 01, 2009 14:21:56
Dear Evaangel, your suggestion of an ‘Utopian Ideal’ makes sense if no precedence has been proven to the contrary in other parts of the world eg US. Perhaps you should take a look at the film ‘SICKO’ and reconsider this utopian scenario.

As it stands today IJN is not facing any financial problem, in fact it was announced that it is making a profit of RM 3 mil annually, so WHY THE HECK DOES IT HAS TO BE CONSIDERED FOR PRIVATISATION???

Agreed with writer that a REFERENDUM should be conducted before any move is made to stop the insatiable appetite for corruption by those in power and to ensure that this NATIONAL INSTITUTE remains the property of the Rakyat!!

written by evaangel, January 02, 2009 07:59:13
Dear Century Patriot,
I don't need to watch Sicko - I know how whacked the US system is. Also - the US system is based on private insurance mainly - so if you can't afford it or if your employer doesn't pay for it for you - yer screwed. So that doesn't come under the socialised medicine catagory really. (Also Michael Moore's extreme bias against the Bush gomen is notorious) And I have worked for years in the NHS and seen for myself the wastage and expensive and useless committees set up to decide how better to spend the population's tax dollars by making unrealistic protocols - adding paperwork for medical staff and increased waiting times for patients. That is why socialised medicine represents a Utopian ideal to me - works well when everyone uses it right and don't waste resources. But with the technological advances in medicine, new drugs etc - all these cost a lot of money. Like I said - even paying in pounds hurts... let alone when we are paying for the same stuff in ringgit. Much of the medical equipment (especially at tertiary level) needs to be imported from overseas.
My comment was not to support privatisation of the IJN but to start people thinking - instead of jabbing fingers at the gomen and demanding free healthcare like in western countries - to think where the money is coming from. Free healthcare isn't free. Certainly free healthcare for all is not sustainable without the right funding strategies. As Sing Chye says - take away corruption and you may find our budget can fit a socialised medicine structure. Unless we address that - my arguments are really just academic. But that is a whole new topic for another post smilies/smiley.gif