Home arrow The Blogs arrow News/Commentaries arrow Selangor MB takes tabloid to task for articles

Selangor MB takes tabloid to task for articles PDF Print
Monday, 29 December 2008 11:19

(NST) Selangor Menteri Besar Tan Sri Abdul Khalid Ibrahim has taken an English daily to task today for articles entitled ‘Rift in Pakatan’ and ‘Kapar MP free to go, says Khalid’.

In a press statement from his office, he said nothing was mentioned on ‘Kapar MP is free to go’ as suggested in the article.

“During the press conference, I said the Kapar MP was free to make his own decision and that he was mature enough to make a good decision as a representative to more than 100,000 voters in his constituency and a member of PKR.

“I also repeatedly stated that the best forum to thrash out issues would be the party’s political bureau,” he said.

He stated that at no time during a short press conference at The Curve on Dec 27, after opening the state’s Christmas celebration, did he said that ‘he was not interested to meet Kapar member of Parliament S. Manikavasagam’.

He had instead said that as a parliamentarian, ‘it would be a better avenue for the MP to meet the party’s leaders’ when asked if he was willing to meet the Kapar MP.

Abdul Khalid, in the statement said that he took the distortion of facts seriously.

written by by2020, December 29, 2008 11:28:59
So you show your true colour yet again, Star? What is the Datuk editor going to say? Spin further? Where is your journalism and integrity? Running dog of MCA/UMNO/BN!
agree 115
written by Concerned_Citizen, December 29, 2008 11:33:53
The Star owned by? MCA. So does MCA always tell the truth or at least distorting information. Nevermind, it's the culture of Um-NO and BeEnd.
written by mountain man, December 29, 2008 11:39:30
This is BN's underhand tactic to split the opposition, all a bunch of crooks with nothing better to offer, go to hell MCA, I am a Chinese but the party I despise most is MCA, I have high regard for PAS.
written by harryo, December 29, 2008 11:42:25
That newspaper is not at all worth reading. Let us all do something. What a shame?
written by ahmadneil, December 29, 2008 11:48:00
Another of this Utusan sister and umno mouthpiece,the Star,is bullshitting.This is another roll of toilet paper like Utusan,that umno use to wipe
written by ahmadneil, December 29, 2008 11:48:34
Boycott the Star,NOW!
written by InEffective, December 29, 2008 11:53:31
How should we make the Star accountable for distorting messages ?
(they also are subservient to their political masters - they are the primary brainwashing channel, and they also are shackled by the annual conditional license leash)

Let's have some ideas from the rakyat:
- stop buying star ?
- stop advertising in star?
- influence all our relatives and friends to boycott star ?
- discredit Star on the Blogs - launch a concerted campaign ?

Currently the star managers fear the politicians (gaji at stake), and there is NO countervailing fear from the rakyat - to balance the equation.

SO what outcome is likely to prevail ?
written by mendela, December 29, 2008 12:08:18
Since 2 years ago I have stopped my company from putting ad in the Star.
I too advised all my suppliers to do the same.
written by mikewang, December 29, 2008 12:15:20
We all know that the MSM have their own agenda and that is to help their political owners to shape public opinion so that the public can be misled to keep those scums in power.

It will be wise for opposition political leaders to continue to boycott the targeted MSM when giving news conference on party affairs.
Just do it !

written by pixieface, December 29, 2008 12:17:11
Close shop lah! Idiot journalism.
written by eloofk, December 29, 2008 12:17:23
Knowing that publications owned by BN component parties carry distorted facts, we have since stopped buying their papers long ago. With computers in most households, we're sure many of us can easily go online to obtain vast information and news from the internet from n numerous sources. Why waste our hard earned money to support those subservient dogs feeding us gabbages and distorted facts daily?
written by Iliyas, December 29, 2008 12:47:38
The media is having a field day,and our"IMMATURED" PR MP's are providing all the candies.Enough of this Kapar MP,and get on with your responsibility from the people that put you there or you are HISTORY.
written by louisL, December 29, 2008 12:58:48
Knowing STAR, it will play up any discord in the Pakatan because of MCA's ownership and directive.
However, when that is smoke there must be fire. For MP Kapar to utter such a strong statement either shows that he has a genuine grouse or he has been incentivised to do so for his own personal agenda and aggrandisement.
Don't dismiss the latter scenario. Pakatan must dig deep to find the cause lest the other 'Manikavasagams' of the Pakatan world are likewise lured in BN under the guise of becoming independent MPs thereby eroding the slim majority in the states the seized from BN in March.
written by Motherchell, December 29, 2008 13:01:51
The MSN in Malaysia is meant to destroy all right thinking citizens . Its a total enemy of the people. Its the satanic mouthpiece of the devils. The govt mouthpieces are the most dangerous of all media -- -- the cherry to top this is the mouthpiece of the Minister of Information who will drool and wet the paper.
written by Jit Dharma, December 29, 2008 13:16:43
MSM propaganda lap-dog/running dogs.Samy says Karpal is a toothless tiger, you report. Samy the traitor is the Invisible Man. Talking to himself like a 24 carat nutcase.
written by onnetline, December 29, 2008 13:24:03
Another daily 'toilet' newspaper good for wiping where the sun don't shine !
written by Badrol, December 29, 2008 13:25:50
But I will say it. Manikavasagam ... you are free to go, and please go fast. Your tantrums are a disgrace to pakatan rakyat and especially to the voters in your constituency. Go join the sinking ship MIC or IPF. One thing for sure, come GE13, you'll be dead and gone and be forgotten.
written by rakyatmalaysia, December 29, 2008 14:09:46
i support that, badrol. we dont need an MP who cant defend himself and cry like a baby. If he is weak, how is he going to lead the majority that choose him ? so if he treatened to leave, why bother to ask him not to ? do it and also resign your MP seat as well.
written by ahmadneil, December 29, 2008 14:50:25
Shit Hamid,you must suspend Star's license.This toilet paper is a threat to racial harmony.Don't let us say you have 2 set of rules.
written by Michael Sun, December 29, 2008 15:14:29
What do you expect from Star? The trouble is some Pakatan leaders tend to give press conferences and make police/ACA reports and later lament that Star did not report them fairly. Unless the Pakatan government can issue and renew printing licences, Star or other MSM papers will never be truthful in their reporting.

Pakatan - Live in the real world.
written by kksam, December 29, 2008 15:20:28
i have not buy the paper for 1 and 1/2 year liao, last sat when back hometown, read the paper my sis bought, diu same old story la. Front page on Sat big big Kapar MP resign from PKR, next day oso big big front pagge Rift in Pakatan, same BOSS, same style, same poli-dogging.
written by pengembara, December 29, 2008 16:39:43

If I am not mistaken the datukship from the puppet at the star is from selangor. Surely one of the criteria for datukship is proper conduct including telling the truth. Hence shouldn't the datukship be withdrawn similar to those who are criminals or associated with gangsterism, etc.

peace
written by lynn, December 29, 2008 18:05:36
The Star is given a publishing permit by a corrupt govt to lie to ignorant masses; surely this is a serious crime it committed against the people of Malaysia & for lying, some of these dirty b@stards were given "datukship".

You see how low this country has sank.

My dream is to see a change of federal govt which will charge these kind of people for fraudulent reporting; the minimum sentence shld be at least 6 to 12 strokes of the rotan.
So Star, pls keep up your "good" work! Oh, btw, a few of those at the top are Christians too. So your Bible taught you lying is okay.
written by InEffective, December 29, 2008 22:30:08
But where was the rakyat, when the Star was sodomized by the former premier during Ops Lallang ? Rakyat did not stand up and defend the independance of the Star !!.

Now why complain ?
written by ananthSR, December 30, 2008 10:00:10
Thanks GOD, i have boycott The Star since March 8, 2008
written by Janaka, December 30, 2008 12:37:23
I CALL IT 'THE SHIT PAPER' ..the retarded underDOG on ACTION
I have stop buying it since many years
written by Janaka, December 30, 2008 12:42:28
The star newspaper ..the paper that cares.....
it should be
THE SHIT newspaper ..the paper that underDOGing the morons!